MW / Home / Reviews / TEN: Illuminati
BAND/AUTHOR:

TEN

(UNITED KINGDOM)

TITLE:
ILLUMINATI
RELEASE DATE:
2018
LABEL:
FRONTIERS RECORDS
GENRE:
MELODIC HARD ROCK
"It is in the melodic construction, the smooth harmonies and the very soft production that Ten finds its trademark."
OCERIAN - 15.01.2019 -
Among the safe values of melodic hard rock are Ten's British band, led by Gary Hughes and supported since 2016 by Frontiers Records, a reference house for this still quite popular genre. "Gothica", the previous album, released less than a year and a half earlier, was not the best of the band's discography but nevertheless remained honourable. With "Illuminati", Ten continues its momentum with the themes of secret societies and history, nicely illustrated by Stan W. Decker who has worked for Primal Fear, Vulcan or Masterplan.

Gary Hughes' singing is always quite expressive but not very virulent. This lack of aggressiveness suits a music that is more classy than powerful. Indeed, it is in the melodic construction, the smooth harmonies and the very soft production that Ten finds its trademark. Some pieces manage to display a particularly well balanced and engaging melody as on 'The Esoteric Ocean', in which guitar solos follow one another with voluptuousness. It must be said that the instrumentation is really very neat and the presence of 3 guitars is salutary. 

The first single, 'Jericho' is full of emphasis and orchestrations. It is a fairly effective and, obviously, very positive title, although it is too repetitive. The enchanting "Rosetta Stone" displays a new and exciting solo and terribly well-crafted vocal lines. The riffs are sometimes much more voluntarist, as with "Illuminati", whose intro will awaken more than one, comfortably nestled in the voluptuous and cottony of the previous songs. Guitarists have a great time on solos but also on riffs and choruses, which have a certain originality. 

Ten cultivates the art of cooking his sense of melody in different ways. The British sound is quite rich and unfolds with a significant technical ease. "Illuminati" is a beautiful album in which the protagonists seem to really enjoy themselves.

More informations on http://www.tenofficial.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

SHY, EDEN'S CURSE, HODSON, WINTERSTRAIN, SERPENTINE, GARY HUGHES

TRACK LISTING

01. Be As You Are Forever
02. Shield Wall
03. The Esoteric Ocean
04. Jericho
05. Rosetta Stone
06. Illuminati
07. Heaven And The Holier-than-thou
08. Exile
09. Mephistopheles
10. Of Battles Lost And Won


LINEUP

Dann Rosingana: Guitares
Darrel Treece-Birch : Claviers
Gary Hughes: Chant
John Halliwell: Guitares
Max Yates : Batterie
Steve Grocott: Guitares
Steve Mckenna: Basse


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Acute voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS TEN
 
RATING
 
4/5 (3 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS TEN
 
TEN_ILLUMINATI Illuminati (2018)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / MELODIC HARD ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / TEN: Illuminati

TEN: ILLUMINATI (2018)


ALBUM - FRONTIERS RECORDS - HARD ROCK MELODIQUE - OCERIAN - 15.01.2019
""Illuminati" est un bien bel album dans lequel les protagonistes semblent se faire vraiment plaisir."

4/5
GROUPES PROCHES :
SHY, EDEN'S CURSE, HODSON, WINTERSTRAIN, SERPENTINE, GARY HUGHES

TRACKS :

01. Be As You Are Forever, 02. Shield Wall, 03. The Esoteric Ocean, 04. Jericho, 05. Rosetta Stone, 06. Illuminati, 07. Heaven And The Holier-than-thou, 08. Exile, 09. Mephistopheles, 10. Of Battles Lost And Won

FORMATION :
Dann Rosingana (Guitares), Darrel Treece-Birch (Claviers), Gary Hughes (Chant), John Halliwell (Guitares), Max Yates (Batterie), Steve Grocott (Guitares), Steve Mckenna (Basse)

TAGs :
Accessible / FM, Chant aigu
Parmi les valeurs sures du hard rock mélodique on trouve les Britanniques de Ten, menés de main de maître par Gary Hughes et soutenus depuis 2016 par Frontiers Records, maison de référence pour ce genre toujours assez populaire. "Gothica", l'album précédent, sorti moins d'un an et demi plus tôt, n'était pas le meilleur de la discographie assez fournie du septet mais restait néanmoins honorable. Avec 'Illuminati', le groupe continue sur sa lancée avec les thèmes des sociétés secrètes et de l'histoire, joliment illustrés par Stan W. Decker qui a travaillé pour Primal Fear, Vulcain ou Masterplan notamment.

Le chant de Gary Hughes est toujours assez expressif quoique peu virulent. Ce manque de hargne convient somme toute assez bien à une musique plus classieuse que puissante. C'est en effet dans la construction mélodique, les harmonies suaves, la production léchée et très soft que Ten trouve sa marque de fabrique. Certaines pièces parviennent à afficher une mélodie particulièrement bien équilibrée et prenante, comme sur 'The Esoteric Ocean', dans lequel les solos de guitare s'enchaînent avec volupté. Il faut dire que l'instrumentation est véritablement très soignée et la présence de 3 guitares ne fait pas désordre.

Le premier single, 'Jericho' est plein d'emphase et d'orchestrations. Il s'agit d'un titre assez efficace et, à l'évidence, très positif quoique par trop répétitif. L'enjôleur 'Rosetta Stone' affiche un nouveau solo enlevé et des lignes de chant terriblement bien ficelées. Les riffs se veulent parfois nettement plus volontaristes, comme avec 'Illuminati', dont l'intro en réveillera plus d'un, confortablement vautré dans la bonhomie voluptueuse et cotonneuse des chansons qui précèdent. Le titre d'ouverture 'Be As Your Are Forever' avait également son côté rentre-dedans, qui fait également partie de l'identité finalement assez riche des Mancuniens (habitants de Manchester pour les non-fans de foot). Les guitaristes s'en donnent à cœur joie sur les solos, on l'a vu, mais aussi sur des riffs et des chorus, qui possèdent une certaine originalité. 

Avec des titres véhéments et d'autres carrément doux, Ten cultive l'art de cuisiner son sens de la mélodie à différentes sauces. Le son des Britanniques est assez riche et se déploie avec une aisance technique non négligeable. "Illuminati" est un bien bel album dans lequel les protagonistes semblent se faire vraiment plaisir.


Plus d'informations sur http://www.tenofficial.com/
Soyez le premier à donner votre avis...
EN RELATION AVEC TEN
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
TEN: Les détails sur "Illuminati"
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant TEN
 
DERNIERE CHRONIQUE
4
Illuminati (2018)
"Illuminati" est un bien bel album dans lequel les protagonistes semblent se faire vraiment plaisir.

Lire la chronique
Voir toutes les chroniques concernant TEN
ALBUMS CONSEILLES
  • SHY_Unfinished-Business SHY
    Unfinished Business (2002)
    AUTRE LABEL - A.O.R.

    4
  • SERPENTINE_Circle-Of-Knives SERPENTINE
    Circle Of Knives (2015)
    AOR HEAVEN - A.O.R.

    3
  • SERPENTINE_Living-And-Dying-In-High-Definitio SERPENTINE
    Living And Dying In High Definition (2011)
    AOR HEAVEN - HARD ROCK MELODIQUE

    3
  • EDEN-S-CURSE_Eden-s-Curse EDEN'S CURSE
    Eden's Curse (2007)
    AFM RECORDS - HEAVY METAL

    4
  • EDEN-S-CURSE_Symphony-Of-Sin EDEN'S CURSE
    Symphony Of Sin (2013)
    AFM RECORDS - METAL MELODIQUE

    3
    
 
VIDEO
 
RATING
STAFF : 4/5 (2 avis)
LECTEURS : - /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT TEN
 
TEN_ILLUMINATI Illuminati (2018)
FRONTIERS RECORDS - HARD ROCK MELODIQUE

4
TEN_Gothica Gothica (2017)
FRONTIERS RECORDS - HARD ROCK MELODIQUE

3
TEN_Heresy-And-Creed Heresy And Creed (2012)
FRONTIERS RECORDS - HARD ROCK MELODIQUE

4
TEN_Stormwarning Stormwarning (2011)
FRONTIERS RECORDS - HARD ROCK MELODIQUE

4
TEN_the-twilight-chronicles The Twilight Chronicles (2006)
FRONTIERS RECORDS - HARD ROCK MELODIQUE

2
TEN_Return-To-Evermore Return To Evermore (2004)
AUTRE LABEL - A.O.R.

2
TEN_BABYLON Babylon (2000)
FRONTIERS RECORDS - HARD ROCK MELODIQUE

5
TEN_Spellbound Spellbound (1999)
FRONTIERS RECORDS - METAL MELODIQUE

4
TEN_The-Robe The Robe (1998)
MTM - HARD ROCK MELODIQUE

3
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Metal Mind, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn, Prophecy, F2, Frontiers Records, Karisma, Insideout, Nightmare, Kscope, Ear Music, Klonosphere, Progressive Promotion, Gentle Art Of Music

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019