MW / Home / Reviews / ALICE COOPER: Paranormal
BAND/AUTHOR:

ALICE COOPER

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
PARANORMAL
RELEASE DATE:
2017
LABEL:
EAR MUSIC
GENRE:
ROCK
""Paranormal" proves that at nearly 70 years of age, Alice Cooper's venom can still hit the mark!"
ADRIANSTORK - 26.09.2017 -
Despite his big reunion with his gang, Alice Cooper had cruelly lacked relevance on his previous album, a collection of songs, an too long album and a lot of useless guests. With his new album illustrated by an evil doppelgänger, will our friend Vincent Furnier find his way back to the theatre of cruelty?

After the mistakes of "Welcome 2 My Nightmare", Alice Cooper seems to have made amends. If he anecdotally reconnects with the original members of the band on two tracks, Alice has not giving up on hiring the services of prestigious names and the list seems at first sight more appealing than on the last album, with the presence of bassist Roger Glover (Deep Purple), drummer Larry Mullens (U2) or Billy Gibbons (ZZ Top).

The Coop' has decided here to go back a few years : "Dead Flies" evokes "Caught In A Dream", "Rats" and the class ringtones of "Paranoiac Personality" recall the good times of the album "Schools Out", we can hear the riff of "No More Mr Nice Guy", "Holy Water" evokes "Some Folks", the words of "Fallen In Love" refer directly to his greatest songs. 

The fan can rest assured, the weather is fine, the guitars are banging, the riffs are raining, the rhythm section is zebra-style and the compositions are lightning fast. 'Paranormal' sounds like a new hymn to the nightmares of the night, helped by Roger Glover's terrifying bass and a guitar solo that is as disturbing as it is enjoyable. 'Paranoiac Personality' escapes from its heavy straitjacket on the verses to bring us an anthology chorus with backing vocals. 'Dynamite Road' runs at full decibels on motorways that were once used by ZZ Top or Motörhead. And when the stormy ballad "The Sound Of A" comes along, the listener thinks that Alice Cooper has found a new youth. We may regret 'Fireball' which, despite its steamroller rhythm, crushes Alice's voice and the organ (played by Bob Ezrin himself).

Alice Cooper has often embroidered around a fantastical-horrific canvas but without having enclosed all the tracks in a single theme, preferring to broaden the horizons. This album will not contradict this principle, the themes of his songs are focused on the author's favourite subjects: bogeyman (loving entity on 'Paranormal', executioner on 'The Sound Of A'), cannibal ('Dead Flies') or rodent ('Rats') sects, paranoia ('Paranoiac Personality') or even profession of faith via a self-portrait as an authentic girl in a plastic world (''I'm a rock and roll queen in a hip hop world''' he sings on 'Genuine American Girl')

However, one could blame this album for its length. Once again, the Coop has decided to release some live excerpts where he revisits the jewels of his repertoire. If the listener is getting tired of these bonuses that add to the already long duration of the record, it is difficult to remain insensitive to an explosive collection: Alice Cooper is indeed a (night) stage animal. "Paranormal" proves that at nearly 70 years of age, Alice Cooper's venom can still hit the mark!

More informations on http://www.alicecooper.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

THE BEATLES, THE WHO, LORDI, WEDNESDAY 13, ANTONIUS REX, MAGIC PIE, TRAUMATISME, MURDERDOLLS, BLOODHOOK, FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH

TRACK LISTING

01. Paranormal
02. Dead Flies
03. Fireball
04. Paranoiac Personality
05. Fallen In Love
06. Dynamite Road
07. Private Public Breakdown
08. Holy Water
09. Rats
10. The Sound Of A
11. Genuine American Girl
12. You And All Of Your Friends
13. No More Mr. Nice Guy
14. Under My Wheels
15. Billion Dollar Babies
16. Feed My Frankenstein
17. Only Women Bleed
18. School’s Out


LINEUP

Alice Cooper : Chant
Chuck Garric: Basse
Glen Sobel: Batterie
Nita Strauss: Guitares
Ryan Roxie: Guitares
Tommy Henriksen: Guitares
Billy Gibbons: Guitares / Invité
Dennis Dunaway: Basse / Invité
Larry Mullen Jr.: Batterie / Invité
Michael Bruce: Guitares / Invité
Neal Smith : Batterie / Invité
Roger Glover: Basse / Invité


TAGS:
70's, Easy Listening / FM, Chaotic, Heavy, Old School, Dark
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS ALICE COOPER
LAST NEWS
ALICE COOPER: New EP in September
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about ALICE COOPER
 
RATING
 
3.4/5 (7 view(s))
1/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS ALICE COOPER
 
ALICE-COOPER_Paranormal Paranormal (2017)
EAR MUSIC / ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / ALICE COOPER: Paranormal

ALICE COOPER: PARANORMAL (2017)


ALBUM - EAR MUSIC - ROCK - ADRIANSTORK - 26.09.2017
"Alice Cooper prouve qu'à près de 70 ans son venin peut toujours faire mouche."

4/5
GROUPES PROCHES :
THE BEATLES, THE WHO, LORDI, WEDNESDAY 13, ANTONIUS REX, MAGIC PIE, TRAUMATISME, MURDERDOLLS, BLOODHOOK, FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH

TRACKS :

01. Paranormal, 02. Dead Flies, 03. Fireball, 04. Paranoiac Personality, 05. Fallen In Love, 06. Dynamite Road, 07. Private Public Breakdown, 08. Holy Water, 09. Rats, 10. The Sound Of A, 11. Genuine American Girl, 12. You And All Of Your Friends, 13. No More Mr. Nice Guy, 14. Under My Wheels, 15. Billion Dollar Babies, 16. Feed My Frankenstein, 17. Only Women Bleed, 18. School’s Out

FORMATION :
Alice Cooper (Chant), Chuck Garric (Basse), Glen Sobel (Batterie), Nita Strauss (Guitares), Ryan Roxie (Guitares), Tommy Henriksen (Guitares), Billy Gibbons (Guitares / Invité), Dennis Dunaway (Basse / Invité), Larry Mullen Jr. (Batterie / Invité), Michael Bruce (Guitares / Invité), Neal Smith (Batterie / Invité), Roger Glover (Basse / Invité)

TAGs :
70's, Accessible / FM, Chaotique, Lourde, Old School, Sombre
Malgré ses grandes retrouvailles avec son gang, Alice Cooper avait cruellement manqué de pertinence sur son précédent album, une collection de chansons, un album à rallonge et trop d´invités (dont certains n´auraient jamais dû accepter, comme Kesha). Avec son nouvel album illustré par un doppelgänger diabolique, notre ami Vincent Furnier retrouvera-t-il le chemin du théâtre de la cruauté ?

Après les errements de "Welcome 2 My Nightmare", Alice Cooper semble avoir fait amende honorable. S´il renoue anecdotiquement avec les membres originaux du groupe sur deux morceaux, Alice n´a pas renoncé à s´attacher les services de noms prestigieux. Ces derniers ne seront pas réduits au statut de figurants et la liste semble à première vue plus alléchante que sur le dernier album, avec la présence du bassiste Roger Glover (Deep Purple), du batteur Larry Mullens (U2) ou encore de Billy Gibbons (ZZ Top).

Le roi des squelettes semble avoir compris qu´il lui fallait redorer son blason un peu dégarni par le temps. Nul besoin de se remettre en question ou de tenter quelques expérimentations vers le metal industriel ou de surfer sur la vague en faisant un duo avec Nicki Minaj. Le Coop' décide d´accomplir la sinistre besogne qui porte sa signature, n´hésitant pas à se faire référentiel : 'Dead Flies' évoque 'Caught In A Dream', 'Rats' et les sonneries de classe de 'Paranoiac Personality' rappellent le bon temps de l'album "Schools Out", on peut entendre surgir le riff de 'No More Mr Nice Guy', 'Holy Water' évoque 'Some Folks', les paroles de 'Fallen In Love' renvoient directement à ses plus grandes chansons. Pourtant notre oncle Fétide du shock rock n'aurait-il pas tendance à radoter, maintenant qu'il a l'âge d'intégrer un hospice?

Que le fan se rassure, la météo est au beau fixe, les guitares claquent, les riffs pleuvent, la section rythmique zèbre les compositions d'éclairs. 'Paranormal' sonne comme un nouvel hymne aux cauchemars de la nuit, aidé en cela par la basse terrifiante de Roger Glover et un solo de guitare aussi dérangeant que jouissif. 'Paranoiac Personality' s'échappe de son carcan lourd sur les couplets pour nous faire valoir un refrain d'anthologie avec chœurs à l'appui. 'Dynamite Road' file à pleins décibels sur des autoroutes qu'ont naguère empruntés ZZ Top ou Motörhead, temporisé par 'Private Public Breakdown' qui lui succède. Et lorsque survient la ballade orageuse 'The Sound Of A', l'auditeur se dit qu'Alice Cooper a rebandé son arc. On pourra regretter 'Fireball' qui, malgré sa rythmique de rouleau compresseur, écrase surtout la voix d'Alice et l'orgue (joué par Bob Ezrin en personne).

Alice Cooper a souvent brodé autour d'un canevas fantastico-horrifique mais sans avoir renfermé toutes les pistes dans un thème unique, préférant élargir les horizons. Cet album ne viendra pas faire mentir ce principe, les thèmes de ses chansons lorgnent vers les sujets de prédilection de son auteur : croque-mitaine (entité amoureuse sur 'Paranormal', bourreau sur 'The Sound Of A'), sectes de cannibales ('Dead Flies') ou de rongeurs ('Rats'), paranoïa ('Paranoiac Personality') ou encore profession de foi via un autoportrait en fille authentique dans un monde de plastique (''I'm a rock and roll queen in a hip hop world'' chante t'il sur 'Genuine American Girl')

On pourrait toutefois reprocher à cet album sa longueur. A nouveau, le Coop a décidé d´offrir quelques extraits live où il revisite les joyaux de son répertoire. Si l´auditeur commence à en avoir assez de ces bonus qui alourdissent la durée déjà conséquente du disque, il est difficile de rester insensible devant une collection explosive : 'Under My Wheels', 'No More Mr. Nice Guy' ou un 'Billion Dollars Baby' sorti tout droit des feux de la Géhenne, nous prouvent qu´Alice Cooper est bien une bête (nocturne) de scène. "Paranormal" prouve qu'à près de 70 ans, le venin d'Alice Cooper peut toujours faire mouche !


Plus d'informations sur http://www.alicecooper.com/
CORTO1809 - 27.09.2017
Gageons que si cet album n'était pas estampillé Alice Cooper, il serait sorti dans l'indifférence générale et aurait été oublié à peine passé sur nos platines. Du hard rock basique, sans trait de génie et sans hargne. Alice Cooper se laisse vivre sur sa légende. Dispensable.

EN RELATION AVEC ALICE COOPER
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
ALICE COOPER : Des extraits de tous les titres du nouvel album
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant ALICE COOPER
 
DERNIERE CHRONIQUE
4
Paranormal (2017)
Alice Cooper prouve qu'à près de 70 ans son venin peut toujours faire mouche.

Lire la chronique
Voir toutes les chroniques concernant ALICE COOPER
ALBUMS CONSEILLES
  • DAVID-BOWIE_the-buddha-of-suburbia DAVID BOWIE
    The Buddha Of Suburbia (1993)
    BMG - ROCK

    3
  • ANTONIUS-REX_Switch-On-Dark ANTONIUS REX
    Switch On Dark (2006)
    BLACK WIDOW - METAL ATMOSPHERIQUE

    3
  • DAVID-BOWIE_-hours-- DAVID BOWIE
    'hours...' (1999)
    VIRGIN - ROCK

    3
  • LORDI_Monstereophonic-Theaterror-Vs-Demonarchy LORDI
    Monstereophonic: Theaterror Vs. Demonarchy (2016)
    AFM - HEAVY METAL

    5
  • TRAUMATISME_Psycho-Beach-Nightmare TRAUMATISME
    Psycho Beach Nightmare (2013)
    AUTOPRODUCTION - ROCK ALTERNATIF

    3
    
 
VIDEO
 
RATING
STAFF : 3.3/5 (6 avis)
LECTEURS : 1/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT ALICE COOPER
 
ALICE-COOPER_Paranormal Paranormal (2017)
EAR MUSIC - ROCK

4
ALICE-COOPER_Raise-The-Dead-Live-From-Wacken Raise The Dead Live From Wacken (2014)
U.D.R. - HARD ROCK

2
ALICE-COOPER_Welcome-2-My-Nightmare Welcome 2 My Nightmare (2011)
UNIVERSAL - HEAVY METAL

3
ALICE-COOPER_Alice-Does-Alice Alice Does Alice (2010)
AUTOPRODUCTION - HARD ROCK

3
ALICE-COOPER_The-Live-And-Crimes-Of-Alice-Coo The Live And Crimes Of Alice Cooper (2008)
RHINO RECORDS - HARD ROCK

2
ALICE-COOPER_Along-Came-A-Spider Along Came A Spider (2008)
SPV - HARD ROCK

3
ALICE-COOPER_Dirty-Diamonds Dirty Diamonds (2005)
SPITFIRE - HARD ROCK

4
ALICE-COOPER_The-Eyes-Of-Alice-Cooper The Eyes Of Alice Cooper (2003)
EAGLE ROCK ENTERTAINMENT - HARD ROCK

4
ALICE-COOPER_Dragontown Dragontown (2001)
EAGLE ROCK ENTERTAINMENT - METAL INDUSTRIEL

3
ALICE-COOPER_Brutal-Planet Brutal Planet (2000)
EAGLE ROCK ENTERTAINMENT - HEAVY METAL

4
ALICE-COOPER_A-Fistful-Of-Alice A Fistful Of Alice (1997)
EMI - HARD ROCK

4
ALICE-COOPER_Classiks Classiks (1995)
SONY BMG - HEAVY METAL

2
ALICE-COOPER_The-Last-Temptation The Last Temptation (1994)
EPIC - HARD ROCK/ -

4
ALICE-COOPER_Hey-Stoopid Hey Stoopid (1991)
EPIC - HEAVY METAL

4
ALICE-COOPER_The-Beast-Of-Alice-Cooper The Beast Of Alice Cooper (1989)
WARNER - HARD ROCK

1
ALICE-COOPER_Trash Trash (1989)
SONY BMG - HARD ROCK

4
ALICE-COOPER_Raise-Your-Fist-And-Yell Raise Your Fist And Yell (1987)
MCA - HEAVY METAL

4
ALICE-COOPER_Constrictor Constrictor (1986)
GEFFEN - HEAVY METAL

1
ALICE-COOPER_Freak-Out Freak Out (1985)
AUTOPRODUCTION - ROCK

1
ALICE-COOPER_DaDa DaDa (1983)
WARNER - ROCK

4
ALICE-COOPER_Zipper-Catches-Skin Zipper Catches Skin (1982)
WARNER - ROCK ATMOSPHERIQUE

2
ALICE-COOPER_Special-Forces Special Forces (1981)
WARNER - ROCK

2
ALICE-COOPER_Flush-The-Fashion Flush The Fashion (1980)
WARNER - ROCK ALTERNATIF

2
ALICE-COOPER_From-The-Inside From The Inside (1978)
WARNER - ROCK ATMOSPHERIQUE

4
ALICE-COOPER_The-Alice-Cooper-Show The Alice Cooper Show (1977)
WARNER - ROCK ATMOSPHERIQUE

4
ALICE-COOPER_Lace-And-Whiskey Lace And Whiskey (1977)
WARNER - ROCK

3
ALICE-COOPER_Goes-To-Hell Goes To Hell (1976)
WARNER - AUTRES

4
ALICE-COOPER_Welcome-To-My-Nightmare Welcome To My Nightmare (1975)
WARNER - ROCK

5
ALICE-COOPER_Alice-Cooper-s-Greatest-Hits Alice Cooper's Greatest Hits (1974)
WARNER - ROCK

4
ALICE-COOPER_Muscle-Of-Love Muscle Of Love (1973)
WARNER - HARD ROCK

3
ALICE-COOPER_Billion-Dollar-Babies Billion Dollar Babies (1973)
MONUMENTUM - A.O.R.

3
ALICE-COOPER_School-s-Out School's Out (1972)
WEA - ROCK

4
ALICE-COOPER_Love-It-To-Death Love It To Death (1971)
WARNER - ROCK

3
ALICE-COOPER_Killer Killer (1971)
WARNER - HARD ROCK

4
ALICE-COOPER_Easy-Action Easy Action (1970)
RHINO RECORDS - HARD ROCK

1
ALICE-COOPER_Pretties-For-You Pretties For You (1969)
WARNER - ROCK

1
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner, Metal Mind, Mascot, Spv, Afm, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn, Prophecy, F2, Frontiers, Karisma, Insideout, Nightmare, Kscope, Ear Music, Klonosphere, Progressive Promotion, Gentle Art Of Music

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2017