BAND/AUTHOR:

SEVEN REIZH

(FRANCE)

TITLE:
L'ALBATROS (2018)
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE ROCK

"The concluding opus of a work started almost 20 years ago, "L'Albatros" ends with a whistle of contentment, as the assurance of a job well done. That's the least we can say!"
TONYB - 11.03.2019 - (0) minds from our readers - (0) comment(s)
5/5
For its fourth livery, and in theory the last part of its trilogy that has become tetra, the duo Seven Reizh, formed by Claude Mignon and Gérard Le Dortz, has created a new work of art. Following "La Barque Ailée", "L'Albatros" ends the narrative of Jean-Marie Lebris' adventures, the album being accompanied by the second volume of the novel taking its place next to the first volume in a superbly illustrated box set. These books are of course the essential companions of CDs and form an inseparable whole.

In terms of music, the group's usual ingredients, once again supported by a pleiad of guests, will very quickly take place, from the very beginning proposed by "Le Pavillon Chinois": introducing one of the album's striking themes, this first track invites us to a first Celtic symphony where Bleunwenn's ever so sweet voice rubs shoulders shoulders with traditional Celtic instruments, Uillean pipes and flute at the head of the gondola.

After this beginning, Seven Reizh will unfold titles where the narrative takes up a lot of space, most often in a rather intimate form, carried by rather slow rhythms ('Brizh','Klasker-Bara'), sometimes even with a mystical introspective touch that recalls Lisa Gerrard's solo work ('Brizh'). But Claude Mignon's assertive progressive spirit means that the ensemble is not satisfied with this model and most of the tracks will almost systematically evolve towards instrumental sequences where we find, as usual, marked floydian scents, Alan Parsons Project ambiences, a little tubular bells (final of "Er Lein"), all mixed with force bagad and other world sounds. The mix is always as pleasing as ever, especially when accompanied by beautiful melodic themes ('Er Lein').

As for the performers, we find the usual Bleunwenn and Farid Aït Siameur, for Breton/kabyle duets that are still as surprising ('Tiqit Weman') both in the lyrical expression and in the contrast formed by the female voice all in roundness and voluptuousness and that of the Tayfa singer often at the limit of rupture, especially in the high notes ('Er Lein'). And for the hard-core protagonists who have not listened hard enough to find all the subtleties of the different compositions and their elaborate arrangements, we can only advise them to throw an ear more than attentive to the whole, and more particularly to the superb "Dalc'h Mad", a slow procession with a gradually increasing binary rhythm, to deliver a beautiful finale through the grace of a violin/guitar duo with heartbreaking accents.

This fourth opus of Seven Reizh is a little jewel placed in its case, and which requires great attention when listening to it to capture all the subtleties and especially all the emotions. The concluding opus of a work started almost 20 years ago, it ends with a whistle of contentment, as the assurance of a job well done. That's the least we can say!

More informations on http://www.seven-reizh.com/



SIMILAR BANDS:
MINIMUM VITAL, KOSMOS, ATOLL, CAFEÏNE, XII ALFONSO, APRIL (FR)

TRACK LISTING:
01. Le pavillon chinois - 3.59
02. Brizh - 14.48
03. Tiqit weman - 5.52
04. Dalc’h mad - 6.55
05. Klasker-bara - 4.40
06. Kriz - 9.27
07. Lostmarc’h - 9.59
08. Er lein - 9.30


LINEUP:
Bernard Le Dréau: Saxophone Ténor, Clarinette
Bleunwenn Mével: Chant
Claude Mignon: Guitares / Piano, Sinters, Lap Steel
Cyrille Bonneau: Duduk
Ewan Le Gallic: Cornemuse Écossaise
Farid Aït Siameur: Chant
François Pernel: Harpe Celtique
Gérard Le Dortz: Conception Graphique, Roman Et Paroles
Gurvan Mével: Batterie / Percussions
Gwenaël Mével: Tin Et Low Whistles, Bombarbe
Gwendal Mével: Flûte Traversière
Jonathan Dour: Violon
Laurène Bourvon:
Loïc Bléjan: Uillean Pipe
Louis Mével: Chant
Marcel Aubré: Ehru
Michel Hoffmann: Hautbois
Mihai Trestian: Cymbalum
Olivier Carole: Basse
Olivier Salmon: Guitares
Philippe Durand: Cor
Régis Huiban: Accordéon
Ronan Hilaireau: Piano
Sébastien Charlier: Harmonica
Shane Lestideau: Violon
Thierry Runarvot: Contrebasse


TAGS:
Celtic, Intimist, Symphonic, Concept-album, Female voice
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this review or on this production
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH SEVEN REIZH
RATING
2/5 (1 view(s)) 5/5 (2 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
THE PICTUREBOOKS: The Hands Of Time (2019)
STONER With a sense of skeletal purity that belongs only to him, The Picturebooks manages to take us for a journey through the United States where rock in its simplest shape.
 
NEXT REVIEW
DREAM THEATER: Distance Over Time (2019)
PROGRESSIVE METAL "Distance Over Time" returns to an assumed balance between dexterity and emotion. The Americans are back with their best album since Mike Portnoy's departure.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT SEVEN REIZH
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / SEVEN REIZH: L'albatros
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

SEVEN REIZH

(FRANCE)

TITRE:
L'ALBATROS
ANNEE PARUTION:
2018
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
ROCK PROGRESSIF
"Opus conclusif d'un travail démarré il y a près de 20 ans, "L'Albatros" se termine par un sifflotement de contentement, comme l'assurance d'un travail bien fait. C'est le moins que l'on puisse en dire !"
TONYB - 11.03.2019 -
Pour sa quatrième livraison, et en théorie ultime volet de sa trilogie devenue tétra, le duo Seven Reizh formé par Claude Mignon et Gérard Le Dortz nous délivre une nouvelle œuvre d'art. Suite de "La Barque Ailée", "L'Albatros" termine la narration des aventures de Jean-Marie Lebris, l'album étant accompagné du deuxième volume du roman venant prendre sa place à côté du premier tome au sein d'un coffret superbement illustré. Ces livres sont bien évidemment les compagnons indispensables des CD et forment un tout indissociable.

Au niveau de la musique, les habituels ingrédients du groupe, portés une nouvelle fois par une pléiade d'invités, vont très vite se mettre en place et ce dès la courte entame proposée par 'Le Pavillon Chinois' : introduisant un des thèmes marquants de l'album, ce premier titre nous convie à une première symphonie celtique où la voix toujours aussi suave de Bleunwenn côtoie les instruments celtiques traditionnels, Uillean pipes et flûte en tête de gondole.

Après cette entame, Seven Reizh va dérouler des titres où la narration prend beaucoup de place, le plus souvent sous une forme assez intimiste, portés par des rythmiques assez lentes ('Brizh', 'Klasker-Bara'), parfois même avec une touche mystique introspective qui rappelle les travaux en solo de Lisa Gerrard ('Brizh'). Mais l'esprit progressif affirmé de Claude Mignon fait que l'ensemble ne se contente pas de ce modèle et la plupart des titres vont quasi-systématiquement évoluer vers des séquences instrumentales où l'on retrouve comme à l'accoutumée des effluves floydiennes marquées, des ambiances façon Alan Parsons Project, un peu de cloches tubulaires (final de 'Er Lein'), le tout mixé avec force bagad et autres sonorités world. Le mélange s'avère toujours toujours aussi réjouissant, d'autant plus lorsqu'il s'accompagne de thèmes mélodiques de toute beauté ('Er Lein').

Du côté des interprètes, nous retrouvons les désormais habituels Bleunwenn et Farid Aït Siameur, pour des duos bretons/kabyles toujours aussi étonnants ('Tiqit Weman') tant dans l'expression lyrique que dans le contraste formé par la voix féminine toute en rondeur et volupté et celle du chanteur de Tayfa souvent à la limite de la rupture, notamment dans les aigus ('Er Lein'). Et pour les progueux purs et durs qui n'auraient pas suffisamment tendu l'oreille pour dénicher toutes les subtilités des différentes compositions et de leurs arrangements travaillés, nous ne pourrons que leur conseiller de jeter une oreille plus qu'attentive à l'ensemble, et plus particulièrement au superbe 'Dalc'h Mad', lente procession à la rythmique binaire montant progressivement en puissance, pour délivrer un final de toute beauté par la grâce d'un duo violon/guitare aux accents déchirants.

Ce quatrième opus de Seven Reizh est un petit bijou posé dans son écrin, et qui demande une grande attention lors de son écoute pour en capter toutes les subtilités et surtout toutes les émotions. Opus conclusif d'un travail démarré il y a près de 20 ans, il se termine par un sifflotement de contentement, comme l'assurance d'un travail bien fait. C'est le moins que l'on puisse en dire !

Plus d'information sur http://www.seven-reizh.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
XII ALFONSO, MINIMUM VITAL, CAFEÏNE, KOSMOS, APRIL (FR), ATOLL

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Le pavillon chinois - 3.59
02. Brizh - 14.48
03. Tiqit weman - 5.52
04. Dalc’h mad - 6.55
05. Klasker-bara - 4.40
06. Kriz - 9.27
07. Lostmarc’h - 9.59
08. Er lein - 9.30


FORMATION:
Bernard Le Dréau: Saxophone Ténor, Clarinette
Bleunwenn Mével: Chant
Claude Mignon: Guitares / Piano, Sinters, Lap Steel
Cyrille Bonneau: Duduk
Ewan Le Gallic: Cornemuse Écossaise
Farid Aït Siameur: Chant
François Pernel: Harpe Celtique
Gérard Le Dortz: Conception Graphique, Roman Et Paroles
Gurvan Mével: Batterie / Percussions
Gwenaël Mével: Tin Et Low Whistles, Bombarbe
Gwendal Mével: Flûte Traversière
Jonathan Dour: Violon
Laurène Bourvon:
Loïc Bléjan: Uillean Pipe
Louis Mével: Chant
Marcel Aubré: Ehru
Michel Hoffmann: Hautbois
Mihai Trestian: Cymbalum
Olivier Carole: Basse
Olivier Salmon: Guitares
Philippe Durand: Cor
Régis Huiban: Accordéon
Ronan Hilaireau: Piano
Sébastien Charlier: Harmonica
Shane Lestideau: Violon
Thierry Runarvot: Contrebasse


TAGS:
Celtique, Intimiste, Symphonique, Concept-album, Chant féminin
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC SEVEN REIZH
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
SEVEN REIZH: "L'albatros" en pré-commande
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant SEVEN REIZH
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Seven Reizh à Quimper le 15 septembre 2007.

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant SEVEN REIZH
 
NOTES
 
5/5 (2 avis)
2/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT SEVEN REIZH
 
SEVEN-REIZH_L-Albatros L'albatros (2018)
AUTRE LABEL / ROCK PROGRESSIF
SEVEN-REIZH_La-Barque-Ailee La Barque Ailée (2015)
AUTOPRODUCTION / ROCK PROGRESSIF
SEVEN-REIZH_Samsâra Samsâra (2006)
YAKA / ROCK PROGRESSIF
SEVEN-REIZH_Strinkadenn-Ys Strinkadenn Ys (2001)
YAKA / ROCK PROGRESSIF
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019