BAND/AUTHOR:

ALICE IN CHAINS

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
RAINIER FOG (2018)
LABEL:
BMG
GENRE:
GRUNGE

"Without revolutionizing its approach to music, Alice In Chains signs with "Rainier Fog" an excellent grunge album while remaining true to its roots."
DARIALYS - 07.09.2018 - (0) minds from our readers - (0) comment(s)
4/5
Among the grunge bands that emerged in the 1990s, few of them have managed to survive their time. But 30 years later, Alice In Chains, one of the pioneers of the movement and a giant on the American scene, is still there. However, many obstacles blocked their path, the most difficult ordeal to overcome being the death of their singer, Layne Staley, whose charisma was unanimous and whose voice was so particular. For some, it was at the death of the unfortunate man that the band died in 2002.

Since then, William DuVall replaced the iconic leader in 2005. Many years later, with the release of their sixth album, the musicians opted for a strategy of returning to their roots. As a symbol, the name of the album, "Rainier Fog", echoes the Mont Rainier in Seattle, the band's home town where the musicians chose to return to the studio to record, something that had not happened since 1995, the year Alice In Chains released its third eponymous album. Musically speaking, we also follow in the footsteps of previous albums. The atmospheres are dark and heavy, the vocals for two voices, sometimes melodious ('All I Am'), sometimes dissonant ('So Far Under'), is systematic, the riffs are immediate and heady. An unchanged recipe therefore, for a devilishly guaranteed result.

From the very first seconds, we find ourselves caught up in the riff of the first single, 'The One You Know', reminiscent of Gojira's 'Stranded', creating a bold and heavy atmosphere. The chorus is punchy, catchy, the interest is immediate. The album is full of tracks with the potential for hits. This is the case of the very good "Red Giant" and "Never Fade" in particular which use all the codes usually released by the band with the same success as usual.

Despite these obscure sounds, a few tracks manage to emerge from the fog in which the album is plunged. This is the case of "Fly" led by its major chords and a clearer guitar sound and the excellent "Maybe" also carried by remarkable vocal harmonies and a masterful chorus.

As was the case on the last two albums, the musicians have taken the habit of placing the quietest track on the last track as evidenced by 'Black Gives Way To Blue' on the opus of the same name or 'Choke' on'The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here', which appear in the list of the best songs on each album. On "Rainier Fog", we do not escape the rule with the angelic ballad "All I Am" which concludes this sixth effort in an unusual register. The track is truly beautiful, atmospheric, and ends the album perfectly. 

If it took five long years before we could enjoy new American music, the wait was once again worth it. Without revolutionizing its approach to music, Alice In Chains signs with "Rainier Fog" an excellent grunge album while remaining true to its  roots.

More informations on http://www.aliceinchains.com/index_countdown.php?id=29



SIMILAR BANDS:
THE POOR, FAR PLAIN, CHANNEL ZERO, THE BLACK WIDOW'S PROJECT, FEAR REPORT, A PALE HORSE NAMED DEATH, SPECIAL OPS, THE SLEEPPERS, THE LAST BÄRONS, RENAISSANCE OF FOOLS

TRACK LISTING:
01. The One You Know
02. Rainier Fog
03. Red Giant
04. Fly
05. Drone
06. Deaf Ears Blind Eyes
07. Maybe
08. So Far Under
09. Never Fade
10. All I Am


LINEUP:
Jerry Cantrell : Chant / Guitares
Mike Inez: Basse / Back Vocals
Sean Kinney : Batterie
William DuVall : Chant / Guitares


TAGS:
90's, Easy Listening / FM, Discordant, Heavy, Dark, Chorus
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this review or on this production
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH ALICE IN CHAINS
LAST NEWS
ALICE IN CHAINS: New lyric video
All news about ALICE IN CHAINS
RATING
2/5 (1 view(s)) 4/5 (3 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
WISHBONE ASH: Raw To The Bone (édition Deluxe) (2018)
ROCK This re-release of an average album presents in the end much more interesting bonuses than the album itself.
 
NEXT REVIEW
MARCUS KING: Carolina Confessions (2018)
BLUES A beautiful blues rock album largely tinged with soul composed and interpreted by a young prodigy.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT ALICE IN CHAINS
ALICE-IN-CHAINS_The-Devil-Put-Dinosaurs-Here
The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here (2013)
4/5
3.5/5
COLUMBIA / HEAVY METAL
ALICE-IN-CHAINS_Black-Gives-Way-to-Blue
Black Gives Way to Blue (2009)
4/5
3.7/5
EMI / HEAVY METAL
 
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / ALICE IN CHAINS: Rainier Fog

ALICE IN CHAINS: RAINIER FOG (2018)


ALBUM - BMG - GRUNGE - DARIALYS - 07.09.2018
"Sans révolutionner son approche de la musique, Alice In Chains signe avec "Rainier Fog" un excellent album de grunge en restant fidèle à ses racines."

4/5
GROUPES PROCHES :
NIRVANA, THE NEW BLACK, LOADING DATA, ALICE IN CHAINS, THE POOR, RENAISSANCE OF FOOLS, FAR PLAIN, KILL DEVIL HILL, QUBE, THE SLEEPPERS

TRACKS :

01. The One You Know, 02. Rainier Fog, 03. Red Giant, 04. Fly, 05. Drone, 06. Deaf Ears Blind Eyes, 07. Maybe, 08. So Far Under, 09. Never Fade, 10. All I Am

FORMATION :
Jerry Cantrell (Chant / Guitares), Mike Inez (Basse / Back Vocals), Sean Kinney (Batterie), William DuVall (Chant / Guitares)

TAGs :
90's, Accessible / FM, Dissonant, Lourde, Sombre, Choeurs
Parmi les groupes de grunge ayant émergé dans les années 90, peu d'entre eux sont parvenus à traverser leur époque. Mais 30 ans plus tard, Alice In Chains, l'un des pionniers du mouvement et géant de la scène américaine, fait encore partie de l'équipage. Pourtant, bien des embûches sont venues obstruer le chemin qui leur était tracé, l'épreuve la plus difficile à surmonter étant le décès de leur chanteur, Layne Staley, au charisme unanime et à la voix si particulière. Pour certains, c'est à la mort du malheureux que le groupe s'est éteint en 2002.

Depuis, de l'eau a coulé sous les ponts et William DuVall assurait le remplacement du leader emblématique en 2005. Bien des années plus tard, avec la sortie de leur sixième album, les musiciens ont donc opté pour une stratégie du retour aux sources. Comme un symbole, le nom du disque, "Rainier Fog", fait d'ailleurs écho au Mont Rainier présent à Seattle, ville d'origine du groupe où les musiciens ont d'ailleurs choisi de retourner enregistrer en studio, ce qui n'était plus arrivé depuis 1995, année où Alice In Chains sortait son troisième album éponyme. Sur le plan musical, on s'inscrit également dans la lignée des albums précédents. Les ambiances sont sombres et pesantes, le chant à deux voix, tantôt mélodieux ('All I Am'), tantôt dissonant ('So Far Under'), est systématique, les riffs sont immédiats et entêtants. Une recette inchangée donc, pour un résultat diablement garanti.

Dès les premières secondes, on se retrouve happé par le riff du premier single, 'The One You Know', rappelant au passage celui de 'Stranded' de Gojira, instaurant une atmosphère grasse et pesante. Le refrain est punchy, accrocheur, l'intérêt est immédiat. L'album regorge d'ailleurs de titres au potentiel de hits. C'est le cas des très bons 'Red Giant' et 'Never Fade' notamment qui reprennent tous les codes habituellement sortis par le groupe avec la même réussite qu'à l'accoutumée.

Malgré ces sonorités obscures, quelques titres parviennent toutefois à sortir du brouillard dans lequel est plongé l'album. C'est le cas de 'Fly' emmené par ses accords majeurs et un son de guitare plus clair et de l'excellent 'Maybe' également porté par des harmonies vocales remarquables et un refrain magistral.

Comme c'était le cas sur les deux derniers albums, les musiciens ont pris l'habitude de placer le titre le plus calme en dernière piste comme en témoignent 'Black Gives Way To Blue' sur l'opus du même nom ou encore 'Choke' sur "The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here", qui figurent au passage dans la liste des meilleures chansons de chaque album. Sur "Rainier Fog", on n'échappera pas à la règle avec la ballade angélique 'All I Am' qui conclut ce sixième effort dans un registre pour le moins inhabituel. Le morceau est d'une vraie beauté, limite atmosphérique, et conclut l'album à la perfection.

S'il aura fallu attendre cinq longues années avant de pouvoir savourer de nouvelles musiques des Américains, l'attente valait encore une fois le coup. Sans révolutionner son approche de la musique, Alice In Chains signe avec "Rainier Fog" un excellent album de grunge en restant fidèle à ses racines.


Plus d'informations sur http://www.aliceinchains.com/index_countdown.php?id=29
Soyez le premier à donner votre avis...
EN RELATION AVEC ALICE IN CHAINS
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
ALICE IN CHAINS : Concert à Paris le 28 mai 2019
CONCERT

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant ALICE IN CHAINS
 
DERNIERE CHRONIQUE
4
Rainier Fog (2018)
Sans révolutionner son approche de la musique, Alice In Chains signe avec "Rainier Fog" un excellent album de grunge en restant fidèle à ses racines.

Lire la chronique
Voir toutes les chroniques concernant ALICE IN CHAINS
ALBUMS CONSEILLES
  • A-PALE-HORSE-NAMED-DEATH_Lay-My-Soul-to-Waste A PALE HORSE NAMED DEATH
    Lay My Soul to Waste (2013)
    SPV STEAMHAMMER - METAL GOTHIQUE

    4
  • NIRVANA_Bleach NIRVANA
    Bleach (1989)
    AUTRE LABEL - GRUNGE

    4
  • THE-NEW-BLACK_II--Better-In-Black THE NEW BLACK
    II - Better In Black (2011)
    AFM RECORDS - HARD ROCK

    4
  • THE-LAST-BÄRONS_Cheval-De-Troie THE LAST BÄRONS
    Cheval De Troie (2012)
    KLONOSPHERE - METAL FUSION

    4
  • ALICE-IN-CHAINS_The-Devil-Put-Dinosaurs-Here ALICE IN CHAINS
    The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here (2013)
    COLUMBIA - HEAVY METAL

    4
    
 
VIDEO
 
RATING
STAFF : 4/5 (3 avis)
LECTEURS : - /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT ALICE IN CHAINS
 
ALICE-IN-CHAINS_Rainier-Fog Rainier Fog (2018)
BMG - GRUNGE

4
ALICE-IN-CHAINS_The-Devil-Put-Dinosaurs-Here The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here (2013)
COLUMBIA - HEAVY METAL

4
ALICE-IN-CHAINS_Black-Gives-Way-to-Blue Black Gives Way to Blue (2009)
EMI - HEAVY METAL

4
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner, Metal Mind, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn, Prophecy, F2, Frontiers Records, Karisma, Insideout, Nightmare, Kscope, Ear Music, Klonosphere, Progressive Promotion, Gentle Art Of Music

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2018