MW / Home / Articles / DON FELDER (APRIL 2019)

DON FELDER (APRIL 2019)


Type:
INTERVIEW
Genre:
ROCK
Welcome to Hotel Music Waves where we met Don Felder, the guitarist of the mythical Eagles who offers us a journey into the wonderful world of rock'n' roll. To your guitars!
ADRIANSTORK - 17.05.2019
Welcome to Hotel Music Waves where we met Don Felder, the guitarist of the mythical Eagles. With his new album'American Rock'n' Roll, Don offers us a passport to the wonderful world of rock'n' roll. To your guitars!


We like to start our interviews with this traditional question: what is the question you have been asked too often?

What is the meaning of'Hotel California'? Don't ever ask me that. I thought I would print the explanation on small cards and hand them out when I was asked this question.





With the Eagles, you are part of the rock legend, you have sold millions of records, you have co-written albums and composed the hit "Hotel California"... Don't worry, we won't ask you to do an exegesis. How could you live so successfully?

It has nothing to do with success, the platinum albums on your wall, fate. No, for me it's being able to compose the music that makes me happy.


Is this still the case today?

Without a doubt, and this has been the case since I was seventeen years old!


When you start recording new songs, do you feel extra pressure about everything you've accomplished in your career?

When we played'Hotel California' for the first time, we never thought we would have a big hit. When it happened, everything imploded around us. When we had to go back to the studio afterwards, it was impossible to record something because of the pressure. We had set the bar too high so high that we could no longer even reach it. Every time we recorded an album, we tried to make a better album, more tense, more meticulous, with more elaborate lyrics, better vocal lines, better guitar parts. After Hotel California, Glenn Frey discovered that we had all contracted a strange disease. In the studio, things were not going well, the writing was no longer good, we were afraid to sing. And I thought that wasn't the right way to go. We had to make the albums we wanted to hear as we did in our early days. We were not working in fear at that time but in constant excitement. And whether it's with the Eagles or solo on my own albums, that's the main thing for me.




Don't forget to have fun....


If you look at young people on an instrument, you see joy in their eyes. It amuses them.


Did you forget to have fun during your career?

Yes, it's easy to forget to have fun when you're intoxicated by drugs, when you're stuck by the star system that has nothing to do with music. There is a song in this album called "Charmed". If you read the lyrics, you'll discover that you can have beautiful women, a private jet, a beautiful house in Beverly Hills, glory. But none of that matters, if there is no passion in your music, if there is no more flame in what you do, then the charm is broken. This is the main theme of American Rock'n' Roll.


You wrote a book "Heaven And Hell My Life In The Eagles 1974-2001", which was a best-seller. Doesn't everything you touch turn into gold?

(laughs) Unfortunately not! I was surprised at the book's success. During my school years in Florida, I failed my English exams with a sharp F (editor's note: equivalent to 0, eliminatory grade). While all my classmates were having fun at the pool or tanning on the beach, I was stuck in the classroom, without air conditioning and with the same teacher who gave me an F. To move on to the next floor, I did the minimum by getting a C. In 2001, I left the Eagles, divorced after 29 years of marriage. My family life had just ended, my musical career seemed to have come to a conclusion and I had to try to understand how I got there, when it went wrong. 





How did you do it, because you painted a rather sincere and introspective portrait of your life?

I meditated every day for 30 minutes. The first thing as soon as I wake up. Think of a specific moment in my life. Where do I come from? How did I start making music? The paths I have taken to reach this moment. My mistakes. The good aspects, the bad ones, the ugly ones etc. Drugs. The alcohol. Everything. It allowed me to understand where I came from and how I could get back on track. When I did these meditations, I took notes for myself. Leaves started piling up on my desk. The woman who was sharing my life at that time started reading them and one day she told me that it could make a good book. I told him that it was out of the question to make a book out of it, I had got an F in English, remember!  She introduced me to Michael Ovitz, one of Hollywood's most powerful agents, who works with Leonardo Di Caprio, produces films and books. I told him about my notes. He said, "Tomorrow you have an appointment with the head of my literary department. The following week, when I didn't have any books, I received five offers! I was confused (laughs). 


But could someone help you write it?

I changed my method: instead of writing, I registered. It was easier then for someone to modify them by transcribing them. Wendy Holden came to help me with the timeline. She had to find out where I was at that moment in my life. Because sometimes I have memory gaps about what I did on that day in 1974 or 1976, where I played and with whom. 





Concerning your new album, if we look at the cover, we can see the mythical Gibson with a double sleeve that evokes'Hotel California'. Can we think you wanted to send a message?

No. To the eyes and ears of the general public, the memory of American rock'n' roll is through a guitar. Five years ago, I did a concert with Steve Miller in New York. At the end of my concert, I had my Gibson brought up. When people saw my guitar, they all screamed. They recognized her!


So the audience didn't recognize you but recognized your guitar. Didn't you get jealous of your guitar?

(laughs) The audience has made the association with this guitar. This guitar has a particular history as a symbol of rock'n' roll. Recently at the Metropolitan in New York, you can see all the famous rock'n' roll guitars. It goes from Chuck Berry to Jimi Hendrix and Jimmy Page... and this one! I've had Grammys, gold records, but for me, the ultimate level is to end up in a museum with this guitar. Thousands of objects and artifacts from ancient civilizations are preserved there. 


And now your guitar! You are a legend and not just a rock legend, you are part of history.

Strangely enough this section opened when my new album was released. I feel like it's a magical coincidence. The original guitar has been at the Hall Of Fame since 1998. They picked it up at the Met. I have 15 others I play with during my concerts.


This album is quite varied. We have rock like'Rock You' played with Joe Satriani, funk with'Hearts On Fire', blues with'Limelight' and even flamenco with'Little Latin Lover'. Do you consider this album to be the most representative of your influences?

Not all of them. I'm quite inspired by country, bluegrass, jazz...





Why don't they find themselves on the album?

There wasn't enough space! I should have made a double album. (laughs).


You end the album with three successive ballads. You weren't afraid to destabilize the audience, especially since the album contains a total of 4 ballads?

I'm not a ballad singer. But on this album, I needed to express some feelings. For example, talking about a break-up with my previous partner after 16 years of living together and hoping to find love again. That's all we want when it happens to us. This does not always happen, but it is linked to this hope. I believe in it.


The eponymous song is a tribute to rock legends. We really like'She Doesn't Get It' which sometimes reminds us of Toto and the finale of'You Are My World'. What is your favorite song?

"Falling In Love Again. I really like this introduction to the acoustic guitar. Little by little, we are led to this powerful guitar solo that transmits all the passion I wanted to put into it. I hope you could feel it.


There are a lot of guests on this album: Peter Frampton, Slash, Sammy Hagar, Mike Fletwood... But are there any musicians you'd like to play with?

There are thousands of them. I had a great time making this album. This allowed me to find a lot of spontaneity to play with these guitarists I loved. I would like to do it again but I don't know if I would do this type of album again with a plethora of guests. On my previous album, I play all the guitars, except for one song where Steve Lukather came to participate. Playing alone is not the same as playing with guests. Enthusiasm, energy and passion are totally different.
 





Falling In Love Again' is the closest to the Eagles sound and we can recognize your touch, this way of looking for the right note. In your opinion, should a solo be fundamentally melodic as some guitar heroes often forget?

I always try to play memorable and melodic guitar solos. I like to be able to play things that can be recognized and that find their place in the progression of chords. Even if it is only a handful of notes, they must reflect the feeling expressed in the song. I think it was Benjamin Franklin who said, "If you want to do something memorable, use a simple melody. On some solos, such as'Hotel California', I try not to play too many notes for it to be easy to remember.


Do you have any regrets? Unfortunately Glenn Frey has left us, but is a reconciliation with Don Henley possible?

I never said never. The ball is in Don's court, ask Don!



More informations on https://www.donfelder.com/
Main Image
Item 1 of 0
 
  • 16913
  • 16914
  • 16915
  • 16916
  • 16917
  • 16918
  • 16919
LINKED
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
DON FELDER: American Rock 'n' Roll
RELEASE

Read the news
Read all news regarding DON FELDER
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Welcome to Hotel Music Waves where we met Don Felder, the guitarist of the mythical Eagles who offers us a journey into the wonderful world of rock'n' roll. To your guitars!

Read the article
Read all articles regarding DON FELDER
 
DERNIERE CHRONIQUE
American Rock 'n' Roll (2019)
The sincere and endearing album of the "Hotel California" composer.

Read the review
Read all reviews regarding DON FELDER

F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Articles / DON FELDER 21 AVRIL 2019

DON FELDER 21 AVRIL 2019


TYPE:
INTERVIEW
GENRE:
ROCK
Bienvenue à l'Hôtel Music Waves où nous avons rencontré Don Felder, le guitariste des mythiques Eagles qui nous offre un voyage dans le monde merveilleux du rock 'n' roll. A vos guitares!
ADRIANSTORK - 17.05.2019
Bienvenue à l'Hôtel Music Waves où nous avons rencontré Don Felder, le guitariste des mythiques Eagles. Avec son nouvel album 'American Rock 'n' Roll, Don nous offre un passeport pour le monde merveilleux du rock 'n' roll. A vos guitares!


Nous aimons commencer nos interviews par cette question traditionnelle : quelle est la question que l'on t'a trop souvent posée ?

Quel est le sens d' 'Hotel California'? Ne me demandez jamais cela. J'ai pensé imprimer l'explication sur des petites cartes et les distribuer lorsqu'on me posait cette question.





Avec les Eagles, tu fais partie de la légende du rock, tu as vendu des millions de disques, tu as co-écrit des albums et composé le tube 'Hotel California'... Rassure-toi, on ne te demandera pas d'en faire une exégèse. Comment as-tu pu vivre avec autant de succès ?

Cela n'a rien à voir avec le succès, les albums platine sur ton mur, le destin. Non, pour moi c'est d'être capable de composer la musique qui me rende heureux.


C'est toujours le cas actuellement?

Sans aucun doute, et ce depuis mes dix-sept ans !


Lorsque tu débutes l'enregistrement de nouvelles chansons, est-ce que tu ressens une pression supplémentaire au regard de tout ce que tu as accompli dans ta carrière ?

Quand nous avons joué 'Hotel California' pour la première fois, nous n'avions jamais pensé avoir un gros tube. Quand c'est arrivé, tout a implosé autour de nous. Quand nous avons dû retourner ensuite en studio, c'était impossible d'enregistrer quelque chose à cause de la pression. Nous avions placé la barre trop haut à tel point que nous ne pouvions même plus l'atteindre. A chaque fois que nous enregistrions un album, nous essayions de faire à chaque fois un meilleur album, plus tendu, plus méticuleux, des paroles plus recherchées, de meilleures lignes vocales, de meilleures parties de guitare. Après ''Hotel California'', Glenn Frey a découvert que nous avions tous contracté un mal étrange. En studio, ça n'allait plus, l'écriture n'était plus bonne, on avait peur de chanter. Et j'ai pensé que ce n'était pas la bonne marche à suivre. Il fallait faire les albums que nous voulions entendre comme à nos débuts. Nous ne travaillions pas dans la peur à ce moment-là mais dans l'excitation permanente. Et que ce soit avec les Eagles ou en solo sur mes propres albums, c'est pour moi l'essentiel.


Quand nous avons joué 'Hotel California' pour la première fois, nous n'avions jamais pensé avoir un gros tube.




Ne pas oublier de s'amuser...

Si tu regardes des jeunes sur un instrument, tu vois de la joie dans leurs yeux. Ça les amuse.


As-tu oublié de t'amuser pendant ta carrière ?

Oui, c'est facile d'oublier de s'amuser quand on est intoxiqué par les drogues, quand on est pris à la gorge par le star-system qui n'a rien à voir avec la musique. Il y a une chanson dans cet album qui s'appelle 'Charmed'. Si tu lis les paroles, tu découvriras que tu peux avoir de belles femmes, un jet privé, une belle maison à Beverly Hills, la gloire. Mais tout ça n'a aucune importance, s'il  n'y a pas de passion dans ta musique, s'il n'y a plus cette flamme dans ce que tu fais, alors le charme est rompu. C'est le thème principal d' ''American Rock 'n' Roll'.


Tu as écrit un livre ''Heaven And Hell My Life In The Eagles 1974-2001'', qui a été un best-seller. Est-ce que tout ce que tu touches ne se transforme pas en or ?

(rires) Malheureusement non ! J'ai été surpris du succès du livre. Pendant ma scolarité en Floride, j'ai raté mes examens d'anglais en obtenant un cinglant F (ndlr : équivalent du 0, note éliminatoire). Pendant que tous mes camarades étaient en train de s'amuser à la piscine ou de bronzer sur la plage, moi j'étais coincé dans la salle de classe, sans air conditionné et avec le même professeur qui m'avait donné un F. Pour passer à l'étage suivant, j'ai fait le minimum en obtenant un C. En 2001, j'ai quitté les Eagles, j'ai divorcé après 29 années de mariage. Ma vie familiale venait de s'éteindre, ma carrière musicale semblait connaître une conclusion et je devais essayer de comprendre comment j'en étais arrivé à là, le moment où cela avait mal tourné . 





Comment as-tu fait, car tu as brossé un portrait assez sincère et introspectif sur ta vie ?

J'ai médité chaque jour pendant 30 minutes. La première chose dès mon réveil. Penser à un instant spécifique de ma vie. D'où je viens? Comment j'ai commencé à faire de la musique? Les chemins que j'ai empruntés pour arriver à ce moment présent. Mes erreurs. Les bons aspects, les mauvais, les moches etc. Les drogues. L'alcool. Tout. Cela m'a permis de comprendre d'où je venais et comment je pouvais me relancer. Quand je faisais ces méditations, je prenais des notes pour moi-même. Des feuilles ont commencé à s'empiler sur mon bureau. La femme qui partageait ma vie à ce moment-là a commencé à les lire et un jour elle m'a dit que cela pouvait faire un bon livre. Je lui ai dit qu'il était hors de question d'en faire un livre, j'avais eu un F en anglais, rappelez-vous!  Elle m'a présenté à Michael Ovitz, un des agents les plus puissants d'Hollywood, qui travaille avec Leonardo Di Caprio, produit des films, des livres. Je lui ai parlé de mes notes. Il m'a dit : ''Demain, tu as rendez-vous avec le responsable de mon département littéraire.''. La semaine suivante, alors que je n'avais pas de livres, j'ai reçu cinq offres! J'étais déboussolé (rires).


Mais quelqu'un pouvait t'aider à l'écrire ?

J''ai changé de méthode : au lieu d'écrire, je m'enregistrais. C'était plus facile ensuite pour que quelqu'un puisse modifier en les retranscrivant. Wendy Holden est venue m'aider pour la chronologie. Elle devait trouver où je me trouvais à tel moment de ma vie. Parce que parfois j'ai des trous de mémoire sur ce que j'ai fait tel jour en 1974 ou en 1976, où je jouais et avec qui. 





Concernant ton nouvel album, si l'on regarde la pochette,  on y voit la mythique Gibson à double manche qui évoque 'Hotel California'. Peut-on penser que tu voulais faire passer un message ?

Non. Aux yeux et oreilles du grand public, la mémoire du rock 'n' roll américain passe par une guitare. Il y a cinq ans, j'ai fait un concert avec Steve Miller à New York. A la fin de mon concert, j'ai fait monter ma Gibson. Quand les gens ont vu ma guitare, ils ont tous crié. Ils l'avaient reconnue!


Quand les gens ont vu ma guitare, ils ont tous crié. Ils l'avaient reconnue!




Donc le public ne t'a pas reconnu mais a reconnu ta guitare. Tu n'es pas devenu jaloux de ta guitare ?

(rires) Le public a fait l'association avec cette guitare. Cette guitare a une histoire particulière comme symbole du rock 'n' roll. Récemment au Metropolitan de New York, on peut voir toutes les célèbres guitares du rock 'n' roll. Ça va de Chuck Berry à Jimi Hendrix en passant par Jimmy Page... et celle-ci! J'ai eu des Grammy, des disques d'or, mais pour moi, le niveau suprême, c'est de finir dans un musée avec cette guitare. On y trouve conservés des milliers d'objets et d'artefacts d'anciennes civilisations. 


Et maintenant ta guitare ! Tu es une légende et pas seulement du rock, tu fais partie de l'histoire.

Curieusement cette section a ouvert au moment de la sortie de mon nouvel album. J'ai l'impression que c'est une coïncidence magique. La guitare originale est au Hall Of Fame depuis 1998. Ils l'ont récupérée au Met. J'en ai 15 autres avec lesquelles je joue pendant mes concerts.


Cet album est assez varié. On a du rock comme 'Rock You' joué avec Joe Satriani, du funk avec 'Hearts On Fire', du blues avec 'Limelight' et même du flamenco avec 'Little Latin Lover'. Est-ce que tu considères que cet album est le plus représentatif de tes influences ?

Pas toutes. Je suis assez inspiré par la country, le bluegrass, le jazz...





Pourquoi ne se retrouvent-ils pas sur l'album ?

Il n'y avait pas assez de place! J'aurais dû faire un double album. (rires).


Tu termines l'album avec trois ballades successives. Tu n'étais pas effrayé à l'idée de déstabiliser le public d'autant que l'album renferme au total 4 ballades ?

Je ne suis pas un chanteur de ballades. Mais sur cet album, j'avais besoin d'exprimer certains sentiments. Par exemple, parler d'une rupture avec ma précédente compagne après 16 ans de vie commune et l'espoir de retrouver l'amour. C'est tout ce que l'on souhaite quand cela nous arrive. Cela n'arrive pas toujours, mais on se rattache à cet espoir. Moi j'y crois.


La chanson éponyme est un hommage aux légendes du rock. Nous aimons beaucoup 'She Doesn't Get It' qui rappelle parfois Toto ainsi que le final de 'You Are My World'. Quelle est ta chanson préférée ?

'Falling In Love Again.' J'aime beaucoup cette introduction à la guitare acoustique. Petit à petit, on est amené vers ce puissant solo de guitare qui transmet toute la passion que j'ai voulu y mettre. J'espère que vous avez pu la ressentir.


Il y a beaucoup d'invités sur cet album : Peter Frampton, Slash, Sammy Hagar, Mike Fletwood... Mais est-ce qu'il y a des musiciens avec qui tu aurais voulu jouer ?

Il y en a des milliers. J'ai passé de bons moments à faire cet album. Cela m'a permis de trouver beaucoup de spontanéité pour jouer avec ces guitaristes que j'ai aimé. J'aimerais le refaire mais je ne sais pas si referais ce type d'albums avec une pléthore d'invités. Sur mon précédent album, c'est moi qui joue de toutes les guitares, à l'exception d'une chanson où Steve Lukather est venu participer. Jouer en solitaire n'est pas comparable à jouer avec des invités. L'enthousiasme, l'énergie et la passion, c'est totalement différent.


Jouer en solitaire n'est pas comparable à jouer avec des invités.




'Falling In Love Again' est la plus proche du son Eagles et on peut reconnaître ton toucher, cette façon de chercher la note juste. Selon toi, un solo doit-il être fondamentalement mélodique comme l'oublient souvent certains guitar heroes ?

J'essaie toujours de jouer des soli de guitare mémorables et mélodiques. J'aime être capable de jouer des choses que l'on puisse reconnaître et qui trouve sa place dans la progression des accords. Même si ce ne sont qu'une poignée de notes, elles doivent traduire le sentiment exprimé dans la chanson. Je crois que c'est Benjamin Franklin qui disait : ''Si tu veux faire quelque chose de mémorable, utilise une mélodie simple.'' Sur certains soli, comme sur 'Hotel California', j'essaie de ne pas jouer trop de notes pour que ce soit facile à mémoriser.


As-tu des regrets? Malheureusement Glenn Frey nous a quitté, mais est-ce qu'une réconciliation avec Don Henley est possible ?

Je n'ai jamais dit ''Jamais''. La balle est dans le camp de Don, demandez à Don!



Plus d'informations sur https://www.donfelder.com/
Main Image
Item 1 of 0
 
  • 16913
  • 16914
  • 16915
  • 16916
  • 16917
  • 16918
  • 16919
EN RELATION AVEC DON FELDER
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
DON FELDER: Les détails sur "American Rock 'n' Roll"
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant DON FELDER
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Bienvenue à l'Hôtel Music Waves où nous avons rencontré Don Felder, le guitariste des mythiques Eagles qui nous offre un voyage dans le monde merveilleux du rock 'n' roll. A vos guitares!

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant DON FELDER
 
DERNIERE CHRONIQUE
American Rock 'n' Roll (2019)
L’album sincère et attachant d’une légende du rock.

Lire la chronique
Voir toutes les chroniques concernant DON FELDER

F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019