MW / Home / Reviews / DREAM THEATER: The Astonishing
BAND/AUTHOR:

DREAM THEATER

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
THE ASTONISHING
RELEASE DATE:
2016
LABEL:
ROADRUNNER RECORDS
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE METAL / OTHERS
"After more than a decade of rather disappointing inspiration and creativity, Dream Theater returns with a fully successful double album that will delight fans of the period around the 2000s."
NUNO777 - 22.01.2016 -
Dream Theater has never developed such a mysterious promotional campaign for an album. "The Astonishing", whose details have been revealed in droves, is a 2h10 double conceptual mythic-heroic-science-fiction disc that recalls great sagas like Star Wars, The Lord of the Rings or Dune. The story, a true scenario written by John Petrucci, takes place in a distant, totalitarian and dehumanized future on the verge of a revolution through music and tells the adventures of eight characters in two antagonistic camps, the "Great Northern Empire of the Americas" and the rebel militia "Ravenskill Rebel Militia". The point on the concept being made, while taking care not to reveal the main facts, what about the music?

"The Astonishing" is a dense and ambitious work with a double opera-rock dimension created by a band more oriented towards its fertile "SFAM" and "SDoIT" period than its recent metalo-thrash preferences. The very diversified melodic content facilitates immersion via many mid-tempi with rather rock ('Hymn Of A Thousand Voices' with medieval accents,'When Your Time Has Come') or melancholic ('The X Aspect','Begin Again') modalities. These moderately metrical tracks mix with other more polymorphic titles mixing fragility, energy and dramaturgy (the vintage and groovy "A Life Left Behind", "A Tempting Offer" and the dark "The Path That Divides"). The heavier passages and virtuoso instrumental sequences, whose second act is particularly well stocked ('Moment Of Betrayal','The Walking Shadow','The Gift Of Music' and the very brassy'A New Beginning'), never switch to a sterile demonstration and are intelligently distilled not to upset the harmonies carrying much solemnity.

The symphonic density of "The Astonishing", very balanced in its association with the digital keys of the keyboards and the strong presence of instruments with organic sounds such as piano, organ and acoustic guitar, nourishes the entire work and gives it its classical and romantic resonances as well as its epic character. Jordan Rudess' role in the harmonies (brilliantly transcribed by conductor David Campbell) and keyboards is major, almost relegating Petrucci's guitars, who offers superb solos ('A Better Life' and the superb end of'A New Beginning'), to supporting roles. Increasing its cinematographic and visual depth, the album is sequenced like a series of shots in which the screenplay erupts many times in the form of sound sketches with warlike connotations (the martial "Brother, You Can Can Hear me").

James Labrie, fully vocal and comfortable in these formats, is the second key musician of "The Astonishing" for his performances particularly strong in emotional expression ('My Last Farewell') and the interpretation of musical themes associated with each character ('Three Days','Ravenskill','The Walking Shadow'). By modulating his voice and intonations, he succeeds in accurately and finely embodying the very diverse sensibilities of the actors of history, including those of the emperor with his strong theatricality (Lord Nafaryus' tango), the young elected official or women ('Act Of Faythe'). The rhythm section, on the other hand, adjusts to the record's temporalities thanks to Mike Mangini, who masters his hitting impulses but whose snare drum is still blocked in the 90s. John Myung is more and more spoiled by the mix, which this time gives him three minutes of glory (the ethereal end of 'A New Beginning').

"The Astonishing" is a total and grandiloquent work that is full of details and references whose discovery is renewed with each listening. Paradoxically, the double album is easily approached thanks to its division into 34 paintings of reasonable length, its structures and its very fluid melodies never over-complexified. This monumental opera-rock is intended to express all its dimensions during the shows that the band will start this winter, perhaps to inspire a film whose album would be the soundtrack. Dream Theater makes a smashing comeback among the greats with the immense "The Astonishing", its most audacious and successful production by far since "Scenes From A Memory".

More informations on http://www.dreamtheater.net

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

PAIN OF SALVATION, SHADOW GALLERY, HAKEN, ANTHROPIA, DEREK SHERINIAN, DARKWATER, AEON ZEN, SIEGES EVEN, ROSWELL SIX, PAGAN'S MIND

TRACK LISTING

01. ACT I: Descent of the NOMACS
02. Dystopian Overture
03. The Gift of Music
04. The Answer
05. A Better Life
06. Lord Nafaryus
07. A Savior in the Square
08. When Your Time Has Come
09. Act of Faythe
10. Three Days
11. The Hovering Sojourn
12. Brother Can You Hear Me?
13. A Life Left Behind
14. Ravenskill
15. Chosen
16. A Tempting Offer
17. Digital Discord
18. The X Aspect
19. A New Beginning
20. The Road to Revolution
21. ACT II: 2285 Entr'acte
22. Moment of Betrayal
23. Heaven's Cove
24. Begin Again
25. The Path That Divides
26. Machine Chatter
27. The Walking Shadow
28. My Last Farewell
29. Losing Faythe
30. Whispers on the Wind
31. Hymn of a Thousand Voices
32. Our New World
33. Power Down
34. Astonishing


LINEUP

James Labrie: Chant
John Myung: Basse
John Petrucci: Guitares
Jordan Rudess: Claviers
Mike Mangini: Batterie


TAGS:
Epic, Melancholic, Classical Music, Movie music, Romantic, Symphonic, Technical, Theatrical, Concept-album, Chorus
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
LOLO_THE_BEST59 - 17/04/2016 16:57:42
Comment, encore aucun commentaire sur cet album tout simplement monstrueux ? Plusieurs semaines après, je lui cherche encore des défauts, et le seul que je trouve, c'est le titre de fin qui s'ajuste mal à la grandeur de l'album (mais bon, c'est vraiment pour chipauter). En tout cas, Dream Theater introduit beaucoup de subtilités dans son métal progressif et c'est encore ce qui lui réussit le mieux. Un titre comme "A life Left Behind" illustre à merveille mes propos. Et la voix de James Labbrie n'est jamais aussi envoutante que lorsqu'elle se pose sur des mélodies éthérées "But who am I, if not the one ...". Alors, chapeau bas messieurs, et merci pour tout.
9075342
 
LINKS DREAM THEATER
LAST ARTICLE
For the release of "Wired Of Madness", Jordan Rudess' new album, the keyboard player talked with Music Waves about "Distance Over Time" by Dream Theater

Read the article
View all articles about DREAM THEATER
 
RATING
 
3.7/5 (10 view(s))
4.1/5 (8 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS DREAM THEATER
 
DREAM-THEATER_Distance-Over-Time Distance Over Time (2019)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / PROGRESSIVE METAL
DREAM-THEATER_The-Astonishing The Astonishing (2016)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / PROGRESSIVE METAL
DREAM-THEATER_Dream-Theater Dream Theater (2013)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / MELODIC METAL
DREAM-THEATER_A-Dramatic-Turn-Of-Events A Dramatic Turn Of Events (2011)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / PROGRESSIVE METAL
DREAM-THEATER_Black-Clouds--Silver-Linings Black Clouds & Silver Linings (2009)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / PROGRESSIVE METAL
DREAM-THEATER_Systematic-Chaos Systematic Chaos (2007)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / PROGRESSIVE METAL
DREAM-THEATER_Octavarium Octavarium (2005)
ATLANTIC RECORDS / PROGRESSIVE METAL
DREAM-THEATER_Train-Of-Thought Train Of Thought (2003)
WARNER / PROGRESSIVE METAL
DREAM-THEATER_Scenes-From-A-Memory Scenes From A Memory (1999)
WARNER / PROGRESSIVE METAL
DREAM-THEATER_Falling-Into-Infinity Falling Into Infinity (1997)
EASTWEST / PROGRESSIVE METAL
DREAM-THEATER_A-Change-Of-Season A Change Of Season (1995)
EASTWEST / PROGRESSIVE METAL
DREAM-THEATER_Awake Awake (1994)
EASTWEST / PROGRESSIVE METAL
DREAM-THEATER_Images-And-Words Images And Words (1992)
ATLANTIC RECORDS / PROGRESSIVE METAL
DREAM-THEATER_When-Dream-And-Day-Unite When Dream And Day Unite (1989)
MCA / PROGRESSIVE METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Home / Reviews / DREAM THEATER: The Astonishing
22.01.2016 by NUNO777
BAND/AUTHOR:

DREAM THEATER

(ETATS UNIS)

TITLE:
THE ASTONISHING
RELEASE DATE:
2016
LABEL:
ROADRUNNER RECORDS
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE METAL / OTHERS
"Après plus d'une décennie plutôt décevante en termes d'inspiration et de créativité, Dream Theater abandonne enfin ses influences récentes, allant de Metallica à Muse, et nous revient avec un double-album pleinement réussi qui ravira les inconditionnels de la période qui gravite autour des années 2000."

Jamais Dream Theater n'aura élaboré une campagne de promotion aussi mystérieuse pour un album. "The Astonishing", dont les détails ont été révélés au compte-gouttes, se présente sous la forme d'un double disque conceptuel mythico-héroïco-science-fiction de 2h10 qui rappelle les grandes sagas comme Star Wars, Le Seigneur des Anneaux ou Dune. L'histoire, véritable scénario écrit par John Petrucci, se déroule dans un futur éloigné, totalitaire et déshumanisé à l'orée d'une révolution par la musique et conte les aventures de huit personnages répartis dans deux camps antagonistes, le "Great Northern Empire of the Americas" et la milice rebelle "Ravenskill Rebel Militia". Le point sur le concept étant fait, en veillant à ne pas en dévoiler les principaux faits, qu'en est-il de la musique?

"The Astonishing" est une œuvre dense et ambitieuse à la double dimension opéra-rock créée par une formation plus tournée vers sa fertile période "SFAM" et "SDoIT" que ses récentes préférences metalo-thrash. Le contenu mélodique très diversifié facilite l'immersion via de nombreux mid-tempi aux modalités plutôt rock ('Hymn Of A Thousand Voices' aux accents médiévaux, 'When Your Time Has Come') ou mélancoliques ('The X Aspect', 'Begin Again') dont certains paroxysmes hantés de chœurs cérémoniels frisent parfois l'emphase ('Losing Faythe', 'Chosen' et 'Astonishing'). Ces morceaux aux métriques modérées côtoient d'autres titres plus polymorphes mélangeant la fragilité, l'énergie et la dramaturgie (le vintage et groovy 'A Life Left Behind', 'A Tempting Offer' et le sombre 'The Path That Divides'). Les passages plus heavy et les séquences instrumentales virtuoses, dont le deuxième acte est particulièrement bien garni ('Moment Of Betrayal', 'The Walking Shadow', 'The Gift Of Music' et le très cuivré 'A New Beginning'), ne basculent jamais dans la stérile démonstration et sont intelligemment distillés pour ne pas bousculer les harmonies porteuses de beaucoup de solennité et de pesanteur.

La densité symphonique de "The Astonishing", très équilibrée dans son association avec les tonalités digitales des claviers et la forte présence d'instruments aux sonorités organiques comme le piano, l'orgue et la guitare acoustique, nourrit la totalité de l'œuvre et lui confère ses résonances classiques et romantiques ainsi que son caractère épique. Le rôle de Jordan Rudess dans les harmonisations (brillamment transcrites par le chef d'orchestre David Campbell) et aux claviers est majeur, reléguant presque les guitares de Petrucci, qui se fend de superbes soli par ailleurs ('A Better Life' et la superbe fin de 'A New Beginning'), aux seconds rôles. Augmentant sa profondeur cinématographique et visuelle, l'album est séquencé comme un enchaînement de plans dans lequels le scénario fait irruption à de nombreuses reprises sous la forme de saynètes sonores aux connotations guerrières (le martial 'Brother, You Can Hear me').

James Labrie, pleinement en voix et à l’aise dans ces formats, est le deuxième musicien clé de "The Astonishing" par ses prestations particulièrement relevées dans l'expression émotionnelle ('My Last Farewell') et l'interprétation des thèmes musicaux associés à chaque personnage ('Three Days', 'Ravenskill', 'The Walking Shadow'). Il parvient, en modulant sa voix et ses intonations, à incarner avec justesse et finesse les sensibilités très diverses des acteurs de l'histoire dont celles de l'empereur à la forte théâtralité (le tango de 'Lord Nafaryus'), du jeune élu ou des femmes ('Act Of Faythe'). La section rythmique, quant à elle, s'ajuste aux temporalités du disque grâce à un Mike Mangini qui maîtrise ses pulsions de cogneur mais dont la caisse claire est toujours bloquée dans les années 90. John Myung est quant à lui de plus en plus gâté par le mixage qui lui accorde cette fois-ci trois minutes de gloire (la fin éthérée de 'A New Beginning').

"The Astonishing" est une œuvre totale et grandiloquente qui fourmille de détails et de référence dont chaque écoute renouvelle la découverte. Paradoxalement le double-album s'aborde aisément grâce à son découpage en 34 tableaux de durée raisonnable, ses structures et ses mélodies très fluides jamais complexifiées à l'excès. Ce monumental opéra-rock est destiné à exprimer toutes ses dimensions à l'occasion des spectacles que le groupe va commencer cet hiver, pour peut-être inspirer un film dont l'album serait la bande sonore. Dream Theater fait un retour fracassant parmi les grands avec l'immense "The Astonishing", sa réalisation de loin la plus audacieuse et la plus réussie depuis "Scenes From A Memory".


More informations on http://www.dreamtheater.net

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS
PAIN OF SALVATION, SHADOW GALLERY, HAKEN, ANTHROPIA, DEREK SHERINIAN, DARKWATER, AEON ZEN, SIEGES EVEN, ROSWELL SIX, PAGAN'S MIND

TRACK LISTING
01. ACT I: Descent of the NOMACS
02. Dystopian Overture
03. The Gift of Music
04. The Answer
05. A Better Life
06. Lord Nafaryus
07. A Savior in the Square
08. When Your Time Has Come
09. Act of Faythe
10. Three Days
11. The Hovering Sojourn
12. Brother Can You Hear Me?
13. A Life Left Behind
14. Ravenskill
15. Chosen
16. A Tempting Offer
17. Digital Discord
18. The X Aspect
19. A New Beginning
20. The Road to Revolution
21. ACT II: 2285 Entr'acte
22. Moment of Betrayal
23. Heaven's Cove
24. Begin Again
25. The Path That Divides
26. Machine Chatter
27. The Walking Shadow
28. My Last Farewell
29. Losing Faythe
30. Whispers on the Wind
31. Hymn of a Thousand Voices
32. Our New World
33. Power Down
34. Astonishing


LINEUP
James Labrie: Chant
John Myung: Basse
John Petrucci: Guitares
Jordan Rudess: Claviers
Mike Mangini: Batterie


TAGS:
Epic, Melancholic, Classical Music, Movie music, Romantic, Symphonic, Technical, Theatrical, Concept-album, Chorus
 productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
 
LOLO_THE_BEST59 - 17/04/2016 16:57:42
Comment, encore aucun commentaire sur cet album tout simplement monstrueux ? Plusieurs semaines après, je lui cherche encore des défauts, et le seul que je trouve, c'est le titre de fin qui s'ajuste mal à la grandeur de l'album (mais bon, c'est vraiment pour chipauter). En tout cas, Dream Theater introduit beaucoup de subtilités dans son métal progressif et c'est encore ce qui lui réussit le mieux. Un titre comme "A life Left Behind" illustre à merveille mes propos. Et la voix de James Labbrie n'est jamais aussi envoutante que lorsqu'elle se pose sur des mélodies éthérées "But who am I, if not the one ...". Alors, chapeau bas messieurs, et merci pour tout.
9075342
 
LINKS
LAST ARTICLE
For the release of "Wired Of Madness", Jordan Rudess' new album, the keyboard player talked with Music Waves about "Distance Over Time" by Dream Theater

Read the article
View all articles about DREAM THEATER
 
LAST REVIEW
Distance Over Time (2019)
"Distance Over Time" returns to an assumed balance between dexterity and emotion. The Americans are back with their best album since Mike Portnoy's departure.

Read the review
View all reviews about DREAM THEATER
 
RATING
 
3.7/5 (10 view(s))
4.1/5 (8 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
OTHERS REVIEWS
 
DREAM-THEATER_Distance-Over-Time Distance Over Time (2019)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC - PROGRESSIVE METAL

F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019