MW / Home / Reviews / LINE: A Walk Above Clouds
BAND/AUTHOR:

LINE

(FRANCE)

TITLE:
A WALK ABOVE CLOUDS
RELEASE DATE:
2018
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
ALTERNATIVE_ROCK
""A Walk Above The Clouds" therefore invites you to discover a 'Trip-Hop' journey that is first and foremost accessible."
CALGEPO - 12.06.2019 -
The trip-hop that emerged in the 90s gave birth to famous bands such as Portishead, Morcheeba, Archive (in its early days). More than any other style, it blends more into the notion of a collective in which everyone contributes to the building from composition to mixing. Since these years of genesis, the style has expanded and merged with rock (Radiohead, Queens Of The Stone Age, Gorillaz) to enrich it with its modernity. Line, a six-member French collective, follows in the footsteps of these elders who have long proven their worth. The combo proposes an EP "A Walk Above Clouds" released at the beginning of this year.

If Line uses electronic sounds created with the help of machines to make his EP, he doesn't forget the organic and especially the musicality. The set of tracks that compose it is melodic and picks out of genres to which the trip hop brings a quite singular relief. The listener enters this disc greeted by quasi-tribal rhythms, rather warm whereas he could have expected a rather cold introduction. 'Like A Picture' sounds extremely modern with a whispered air that easily comes to mind, well helped by a multivoice chorus of the most beautiful effect making it endearing. So the album doesn't fall into negative or nonchalant. From his listening there emerges a positive feeling even in 'Spleen' which is rather playful, contrasting with the idea of depression that accompanies the genre. The track begins gently to take on power as the volume increases, both in terms of sound and instruments. 

One of Line's good ideas is to keep a relatively pop aspect in the way he writes compositions that have an accessible framework as in 'Try' with its pretty electric guitar line and vocals that remind us a little of PJ Harvey. 'The Plan' is built on a southern rock rhythm and a fascinating instrumental bridge. However, the collective does not forget the less immediate trip-hop roots, particularly in what constitutes the highlight of the EP, 'Flesh',, magnificent in density and madness as an echo of Björk's work, especially in the more expressive and varied vocals.  The more the EP moves forward, the denser the tracks are, as if Line invites the listener to gently enter a more complex universe than it seems, until the ecstasy brought by "Laces" in which Johanna is amazing with intonations close to "Skin" (Skunk Anansie) of the most beautiful effect.

"A Walk Above The Clouds" therefore invites you to discover a musical journey that is first and foremost accessible. The work accomplished by the musicians as the vocals is remarkable for its coherence and richness. Both accessible and demanding, Line is a band with a bright future and reinvents a style that has long remained underestimated.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/linegroupmusic/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

ARCHIVE, RADIOHEAD, MORCHEEBA, PORTISHEAD

TRACK LISTING

01. Like A Picture - 4:04
02. Spleen - 3:27
03. Try - 4:26
04. The Plan - 3:18
05. Flesh - 4:12
06. Laces - 4:00


LINEUP

Christophe Ponsolle: Basse
Edouard Bertrand: Claviers
Fabien Tournier: Batterie
Johanna Luz: Chant
Mikael Torren: Percussions
Pierre Planas: Guitares


TAGS:
90's, Easy Listening / FM, Electro, Indépendant
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS LINE
 
RATING
 
4/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS LINE
 
LINE_A-Walk-Above-Clouds A Walk Above Clouds (2018)
AUTRE LABEL / ALTERNATIVE_ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / LINE: A Walk Above Clouds
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

LINE

(FRANCE)

TITRE:
A WALK ABOVE CLOUDS
ANNEE PARUTION:
2018
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
ROCK ALTERNATIF
""A Walk Above The Clouds" invite à un parcours musical d’abord accessible pour monter en puissance dans son relief et sa coloration de plus en plus riche."
CALGEPO - 12.06.2019 -
Le trip-hop émergeant des années 90 a donné naissance à des groupes fameux tels que Portishead, Morcheeba, Archive (à ses débuts). Plus qu'un autre style, il se fond plus dans la notion de collectif dans lequel chacun apporte sa pierre à l'édifice de la composition jusqu'au mixage, plutôt que de groupe. Depuis ces années de génèse, le style s'est étendu et a fusionné avec le rock (Radiohead, Queens Of The Stone Age, Gorillaz) pour l'enrichir de sa modernité. Line, collectif français composé de six membres, s'inscrit dans le sillon de ces aînés qui ont depuis longtemps fait leurs preuves. Le combo propose un EP "A Walk Above Clouds" sorti en ce début d'année.

Si Line parsème son EP de sons électroniques créés à l'aide de machines, il n'en oublie pas pour autant l'organique et surtout la musicalité. L'ensemble des titres qui le compose est mélodique et pioche parmi des genres auxquels le trip hop apporte un relief tout à fait singulier. L'auditeur rentre dans ce disque accueilli par des rythmes quasi tribaux, plutôt chauds alors qu'il pouvait s'attendre à une entrée en matière plutôt froide. 'Like A Picture' sonne donc extrêmement moderne avec un air murmuré qui rentre facilement en tête, bien aidé par un refrain à plusieurs voix du plus bel effet le rendant attachant. Ainsi l'album ne tombe pas dans le négatif ou la nonchalance. Il ressort de son écoute un sentiment positif même dans 'Spleen' qui est plutôt enjoué, contrastant avec l'idée de dépression qui accompagne le mot. Le titre commence en douceur pour prendre au fur et à mesure du volume tant au niveau sonore que des instruments.

L'un des bonnes idées de Line est de conserver un aspect relativement pop dans sa manière d'emmener les compositions qui possèdent une ossature accessible comme dans 'Try' avec sa jolie ligne de guitare électrique et son chant qui rappelle un peu PJ Harvey. 'The Plan' est construit quant à lui sur un rythme sudiste plutôt rock dans les riffs et un pont instrumental prenant. Le collectif n'oublie pas toutefois les racines trip-hop moins immédiates notamment dans ce qui constitue le point culminant de l'EP ('Flesh'), magnifique de densité et de folie comme un écho aux travaux de Björk, notamment dans le chant plus expressif et varié comme peut l'être celui de l'Islandaise.  Plus l'EP avance plus les morceaux sont denses, comme si Line invitait l'auditeur à rentrer en douceur dans un univers plus complexe qu'il n'y parait, jusqu'à l'extase apportée par 'Laces' dans lequel Johanna fait encore une fois merveille avec des intonations à la Skin (Skunk Anansie) du plus bel effet.

"A Walk Above The Clouds" invite donc à un parcours musical d’abord accessible pour monter en puissance dans son relief et sa coloration de plus en plus riche. Le travail accompli par les musiciens et le chant est remarquable de cohérence et de richesse. A la fois accessible et exigeant, Line est un groupe promis à un bel avenir et réinvente un style trop longtemps resté sous-estimé.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/linegroupmusic/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
ARCHIVE, RADIOHEAD, MORCHEEBA, PORTISHEAD

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Like A Picture - 4:04
02. Spleen - 3:27
03. Try - 4:26
04. The Plan - 3:18
05. Flesh - 4:12
06. Laces - 4:00


FORMATION:
Christophe Ponsolle: Basse
Edouard Bertrand: Claviers
Fabien Tournier: Batterie
Johanna Luz: Chant
Mikael Torren: Percussions
Pierre Planas: Guitares


TAGS:
90's, Accessible / FM, Electro, Indépendant
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC LINE
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT LINE
 
LINE_A-Walk-Above-Clouds A Walk Above Clouds (2018)
AUTRE LABEL / ROCK ALTERNATIF
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019