MW / Home / Reviews / VISAVIS: War Machine
BAND/AUTHOR:

VISAVIS

(FRANCE)

TITLE:
WAR MACHINE
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
SEASON OF MIST
GENRE:
ROCK
"With its authentic rock, Visavis is inhabited by the souls of the greatest representatives of the style, sometimes disappeared like Motörhead or AC/DC."
CALGEPO - 28.02.2019 -
Rock music of recent years has undergone a 2.0 evolution with digital and computer-assisted music in particular with the multiplication of more or less intuitive software. The style is changing with many electronic effects to sound more modern, at least contemporary. But there are still groups that are resisting and maintaining the legacy of the Stooges, Sonic Youth, AC/DC, Motörhead and many others. Not that they want, with their vintage atmosphere, to have the objective of simply distinguishing themselves from the current ambient fashion, but because they find in this music the raw and unadulterated energy they need. 

Returning to the essential is what Visavis proposes. The purpose of this band is to make the music they have loved for over thirty years and to engage the listener in a quest for the deep roots of rock. And it will be served: this half hour is full of riffs ready to rekindle the still burning embers of the power rock.

It's right in the face that "Hey Jack" arrives as a warning and it's confirmed with the catchy "Black Holes" which accentuates the heavy atmosphere with more powerful riffs raised by a heady chorus carried by Régis Bouyge's hoarse and ragged voice. The singer and guitarist throw thunderous power rock chords especially in 'Give The Boys a Chance' with some short solos that might have deserved to be a little more developed. 

The rhythmic plays an essential role, especially in the jubilant "Don't Turn Around" which bears its name well. The bass gets carried away, shudders around a martial and metronomic drum set. All the tracks have a soul that, in live, will undoubtedly take on a new dimension and energy. The final guitar solo is there to prove it with its high-flying bluesy aspect. The highlight of this album remains "Mine Tonight" which starts like a ballad with a little harmonica tune (Springsteen's like) but the rock comes back more beautifull. The surprise comes from "From LA" which offers a more groovy atmosphere under the guise of muscular Californian rock verses and a chorus that recalls the harshness of rock.

"War Machine" shows that after more than thirty years of career, we can still release interesting records. With its authentic rock, the Corrèze trio is inhabited by the souls of the greatest and sometimes disappeared (Motörhead, AC/DC). His rock smells like the old leather of Chesterfield chairs and the smoke of English pubs. It's just good music.

More informations on https://www.visavis.rocks

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

AC/DC, MOTORHEAD

TRACK LISTING

01. Hey Jack
02. Black Holes
03. Give The Boys A Chance
04. Don't Turn Around
05. Mine Tonight
06. Sound Soldiers
07. So Special
08. From LA
09. Rough Boy


LINEUP

Pierre Beyssac: Basse / Choeurs
Pierre Henri Traux: Batterie
Régis Bouyge: Chant / Guitares


TAGS:
60's, 70's, Bluesy, Rasping voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS VISAVIS
 
RATING
 
3/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS VISAVIS
 
VISAVIS_War-Machine War Machine (2019)
SEASON OF MIST / ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / VISAVIS: War Machine
Le 28.02.2019 par CALGEPO
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

VISAVIS

(FRANCE)

TITRE:
WAR MACHINE
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
SEASON OF MIST
GENRE:
ROCK
"Avec son rock authentique, Visavis est habité par l'âme des plus grands représentants du style, parfois disparus (Motörhead, AC/DC). Son rock sent le vieux cuir des fauteuils Chesterfield et la fumée des pubs anglais, de la bonne musique tout simplement."
La musique rock de ces dernières années a vécu une évolution 2.0 avec notamment le digital et la musique assistée par ordinateur avec la multiplication de logiciels plus ou moins intuitifs. Le style mue avec moult effets électroniques pour sonner plus moderne, au moins contemporain. Mais il y a encore des groupes qui font de la résistance et maintiennent l'héritage des Stooges, Sonic Youth, AC/DC, Motörhead et bien d'autres. Non pas qu'ils veuillent, avec leur atmosphère vintage, avoir comme objectif de simplement se démarquer de la mode actuelle ambiante mais parce qu'ils trouvent en cette musique l'énergie brute et sans fard toute sa saveur avant tout subversive, puissante tout en étant dépouillée.

Revenir à l'essentiel, c'est ce que propose Visavis, sans pour autant faire passéiste et passer pour des ronchons. Il ne faut pas se méprendre, tel n'est pas le propos de "War Machine". Au contraire, le but des membres du groupe est de faire la musique qu'ils aiment depuis leurs plus de trente ans de carrière et d'embarquer l'auditeur en quête des racines profondes du rock. Et il va être servi : cette demi-heure est bourrée de riffs prêts à rallumer les braises encore brûlantes du power rock presque éteint de nos jours alors qu'il en a pourtant encore à dire.

"War Machine" ne fait pas dans la dentelle ni dans la fioriture, les neuf titres ne dépassant qu'une fois les quatre minutes. C'est direct dans la face que débarque 'Hey Jack' comme un avertissement lancé, du style : "Tu vas prendre cher !" et ça se confirme avec 'Black Holes' qui accentue l'ambiance lourde et puissante avec des riffs plus appuyés dotés d'une certaine pointe catchy, relevés par un refrain entêtant porté par la voix rauque et éraillée de Régis Bouyge (Lemmy, sors de ce corps !).  Le chanteur et guitariste balance des accords de tonnerre façon power rock notamment dans 'Give The Boys a Chance' avec quelques courts solos qui auraient peut-être mérités d'être un peu plus développés.

La rythmique joue un rôle primordial notamment dans le jouissif et jubilatoire 'Don't Turn Around' qui porte bien son nom. La basse s'emballe, tressaille autour d'une batterie martiale et métronomique. Tous les titres possèdent une âme qui, en live, prendront sans nul doute relief et énergie. Le solo de guitare final est là pour le prouver avec son aspect bluesy de haute volée. Le point culminant de cet album reste 'Mine Tonight' qui démarre comme une ballade avec un petit air d'harmonica à la manière de Springsteen pas piqué des vers, mais le rock revient de plus belle, façon "chassez le naturel il revient au galop", dont l'intérêt est tempéré par un sentiment répétitif du mouvement. La surprise vient de 'From LA' qui propose une ambiance plus groovy sous couvert de couplets rock californien musclé et un refrain qui rappelle l'âpreté du rock.

"War Machine" montre qu'après plus de trente ans de carrière, on peut encore sortir des disques intéressants. Avec son rock authentique, le trio corrézien est habité par l'âme des plus grands et parfois disparus (Motörhead, AC/DC). Son rock sent le vieux cuir des fauteuils Chesterfield et  la fumée des pubs anglais, de la bonne musique tout simplement.

Plus d'information sur https://www.visavis.rocks

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
AC/DC, MOTORHEAD

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Hey Jack
02. Black Holes
03. Give The Boys A Chance
04. Don't Turn Around
05. Mine Tonight
06. Sound Soldiers
07. So Special
08. From LA
09. Rough Boy


FORMATION:
Pierre Beyssac: Basse / Choeurs
Pierre Henri Traux: Batterie
Régis Bouyge: Chant / Guitares


TAGS:
60's, 70's, Bluesy, Chant éraillé
 
EN RELATION AVEC VISAVIS
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
VISAVIS: Détails et extrait de "War Machine"
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant VISAVIS
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Rencontre sous le signe de l'authenticité avec Visavis qui fête ses 35 ans de carrière avec la sortie de "War Machine".

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant VISAVIS
 
DERNIERE CHRONIQUE
War Machine (2019)
Avec son rock authentique, Visavis est habité par l'âme des plus grands représentants du style, parfois disparus (Motörhead, AC/DC). Son rock sent le vieux cuir des fauteuils Chesterfield et la fumée des pubs anglais, de la bonne musique tout simplement.

Lire la chronique
Voir toutes les chroniques concernant VISAVIS
 
NOTES
 
3/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT VISAVIS
 
VISAVIS_War-Machine War Machine (2019)
SEASON OF MIST - ROCK

F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019