MW / Home / Reviews / AVANTASIA: Moonglow
BAND/AUTHOR:

AVANTASIA

(GERMANY)

TITLE:
MOONGLOW
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
MELODIC METAL
"Avantasia brilliantly confirms here that he is the boss to offer high class metal operas, supported by brilliant guests singers."
NOISE - 18.01.2019 -
Avantasia, which was a just a side project for the leader of Edguy, is back again with a much awaited album, "Moonglow" whose the beautiful cover evokes Tim Burton with a concept revolving around nature and a character looking for his place. As usual, Tobias Sammet has put together an impressive line-up with regulars like Michael Kiske or Geoff Tate and with Hansi Kürsch, Mille Petrozza and Candice Night. The album is built like a novel with twists and turns between folk, heavy and emphasis with a metal opera side. 

In this albujm, Sammet shows a remarkable artistic sense and juggles with emotions. 'Ghost In The Moon' evokes the best of Meat Loaf with piano, grandiloquence and unstoppable melodies. Tobias becomes epic and inflamed and takes pleasure in telling his story. "The Raven Child" is the highlight of the album. It starts with a superb folk tune by Hansi Kürsch before alternating musical atmospheres between power and melody with a huge performance by a top Jorn Lande. 'The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn' is more heavy and honours its singers: Eric Martin, Bob Catley, Ronnie Atkins, Jorn Lande and Geoff Tate sublimate themselves and give the thrill in perfect osmosis, all this being designed to hit the stage. 

Alongside these moments of bravery, the cinematographic side is expressed and makes the listener travel. The duo formed by 'Invicible' and 'Alchemy' has the appearance of a movie soundtrack. The result is dark and mysterious with nursery rhyme tunes carried by the piano and with an epic heavy force. Geoff Tate is huge, he dazzles the track with his warm and strong voice. The more direct titles are also of a crazy class. 'Book Of Shallows' is carried by a vocal triplet formed by Kürsch, Atkins and Lande which complement each other perfectly and make you dizzy. In addition Mille Petrozza brings an intense thrash facet. 'Requiem For A Dream' is carried by Michael Kiske's ever-pure and powerful singing and sails in speed metal horizons worthy of the best Helloween of the 80s. In the company of Candice Night, Sammet signs with "Moonglow" a calm and pop tinged track close to Mike Olfield. Finally, the revival of the 80's hit "Maniac" is a great success, led by Eric Martin, who is comfortable in the style.

"Moonglow" is a total success, Tobias Sammet continues to take Avantasia to the top. He shows an incredible ability to mix styles to propose an engaging story. The ensemble is also sublimated by singers who seem to take great pleasure in participating in this adventure.

More informations on http://www.tobiassammet.com

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

EDGUY, SONATA ARCTICA, MOB RULES, MASTERPLAN, ALMAH, MEAT LOAF, MICHAEL KISKE

TRACK LISTING

01. Ghost In The Moon
02. Book Of Shallows
03. Moonglow
04. The Raven Child
05. Starlight
06. Invincible
07. Alchemy
08. The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn
09. Lavender
10. Requiem For A Dream
11. Maniac
12. Heart


LINEUP

Felix Bohnke: Batterie
Michael Rodenberg: Claviers / Piano
Ronnie Atkins:
Sascha Paeth : Guitares / Basse
Tobias Sammet: Chant / Basse / Claviers
Bob Catley: Chant / Invité
Candice Night: Chant / Invité
Eric Martin: Chant / Invité
Geoff Tate: Chant / Invité
Hansi Kürsch: Chant / Invité
Jorn Lande: Chant / Invité
Michael Kiske: Chant / Invité
Mille Petrozza: Chant / Invité


TAGS:
Epic, Folk, Intimist, Concept-album, Acute voice, Female voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS AVANTASIA
LAST NEWS
AVANTASIA: New Video
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about AVANTASIA
 
RATING
 
4.4/5 (5 view(s))
3/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS AVANTASIA
 
AVANTASIA_Moonglow Moonglow (2019)
NUCLEAR BLAST / MELODIC METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / AVANTASIA: Moonglow
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

AVANTASIA

(ALLEMAGNE)

TITRE:
MOONGLOW
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
METAL MELODIQUE
"Avantasia confirme ici avec brio qu'il est le patron pour proposer des opéras métalliques de grande classe, porté de plus par un casting brillant qui donne plus d'une fois le tournis."
NOISE - 18.01.2019 -
L’ère "Ghostlights" a été celle de la consécration pour Avantasia. Le groupe a rencontré le succès partout où il est passé. Ce qui était un projet a pris le dessus sur Edguy et est de retour avec un album très attendu, "Moonglow", qui propose une pochette de toute beauté évoquant Tim Burton avec un concept tournant autour de la nature et d’un personnage cherchant sa place. Comme à son habitude, Tobias Sammet a réuni un line-up impressionnant avec les habitués comme Michael Kiske ou Geoff Tate et avec Hansi Kürsch, Mille Petrozza et Candice Night. Le disque est construit comme un roman avec des rebondissements et alterne entre folk, heavy et emphase avec un côté opéra metal.

Son cœur vient des pièces à tiroirs dans lesquelles Sammet montre un sens artistique remarquable et jongle avec les émotions. ‘Ghost In The Moon’ évoque le meilleur de Meat Loaf avec le piano, de la grandiloquence et des mélodies imparables. Tobias se fait épique et enflammé et prend plaisir à conter son histoire. ‘The Raven Child’ est le grand moment de l’album. Il démarre sur un superbe air folk porté par Hansi Kürsch avant d’alterner les ambiances musicales entre puissance et mélodie avec une prestation énorme d’un Jorn Lande au top. ‘The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn’ est plus porté heavy et met à l’honneur ses chanteurs : Eric Martin, Bob Catley, Ronnie Atkins, Jorn Lande et Geoff Tate se subliment et donnent le frisson en parfaite osmose, tout cela étant taillé pour cartonner en concert.

A côté de ces moments de bravoure, le côté cinématographique s’exprime et fait voyager l’auditeur. La doublette formée par ‘Invicible’ et ‘Alchemy’ a tout d’une bande-son de film. Il en ressort un côté sombre et mystérieux avec des airs de comptine portés par le piano et avec une force heavy épique. Geoff Tate est énorme de classe, il éblouit le titre avec sa voix chaude et forte qui donne le frisson. Les titres plus directs sont d’une classe folle. ‘Book Of Shallows’ envoie la sauce avec efficacité porté par une triplette vocale formé par Kürsch, Atkins et Lande qui se complètent parfaitement et donnent le tournis, et de plus Mille Petrozza amène une facette thrash intense. ‘Requiem For A Dream’ est porté par le chant toujours aussi pur et puissant de Michael Kiske et vogue dans des horizons speed metal dignes du meilleur du Helloween des années 80. En compagnie de Candice Night, Sammet signe avec ‘Moonglow’ un titre calme et teinté de pop proche de Mike Olfield. Enfin la reprise du hit des années 80 qu’est ‘Maniac’ est une belle réussite portée par un Eric Martin à l’aise dans le style.

"Moonglow" est une réussite totale, Tobias Sammet continue d’emmener Avantasia vers les sommets. Il montre une capacité incroyable à mixer les styles pour proposer une histoire prenante. L’ensemble est de plus sublimé par des chanteurs dont on sent qu’ils prennent un plaisir fou à participer à cette aventure.

Plus d'information sur http://www.tobiassammet.com

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
EDGUY, SONATA ARCTICA, MOB RULES, MASTERPLAN, ALMAH, MEAT LOAF, MICHAEL KISKE

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Ghost In The Moon
02. Book Of Shallows
03. Moonglow
04. The Raven Child
05. Starlight
06. Invincible
07. Alchemy
08. The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn
09. Lavender
10. Requiem For A Dream
11. Maniac
12. Heart


FORMATION:
Felix Bohnke: Batterie
Michael Rodenberg: Claviers / Piano
Ronnie Atkins:
Sascha Paeth : Guitares / Basse
Tobias Sammet: Chant / Basse / Claviers
Bob Catley: Chant / Invité
Candice Night: Chant / Invité
Eric Martin: Chant / Invité
Geoff Tate: Chant / Invité
Hansi Kürsch: Chant / Invité
Jorn Lande: Chant / Invité
Michael Kiske: Chant / Invité
Mille Petrozza: Chant / Invité


TAGS:
Epique, Folk, Intimiste, Concept-album, Chant aigu, Chant féminin
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC AVANTASIA
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
AVANTASIA en concert à Paris
CONCERT

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant AVANTASIA
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Deux ans après le très acclamé "Ghostlights", Tobias Sammet est venu nous présenter le dernier album de son projet Avantasia, "Moonglow"

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant AVANTASIA
 
NOTES
 
4.4/5 (5 avis)
3/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT AVANTASIA
 
AVANTASIA_Moonglow Moonglow (2019)
NUCLEAR BLAST / METAL MELODIQUE
AVANTASIA_Ghostlights Ghostlights (2016)
NUCLEAR BLAST / METAL MELODIQUE
AVANTASIA_The-Mystery-Of-Time The Mystery Of Time (2013)
NUCLEAR BLAST / METAL MELODIQUE
AVANTASIA_The-Wicked-Symphony The Wicked Symphony (2010)
NUCLEAR BLAST / METAL MELODIQUE
AVANTASIA_Angel-Of-Babylon Angel Of Babylon (2010)
NUCLEAR BLAST / METAL MELODIQUE
AVANTASIA_The-Scarecrow The Scarecrow (2008)
NUCLEAR BLAST / METAL MELODIQUE
AVANTASIA_Avantasia-Part-II Avantasia Part II (2002)
AUTRE LABEL / METAL MELODIQUE
AVANTASIA_Avantasia-Part-I Avantasia Part I (2000)
AFM RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019