BAND/AUTHOR:

FLYING COLORS

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
SECOND NATURE (2014)
LABEL:
MASCOT LABEL GROUP
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE ROCK

"Musically and emotionally very rich, 'Second Nature' is a melting pot of subliminal influences that are found in a melodious and original music to which we can easily adhere."
CORTO1809 - 21.10.2014 - (0) minds from our readers - (0) comment(s)
4/5
With their first eponymous album, the supergroup Flying Colors had seduced the Music Waves editorial staff. A challenge that was not won in advance because the association of great rock names is not enough to make the right bands and Neal Morse's presence in the combo could unbalance him, as the musical imprint of the man is easily recognizable in everything he does.

Far from what one might have feared, "Flying Colors" was an album that was at once balanced, melodious, varied and devilishly seductive. Let's kill the suspense: "Second Nature", by taking the same recipes, and even improving them a little, is proving to be the worthy successor. We find this finesse and care given to the compositions, the result of the delicate and intelligent fusion of the influences of the five musicians, and served by an interpretation whose quality needless to say, in view of the protagonists' backgrounds. We're in the top of the range!

The album is delimited by two long ballads, the intro title in the form of a traditional symphonic and progressive suite while the one serving as a conclusion is a sequence of three hymns to the cyclical melody. Between these two limits, the band takes us from romantic ballads to neo-Metal, hard rock, folk, pop and American variety, without this eclecticism turning to disparate.

If some passages cannot deny their Morsian influence (the unbridled introduction of "Open Up Your Eyes", the sentimental "A Place In Your World" or "Searching For The Air", the second part of "Cosmic Symphony", these two tracks being sung by Neal himself) and will delight fans of Spock's Beard and Transatlantic combined, they nevertheless remain sufficiently episodic not to upset its detractors, who would be wrong to deprive themselves of the listening of "Mask Machine", a high-flying space-metal with a stratospheric guitar solo reminiscent of some of Muse's muscular tracks, of 'Bombs Away', a powerful epic ballad close to Led Zeppelin, of the cinematic 'Peaceful Harbor' to majestic keyboard layers and melancholic vocals, or of the heady melodies of 'Cosmic Symphony'. Even the album's few lighter songs, from 'The Fury Of My Love' to 'Lost Without You', three songs flirting with marshmallow pop and the great American variety, has the good taste to be charismatic enough to be listened to gently.

Music is generally powerful, orchestral, melodious, inventive, like a torrent that carries everything in its path and the band don't hesitate to superimpose the layers to enrich its compositions. Let us pay tribute to the production whose clarity makes it possible to distinguish the work of each one even in the most dense passages. Finally, special mention to Casey McPherson for his impressive vocal abilities, both for the warmth of the feelings he shares and for his range and controlled power. Everything seems easy to him, a vocal chameleon daring the exuberance of a Matthew Bellamy, the purity of a Jeff Buckley and even crooner like Sinatra.

Musically and emotionally very rich, 'Second Nature' is a melting pot of subliminal influences that are found in a melodious and original music to which we can easily adhere.

More informations on http://flyingcolorsmusic.com/



SIMILAR BANDS:
TRANSATLANTIC, KINO, JEFF BUCKLEY, KARMAKANIC, MUSE, NEAL MORSE

TRACK LISTING:
01. Open Up Your Eyes 12:24
02. Mask Machine 06:06
03. Bombs Away 05:03
04. The Fury Of My Love 05:10
05. A Place In Your World 06:25
06. Lost Without You 04:46
07. One Love Forever 07:17
08. Peaceful Harbor 07:01
09. Cosmic Symphony (1. Still Life Of The World - 2. Searching For The Air - 3. Pound For Pound) 11:46


LINEUP:
Neal Morse: Chant / Claviers
Casey McPherson : Chant / Guitares
Dave Larue: Basse
Mike Portnoy: Chant / Batterie
Steve Morse: Guitares
Chris Carmichael: Invité / Cordes (4,8)
Eric Darken: Invité / Tambourin (7)
Shane Borth: Invité / Cordes (3)
The Mccrary Sisters: Invité / Choeurs (8,9)


TAGS:
Fusion, Melancholic, Symphonic, Technical
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this review or on this production
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH FLYING COLORS
LAST NEWS
FLYING COLORS: New video
All news about FLYING COLORS
RATING
4/5 (5 view(s)) 4.1/5 (8 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
ALLEN / LANDE: The Great Divide (2014)
MELODIC HARD ROCK Composed by Timo Tolkki (Stratovarius), this "Great Divide" doesn't insult the band's past albums and should satisfy the fans.
 
NEXT REVIEW
PENDRAGON: Men Who Climb Mountains (2014)
PROGRESSIVE ROCK In the tradition of 'Passion', this 2014 vintage is one more stone added to the edifice of the prog... A melodic, sensual, and fine progressive album... In short, a success.
STREAMING
 
The album may not have been released or the spotify ID has not yet been entered or there is no spotify ID available
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT FLYING COLORS
FLYING-COLORS_Third-Degree
Third Degree (2019)
4/5
3.3/5
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK
FLYING-COLORS_Flying-Colors
Flying Colors (2012)
4/5
3.8/5
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK
 
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / FLYING COLORS: Second Nature
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

FLYING COLORS

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
SECOND NATURE
ANNEE PARUTION:
2014
LABEL:
MASCOT LABEL GROUP
GENRE:
ROCK PROGRESSIF
"Très riche musicalement et émotionnellement, 'Second Nature' est un melting-pot d'influences subliminales qui se retrouvent dans une musique mélodieuse et originale à laquelle on adhère sans peine."
CORTO1809 - 21.10.2014 -
Avec leur premier album éponyme, le supergroupe Flying Colors avait su séduire la rédaction de Music Waves. Un pari qui n'était pas gagné d'avance car l'association de grands noms du rock ne suffit pas à faire les bons groupes et la présence de Neal Morse au sein du combo risquait de le déséquilibrer, tant l'empreinte musicale du bonhomme est aisément reconnaissable dans tout ce qu'il entreprend.

Loin de ce que l'on pouvait craindre, "Flying Colors" était un album à la fois équilibré, mélodieux, varié et diablement séduisant. Tuons le suspense : "Second Nature", en reprenant les mêmes recettes, et même en les améliorant un peu, s'avère en être le digne successeur. On retrouve cette finesse et ce soin apportés aux compositions, fruits de la fusion délicate et intelligente des influences des cinq musiciens, et servies par une interprétation dont il est inutile de rappeler la qualité au vu du cursus des protagonistes. On est dans le haut de gamme !

L'album est délimité par deux longues ballades, le titre d'intro sous forme de suite symphonique et progressive traditionnelle alors que celui servant de conclusion est un enchaînement de trois hymnes à la mélodie cyclique. Entre ces deux bornes, le groupe nous promène de la ballade romantique au néo-métal, en passant par le hard rock, le folk, la pop et la variété américaine, sans pour autant que cet éclectisme ne vire au disparate.

Si quelques passages ne peuvent renier leur influence morsienne (l'introduction déliée de 'Open Up Your Eyes', le sentimental 'A Place In Your World' ou 'Searching For The Air', la seconde partie de 'Cosmic Symphony', ces deux titres étant d'ailleurs chantés par Neal himself) et raviront les amateurs de Spock's Beard et Transatlantic réunis, ils restent néanmoins suffisamment épisodiques pour ne pas contrarier ses détracteurs qui auraient tort de se priver de l'écoute de 'Mask Machine', spatio-métal de haute volée avec solo stratosphérique de guitare rappelant certains titres musclés de Muse, de 'Bombs Away', puissante ballade épique proche de Led Zeppelin, du cinématique 'Peaceful Harbor' aux nappes de claviers majestueuses et aux vocalises mélancoliques, ou encore des mélodies entêtantes de 'Cosmic Symphony'. Même le ventre mou de l'album, de 'The Fury Of My Love' à 'Lost Without You', trois chansons flirtant avec la pop guimauve et la grande variété américaine, a le bon gout d'être suffisamment charismatique pour s'écouter gentiment.

La musique est généralement puissante, orchestrale, mélodieuse, inventive, et telle un torrent qui emporte tout sur son passage. Si les musiciens jouent souvent tutti, le groupe n'hésitant pas à superposer les couches aux couches pour étoffer ses compositions, rendons hommage à la production dont la clarté permet de distinguer le travail de chacun même dans les passages les plus denses. Enfin, mention spéciale à Casey McPherson pour ses capacités vocales impressionnantes, tant par la chaleur des sentiments qu'il fait partager que par sa tessiture et sa puissance maîtrisée. Tout lui semble aisé, caméléon vocal osant l'exubérance d'un Matthew Bellamy, la pureté d'un Jeff Buckley et même crooner façon Sinatra.

Très riche musicalement et émotionnellement, 'Second Nature' est un melting-pot d'influences subliminales qui se retrouvent dans une musique mélodieuse et originale à laquelle on adhère sans peine.

Plus d'information sur http://flyingcolorsmusic.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
NEAL MORSE, TRANSATLANTIC, KARMAKANIC, JEFF BUCKLEY, MUSE, KINO

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Open Up Your Eyes 12:24
02. Mask Machine 06:06
03. Bombs Away 05:03
04. The Fury Of My Love 05:10
05. A Place In Your World 06:25
06. Lost Without You 04:46
07. One Love Forever 07:17
08. Peaceful Harbor 07:01
09. Cosmic Symphony (1. Still Life Of The World - 2. Searching For The Air - 3. Pound For Pound) 11:46


FORMATION:
Neal Morse: Chant / Claviers
Casey McPherson : Chant / Guitares
Dave Larue: Basse
Mike Portnoy: Chant / Batterie
Steve Morse: Guitares
Chris Carmichael: Invité / Cordes (4,8)
Eric Darken: Invité / Tambourin (7)
Shane Borth: Invité / Cordes (3)
The Mccrary Sisters: Invité / Choeurs (8,9)


TAGS:
Fusion, Mélancolique, Symphonique, Technique
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
productionuser_idproduction_comment_idproduction_review_id

LOLO_THE_BEST59 - 08/11/2014 13:58:39
Quel bonheur que ce "second nature". Du progressif pur jus, une musique de qualité, des musiciens hors pairs, que demander de plus. L'intro de "open up your eyes" est juste dantesque, 4 mn de jubilation intense. Et que dire du final de Cosmic Symphony, qu'on dirait tout droit sorti d'un album de Bruce Springsteen. Bref, du tranquille "peaceful harbour" au vitaminé "bombs away", que du bon (seul le titre "mask machine", qui lorgne trop vers le hard rock pour moi, m'a laissé de marbre). Un des albums de l'année, à n'en pas douter.
9075 16703

LYNOTT - 21/10/2014 13:21:34
Indéniablement Morse prend de plus en plus de place dans ce projet. Son influence se ressent fortement depuis le Live de l'an passé et c'est encore vrai sur cet opus.

"Second Nature" est un album riche, intelligent, technique et habité parfois comme peuvent l'être les œuvres de Transatlantic ou Spock's Beard.

Toutefois je reste calé sur mes bonnes impressions du premier album qui me parlait plus mélodiquement parlant car davantage tourné vers des mélodies easy listening plus proches de mes penchants habituels d'amateur de Hard Rock mélodique.

Cependant je reconnais que les amateurs de Prog devraient adhérer pleinement à cette nouvelle production du groupe.
1607 16592
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC FLYING COLORS
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
FLYING COLORS : Nouvelle vidéo
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant FLYING COLORS
 
NOTES
 
4.1/5 (8 avis)
4/5 (5 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT FLYING COLORS
 
FLYING-COLORS_Third-Degree Third Degree (2019)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK
FLYING-COLORS_Second-Nature Second Nature (2014)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK PROGRESSIF
FLYING-COLORS_Live-Europe Live Europe (2013)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
FLYING-COLORS_Flying-Colors Flying Colors (2012)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019