MW / Home / Reviews / RHYS MARSH: October After All
BAND/AUTHOR:

RHYS MARSH

(NORWAY)

TITLE:
OCTOBER AFTER ALL
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
KARISMA RECORDS
GENRE:
POP
"Melancholic, mysterious, sensitive, "October After All" is a pop record that is both unconsensual and effective, to be listened to in front of a fireplace on a winter afternoon."
DARIALYS - 13.02.2019 -
Rhys Marsh is one of those complete and versatile artists. Singer, multi-instrumentalist, composer, producer, the world of music no longer has any mystery for the English. Already leader of The Autumn Ghost, and also involved in Kaukasus and Mandala, the British resident in Norway recently tried his hand at solo. And this solo career has gained momentum over the years, as evidenced by the release of the first three albums since 2013. February 2019 will therefore be the month in which this project becomes a reality for Rhys Marsh, who, with "October After All", demonstrates his desire to give more importance to his solo career.

With his album "Sentiment" released in 2014, the artist released one of his darkest and most progressive albums according to him. It's hard to talk about progressive rock strictly speaking. In any case, this new album continues to explore the territories mentioned in "Sentiment", with melancholic, even dramatic pop sounds.

Throughout the disc, we observe interesting and unconsensual chord progressions that diverge from the usual sounds in this style of music. In this vein, 'River', which opens the album, has a very catchy side despite its rather unexpected but well clever chorus. 'The Summer Days' shares the same spirit with its Mellotron and its uncommon successions of chords.

But it is certainly on the slower and more painful pieces that the composer is most convincing. The very deep'Golden Lullabies' embodies this side perfectly, with its predominant polyphonic singing and its saxophone interventions. In the same vein, '(It Will Be) October After All' is a great success of the album. In this longest track with his seven minutes, the melodies unfold a dark universe with  mysterious keyboards and one more time a saxophone solo.

But there are also more colourful tracks. Thus, 'Long Way Back' has a part of electro-pop close to 'Metronomy'. "Ride The New Wave" could have been part of 'Girls In Hawaii's "Everest" album with its chorus of electro sounds. There are even acoustic passages like on 'The Butterflies' with its keyboard faithful to the sound of Phideaux.

"October After All" is a record that we take pleasure in discovering and rediscovering. Accessible, well thought-out, sensitive and profound, the latest Rhys Marsh is a beautiful album that makes you want to immerse yourself in the discography of its creator.

More informations on http://rhysmarsh.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

PHIDEAUX

TRACK LISTING

01. River (03:51)
02. Long Way Back (03:38)
03. Golden Lullabies (05:28)
04. Ride The New Wave (05:06)
05. The Butterflies (04:23)
06. Let It Be Known! (03:21)
07. One Hundred Memories (03:59)
08. The Summer Days (04:47)
09. ‘22’ (03:33)
10. (It Will Be) October After All (07:01)


LINEUP

Arve Henriksen:
Kåre Kolve:
Rhys Marsh: Chant
Rohey Kolve:
Tim Bowness:


TAGS:
Melancholic
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS RHYS MARSH
 
RATING
 
4/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS RHYS MARSH
 
RHYS-MARSH_October-After-All October After All (2019)
KARISMA RECORDS / POP
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / RHYS MARSH: October After All
Le 13.02.2019 par DARIALYS
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

RHYS MARSH

(NORVÈGE)

TITRE:
OCTOBER AFTER ALL
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
KARISMA RECORDS
GENRE:
POP
"Mélancolique, mystérieux, sensible, "October After All" est un disque de pop à la fois peu consensuel et efficace, à écouter devant un feu de cheminée par un après-midi hivernal."
Rhys Marsh fait partie de ces artistes complets et touche-à-tout. Chanteur, multi-instrumentiste, compositeur, producteur, le monde de la musique n’a plus de mystère pour l’Anglais. Déjà leader de The Autumn Ghost, et également impliqué dans Kaukasus et Mandala, le british résidant en Norvège s’est récemment essayé en solo. Et cette carrière en solo a pris du galon au cours des années, comme en témoignent la sortie des trois premiers albums depuis 2013. Février 2019 sera donc le mois la concrétisation de ce projet pour Rhys Marsh, qui, avec "October After All", démontre sa volonté de donner plus d’importance à sa carrière solo.

Avec son album "Sentiment" sorti en 2014, l’artiste sortait l’un de ses albums les plus sombres et progressifs selon ses dires. Difficile de parler de rock progressif à proprement parler. En tout cas, cette nouvelle galette continue d’explorer les territoires évoqués dans "Sentiment", avec des sonorités de pop mélancolique, voire dramatique.

Tout au long du disque, on observe des progressions d’accords intéressantes et peu consensuelles qui divergent des sonorités habituelles dans ce style de musique. Dans cette veine-là, ‘River’, qui ouvre l’album, est doté d’un côté très accrocheur malgré son refrain plutôt inattendu mais bien amené. ‘The Summer Days’ partage le même état d’esprit avec son Mellotron et ses successions d’accords peu communes, et pourtant très bien senties.

Mais c’est certainement sur les morceaux plus lents et douloureux que le compositeur se montre  le plus convaincant. Le très profond ‘Golden Lullabies’ incarne ce côté à merveille, avec son chant polyphonique prédominant comme dans de nombreux morceaux du disque et ses interventions de saxophone. Dans la même optique, ‘(It Will Be) October After All’ est une grande réussite de l’album. Titre le plus long du haut de ses sept minutes, les mélodies le hantent et déploient un univers sombre avec ses claviers mystérieux et son solo de saxophone.

On retrouve également des pistes plus colorées. Ainsi, ‘Long Way Back’ s’inscrit dans une veine electro-pop à la Metronomy. ‘Ride The New Wave’ aurait quant à lui pu faire partie de l’album "Everest" de Girls In Hawaii par son refrain aux sonorités également electro. On retrouve même des passages acoustiques comme sur ‘The Butterflies’ avec son clavier fidèle au son de Phideaux.

Il va sans dire que "October After All" a tout d’un disque complet que l’on prend plaisir à découvrir et à redécouvrir. Accessible, bien amené, sensible et profond, le dernier Rhys Marsh est un bel album qui donne envie de se plonger dans la discographie de son concepteur.

Plus d'information sur http://rhysmarsh.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
PHIDEAUX

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. River (03:51)
02. Long Way Back (03:38)
03. Golden Lullabies (05:28)
04. Ride The New Wave (05:06)
05. The Butterflies (04:23)
06. Let It Be Known! (03:21)
07. One Hundred Memories (03:59)
08. The Summer Days (04:47)
09. ‘22’ (03:33)
10. (It Will Be) October After All (07:01)


FORMATION:
Arve Henriksen:
Kåre Kolve:
Rhys Marsh: Chant
Rohey Kolve:
Tim Bowness:


TAGS:
Mélancolique
 
EN RELATION AVEC RHYS MARSH
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
RHYS MARSH: Sentiment
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant RHYS MARSH
 
DERNIERE CHRONIQUE
October After All (2019)
Mélancolique, mystérieux, sensible, "October After All" est un disque de pop à la fois peu consensuel et efficace, à écouter devant un feu de cheminée par un après-midi hivernal.

Lire la chronique
Voir toutes les chroniques concernant RHYS MARSH
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT RHYS MARSH
 
RHYS-MARSH_October-After-All October After All (2019)
KARISMA RECORDS - POP

F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019