MW / Home / F.A.Q.
 

01. What is Music Waves?
Music Waves (MW) is a website that appeared on the web at the end of 2001. Its philosophy has always been to guide the visitor - regardless of his or her level of knowledge - through a range of styles and bands related to rock and metal.

MW is created and maintained by a team of enthusiasts working voluntarily during their free time to constantly enrich its content. MW is supported by numerous partners (labels, promoters) which allow it to remain at the forefront of current events. So don't be surprised to read reviews of albums not yet released in stores.

02. How long have we existed?
MW was born in 2001 from the idea of Guillaume "Torpedo" to create a site that reflected what he was looking for on the net: a site mixing news and archives, gathering as many albums as possible and allowing each one to be directed to the style(s) that suits him.

The first version called "Metalwaves" was made at the beginning of 2002 in Flash and only listed the albums with their commentary composed of one or two lines.

The second version, still in Flash, has been enriched with small news, a bit more comments and information about the authors themselves. A forum has been created.

For the next version published at the beginning of 2003, the technology used changed from Flash to .NET. This evolution allowed the project to gain in ergonomics while keeping the same philosophy. The comments became reviews, the partners started to show up and send their productions. It was at this time that the first columnists joined the team and MW started its development.

At the end of 2003, version 2.1 appeared, then a year later, version 3, the current version which has been reworked many times to adapt to the constant evolution of the net. A mobile version appeared at the beginning of 2019 and the English version at the end of 2019. So don't be surprised to see only a small part of the old reviews translated, the work is huge and it will only be finished when in many months.

Throughout its evolution, MW has kept the same spirit as at its beginnings but has strived to present an ever more professional content. The reviews of the early days have - almost- been entirely rewritten and exchanges between enthusiasts are always privileged.

03. How does MW work?
MW functions first and foremost as a community. Many means of communication are made available to members who wish to share their knowledge. Where some sites stop at current events, MW offers the possibility to find progressive pearls that existed 10, 20 or even 30 years ago.

04. Why fixed reviewers?
Unlike most sites of this kind, not everyone can make a "primary" column here (Front page). We consider that several criteria are necessary to make a good review such as experience or objectivity. The opinion of someone who will have listened to ten albums will obviously be different from someone who will have listened to more than a hundred.

Then we have a particular working method. We try to describe the work as well as possible and to give a personal opinion only at the end of the review after having argued and presented the positive and negative points.

The role of the reviewer is thus essential because he acts as a barometer. Everyone will be able to identify with the tastes of one or more of them.

05. Why short columns?
Making short columns is not a question of time but a question of choice.

Being concise and precise sometimes proves more complicated than describing everything in detail. We consider that the Internet user is in a hurry and that a short and exhaustive explanation, accompanied by an audio or a video file, is better than a detailed track-by-track description.

06. How to be reviewed on MW?
Until the beginning of 2016, in order to have his album reviewed on Music Waves, all you had to do was send his CD to the editorial staff. The CD served as a "reward" for all the work the reviewer did. Unfortunately, this is no longer possible. It is now necessary to contact us at promotion@musicwaves.fr before sending or requesting a review via a download link. But why this change?

The first reason comes from the too many CDs received. In spite of our large team, we are so much in demand that we cannot write all the reviews. In addition, we receive a lot of albums that don't fit into MW's editorial line or whose content is really too weak to spend time on them.

Another reason comes from the fact that music is more and more dematerialized and that receiving a CD-R burned from MP3 makes no sense. In the same vein, the majority of CDs received no longer find takers - following the digital switchover - and pile up in a corner.

Finally, and this is the most problematic, the financial aspect has become a blocking point because maintaining a site like Music Waves has a significant cost (hosting, charges, etc.).

All this led us to refuse from now on automatic CD sending and to propose paying services in exchange of reviews. If these remain in a very reasonable price (30€ for a review + a banner for a month), we understand that this way of proceeding can surprise in a world where everything seems accessible and free. It is simply a question of the survival of the site.
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / F.A.Q.
 

01. Qu'est ce que Music Waves ?
Music Waves (MW) est un site web apparu sur la toile fin 2001. Sa philosophie a toujours été de guider au mieux le visiteur - et ce quel que soit son degré de connaissance - à travers un panel de styles et de groupes ayant un rapport avec le rock et le métal.

MW est réalisé et maintenu par une équipe de passionnés travaillant bénévolement pendant leur temps libre pour enrichir constamment son contenu. MW est soutenu par de nombreux partenaires (labels, promoteurs) qui lui permettent de rester à la pointe de l’actualité. Ne soyez donc pas surpris de lire des chroniques d’albums n’étant pas encore sorti dans le commerce.

02. Depuis quand existons nous ?
MW est né en 2001 de l’idée de Guillaume « Torpedo » de créer un site à l’image de ce qu’il cherchait sur le net : un site mêlant actualité et archives, regroupant le plus d’albums possibles et permettant à chacun d’être dirigé vers le(s) style(s) qui lui convient(ent).

La première version qui avait pour nom "Metalwaves" fut réalisée début 2002 en Flash et se contentait de lister les albums avec leur commentaire composé d’une à deux lignes.

La seconde version, toujours en Flash, s’est vu enrichie de petites actualités, de commentaires un peu plus étoffés et d’informations sur les auteurs eux-même. Un forum a vu le jour.

Pour la version suivante parue début 2003, la technologie utilisée a changé pour passer du Flash au .NET. Cette évolution permis au projet de gagner en ergonomie tout en conservant la même philosophie. Les commentaires sont devenus des chroniques, les partenaires ont commencé à se manifester et à envoyer leurs productions. C’est à cette époque que les premiers chroniqueurs sont entrés dans l’équipe et que MW a commencé son essor.

Fin 2003 est apparu la version 2.1 puis une année plus tard, la 3.0, version actuelle.

MW a gardé tout le long de son évolution le même esprit qu'à ses débuts mais s'est efforcé de présenter un contenu toujours plus professionnel. Les chroniques des débuts ont entièrement été réécrites et les échanges entre passionnés sont toujours privilégiés.

03. Comment fonctionne MW ?
MW fonctionne avant tout comme une communauté.

Beaucoup de moyens de communication sont mis à la disposition des membres qui souhaiteraient partager leurs connaissances. Là ou certains sites s’arrêtent à l’actualité, MW offre la possibilité de retrouver des perles progressives ayant existé 10, 20 voire 30 ans auparavant.

04. Pourquoi des chroniqueurs fixes ?
Contrairement à la plupart des sites du genre, tout le monde ne peut pas réaliser ici une chronique « primaire » (En première page). Nous considérons que plusieurs critères sont nécessaires pour réaliser une bonne chronique comme l’expérience ou l’objectivité. L’avis de quelqu’un qui aura écouté une dizaine d’albums sera évidemment différent de celui qui en aura écouté plus d’une centaine.

Ensuite nous avons une méthode de travail particulière. Nous nous efforçons de décrire au mieux l’œuvre et de ne donner un avis personnel qu’à la fin de la critique après avoir argumenté et présenté les points positifs et négatifs.

Le rôle du chroniqueur est ainsi primordial car il agit comme un baromètre. Chacun pourra s’identifier aux goûts de l’un ou de plusieurs d’entre eux.

05. Pourquoi des chroniques courtes ?
Réaliser des chroniques courtes n’est pas une question de temps mais une question de choix.

Etre concis et précis s’avère parfois plus compliqué que de tout décrire en détail. Nous considérons que l’internaute est quelqu’un de pressé et qu’une explication courte et exhaustive, accompagnée d’un fichier audio vaut mieux qu’une description détaillée piste par piste.

06. Comment être chroniqué sur MW ?
Jusqu'au début 2016, pour avoir son album chroniqué sur Music Waves, il suffisait simplement d'envoyer son CD à la rédaction. Celui-ci faisait office de "rétribution" pour tout le travail que le chroniqueur réalisait. Malheureusement, ce n'est plus possible. Il faut désormais nous contacter à promotion@musicwaves.fr avant tout potentiel envoi ou demande de chronique via un lien de téléchargement. Mais pourquoi ce changement ?

La première raison vient du trop grand nombre de CDs reçus. Malgré notre large équipe, nous sommes tellement sollicités que nous ne pouvons écrire toutes les chroniques. En outre, nous recevons beaucoup d'albums qui ne rentrent pas dans la ligne éditoriale de MW ou dont le contenu s'avère vraiment trop faible pour que l'on passe du temps dessus.

Une autre raison vient du fait que la musique est de plus en plus dématérialisée et que recevoir un CD-R gravé à partir de MP3 n'a aucun sens. Dans la même idée, la majorité des CDs reçus ne trouvent plus preneur - suite au passage au numérique - et s'entassent dans un coin.

Enfin, et c'est le plus problèmatique, l'aspect pécunier est devenu un point bloquant car maintenir un site comme Music Waves a un cout non négligeable (hébergement, charges, etc.).

Tout cela nous a donc amené à refuser désormais les envois de CD automatiques et proposer des prestations payantes en échange de chroniques. Si celles-ci restent dans un prix très raisonnable (20€ pour une chronique + une bannière pendant un mois), nous comprenons que cette façon de procéder peut surprendre dans un monde ou tout semble accessible et gratuit. Il en va tout simplement de la survie du site.
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019