BAND/AUTHOR:

HARDLINE

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
LIFE (2019)
LABEL:
FRONTIERS RECORDS
GENRE:
MELODIC HARD ROCK

"A great melodic hard rock album !"
LYNOTT - 22.05.2019 - (0) minds from our readers - (1) comment(s)
4/5
The release of Hardline's first album in 1992 - a critically acclaimed "Double Eclipse" - was a huge hit in the small world of melodic hard rock. Two Journey members who team up to participate in the birth of a new combo, that's very attractive. But Neal Schon and Dean Castronovo left the ship since many years. Nevertheless, Hardline has, without its two stars, continued its little journey by releasing four opuses of varying quality between 2002 - the year the combo reappeared - and 2016. Three years after the popular "Human Nature", here is the band's new offering. 

When we talk about Hardline's past, the two monsters we talked about above are more often mentioned than the real parents of the project, namely the Gioelli brothers, Joey the guitarist and Johnny the vocalist. Today only the second one has remained faithful to his offspring. And it's fortunate because the gentleman is talented. Accompanied once again by an Alessandro Del Vecchio who is no longer to be presented and bassist Anna Portalupi, he welcomes on this sixth album two new travel companions, including one Mario Percudani on the six-strings, about whom we will have the opportunity to talk again. 

Melodic hard rock, of course, is at stake here. A US hard rock played only by Italians. This is new for Hardline, the combo having never put so much punch in its music. From the first notes of 'Place To Call Home' the new team has decided to make some big noise. The production, and this will be the case throughout the work, reinforces the impact of this title which clearly takes us back to Whitesnake. The rest is in tune with a lively "Take A Chance" that reminds us that Slaughter's work has left its mark, a very promising "Helio's Sun" or a "Chameleon" that flirts with Whitesnake and Extreme. 

Melodic quality is often present, especially with the sensational "Out Of Time" which wins the title of the most FM track of the opus. It is also a constant in the quietest tracks of this "Life". There are four of them, which could be boring for a hard rock opus. But let it be said, this penchant for calm is not a lack of taste here. Indeed, whether it is 'Page Of Your Life', a power ballad with piano, 'This Love' which evokes Gotthard in a hallucinating way, and the acoustic 'My Friend' which is just as close, we are dealing here with great songs. 

With the well placed choirs, the keyboard interventions (rare is the melodic hard rock where they do not devour space)  and an amazing guitarist, the Gioelli gang probably succeeds here its best album. Hardline is undoubtedly coming to maturity with this sixth opus, as the band seems so sure of its strengths, to the point of having the confidence to dare to take over the sensational Queen's "Who Wants To Live Forever" and to get away with it royally. 

Lovers of melodic US hard rock, let yourself be tempted by this successful album. You won't regret it. However, be careful to listen to this opus several times before giving an opinion on the object. Indeed, the compositions only reveal their secrets after several listening. So don't just fly over, take the time to land on this ocean and let yourself be mistreated and rocked by its capricious waves.

More informations on http://www.hardlinerocks.com/site/



SIMILAR BANDS:
RAINBOW, GOTTHARD, WHITESNAKE

TRACK LISTING:
01. Place To Call Home
02. Take A Chance
03. Helio's Sun
04. Page Of Your Life
05. Out Of Time
06. Hold On To Right
07. Handful Of Sand
08. This Love
09. Story Of My Life
10. Who Wants To Live Forever
11. Chameleon
12. My Friend


LINEUP:
Alessandro Del Vecchio: Claviers
Anna Portalupi: Basse
Johnny Gioeli: Chant
Marco Di Salvia: Batterie
Mario Percudani : Guitares


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(1) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
TORPEDO - 23/05/2019 13:37:43
0
Alors là mon petit Lynott, je suis vraiment désolé mais la reprise de Queen est véritablement un massacre... Le chant est juste mal calibré et il ne convient pas du tout au style de la chanson...
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH HARDLINE
LAST NEWS
HARDLINE: New video
All news about HARDLINE
RATING
- /5 (0 view(s)) 4/5 (2 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
LAST FLIGHT TO PLUTO: A Dr Op In The Ocean (2019)
PROGRESSIVE ROCK Without being the most original band in the world, Last Flight to Pluto offers us a record of excellent quality, technically impeccable both in its interpretation and its realization.
 
NEXT REVIEW
BAND OF SKULLS: Love Is All You Love (2019)
ROCK Despite the departure of the original drummer from the band, "Love Is All You Love" is a fresh and solid record that confirms the qualities of Band Of Skulls.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT HARDLINE
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / HARDLINE: Life
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

HARDLINE

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
LIFE
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
FRONTIERS RECORDS
GENRE:
HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
"Un album de hard mélo US sacrément accrocheur !"
LYNOTT - 22.05.2019 -
La sortie du premier album d'Hardline en 1992 – un "Double Eclipse" encensé par les critiques – fit l'effet d'un coup de canon dans le petit monde du hard mélodique. Pensez donc, deux membres de Journey qui s'associent pour participer à la naissance d'un nouveau combo, voilà qui en allécha plus d'un. Mais Neal Schon et Dean Castronovo ont quitté le navire depuis bien des années. Néanmoins, Hardline a depuis, sans ses pierres maîtresses, continué son petit bonhomme de chemin en sortant quatre opus de qualité variable entre 2002 - l'année de la réapparition du combo - et 2016. Trois ans après l'apprécié "Human Nature", voici à vos pieds déposée la nouvelle offrande du groupe, un "Life" qui ne demande qu'à prendre vie sur vos platines.

Lorsqu'on évoque le passé d'Hardline, sont plus souvent évoqués les deux monstres précités que les véritables géniteurs du projet que sont les frères Gioelli, Joey le guitariste et Johnny le chanteur. Aujourd'hui seul le second est resté fidèle à sa progéniture. Et c'est heureux tant le monsieur a du talent. Accompagné à nouveau aux claviers par un Alessandro Del Vecchio qu'on ne présente plus – cet homme-là aurait il acquis le don d'ubiquité ? - et la bassiste Anna Portalupi, il accueille sur ce sixième album deux nouveaux compagnons de voyage, dont un certain Mario Percudani à la six-cordes de qui nous aurons l'occasion de reparler.

De hard rock mélodique il est ici question bien entendu. Un hard rock US joué uniquement par des Italiens. Voilà qui est nouveau pour Hardline, comme de mettre un tigre dans son moteur, le combo n'ayant jamais en effet mis autant de punch dans ses propos. Dès les premières notes de 'Place To Call Home' on se dit que la nouvelle équipe a décidé de nous en boucher un coin. La production, et il en sera ainsi tout au long de l'œuvre - merci monsieur Del Vecchio - renforce l'impact de ce titre qui nous ramène avec évidence vers Whitesnake. La suite est au diapason avec notamment un 'Take A Chance' entraînant qui nous rappelle que l'œuvre de Slaughter a laissé des traces, un 'Helio's Sun' des plus porteurs ou un 'Chameleon' qui flirte avec Whitesnake et Extreme.

La qualité mélodique est souvent présente, particulièrement avec le sensationnel 'Out Of Time' qui gagne haut la main le titre du morceau le plus FM de la galette. Elle est aussi une constante dans les pistes les plus calmes de ce "Life". Elles sont au nombre de quatre, ce qui pourrait s'avérer ennuyeux pour un opus de hard rock. Mais qu'on se le dise, ce penchant pour le calme n'est point ici une faute de goût. En effet, que ce soit 'Page Of Your Life', power ballade avec piano, 'This Love' qui évoque de manière hallucinante Gotthard, et l'acoustique 'My Friend' qui s'en rapproche tout autant, nous avons affaire ici à du nanan.

Portée par des chœurs aussi savamment dosés que les interventions des claviers (rare est le hard mélo où ils ne dévorent pas l'espace) grâce auxquels le Rainbow des 80's vient nous rendre une petite visite, un guitariste du tonnerre de Zeus aussi performant dans ses rythmiques claquantes que ses soli d'une qualité bien supérieure à la moyenne – Neal Schon n'est vraiment pas loin - la troupe de Gioelli réussit vraisemblablement ici son meilleur album. Hardline vient à n'en pas douter d'atteindre sa maturité avec ce sixième opus, tant le groupe parait sûr de ses forces, au point d'avoir l'aplomb d'oser reprendre le sensationnel 'Who Wants To Live Forever' de Queen et de s'en sortir royalement.

Amateurs de hard rock US mélodique, laissez-vous tenter par cet album abouti. Vous ne le regretterez pas. Prenez garde toutefois à écouter plusieurs fois cet opus avant de porter un avis sur l'objet. En effet, les compositions ne livrent leurs secrets qu'au bout de plusieurs écoutes. Alors, ne faites pas que survoler, prenez le temps d'amerrir et de vous laisser malmener et bercer par les flots capricieux.

Plus d'information sur http://www.hardlinerocks.com/site/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
WHITESNAKE, RAINBOW, GOTTHARD

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Place To Call Home
02. Take A Chance
03. Helio's Sun
04. Page Of Your Life
05. Out Of Time
06. Hold On To Right
07. Handful Of Sand
08. This Love
09. Story Of My Life
10. Who Wants To Live Forever
11. Chameleon
12. My Friend


FORMATION:
Alessandro Del Vecchio: Claviers
Anna Portalupi: Basse
Johnny Gioeli: Chant
Marco Di Salvia: Batterie
Mario Percudani : Guitares


TAGS:
Accessible / FM
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
TORPEDO - 23/05/2019 13:37:43
Alors là mon petit Lynott, je suis vraiment désolé mais la reprise de Queen est véritablement un massacre... Le chant est juste mal calibré et il ne convient pas du tout au style de la chanson...
2473
 
EN RELATION AVEC HARDLINE
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
HARDLINE : Nouvelle vidéo
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant HARDLINE
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (2 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT HARDLINE
 
HARDLINE_Life Life (2019)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
HARDLINE_Danger-Zone Danger Zone (2012)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
HARDLINE_Leaving-The-End-Open- Leaving The End Open (2009)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019