MW / Home / Reviews / WITHIN TEMPTATION: Hydra
BAND/AUTHOR:

WITHIN TEMPTATION

(NETHERLANDS)

TITLE:
HYDRA
RELEASE DATE:
2014
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
MELODIC HARD ROCK
"Within Temptation keeps with this album its "commercial" line of conduct by proposing an ultra-melodic and very easy to listen opus."
LYNOTT - 18.02.2014 -
It has been a long time since Within Temptation moved away from the Gothic Metal of its origins to orient itself towards regions of less metallic months and more and more Pop Rock. "Mother Earth" had been a turning point, like "The Silence Force" and "The Unforgiving", the latest album to date, where the Pop, even Dance ('Sinead') line had been widely approached. However, thanks to the strong riffs and symphonic arrangements that had become a trademark, the metallic shadow still hung over the compositions. This "Hydra", which arrives three years after its predecessor, will be no exception. 

Sharon and her companions have four guests. We will not be surprised to see Tarja, more and more orphaned by Nightwish, landing on a "Paradise (What About Us?)" catchy as possible, equipped with a unifying commercial chorus and a "Symphonic Metal with singer" bridge. Nor will we be amazed to see Howard Jones, former singer of Killswitch Engage, come and join the fight in a "beauty and beast" version on a melodious and vitaminized "Dangerous". The third duo surprises a little bit with the appearance of David Pirner, the singer of Soul Asylum, on a "Whole World Is Watching" moving and supported by emphatic orchestrations. The last duo can, as for him, frighten at the base, since Xzibit comes to rap on the easy-listening "And We Run". However, the intervention of the Gaillard is closer to Pop here which makes the essay less anachronistic than it seems at first glance. 

For the other six tracks, we find a classic Within Temptation in the Power ballad Pop Metal with a "Let Us Burn" spicy and powerful or alternating the moving and the grandiloquent on an "Edge Of The World" a little less inspired and on a "Silver Moonlight" more dynamic. The combo's style is still present on the mid-tempo "Dog Days", also catchy and full of choirs reinforcing this impression and the heavy "Tell Me Why", the most muscular track of the opus but which does not forget the usual catchy melodic touch. 

So here we have, once again, an album that will trigger a wave of controversy but which, by its radio-friendly side, will embed, with even more weight undoubtedly, Within Temptation in the bands that allow symphonic metal to make its place in the sun among music lovers from other horizons.

More informations on http://www.within-temptation.com

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

EPICA, NIGHTWISH, LACUNA COIL, DELAIN, THE MURDER OF MY SWEET, EDENBRIDGE, AFTER FOREVER, FACTORY OF DREAMS, THE NURI, AMARTIA

TRACK LISTING

01. Let Us Burn
02. Dangerous
03. And We Run
04. Paradise (What About Us?)
05. Edge Of The World
06. Silver Moonlight
07. Covered By Roses
08. Dog Days
09. Tell Me Why
10. Whole World Is Watching


LINEUP

Jeroen van Veen: Basse
Martijn Spierenburg: Claviers
Mike Coolen : Batterie
Robert Westerholt: Guitares
Ruud Jolie: Guitares
Sharon Den Adel: Chant
Stefan Helleblad: Guitares
Dave Pirner: Chant / Invité
Howard Jones: Chant / Invité
Tarja Turunen: Chant / Invité
Xzibit: Chant / Invité


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Symphonic
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS WITHIN TEMPTATION
LAST NEWS
WITHIN TEMPTATION: New lyric video
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about WITHIN TEMPTATION
 
LAST ARTICLE
Taking advantage of Within Temptation's great European tour, we met Sharon Den Adel who confided without restraint in her life as an artist, a woman, a mother, a daughter,... A plunge into the intimacy of this entire artist.

Read the article
View all articles about WITHIN TEMPTATION
 
RATING
 
4/5 (3 view(s))
4/5 (4 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS WITHIN TEMPTATION
 
WITHIN-TEMPTATION_Resist Resist (2018)
SPINEFARM RECORDS / MELODIC METAL
WITHIN-TEMPTATION_Hydra Hydra (2014)
NUCLEAR BLAST / MELODIC HARD ROCK
WITHIN-TEMPTATION_The-Unforgiving The Unforgiving (2011)
SONY BMG / MELODIC HARD ROCK
WITHIN-TEMPTATION_The-Heart-Of-Everything The Heart Of Everything (2007)
SONY BMG / MELODIC METAL
WITHIN-TEMPTATION_The-Silent-Force The Silent Force (2004)
GUN RECORDS / MELODIC METAL
WITHIN-TEMPTATION_Mother-Earth Mother Earth (2001)
DSFA / MELODIC METAL
WITHIN-TEMPTATION_Enter Enter (1997)
DSFA / GOTHIC METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / WITHIN TEMPTATION: Hydra
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

WITHIN TEMPTATION

(HOLLANDE)

TITRE:
HYDRA
ANNEE PARUTION:
2014
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
"Within Temptation conserve avec cet album sa ligne de conduite "commerciale" en proposant un opus ultra-mélodique et très facile d'écoute qui s'éloigne un peu plus encore du Métal Mélodique de ses débuts tout en conservant les teintes symphoniques qui lui sont chères."
LYNOTT - 18.02.2014 -
Il y a bien longtemps que Within Temptation s’est éloigné du Métal Gothique de ses origines pour diversifier ses propos et s’orienter, de Métal Symphonique en Métal Mélodique, vers des contrées de mois en moins métalliques et de plus en plus Pop Rock. "Mother Earth" avait été un tournant, comme "The Silence Force" et "The Unforgiving", le dernier album en date, où la ligne Pop, voire Dance ('Sinead') avait été largement approchée. Cependant, grâce aux riffs assénés et aux arrangements symphoniques érigés en marque de fabrique, l’ombre métallique planait toujours sur les compositions, rendant bicéphales les productions des hollandais et, par là-même, déchainant moult oppositions passionnelles entre les adorateurs et les détracteurs du combo.

Cet "Hydra" qui arrive dans les bacs trois ans après son prédécesseur ne fera pas exception. Entre des duos improbables, des riffs plus pêchus que sur "The Unforgiving", le retour (même sporadique) des growls et l’abandon des trois ballades de rigueur, les critiques vont pouvoir s'en donner à coeur joie.

Les invités de Sharon et de ses comparses sont au nombre de quatre. Nous ne serons pas surpris de voir débarquer Tarja de plus en plus orpheline de Nightwish sur un 'Paradise (What About Us ?)' catchy au possible, doté d’un refrain commercial fédérateur et d’un pont « Métal Symphonique à chanteuse » comme on dit, rappelant que, tout de même, il y a des musiciens pas contents derrière elles. Nous ne serons pas non plus éberlués de voir Howard Jones, ex-chanteur de Killswitch Engage, venir se mêler à la bagarre en version « la bêle et la bête » sur un 'Dangerous' enlevé, mélodieux et vitaminé. Le troisième duo surprend un tantinet avec l’apparition de David Pirner, le chanteur de Soul Asylum, sur un 'Whole World Is Watching' émouvant et soutenu d’orchestrations plein d’emphase. Le dernier duo peut, quant à lui, effrayer à la base, puisque Xzibit, rappeur devant l’éternel, vient pousser la chansonnette sur l’easy-listening 'And We Run'. L'intervention du gaillard est toutefois ici plus proche de la Pop que du Rap - bien que le texte soit scandé - ce qui rend l’essai moins anachronique qu’il n’y paraît de prime abord.

Pour les six autres titres, on retrouve un Within Temptation classique dans le registre Power ballade Pop Métal avec un 'Let Us Burn' enlevé et puissant ou alternant l’émouvant et le grandiloquent sur un 'Edge Of The World' un peu moins inspiré et sur un 'Silver Moonlight' plus dynamique, une fois les propos lancés, au point de contenir quelques growls disparus du registre des hollandais depuis bien longtemps. La patte du combo est encore présente sur 'Covered By Roses' qui fait la part belle à la rythmique et laisse encore une fois des traces mélodiques addictives dans les esprits, sur le mid-tempo 'Dog Days', catchy également et blindé de chœurs renforçant cette impression et le heavy 'Tell Me Why', titre le plus musclé de l'opus mais qui n'oublie pas la touche mélodique accrocheuse habituelle.

Voilà donc, une fois de plus, un album qui va déclencher une volée de controverses mais qui, par son côté radio-friendly, va incruster, avec encore plus de poids à n’en pas douter, Within Temptation dans le parterre des groupes qui permettent au Hard Rock de se faire une place au soleil chez les mélomanes d’autres horizons.

Plus d'information sur http://www.within-temptation.com

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
EPICA, NIGHTWISH, LACUNA COIL, DELAIN, THE MURDER OF MY SWEET, EDENBRIDGE, AFTER FOREVER, FACTORY OF DREAMS, THE NURI, AMARTIA

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Let Us Burn
02. Dangerous
03. And We Run
04. Paradise (What About Us?)
05. Edge Of The World
06. Silver Moonlight
07. Covered By Roses
08. Dog Days
09. Tell Me Why
10. Whole World Is Watching


FORMATION:
Jeroen van Veen: Basse
Martijn Spierenburg: Claviers
Mike Coolen : Batterie
Robert Westerholt: Guitares
Ruud Jolie: Guitares
Sharon Den Adel: Chant
Stefan Helleblad: Guitares
Dave Pirner: Chant / Invité
Howard Jones: Chant / Invité
Tarja Turunen: Chant / Invité
Xzibit: Chant / Invité


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Symphonique
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC WITHIN TEMPTATION
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
WITHIN TEMPTATION et EVANESCENCE en tournée européenne en avril 2020
CONCERT

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant WITHIN TEMPTATION
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
À l'occasion de la grande tournée européenne de Within Temptation, nous avons rencontré Sharon Den Adel qui s'est confiée sans retenue sur sa vie d'artiste, de femme, de mère, de fille, ... Une plongée dans l'intimité de cette artiste entière.

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant WITHIN TEMPTATION
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (3 avis)
4/5 (4 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT WITHIN TEMPTATION
 
WITHIN-TEMPTATION_Resist Resist (2018)
SPINEFARM RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
WITHIN-TEMPTATION_Hydra Hydra (2014)
NUCLEAR BLAST / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
WITHIN-TEMPTATION_The-Unforgiving The Unforgiving (2011)
SONY BMG / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
WITHIN-TEMPTATION_An-Acoustic-Night-In-The-Th An Acoustic Night In The Theater (2009)
COLUMBIA / METAL GOTHIQUE
WITHIN-TEMPTATION_Black-Symphony Black Symphony (2008)
SONY BMG / METAL MELODIQUE
WITHIN-TEMPTATION_The-Heart-Of-Everything The Heart Of Everything (2007)
SONY BMG / METAL MELODIQUE
WITHIN-TEMPTATION_The-Silent-Force The Silent Force (2004)
GUN RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
WITHIN-TEMPTATION_Mother-Earth Mother Earth (2001)
DSFA / METAL MELODIQUE
WITHIN-TEMPTATION_Enter Enter (1997)
DSFA / METAL GOTHIQUE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019