MW / Home / Reviews / LEPROUS: Malina
BAND/AUTHOR:

LEPROUS

(NORWAY)

TITLE:
MALINA
RELEASE DATE:
2017
LABEL:
INSIDEOUT MUSIC
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE METAL
"Despite a successful first part and a good production, the score is a sanction of this lack of risk taking unfortunately predictable."
PROGRACER - 04.12.2017 -
For more than 10 years now, Leprous' Norwegians have been officiating in the metal scene with a dazzling rise. The flamboyant, inventive and avant-garde prog metal of the early days gave way to a more conventional rock music that opened the doors to success for them and a wider audience. Their releases every two years are still carefully scrutinized by the Music Waves editorial staff and this sixth Viking misdeed, "Malina", following two relative disappointments, is still enough to whet our curiosity. 

Bonneville's jazzy intro quickly gave way to the ethereal voice of the omniscient Einar Solberg, whose influence has now been vampirising the band's creations for three albums. The melody is soft and the musicians retain their notes, printing a softness that only turns into darkness when the not very elaborate central riff starts and raises the second part of the track. "Stuck" is built on the same melodic foundations but rhythmically more removed. With even more obvious effectiveness, 'From The Flame' has all the characteristics of a single to such an extent that the excellent chorus introduces the song as if to underline its hymnical character. Nevertheless, it works and, in the absence of originality, simplicity, efficiency and pleasure are the order of the day. 

The rest is also melodiously delightful with "Captive" and "Illuminate" with catchy choruses, but much less original since the ensemble remains suspended to Solberg's omnipresent voice while the guitars deliver simplistic riffs. This EP ends with a "Leashes" in the form of a copy and paste of "From the Flame". Excuse me,... you say? Isn't this an EP? Oh, yeah, there's five more titles after that. Well, the creative exhaustion is such that they no longer even offer interesting melodies and do not deserve their place on a Leprous album. Electro introductions, plaintive and haunting voices, repetitive and monotonous riffs, nothing will make metal prog fans blink. 

The "band" relies almost exclusively on its leader, whose voice is certainly magnificent, but it is no longer enough. Too many titles are useless or are unnecessarily long. For three albums now, Leprous no longer offers anything original or exciting, whereas it used to be the spearhead of an avant-garde progressive metal with unlimited potential. 

Despite a successful first part and a good production, the score is a sanction of this lack of risk taking unfortunately predictable. In 2015, we urged Leprous to regain the life-saving inspiration of a collegial writing style, but Solberg apparently did not see things in the same way. So certainly, the melodies are effective, some vocal parts beautiful to cry about, but it's so little. Only the fans of the Norwegians' latest outings will find what they are looking for. As for the others, they will listen to this one and the following ones, hoping to find in them the hope of a glimmer of creativity.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/leprousband/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

HAKEN, THE MARS VOLTA, IHSAHN, TOOL, NINE INCH NAILS, ERESIS, HAUCHARD

TRACK LISTING

01. Bonneville
02. Stuck
03. From The Flame
04. Captive
05. Illuminate
06. Leashes
07. Mirage
08. Malina
09. Coma
10. The Weight Of Disaster
11. The Last Milestone


LINEUP

Baard Kolstad: Batterie
Einar Solberg: Chant / Claviers
Oystein Landsverk: Guitares
Simen Daniel Børven: Basse
Tor Oddmund Suhrke: Guitares


TAGS:
Electro, Dark
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
TORPEDO - 28/10/2019 16:33:15
Au final, ceux qui veulent du "metal prog" sont déçus et ceux qui veulent juste de belles compositions bien travaillées avec une voix exceptionnelle sont aux anges... je fais partie de ces derniers. Les deux premiers titres sont terribles !
2507
NOISEPOLLUTION69 - 04/12/2017 22:01:15
Même si la formule est proche des albums précédents cela reste très bon, avec un coté calme ( presque op) plus présent. Un des meilleures albums de métal prog pour moi pour 2017
8804421
SEB47390 - 04/12/2017 18:25:56
superbe album comme les autres , toujours en progression , j'adore vivement le prochain !
13370420
BLACK COMEDON - 05/09/2017 12:08:51
Tellement vrai, tout est dit.... Il ne chante quasiment plus sur cet album, c'est proche du Lyrique, vivement qu'il vomisse des moules comme Labrie
2224406
 
LINKS LEPROUS
LAST NEWS
Leprous: New video
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about LEPROUS
 
RATING
 
2.9/5 (9 view(s))
4.6/5 (8 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS LEPROUS
 
LEPROUS_Pitfalls Pitfalls (2019)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / ROCK
LEPROUS_Malina Malina (2017)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / PROGRESSIVE METAL
LEPROUS_The-Congregation The Congregation (2015)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / PROGRESSIVE METAL
LEPROUS_Coal Coal (2013)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / PROGRESSIVE METAL
LEPROUS_Bilateral Bilateral (2011)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / PROGRESSIVE METAL
LEPROUS_Tall-Poppy-Syndrome Tall Poppy Syndrome (2009)
LASER'S EDGE / PROGRESSIVE METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Home / Reviews / LEPROUS: Malina
04.12.2017 by PROGRACER
BAND/AUTHOR:

LEPROUS

(NORVÈGE)

TITLE:
MALINA
RELEASE DATE:
2017
LABEL:
INSIDEOUT MUSIC
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE METAL
""Coal", The Congregation", "Malina" : même recette, mêmes ficelles, même déception. Einar Solberg vampirise les créations du groupe et ferait bien de revenir à une écriture collégiale salvatrice. Peut (beaucoup) mieux faire..."
Voilà maintenant plus de 10 ans que les Norvégiens de Leprous officient dans le paysage metal avec une ascension fulgurante. Le flamboyant metal prog inventif et avant-gardiste des débuts a laissé la place à un rock plus convenu leur ouvrant les portes d'un succès après d'un public plus large. Leurs sorties tous les deux ans sont toujours scrutées avec attention par la rédaction de Music Waves et ce sixième méfait des Vikings, "Malina", faisant suite à deux relatives déceptions, a encore de quoi aiguiser notre curiosité.

L'intro jazzy de 'Bonneville' fait rapidement place à la voix éthérée de l'omniscient Einar Solberg dont l'influence vampirise les créations du groupe depuis trois albums maintenant. La mélodie est douce et les musiciens retiennent leurs notes, imprimant une douceur qui ne se transforme en noirceur qu'à l'occasion d'un riff central pas très élaboré (une note !) mais qui élève la seconde partie du titre. 'Stuck', un peu plus rentre-dedans, est construit sur les mêmes bases mélodiques mais rythmiquement plus enlevé. Avec une efficacité encore plus évidente, 'From The Flame' a tout du single à tel point que l'excellent refrain introduit le morceau comme pour souligner son caractère hymnique (mais pour qui nous prend-on ?). Toujours est-il que ça fonctionne et que, à défaut d'originalité, la simplicité, l'efficacité et le plaisir sont au rendez-vous.

La suite est, elle-aussi, réjouissante mélodiquement avec des 'Captive' et 'Illuminate' aux refrains accrocheurs, mais beaucoup moins côté originalité puisque l'ensemble reste suspendu à la voix omniprésente de Solberg alors que les guitares délivrent des riffs simplistes et que la section rythmique ne propose rien de plus (et souvent moins) que sur les précédentes productions des Scandinaves. Cet EP s'achève sur un 'Leashes' en forme de copier-coller de 'From the Flame'. Pardon, ... vous dites ? Ce n'est pas un EP ? Ah oui, il y a encore cinq titres après ça. Et bien l'essoufflement créatif est tel que ces derniers ne proposent même plus de mélodies intéressantes et ne méritent pas leur place sur un album de Leprous. Introductions electro, voix plaintive et lancinante, riffs répétitifs et monotones, rien ne fera sourciller les amateurs de metal prog, une étiquette qu'il convient de décoller d'urgence du Einar Solberg Band.

Le "groupe" s'en remet presque exclusivement à son leader dont la voix est certes magnifique, mais ça ne suffit plus. Trop de titres sont dispensables et trainent inutilement en longueur en fin d'exercice. Voilà maintenant trois albums que Leprous ne propose plus rien d'original ni d'excitant alors qu'il se positionnait jadis en fer de lance d'un metal progressif d'avant-garde au potentiel sans limites. J'en vois d'ici certains s'indignant d'une chronique à charge en criant au génie d'un Solberg au sommet de son art. Tous les goûts sont dans la nature, mais chacun devrait être en droit d'en attendre (beaucoup) plus d'un groupe comme Leprous.

Malgré une première partie réussie et une production de bonne facture, la note est une sanction de ce manque de prise de risque malheureusement prévisible. En 2015, nous exhortions Leprous à retrouver l'inspiration salvatrice d'une écriture collégiale mais Solberg ne voit apparemment pas les choses de la même façon. Alors certes, les mélodies sont efficaces, certaines parties vocales belles à pleurer mais c'est tellement peu pour briguer de plus glorieux lauriers. Seuls les inconditionnels des dernières sorties des Norvégiens y trouveront leur compte. Quant aux autres, ils écouteront celui-ci et les suivants en espérant y retrouver l'espoir d'une lueur de créativité, sans grand optimisme.

More informations on http://www.myspace.com/leprousband

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS
HAKEN, THE MARS VOLTA, IHSAHN, TOOL, NINE INCH NAILS, ERESIS, HAUCHARD

TRACK LISTING
01. Bonneville
02. Stuck
03. From The Flame
04. Captive
05. Illuminate
06. Leashes
07. Mirage
08. Malina
09. Coma
10. The Weight Of Disaster
11. The Last Milestone


LINEUP
Baard Kolstad: Batterie
Einar Solberg: Chant / Claviers
Oystein Landsverk: Guitares
Simen Daniel Børven: Basse
Tor Oddmund Suhrke: Guitares


TAGS:
Electro, Dark
 productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
 
NOISEPOLLUTION69 - 04/12/2017 22:01:15
Même si la formule est proche des albums précédents cela reste très bon, avec un coté calme ( presque op) plus présent. Un des meilleures albums de métal prog pour moi pour 2017
8804421
 
SEB47390 - 04/12/2017 18:25:56
superbe album comme les autres , toujours en progression , j'adore vivement le prochain !
13370420
 
BLACK COMEDON - 05/09/2017 12:08:51
Tellement vrai, tout est dit.... Il ne chante quasiment plus sur cet album, c'est proche du Lyrique, vivement qu'il vomisse des moules comme Labrie
2224406
 
LINKS
LAST NEWS
All the information about the HEART SOUND METAL FEST 2019
GIG

Read the news
View all news about LEPROUS
 
 
2.6/5 (7 view(s))
4.6/5 (8 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
OTHERS REVIEWS
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019