MW / Home / Reviews / VINC2: Rescued From Drowning
BAND/AUTHOR:

VINC2

(FRANCE)

TITLE:
RESCUED FROM DROWNING
RELEASE DATE:
2018
LABEL:
AUTOPRODUCTION
GENRE:
POST ROCK
"Despite the quasi all-instrumental, a certain minimalism and the slow tempo of most of the tracks, "Rescued From Drowning" is very varied and its cinematic character allows the listener to travel with serenity."
CORTO1809 - 25.02.2019 -
"An intimist, melancholic, melodious, gentle and slow album that exudes a feeling of diffuse sadness haloed with timid optimism. This was the conclusion of our review of Vinc2's previous album, "By the Third Sea", which could undoubtedly be applied to "Rescued From Drowning" released five years later. Those who had been seduced by the atmospheric music of the previous opus have every chance of being touched by the grace of this new opus.

Indeed, "Rescued From Drowning" features everything that made "By the Third Sea" so charming and, in the foreground, finely chiseled compositions, all in shades and pastel tones, served by a perfect sound recording. Because, with a great economy of means and a slow tempo from one end to the other, Vinc2 not only manages to capture the listener's attention but also to keep it until the end of the album without lowering of intensity.

The lover of atmospheric rock knows it well: the Achilles' heel of this musical style lies in the monotony that can at any time invite itself into a genre where narrow rules leave little room for manoeuvre. Not only does "Rescued From Drowning" not fall into the trap, but it even manages to constantly surprise with the diversity of its content and the very cinematic nature of its music. The listener will be able to imagine contemplating a radiant sunrise ('Birth (Again)'), discover frozen fjords ('Confusion'), cross an enchanted forest ('TDR') or reach paradise ('Funerarium') so evocative are the harmonies. No matter how far away these interpretations are from the author's intentions, the music imposes images or sensations on the listener's mind, such as this return to the sweetness of childhood with a touch of nostalgia ('Hideaway'), or loneliness, old-age and death ('Overgrown Fields').

If the tone is often melancholic, this melancholy is nevertheless tinged with optimism most of the time, leaving a very pleasant bittersweet feeling. 'Funerarium' for example, despite a title that does not encourage cheerfulness, is transformed into a soothing passage from the earthly world to the afterlife thanks to an angelic song and a luminous sound halo. Moreover, the voice, sparingly used, brings an obvious added value to each of his interventions, whether it is the ghostly melody of "TDR", the evanescent vocals of "Rain on My Glasses" or the recitative full of effects of poignant "Overgrown Field".

Despite the quasi all-instrumental, a certain minimalism and the slow tempo of most of the tracks, "Rescued From Drowning" is very varied and its cinematic character allows the listener to travel serenely. A beautiful album for all lovers of atmospheric journeys.

More informations on http://www.vinc2.net/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

SIGUR ROS, KLAUS SCHULZE, MOGWAÏ, BERTRAND LOREAU

TRACK LISTING

01. Birth (Again) (03:35)
02. Confusion (03:30)
03. TDR (03:47)
04. Funerarium (04:19)
05. I Have A Cold (03:06)
06. Hideaway (03:15)
07. Rain On My Glasses (03:37)
08. Overgrown Field (03:08)


LINEUP

Vincent Coudert: Chant / Guitares / Basse / Claviers / Percussions
Lisa Germano: Chant / Invité
Stéphanie Pestel: Chant / Invité
Thùy-nhi Auquang: Invité / Violoncelle (6)


TAGS:
Instrumental, Melancholic
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS VINC2
 
RATING
 
4/5 (1 view(s))
5/5 (2 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS VINC2
 
VINC2_Rescued-From-Drowning Rescued From Drowning (2018)
AUTOPRODUCTION / POST ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / VINC2: Rescued From Drowning
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

VINC2

(FRANCE)

TITRE:
RESCUED FROM DROWNING
ANNEE PARUTION:
2018
LABEL:
AUTOPRODUCTION
GENRE:
POST ROCK
"Malgré le quasi tout instrumental, un certain minimalisme et le tempo lent de la plupart des titres, "Rescued From Drowning" est très varié et son caractère cinématique permet à l'auditeur de voyager sereinement."
CORTO1809 - 25.02.2019 -
"Un album intimiste, mélancolique, mélodieux, doux et lent qui distille un sentiment de tristesse diffuse auréolée d'un timide optimisme". Telle était la conclusion de notre chronique du précédent album de Vinc2, "By the Third Sea", qui pourrait sans nul doute s'appliquer à "Rescued From Drowning" paru cinq ans plus tard. Ceux qui avaient été séduits par la musique atmosphérique du précédent opus ont toutes les chances d'être touchés par la grâce de ce nouvel opus.

On retrouve en effet sur "Rescued From Drowning" tout ce qui faisait le charme de "By the Third Sea" et, au premier plan, des compositions finement ciselées, tout en nuances et tons pastel, servies par une prise de son au cordeau. Car, sans effet de manche, avec une grande économie de moyens et un tempo lent d'un bout à l'autre, Vinc2 arrive non seulement à capter l'attention de l'auditeur mais aussi à la conserver jusqu'au bout de l'album sans baisse d'intensité.

L'amateur de rock atmosphérique le sait bien : le talon d'Achille de ce style musical réside dans la monotonie qui peut à tout moment s'inviter dans un genre où les règles étroites laissent peu de place à la manœuvre. Or non seulement "Rescued From Drowning" ne tombe pas dans le piège, mais il réussit même à surprendre constamment par la diversité de son propos et le caractère très cinématique de sa musique. L'auditeur pourra ainsi s'imaginer contempler un radieux lever de soleil ('Birth (Again)'), découvrir des fjords gelés ('Confusion'), traverser une forêt enchantée ('TDR') ou arriver au paradis ('Funerarium') tant les harmonies sont évocatrices. Peu importe si ces interprétations sont éloignées des intentions de l'auteur, la musique impose à l'esprit de celui qui l'écoute des images ou des sensations, comme ce retour à la douceur de l'enfance avec une pointe de nostalgie ('Hideaway') ou la solitude, la vieillesse et la mort ('Overgrown Fields').

Si la tonalité est souvent mélancolique, cette mélancolie se teinte pourtant d'optimisme la plupart du temps, laissant un sentiment doux-amer très agréable. 'Funerarium' par exemple, malgré un titre n'incitant pas à la gaieté, se transforme en un passage apaisant du monde terrestre à l'au-delà grâce à un chant angélique et un halo sonore lumineux. D'ailleurs la voix, parcimonieusement utilisée, apporte à chacune de ses interventions une plus-value évidente, que ce soit la mélopée fantomatique de 'TDR', les vocaux évanescents de 'Rain on My Glasses' ou le récitatif truffé d'effets du poignant 'Overgrown Field'.

Malgré le quasi tout instrumental, un certain minimalisme et le tempo lent de la plupart des titres, "Rescued From Drowning" est très varié et son caractère cinématique permet à l'auditeur de voyager sereinement. Un bien bel album pour tous les amateurs de périple atmosphérique.

Plus d'information sur http://www.vinc2.net/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
SIGUR ROS, KLAUS SCHULZE, MOGWAÏ, BERTRAND LOREAU

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Birth (Again) (03:35)
02. Confusion (03:30)
03. TDR (03:47)
04. Funerarium (04:19)
05. I Have A Cold (03:06)
06. Hideaway (03:15)
07. Rain On My Glasses (03:37)
08. Overgrown Field (03:08)


FORMATION:
Vincent Coudert: Chant / Guitares / Basse / Claviers / Percussions
Lisa Germano: Chant / Invité
Stéphanie Pestel: Chant / Invité
Thùy-nhi Auquang: Invité / Violoncelle (6)


TAGS:
Instrumental, Mélancolique
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC VINC2
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (1 avis)
5/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT VINC2
 
VINC2_Rescued-From-Drowning Rescued From Drowning (2018)
AUTOPRODUCTION / POST ROCK
VINC2_By-The-Third-Sea By The Third Sea (2013)
AUTOPRODUCTION / POST ROCK
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019