BAND/AUTHOR:

BARONESS

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
PURPLE (2015)
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
ALTERNATIVE_ROCK

"Somewhere between emotional and progressive sludge, Baroness signs with "Purple" the album we were all waiting for after "Blue Record"."
CHILDERIC THOR - 11.02.2016 - (0) minds from our readers - (0) comment(s)
4/5
Baroness is one of the few contemporary bands to have been able to impose over time a visual as well as a sound identity, which necessarily owes much to John Baizley, founder, singer and graphic designer whose superb artworks are so recognizable.

Baroness is therefore a colourful universe with a very marked style, which gravitates somewhere between emotional and progressive sludge but it is also a concept, each album answering the name of a colour. After red, blue, yellow and green, the Americans chose purple to baptize their fourth offering, which almost never saw the light of day, following the serious accident of which its authors were the victims in 2012 with their tour-bus. Did they draw from this ordeal a will, an energy that was beginning to fade, witness this "Yellow & Green" (too much) contrasted and dragging on? Possible, but let's leave out this kind of analysis, easy and futile. 

Nevertheless, the quartet delivers with "Purple" the opus we were all waiting for after a referential "Blue Record". However, don't believe that Baroness has decided to revive the filthy sound of his early days, on the contrary, he remains faithful to the signature that made his success, of a deceptive simplicity, capable of stirring up a wide audience. However, it remains true that his music is adorned with the sharp nervousness that the previous record was a little stingy with. 

The result is a compact ensemble, within which is always nestled this singular ambivalence nourished by these overpowering aspects and this fragile voice tinged with bitterness. Melodic and tense like a ship's jib, the inaugural "Morningstar" synthesizes this nuanced writing with strength and elegance. Relatively short, the album is all along crossed by these tumults which prevent him from drowning. 

But there are always those fierce riffs or solos that Brian May of Queen would not deny, that save titles such as "Try To Disappear", "Chlorine & Wine" and especially "If I Have To Wake Up (Would You Stop The Rain)", thereby underlining the importance of guitarist Peter Adams. Extremely dynamic, "Purple" opens the floodgates of a melancholy that poisons most of the tracks, like "The Iron Bell" or "Kerosene", tainted with discreet electro scents while twisted lines like Mastodon thread their way through the middle. 

Baroness signs a great record that should reconcile him with his fans that "Yellow & Green" had somewhat disappointed.

More informations on http://yourbaroness.com/



SIMILAR BANDS:
LEVIATHANS, MASTODON

TRACK LISTING:
01. Morningstar
02. Shock Me
03. Try to Disappear
04. Kerosene
05. Fugue
06. Chlorine & Wine
07. The Iron Bell
08. Desperation Burns
09. If I Have To Wake Up (Would You Stop The Rain)
10. Crossroads Of Infinity


LINEUP:
John Baizley: Chant / Guitares
Nick Jost: Basse / Claviers
Pete Adams: Chant / Guitares
Sebastian Thomson: Batterie


TAGS:
Heavy
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this review or on this production
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH BARONESS
RATING
3/5 (1 view(s)) 3.7/5 (3 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
THE TEA CLUB: Grappling (2015)
PROGRESSIVE ROCK "Grappling" is an excellent album whose complexity may discourage fans of smooth neo-prog but which should speak to all those who expect surprises from adventurous music.
 
NEXT REVIEW
HYPNO5E: Shores Of The Abstract Lines (2016)
OTHERS EXTREME "Shores of the Abstract Line" is a divine illumination, a chiaroscuro music that constantly takes us on a roller coaster ride.
STREAMING
 
The album may not have been released or the spotify ID has not yet been entered or there is no spotify ID available
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT BARONESS
BARONESS_Gold--Grey
Gold & Grey (2019)
4/5
-/5
AUTRE LABEL / ALTERNATIVE_ROCK
 
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / BARONESS: Purple
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

BARONESS

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
PURPLE
ANNEE PARUTION:
2015
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
ROCK ALTERNATIF
"Quelque part entre sludge émotionnel et progressif trapu, Baroness signe avec "Purple" l'album que nous attendions tous après "Blue Record"."
CHILDERIC THOR - 11.02.2016 -
Baroness fait partie des rares formations contemporaines à avoir su imposer au fil du temps une identité autant visuelle que sonore, laquelle doit forcément beaucoup à John Baizley, à la fois fondateur, chanteur et graphiste dont les artworks, superbes, se révèlent tellement reconnaissables qu'on associe de facto au groupe de Savannah, les nombreuses pochettes que le bonhomme réalise par ailleurs pour Torche, Black Tusk et bien d'autres.

Baroness, c'est donc un univers coloré au style très marqué, qui gravite quelque part entre sludge émotionnel et progressif trapu mais c'est aussi un concept, chaque album répondant au nom d'une couleur. Après le rouge, le bleu, le jaune et le vert, les Américains ont choisi le pourpre pour baptiser leur quatrième offrande qui a bien failli du reste ne jamais voir le jour, suite au grave accident dont ses auteurs furent les victimes en 2012 avec leur tour-bus. Ceux-ci ont-ils puisé dans cette épreuve une volonté, une énergie qui commençaient à s'étioler, témoin ce "Yellow & Green" (trop) contrasté et traînant en longueur ? Possible, mais laissons de côté ce genre d'analyse de bazar, facile et vaine.

Toujours est-il que le quatuor livre avec "Purple" l'opus que nous attendions tous après un "Blue Record" référentiel. N'allez cependant pas croire que Baroness ait décidé de renouer avec le son crasseux de ses balbutiements, au contraire, il reste fidèle à la signature qui a fait son succès, d'une trompeuse simplicité, capable de brasser un large public. Toutefois, il n'en demeure pas moins vrai que sa musique se pare de cette nervosité acérée dont était un peu avare le disque précédent.

Il en découle un ensemble compact et ramassé, à l'intérieur duquel se niche toujours cette singulière ambivalence que nourrissent ces aplats surpuissants et cette voix fragile teintée d'amertume. Mélodique et tendu comme le foc d'un navire, l'inaugural 'Morningstar' synthétise avec force et élégance cette écriture nuancée. Relativement court, l'album est tout du long traversé par ces tumultes qui l'empêchent de se noyer dans le sirop, piège parfois évité de peu, il est vrai.

Mais il y a toujours ces riffs féroces ou ces soli que ne renierait pas Brian May de Queen qui sauvent de la niaiserie des titres tels que 'Try To Disappear',  'Chlorine & Wine' et surtout 'If I Have To Wake Up (Would You Stop The Rain)', soulignant par là-même l'importance du guitariste Peter Adams dans l'érection de sonorités aux accents évolutifs. Extrêmement dynamique, "Purple" ouvre les vannes d'une mélancolie qui poisse la majorité des morceaux, à l'image de 'The Iron Bell' ou 'Kerosene', tavelée de discrètes effluves electro cependant que des lignes tordues à la Mastodon se faufilent au milieu.

Baroness signe un grand disque qui devrait le réconcilier avec ses fans que "Yellow & Green" avait quelque peu déçus.

Plus d'information sur http://yourbaroness.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
MASTODON, LEVIATHANS

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Morningstar
02. Shock Me
03. Try to Disappear
04. Kerosene
05. Fugue
06. Chlorine & Wine
07. The Iron Bell
08. Desperation Burns
09. If I Have To Wake Up (Would You Stop The Rain)
10. Crossroads Of Infinity


FORMATION:
John Baizley: Chant / Guitares
Nick Jost: Basse / Claviers
Pete Adams: Chant / Guitares
Sebastian Thomson: Batterie


TAGS:
Lourde
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC BARONESS
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
BARONESS: Purple
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant BARONESS
 
NOTES
 
3.7/5 (3 avis)
3/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT BARONESS
 
BARONESS_Gold--Grey Gold & Grey (2019)
AUTRE LABEL / ROCK ALTERNATIF
BARONESS_Purple Purple (2015)
AUTRE LABEL / ROCK ALTERNATIF
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019