MW / Home / Reviews / LEPROUS: The Congregation
BAND/AUTHOR:

LEPROUS

(NORWAY)

TITLE:
THE CONGREGATION
RELEASE DATE:
2015
LABEL:
INSIDEOUT MUSIC
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE METAL
"Leprous follows in the footsteps of "Coal" with a "The Congregation" that will divert the attention of fans even more from the Norwegians' first albums."
NUNO777 - 11.05.2015 -
After a cryptic "Coal" with dark and sticky atmospheres, Leprous seems to keep the same darkness if we judge by the cover of "The Congregation", far from the bright and floral colours that accompanied the Norwegians' iconography. Internally, the band's stability was disrupted with, for the first time, a change in the precious rhythm section of the combo. In the composition too, the cohesion is no longer the same because, this time, the birth of this monstrous musical creature is the result of a solipsistic approach by Einar Solberg, which was based on high computer technology.

"The Congregation" releases a dense content from which it is difficult to emerge the dose of crazy eccentricity that the band used to offer in their first albums by playing on styles and reliefs. The models present have more to do with those of "Coal", namely a perspective by contrasts, not always in fluidity, of a dull musical material and very melodic vocal parts. The construction of the pieces is supported by a rhythmic debauchery, in epileptic and syncopated modalities ('The Price' or'Third Law') that contrast relatively with the slow metrics of "Coal", and by an unbridled use of synthesizers leaving the guitars, often played in tremolo picking, the second roles. 

"The Congregation" is impressive both in the rich harmonies and melodies and in the intentions of great accuracy, whether dramatic and plaintive ('Third Law'), possessed ('Rewind'), melancholic ('Moon' and'Slave') or angry ('Rewind' and the end of'Slave'). In his solitary approach, the singer focuses much of his creativity on his own performances and less on the unexpected progressive variety that was the attraction of Leprous' music. The songs tend globally towards song formats painfully stretched by predictable instrumental parts in the form of bridges that are often dynamic but built on the same standard, whose developments are rarely evolutionary.

It is mainly from keyboard textures and electronic effects that the composer draws his musical material, offering at the same time the ideal coating to highlight his vocalizations. The 7 and 8 string guitars and the almost undue sound effects amplify the unhealthy impression that surrounds some tracks like 'Red' and the top of the album 'The Flood' and blur the line between the inertia of the machine and the palpitation of the living. When we know, by Einar's own admission, that it was Massive Attack's trip hop that inspired him during his night writing sessions, we have a better understanding of the origin of the repetitive motifs around which many of the titles of "The Congregation" are articulated. On rare occasions, Einar escapes from this constraint to more symphonic arrangements ('Moon'), brighter breakthroughs ('Down' and'Within My Fence') or progressive ('Rewind'). 

The "Coal" experience was not just a simple curve in Leprous' path but a real turning point that shattered part of the legacy of their first three brilliant creative records. If Einar Solberg had the initial ambition to get straight to the point, the songs would have benefited from being lightened up by certain passages that offer nothing original, and worse, marking the impression of boredom that emerges on too many occasions. It would be in the band's interest, whatever the future direction, to reconnect with the diversity in which it excelled, and probably to rediscover collegial writing.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/leprousband/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

HAKEN, THE MARS VOLTA, IHSAHN, TOOL, NINE INCH NAILS, ERESIS, HAUCHARD

TRACK LISTING

01. The Price-05:14
02. Third Law-06:18
03. Rewind-07:07
04. The Flood-07:51
05. Triumphant-04:25
06. Within My Fence-03:16
07. Red-06:35
08. Slave-06:37
09. Moon-07:13
10. Down-06:26
11. Lower-04:39


LINEUP

Baard Kolstad: Batterie
Einar Solberg: Chant / Claviers
Oystein Landsverk: Guitares
Tor Oddmund Suhrke: Guitares


TAGS:
Heavy, Melancholic, Dark, Chorus
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
PROGRACER - 11/05/2015 12:35:04
Mon ami Nuno a tout à fait résumé la situation : l'inspiration de Leprous s'épuise au fil des minutes et le vent de fraicheur qu'était le groupe jusqu'à "Bilateral" a fait long feu. Le groupe a visiblement opéré un virage définitif depuis "Coal" à mon plus grand désarroi. Sans être mauvais, "The Congregation" s'écoute, un fois.
2508276
 
LINKS LEPROUS
LAST NEWS
Leprous: New video
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about LEPROUS
 
RATING
 
3.2/5 (4 view(s))
4.7/5 (3 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS LEPROUS
 
LEPROUS_Pitfalls Pitfalls (2019)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / ROCK
LEPROUS_Malina Malina (2017)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / PROGRESSIVE METAL
LEPROUS_The-Congregation The Congregation (2015)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / PROGRESSIVE METAL
LEPROUS_Coal Coal (2013)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / PROGRESSIVE METAL
LEPROUS_Bilateral Bilateral (2011)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / PROGRESSIVE METAL
LEPROUS_Tall-Poppy-Syndrome Tall Poppy Syndrome (2009)
LASER'S EDGE / PROGRESSIVE METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / LEPROUS: The Congregation
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

LEPROUS

(NORVÈGE)

TITRE:
THE CONGREGATION
ANNEE PARUTION:
2015
LABEL:
INSIDEOUT MUSIC
GENRE:
METAL PROGRESSIF
"Leprous s’inscrit dans la lignée de "Coal" avec un "The Congregation" qui détournera encore un peu plus l’attention des amateurs des premiers albums des norvégiens."
NUNO777 - 11.05.2015 -
Après un "Coal" cryptique aux atmosphères sombres et poisseuses, Leprous semble conserver la même noirceur si on en juge par la pochette de "The Congregation", bien loin des couleurs vives et florales qui accompagnaient l'iconographie des norvégiens. En interne, la stabilité du groupe est bouleversée avec, pour la première fois, un changement au niveau de la précieuse section rythmique du combo. Dans la composition aussi, la cohésion n'est plus la même car, cette fois-ci, l'accouchement de cette créature musicale monstrueuse est issue d’une démarche solipsiste d’Einar Solberg qui s'est appuyé sur la haute technologie informatique.

"The Congregation" déverse un contenu dense duquel a du mal à émerger la dose de folle excentricité que le groupe avait si génialement l'habitude de proposer dans ses premiers albums en jouant sur les styles et les reliefs. Les modèles présents ont plus à voir avec ceux de "Coal", à savoir une mise en perspective par contrastes, pas toujours en fluidité, d’une matière musicale terne et de parties vocales très mélodiques. Le bâti des morceaux est pris en charge par une débauche rythmique, dans des modalités épileptiques et syncopées ('The Price' ou 'Third Law') qui tranchent relativement avec les métriques lentes de "Coal", et par une utilisation débridée des synthétiseurs laissant aux guitares, souvent jouées en tremolo picking, les seconds rôles.

"The Congregation" est impressionnant aussi bien dans les riches harmonies et mélodies que dans les intentions d'une grande justesse, qu'elles soient dramatiques et plaintives ('Third Law'), possédées ('Rewind'), mélancoliques ('Moon' et 'Slave') ou colériques ('Rewind' et la fin de 'Slave'). Dans son approche solitaire, le chanteur porte une grande partie de sa créativité sur ses propres performances et insiste moins sur l'inattendue variété progressive qui constituait l'attrait pour la musique de Leprous. Les morceaux tendent globalement vers les formats chansons péniblement étirés par des parties instrumentales prévisibles sous forme de pont souvent dynamiques mais construits sur le même standard, dont les développements sont rarement évolutifs.

C'est principalement dans les textures de claviers et les effets électroniques que le compositeur puise son matériau musical, offrant du même coup l'enrobage idéal pour mettre en avant ses vocalises. Les guitares 7 et 8 cordes ainsi que les bruitages presque indus amplifient l'impression malsaine qui entoure certains titres comme 'Red' et le sommet de l'album 'The Flood' et brouillent la frontière entre l'inertie de la machine et la palpitation du vivant. Quand on sait, de l'aveu même de Einar, que c'est le trip hop de Massive Attack qui l'a inspiré pendant ses séances nocturnes d'écriture on comprend mieux l'origine des motifs répétitifs autour desquels s'articulent nombre de titres de "The Congregation". A de rares occasions, Einar s'échappe de ce carcan pour aller vers des arrangements plus symphoniques ('Moon'), des percées plus lumineuses ('Down' et 'Within My Fence') ou progressives (‘Rewind’).

L’expérience "Coal" n’aura pas été qu’une simple courbe dans le parcours de Leprous mais un véritable tournant faisant table rase d’une partie de l’héritage de leurs trois premiers disques brillants de créativité. Si Einar Solberg avait l'ambition initiale d'aller droit à l'essentiel, les morceaux auraient gagné à être allégés de certains passages n'offrant rien d'original, pis, marquant l'impression d'ennui qui se dégage à de trop nombreuses occasions. En essayant de faire fi du Leprous des débuts, le constat est malgré tout réservé quant à la capacité du groupe (d'Einar) à proposer une musique exigeante qui transcende la simple virtuosité vocale sur tout un album, et l'essoufflement de la seconde partie de "The Congregation" en est la démonstration. Le groupe aurait intérêt, quelle que soit la direction empruntée à l'avenir, à renouer avec l'altérité et la diversité dans lesquelles il excellait, et probablement à retrouver une écriture collégiale.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/leprousband/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
HAKEN, THE MARS VOLTA, IHSAHN, TOOL, NINE INCH NAILS, ERESIS, HAUCHARD

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. The Price-05:14
02. Third Law-06:18
03. Rewind-07:07
04. The Flood-07:51
05. Triumphant-04:25
06. Within My Fence-03:16
07. Red-06:35
08. Slave-06:37
09. Moon-07:13
10. Down-06:26
11. Lower-04:39


FORMATION:
Baard Kolstad: Batterie
Einar Solberg: Chant / Claviers
Oystein Landsverk: Guitares
Tor Oddmund Suhrke: Guitares


TAGS:
Lourde, Mélancolique, Oppressant, Sombre, Choeurs
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
PROGRACER - 11/05/2015 12:35:04
Mon ami Nuno a tout à fait résumé la situation : l'inspiration de Leprous s'épuise au fil des minutes et le vent de fraicheur qu'était le groupe jusqu'à "Bilateral" a fait long feu. Le groupe a visiblement opéré un virage définitif depuis "Coal" à mon plus grand désarroi. Sans être mauvais, "The Congregation" s'écoute, un fois.
2508276
 
EN RELATION AVEC LEPROUS
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
LEPROUS: Nouvelle vidéo
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant LEPROUS
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Music Waves suit le Heart Sound Metal Fest depuis ses débuts et quoi de plus naturel que nous couvrions à nouveau ce festival pour une quatrième édition plus que jamais placée sous le signe du prog...

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant LEPROUS
 
NOTES
 
3.2/5 (4 avis)
4.7/5 (3 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT LEPROUS
 
LEPROUS_Pitfalls Pitfalls (2019)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / ROCK
LEPROUS_Malina Malina (2017)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / METAL PROGRESSIF
LEPROUS_The-Congregation The Congregation (2015)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / METAL PROGRESSIF
LEPROUS_Coal Coal (2013)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / METAL PROGRESSIF
LEPROUS_Bilateral Bilateral (2011)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / METAL PROGRESSIF
LEPROUS_Tall-Poppy-Syndrome Tall Poppy Syndrome (2009)
LASER'S EDGE / METAL PROGRESSIF
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019