MW / Home / Reviews / WITHERFALL: Vintage
BAND/AUTHOR:

WITHERFALL

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
VINTAGE
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS
GENRE:
MELODIC METAL
"The musical interest of this "Vintage" is rather limited and will only bring pleasure in the sad beauty of the subject to the fans of the group, the others probably preferring to confine themselves, rightly, to the exceptional album which preceded it."
PROGRACER - 19.03.2019 -
What a surprise to see, only a few months after the release of the majestic "A Prelude To Sorrow", that Witherfall was already back in the box. However, the euphoria quickly subsided when we saw that it was "only" an EP and that it was named after a track from the last album, "Vintage". 

As a result, there is not much of a surprise on this cake. The magnificent title track, already a major part of the 2018 album (more than 11 minutes), is divided into three pieces and benefits from an acoustic treatment. Certainly interesting, this orchestration does not revolutionize the song but gives it another reading, less epic, more intimate but just as intense. So far, everyone is free to choose - or not - this new version, it's a matter of taste. Note that it loses two minutes on the way. 

"Ode To Dispair" is also covered with acoustic sauce on this EP but as the original was already a kind of melancholic ballad, the difference is not obvious and its presence feels a bit like filling. The same is true fo r'The Long Walk Home', not very interesting cover of the intro to the album then entitled 'A Prelude To Sorrow'. 

The other two tracks are acoustic covers. The first is Helloween's 'A Tale That Wasn't Right' and the other is Tom Petty's 'I Won't Back Down'. Certainly chosen for the message they convey, these two covers are not without interest. The first one offers an even more intense feeling than the original, while the second, dating back nearly 30 years, brings this mini album with a message of resignation and hope.

Joseph Mickael and Jake Dreyer never stop crying over their missing drummer friend. They deliver here what is obviously similar to material they would have liked to have appeared on the album but which they had to sacrifice for lack of space. However, the musical interest remains rather limited and will only bring pleasure in the sad beauty of the subject to the group's fans, the others probably preferring to confine themselves, rightly, to the exceptional album that preceded it.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

More informations on https://www.witherfall.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

IRON MAIDEN, ICED EARTH, RAGE, SANCTUARY

TRACK LISTING

01. Vintage Medley: Vintage I / Nobody Sleeps Here… / Vintage Ii
02. A Tale That Wasn't Right (cover Helloween )
03. Ode To Despair (acoustic)
04. The Long Walk Home (december)
05. I Won't Back Down (cover Tom Petty)
06. Vintage (album Version)


LINEUP

Anthony Crawford: Basse
Jake Dreyer: Guitares
Joseph Michael: Chant / Claviers
Steve Bolognese: Batterie


TAGS:
Acoustic, Melancholic, Acute voice, Rasping voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS WITHERFALL
 
RATING
 
3/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS WITHERFALL
 
WITHERFALL_Vintage Vintage (2019)
CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS / MELODIC METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / WITHERFALL: Vintage
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

WITHERFALL

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
VINTAGE
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS
GENRE:
METAL MELODIQUE
"L’intérêt musical de ce "Vintage" est assez limité et n’apportera du plaisir dans la triste beauté du propos qu’aux fans du groupe, les autres préférant sans doute se cantonner, à raison, à l’exceptionnel album qui l’a précédé."
PROGRACER - 19.03.2019 -
Quelle ne fut pas notre surprise de voir, seulement quelques mois après la sortie du majestueux “A Prelude To Sorrow”, que Witherfall était déjà de retour dans les bacs. L’euphorie est pourtant vite retombée en voyant qu’il ne s’agit “que” d’un EP et qu’il porte le nom d’un titre du dernier album, “Vintage”.

Du coup, peu de surprise sur cette galette. Le magnifique morceau titre, déjà fleuve dans l’album de 2018 (plus de 11 minutes), est ici découpé en trois pièces et bénéfice d’un traitement acoustique. Certes intéressante, cette orchestration ne révolutionne pas le morceau mais lui donne une autre lecture, moins épique, plus intimiste mais tout aussi intense. Pour le coup, libre à chacun de préférer - ou pas - cette nouvelle version, c’est une affaire de goût. À noter qu’elle perd deux minutes au passage.

‘Ode To Dispair’ est également repris à la sauce acoustique sur cet EP mais comme l’original était déjà une sorte de ballade mélancolique, la différence n’est pas flagrante et sa présence sent un peu le remplissage. Même constat pour ‘The Long Walk Home’, resucée sans grand intérêt de l’intro de l’album alors intitulée ‘A Prelude To Sorrow’.

Les deux autres titres proposés sont des reprises acoustiques. La première ‘A Tale That Wasn’t Right’ de Helloween et l’autre ‘I Won’t Back Down’ de Tom Petty. Certainement choisies pour le message qu’elles véhiculent, ces deux reprises ne sont pas dénuées d’intérêt. La première propose une intensité encore plus marquée que l’original, alors que la seconde, datant de près de 30 ans, amène ce mini album sur un message de résignation et d’espoir.

Joseph Mickael et Jake Dreyer n’en finissent plus de pleurer leur ami batteur disparu. Ils nous livrent ici ce qui s’apparente visiblement à du matériel qu’ils auraient souhaité faire apparaître sur l’album mais qu’ils ont dû sacrifier faute de place. L’intérêt musical en reste toutefois assez limité et n’apportera du plaisir dans la triste beauté du propos qu’aux fans du groupe, les autres préférant sans doute se cantonner, à raison, à l’exceptionnel album qui l’a précédé.

Plus d'information sur https://www.witherfall.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
IRON MAIDEN, ICED EARTH, RAGE, SANCTUARY

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Vintage Medley: Vintage I / Nobody Sleeps Here… / Vintage Ii
02. A Tale That Wasn't Right (cover Helloween )
03. Ode To Despair (acoustic)
04. The Long Walk Home (december)
05. I Won't Back Down (cover Tom Petty)
06. Vintage (album Version)


FORMATION:
Anthony Crawford: Basse
Jake Dreyer: Guitares
Joseph Michael: Chant / Claviers
Steve Bolognese: Batterie


TAGS:
Acoustique, Mélancolique, Chant aigu, Chant éraillé
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC WITHERFALL
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
WITHERFALL : Nouvel EP en mars
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant WITHERFALL
 
NOTES
 
3/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT WITHERFALL
 
WITHERFALL_Vintage Vintage (2019)
CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
WITHERFALL_A-Prelude-To-Sorrow A Prelude To Sorrow (2018)
CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS / METAL MELODIQUE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019