MW / Home / Reviews / HAKEN: Vector
BAND/AUTHOR:

HAKEN

(UNITED KINGDOM)

TITLE:
VECTOR
RELEASE DATE:
2018
LABEL:
INSIDEOUT MUSIC
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE METAL
""Vector" is one more stone in a monumental building that actively participates in redefining progressive metal."
NUNO777 - 05.04.2019 -
Since the release of "Affinity", Haken has increased its activities. First, Mike Portnoy's Shattered Fortress tour of Dream Theater's old songs, which allowed the group to open its field of action and convert new fans. A few months ago, "L-1VE", the band's first concert DVD, was released to complete a decade at the top of the world's progressive metal scene. It was during the tour with Mike Portnoy that the first drafts for a future album were written. A few months later, the Londoners deliver us this fifth album, "Vector".

After having demonstrated three times his great mastery of epic and convoluted progressive metal, Haken undertook with "Affinity" to write in more synthetic formats. This approach finds in "Vector" an additional step with their shortest record and a single track of more than ten minutes. This desire for conciseness is reflected in the harmonic and melodic qualities of the songs and their efficiency turns. Example with the direct "The Good Doctor" which reminds us of Muse and "Puzzle Box", a real assembly of Haken's signature which summarizes many of the elements covered in previous albums such as the dark ambiences of "Aquarius" or the very 80's keyboards and sounds from "Affinity". The option of shortening developments is particularly apparent in the latter with this brief two-thirds break that could have been stretched further.

After this excellent appetizer, "Vector" goes to the main course with "Veil". Here again Haken uses all the tricks of which he used to. The riffs are biting and powerful, the contrasts between calm verses and powerful choruses, the virtuoso instrumental parts and the feeling-filled solos. "Veil" is full of so many ideas that it will overheat many synapses. The most remarkable are the dissonant jazz sequence with a mitan and the cover of a break with a strange atmosphere very "Twin Peaks". The impression of frenetic madness that emerges from the title, in the assemblages between parts and the excess of contrasts, will certainly support the psychological concept of "Vector". With its slightly exaggerated madness and density, "Veil" is difficult to access but turns out to be one of the band's most surprising achievements. Finally, "Nil By Mouth" is a very technical and perfectly executed typical instrumental but which does not bring anything fundamental to the album.

Haken has applied to the letter the rule that a short album should begin and end with highlights. If "Affinity" spoiled its finale by leaving a mixed impression on the rest of the album, "Vector" refines its conclusion with two tracks that combine originality and emotion. In this welcoming "Host" with pop accents, the English trade the heavy saturations for the warmth of acoustic guitars, the timidity of trembling keyboards and the murmurs of trumpets creating a soothingly sweet atmosphere. These subtleties make the impression of a final ascent even more vertiginous in power. Different in its approach but just as successful as its predecessor, the intense "A Cell Divides" closes "Vector" with a dive into the abyssal depths of a boiling human consciousness in the form of a jerky rhythmic variation supported by a very Leprousian tonality with a devastating effect. 

With "Vector", his darkest disc by the theme he explores and musically the most dense and unleashed, Haken pursues a constant evolution initiated from the very beginning. Album after album, Haken sets the milestones for a redefinition of progressive metal and by his already monumental discography places himself at the forefront of this revolution.

More informations on http://www.haken.fr/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

YES, PAIN OF SALVATION, THE FLOWER KINGS, DREAM THEATER, LEPROUS, LIQUID TENSION EXPERIMENT, GATE 6, BEYOND THE BRIDGE, ERESIS, HAUCHARD

TRACK LISTING

01. Clear
02. The Good Doctor
03. Puzzle Box
04. Veil
05. Nil By Mouth
06. Host
07. A Cell Divides


LINEUP

Charles Griffiths : Guitares
Conner Green: Basse
Diego Tejeida : Claviers
Ray Hearne : Batterie
Richard Henshall: Guitares / Claviers
Ross Jennings : Chant


TAGS:
Technical, Concept-album
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS HAKEN
LAST ARTICLE
Meeting with the English progressive metal band in vogue during their concert at the Parisian concert hall of La Maroquinerie!

Read the article
View all articles about HAKEN
 
RATING
 
4.3/5 (3 view(s))
5/5 (2 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS HAKEN
 
HAKEN_Vector Vector (2018)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / PROGRESSIVE METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / HAKEN: Vector
Le 26.12.2018 par NUNO777
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

HAKEN


TITRE:
VECTOR
ANNEE PARUTION:
2018
LABEL:
INSIDEOUT
GENRE:
METAL PROGRESSIF
""Vector" est une pierre de plus à un édifice monumental qui participe activement à redéfinir le metal progressif."
Depuis la sortie d’ "Affinity", les Anglais d’Haken ont multiplié les activités. En premier lieu la participation à la tournée montée par Mike Portnoy intitulée Shattered Fortress pour jouer des anciens titres de Dream Theater, qui a permis au groupe d’ouvrir son champ d’action et de convertir de nouveaux adeptes. A suivi la sortie il y a quelques mois de "L-1VE" le premier DVD de concert du groupe pour parachever une décennie au sommet du metal progressif mondial. C’est pendant la tournée avec Mike Portnoy que les premières ébauches pour un futur album ont été écrites. Quelques mois plus tard les Londoniens nous présentent leur cinquième album "Vector".

Après avoir fait la magistrale démonstration par trois fois de sa grande maîtrise du metal progressif épique et alambiqué, Haken a entrepris avec "Affinity" de ramasser son écriture dans des formats plus synthétiques. Démarche qui trouve en "Vector" un pas supplémentaire avec leur disque le plus court et un seul titre de plus de dix minutes. Cette volonté de concision se retrouve dans les qualités harmoniques et mélodiques des morceaux et leurs tournures d'efficacité. Exemple avec le direct 'The Good Doctor' qui fait penser à Muse et 'Puzzle Box', véritable assemblage de la signature d'Haken qui récapitule nombres d'éléments abordés dans les albums précédents comme les ambiances sombres de "Aquarius" ou les claviers et sonorités très 80's issues d'"Affinity". L'option qui consiste à abréger les développements se lit particulièrement dans ce dernier avec cette cassure brève aux deux tiers qui aurait pu être plus longuement étirée.

Après cette excellente mise en bouche, "Vector" passe au plat de résistance avec 'Veil'. Là encore Haken use de tous les artifices dont il est l'habile coutumier. Les riffs y sont mordants et puissants, les contrastes judicieux entre couplets calmes et refrains percutants, les parties instrumentales virtuoses et les soli gorgés de feeling. 'Veil' fourmille tellement d'idées qu’il va mettre en surchauffe nombre de synapses. Les plus remarquables sont la séquence dissonante jazz au mitan et la reprise de cassure à l'atmosphère étrange très Twin Peaks. L’impression de démence frénétique qui ressort du titre, dans les assemblages entre parties et les excès de contrastes, ne manquera pas d’appuyer le concept psychologisant de "Vector". Avec sa folie un peu exagérée et sa densité, ‘Veil’ est difficile d’accès mais se révèle au final comme une des réalisations les plus surprenantes du groupe. La dernière bouchée du mets se fait avec le bourratif 'Nil By Mouth', un instrumental typique très technique et parfaitement exécuté mais qui n'apporte rien de fondamental à l'album.

Haken a appliqué à la lettre la règle qui veut qu’un album court se doit de débuter et de s’achever sur des temps forts. Si "Affinity" gâtait son final en laissant une impression mitigée sur le reste du disque, "Vector" peaufine sa conclusion avec deux titres qui allient originalité et émotion. Dans cet accueillant ‘Host’ aux accents pop, les Anglais troquent les grosses saturations pour la chaleur des guitares acoustiques, la timidité de claviers tremblotants et les murmures de trompettes posant une ambiance à l’apaisante suavité. Ces subtilités rendent l’impression d’ascension finale encore plus vertigineuse de puissance. Différent dans son approche mais tout aussi réussi que son prédécesseur, l’intense ‘A Cell Divides’ clôt "Vector" par une plongée dans les profondeurs abyssales d’une conscience humaine bouillonnante sous forme d’une variation rythmique saccadée appuyée d’une tonalité très leprousienne à l’effet dévastateur.

Avec "Vector", son disque le plus sombre par la thématique qu’il explore et musicalement le plus dense et déchaîné, Haken poursuit une constante évolution initiée dès ses débuts. Album après album, Haken pose les jalons d’une redéfinition du metal progressif et par sa déjà monumentale discographie se place à l’avant-garde de cette révolution.

Plus d'information sur http://www.haken.fr/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
YES, PAIN OF SALVATION, THE FLOWER KINGS, DREAM THEATER, LEPROUS, LIQUID TENSION EXPERIMENT, GATE 6, BEYOND THE BRIDGE, ERESIS, HAUCHARD

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Clear
02. The Good Doctor
03. Puzzle Box
04. Veil
05. Nil By Mouth
06. Host
07. A Cell Divides


FORMATION:
Charles Griffiths : Guitares
Conner Green: Basse
Diego Tejeida : Claviers
Ray Hearne : Batterie
Richard Henshall: Guitares / Claviers
Ross Jennings : Chant


TAGS:
Technique, Concept-album
 
EN RELATION AVEC HAKEN
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
HAKEN: Premier extrait de "Vector"
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant HAKEN
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Dans le cadre de sa tournée anniversaire pour fêter ses 10 ans, Haken faisait une halte à la Maroquinerie.

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant HAKEN
 
DERNIERE CHRONIQUE
Vector (2018)
"Vector" est une pierre de plus à un édifice monumental qui participe activement à redéfinir le metal progressif.

Lire la chronique
Voir toutes les chroniques concernant HAKEN
 
NOTES
 
4.3/5 (3 avis)
5/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT HAKEN
 
HAKEN_Vector Vector (2018)
INSIDEOUT - METAL PROGRESSIF

HAKEN_Affinity Affinity (2016)
INSIDEOUT - METAL PROGRESSIF

HAKEN_Restoration Restoration (2014)
INSIDEOUT - METAL PROGRESSIF

HAKEN_The-Mountain The Mountain (2013)
INSIDEOUT - METAL PROGRESSIF

HAKEN_Visions Visions (2011)
SENSORY - METAL PROGRESSIF

HAKEN_Aquarius Aquarius (2010)
SENSORY - METAL PROGRESSIF

F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn, Frontiers Records, Karisma, Insideout, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019