MW / Home / Reviews / THE FERRYMEN: The Ferrymen
BAND/AUTHOR:

THE FERRYMEN

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
THE FERRYMEN
RELEASE DATE:
2017
LABEL:
FRONTIERS RECORDS
GENRE:
MELODIC METAL
"The Ferrymen is as effective as it is devoid of personality but should nevertheless appeal to fans of the genre."
CHILDERIC THOR - 18.09.2017 -
If we do not know the origin of this international arrangement, The Ferrymen sees Ronnie Romero associated with the Swedish multi-instrumentalist Magnus Karlsson with a pedigree as big as his directory (Kiske/Sommerville, Primal Fear, Bob Catley among many others) and the American mercenary of the battery Mike Terrana with an even more extensive hunting list. Fifteen years ago, at a time when people were swearing only by power metal, the fruit of their record would have been a hit. In 2017, the listening of this eponymous album cannot leave a tenacious impression that it has already been heard. 

Launched on rails that it will never leave at any time, this album investigates the melodies forged in the steelworks of Germany, which only Romero's powerful vocals  saves from boredom. This judgment may seem harsh, but we expected more from an addition of talents than this lukewarm record, resembling a thousand others even in the titles of its songs. With regard to the experienced musicians present, the ensemble benefits from impeccable packaging and interpretation, but this is not enough.  

'End Of The Road', where the Rainbow singer can roar with panache, 'Fool You All' with its "malmsteen guitar", the obligatory ballad 'One Heart' without forgetting 'Welcome To My Snow' are the best tracks in a record blocked in the 80's. The reptilian 'The Darkest Hour' illustrates, however, that the trio would be inspired to go deeper into the dark groove of a leaded heavy rather than staying into a classical speed power metal. Without Ronnie Romero who give his devastating energy, it is questionable whether this album would not have gone completely unnoticed. 

It remains to be seen whether The Ferrymen will survive this business card, which is as effective as it is devoid of personality, but which should nevertheless appeal to fans of the genre.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/theferrymenofficial

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

YNGWIE MALMSTEEN, RAINBOW, JORN LANDE, KISKE-SOMERVILLE, LORDS OF BLACK

TRACK LISTING

01. End Of The Road - 4:31
02. Ferryman - 4:47
03. Fool You All - 3:42
04. Still Standing Up - 5:20
05. Cry Wolf - 4:56
06. One Heart - 6:10
07. The Darkest Hour - 4:29
08. How The Story Ends - 4:55
09. Enter Your Dream - 4:19
10. Eyes On The Sky - 5:13
11. Eternal Night - 4:52
12. Welcome To My Show - 4:15


LINEUP

Magnus Karlsson: Guitares / Basse / Claviers
Mike Terrana: Batterie
Ronald Romero: Chant


TAGS:
80's, 90's
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS THE FERRYMEN
LAST NEWS
THE FERRYMEN: A New Evil
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about THE FERRYMEN
 
RATING
 
3/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS THE FERRYMEN
 
THE-FERRYMEN_A-new-evil A New Evil (2019)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / MELODIC METAL
THE-FERRYMEN_The-Ferrymen The Ferrymen (2017)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / MELODIC METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / THE FERRYMEN: The Ferrymen

THE FERRYMEN: THE FERRYMEN (2017)


ALBUM - FRONTIERS - METAL MELODIQUE - CHILDERIC THOR - 18.09.2017
"The Ferrymen signe une carte de visite aussi efficace que dénuée de personnalité, qui devrait néanmoins séduire les amateurs du genre qui s'y sentiront à l'aise comme dans de vieilles et confortables pantoufles."

3/5
GROUPES PROCHES :
YNGWIE J. MALMSTEEN, RAINBOW, JORN LANDE, KISKE-SOMERVILLE, LORDS OF BLACK

TRACKS :

01. End Of The Road - 4:31, 02. Ferryman - 4:47, 03. Fool You All - 3:42, 04. Still Standing Up - 5:20, 05. Cry Wolf - 4:56, 06. One Heart - 6:10, 07. The Darkest Hour - 4:29, 08. How The Story Ends - 4:55, 09. Enter Your Dream - 4:19, 10. Eyes On The Sky - 5:13, 11. Eternal Night - 4:52, 12. Welcome To My Show - 4:15

FORMATION :
Magnus Karlsson (Guitares / Basse / Claviers), Mike Terrana (Batterie), Ronald Romero (Chant)

TAGs :
80's, 90's
En attendant un nouvel opus de Rainbow, il y a encore un an hautement improbable mais aujourd'hui envisageable, son taciturne leader prenant un évident plaisir à revisiter sur scène le répertoire de l'Arc-en-Ciel et du Poupre Profond. Ronnie Romero profite de l'exposition que lui confère le fait d'évoluer désormais aux côtés d'un musicien aussi prestigieux que Ritchie Blackmore pour grossir son carnet d'adresses autrefois circonscrit à l'Espagne.

Si on ignore l'origine de ce montage international, The Ferrymen le voit ainsi s'associer au multi-instrumentiste suédois Magnus Karlsson au pedigree gros comme le bottin (Kiske/Sommerville, Primal Fear, Bob Catley entre beaucoup d'autres) et le mercenaire américain de la batterie Mike Terrana au tableau de chasse plus étoffé encore. Il y a quinze ans, à l'époque où on ne jurait que par le power metal, le fruit de leurs ébats aurait cartonné. En 2017, l'écoute, somme toute agréable, de ce galop d'essai éponyme ne peut se départir d'une impression tenace de déjà-entendu.

Lancé sur des rails qu'il ne quittera à aucun moment, cet album enquille les mélodies téléphonées forgées dans les aciéries d'Outre-Rhin, que seul le chant puissant de Romero sauve de l'ennui. Ce jugement peut paraître sévère mais on attendait quand même mieux d'une addition de talents que ce disque tiède, ressemblant à mille autres jusque dans le titre de ses chansons. Eu égard aux musiciens chevronnés en présence, l'ensemble bénéficie d'un emballage impeccable et d'une interprétation ad hoc mais cela ne saurait suffire à l'extraire du tout-venant.  

'End Of The Road', amorce pesante où le chanteur de Rainbow peut rugir avec panache, 'Fool You All' sabré de zébrures malmsteeniennes, la ballade obligée 'One Heart' sans oublier 'Welcome To My Snow' surnagent dans un menu bloqué vers les années 80.  Le reptilien 'The Darkest Hour' illustre toutefois que le trio serait inspiré de creuser davantage le sombre sillon d'un heavy plombé plutôt que de galoper à travers les terres lessivées d'un speed power metal fatigué. Sans Ronnie Romero qui lui impulse son énergie ravageuse, il est permis de se demander si cet album ne serait pas totalement passé inaperçu.

Reste à savoir maintenant si The Ferrymen survivra à cette carte de visite aussi efficace que dénuée de personnalité, qui devrait néanmoins séduire les amateurs du genre qui s'y sentiront à l'aise comme dans de vieilles et confortables pantoufles.


Plus d'informations sur https://www.facebook.com/theferrymenofficial
Soyez le premier à donner votre avis...
EN RELATION AVEC THE FERRYMEN
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
THE FERRYMEN : Nouvelle vidéo
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant THE FERRYMEN
 
DERNIERE CHRONIQUE
3
The Ferrymen (2017)
The Ferrymen signe une carte de visite aussi efficace que dénuée de personnalité, qui devrait néanmoins séduire les amateurs du genre qui s'y sentiront à l'aise comme dans de vieilles et confortables pantoufles.

Lire la chronique
Voir toutes les chroniques concernant THE FERRYMEN
ALBUMS CONSEILLES
  • YNGWIE-J-MALMSTEEN_Trial-By-Fire--Live-In-Len YNGWIE J. MALMSTEEN
    Trial By Fire - Live In Leningrad (1989)
    POLYDOR - HEAVY METAL

    3
  • JORN-LANDE_Unlocking-The-Past JORN LANDE
    Unlocking The Past (2007)
    FRONTIERS - HARD ROCK

    3
  • KISKE-SOMERVILLE_Kiske-Somerville KISKE-SOMERVILLE
    Kiske-Somerville (2010)
    FRONTIERS - METAL MELODIQUE

    4
  • JORN-LANDE_Live-In-America JORN LANDE
    Live In America (2007)
    FRONTIERS - HEAVY METAL

    4
  • JORN-LANDE_Symphonic JORN LANDE
    Symphonic (2013)
    FRONTIERS - HARD ROCK MELODIQUE

    3
    
 
VIDEO
 
RATING
STAFF : 3/5 (2 avis)
LECTEURS : - /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT THE FERRYMEN
 
THE-FERRYMEN_The-Ferrymen The Ferrymen (2017)
FRONTIERS - METAL MELODIQUE

3
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner, Metal Mind, Mascot, Spv, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn, Prophecy, F2, Frontiers, Karisma, Insideout, Nightmare, Kscope, Ear Music, Klonosphere, Progressive Promotion, Gentle Art Of Music

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2017