MW / Home / Reviews / SAMMY HAGAR & THE CIRCLE: Space Between
BAND/AUTHOR:

SAMMY HAGAR & THE CIRCLE

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
SPACE BETWEEN
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
BMG
GENRE:
MELODIC HARD ROCK
"Let's hope The Red Rocker doesn't end his career on this fiasco !"
NEWF - 11.07.2019 -
Sammy Hagar is a fascinating character, the kind of guy to whom everything seems to smile if he decides to. Sammy wanted to be a rock star, he was. With Montrose, first solo and then with Van Halen, he sold millions of albums. Everyone on the rock planet knows The Red Rocker and its warm and rocky voice. Born poor, Sammy wanted to become rich, and he became rich, thanks to a strong business acumen. He was as successful in producing bicycles and sprinklers as spirits and his restaurant chain has been thriving for over ten years on the west coast of the United States.

A paragon of the American dream, Sammy Hagar, almost 72 years old, with rock still pegged to his body, does what he wants when he wants, at the risk of losing his audience. While classic rock fans were mourning Chickenfoot's break, Sammy formed a new super band in 2014, the aptly named The Circle, designed to close the 50-year career loop by playing live the hits of the red rocker, all periods combined.
As usual, Sammy has surrounded himself by hiring the faithful Michael Anthony on bass, Vic Johnson on guitar and Jason Bonham on drums. Initially The Circle was not intended to record a studio album. But Sammy Hagar felt he had something to say and composed what he considered to be a concept album about money, or rather about greed, which for him is the source of all the evils of our society. This is the eternal problem of multimillionaires born on the street. At one time or another, they express the strange need to buy a conscience and give lessons. Nevertheless, let us credit Sammy Hagar with his sincerity, in view of his philanthropy and his many actions in the service of American charities.

Did that make it worth a whole album? That is the whole point. Musically, "Space Between" has as much interest as a taco served at Sammy Hagar's Red Rocker Bar & Grill. Quickly swallowed, quickly forgotten and quite faded. The tracks "Devil Came To Philly" and "Full Circle Jam" sound like unfinished demos. "Wide Open Space" and "Hey Hey" are acoustic ballads without any inspiration. The classic rock songs 'Free Man' and 'Bottom Line' are archaic and totally dusty. And what about 'Trust Fund Baby' which, although very effective at first sight, is only a recycling of Montrose's riff from 'I Got The Fire', which appeared on the 1974 album 'Paper Money'.

"Space Between" is only saved from the shipwreck by its rhythm section. Even if Michael Anthony has been playing the same bass lines for forty years, he remains terribly effective and his choirs are still as bright ('Can't Hang'). As for Jason Bonham, he is the worthy son of his illustrious father and his work on drums is remarkable ('No Worries'). Apart from this positive point, "Space Between" is of little interest. Especially since Sammy Hagar is only really good when he is worn by a great guitarist. This has been the case in the past with Ronnie Montrose and Eddie Van Halen and more recently with Joe Satriani. But The Circle doesn't have the magic of Chickenfoot and Vic Johnson only does the minimum on this album, splitting small shy solos with very few exceptions ('Bottom Line','Trust Fund Baby').

If "Space Between" had been a simple disappointment, we could have accommodated it. On the other hand, the feeling of being rolled in the flour by a nonchalant Sammy Hagar, short of inspiration and negligent towards the listener, is much more unpleasant. Let's hope The Red Rocker doesn't end his career on this fiasco. Joe Satriani recently opened the door to a reformation of Chickenfoot. Let's hope that Sammy Hagar hears him because he urgently needs a real composer to support him.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/sammyhagar/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

VAN HALEN, CHICKENFOOT, SAMMY HAGAR, RONNIE MONTROSE

TRACK LISTING

01. Devil Came to Philly - 2:35
02. Full Circle Jam (Chump Change) - 3:38
03. Can't Hang - 3:57
04. Wide Open Space - 3:46
05. Free Man - 4:20
06. Bottom Line - 2:43
07. No Worries - 3:27
08. Trust Fund Baby - 4:15
09. Affirmation - 3:20
10. Hey Hey (Without Greed) - 2:51


LINEUP

Jason Bonham: Batterie
Michael Anthony: Basse
Sammy Hagar: Chant
Vic Johnson: Guitares


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Groovy, Jam, Old School
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
TORPEDO - 11/07/2019 09:41:43
Complètement en accord avec la chronique de Newf. Par contre, c'est écoutable donc ma note sera moins sévère.
2491
 
LINKS SAMMY HAGAR & THE CIRCLE
 
RATING
 
1.7/5 (3 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS SAMMY HAGAR & THE CIRCLE
 
SAMMY-HAGAR--THE-CIRCLE_Space-Between Space Between (2019)
BMG / MELODIC HARD ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / SAMMY HAGAR & THE CIRCLE: Space Between
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

SAMMY HAGAR & THE CIRCLE

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
SPACE BETWEEN
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
BMG
GENRE:
HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
"Avec "Space Between", Sammy nous laisse hagards."
NEWF - 11.07.2019 -
Sammy Hagar est un personnage fascinant, le genre de gars à qui tout semble sourire pour peu qu’il le décide. Sammy voulait être une rock star, il le fut. Avec Montrose, en solo puis avec Van Halen, il vendit des millions d’albums. Tout le monde sur la planète rock connait The Red Rocker et sa voix chaude et rocailleuse. Né pauvre, Sammy voulait devenir riche, et il le devint, grâce à un sens des affaires redoutables. Il eut autant de succès en produisant des vélos et des sprinklers que des spiritueux et sa chaîne de restaurants prospère depuis plus de dix ans sur la côte ouest des Etats-Unis.

Parangon du rêve américain, Sammy Hagar, à bientôt 72 ans, le rock toujours chevillé au corps, fait ce qu’il veut quand il le veut, au risque de perdre son public. Tandis que les amateurs de classic rock pleuraient la mise en pause de Chickenfoot, Sammy fondait un nouveau super groupe en 2014, le bien nommé The Circle, destiné à boucler la boucle de cinquante ans de carrière en jouant live les succès du rockeur rouge, toutes périodes confondues.

Comme d’habitude, Sammy a su s’entourer en embauchant le fidèle Michael Anthony à la basse, Vic Johnson à la guitare et Jason Bonham à la batterie. Initialement The Circle n’avait pas pour vocation d’enregistrer d’album studio. Mais Sammy Hagar a estimé avoir des choses à dire et a composé ce qu’il considère comme un concept album autour de l’argent, ou plutôt de la cupidité qui pour lui est la source de tous les maux de notre société. C’est l’éternel problème des multimillionnaires nés dans la rue. Un jour ou l’autre, ils expriment le besoin étrange de s’acheter une conscience et de donner des leçons. Mettons tout de même au crédit de Sammy Hagar sa sincérité, eu égard à sa philanthropie et ses nombreuses actions au service d’associations caritatives américaines.

Cela méritait-il pour autant un album entier ? C’est là toute la question. Car musicalement, "Space Between" a autant d’intérêt qu’un tacos servi au Sammy Hagar’s Red Rocker Bar & Grill. Vite englouti, vite oublié et passablement fadasse. Les titres ‘Devil Came To Philly’ et ‘Full Circle Jam’ sonnent comme des démos inachevées et frisent le sketch de mauvais goût. ‘Wide Open Space’ et ‘Hey Hey’ sont des ballades acoustiques sans aucune inspiration. Les morceaux classic rock ‘Free Man’ et ‘Bottom Line’ sont archi rebattus et totalement poussifs. Et que dire de ‘Trust Fund Baby’ qui, bien que très efficace de prime abord, n’est qu’un recyclage du riff de ‘I Got The Fire’ de Montrose paru sur l’album "Paper Money" en 1974.

"Space Between" n’est sauvé du naufrage que par sa section rythmique. Même si Michael Anthony joue les mêmes lignes de basse depuis quarante ans, il reste redoutablement efficace et ses chœurs sont toujours aussi lumineux (‘Can’t Hang’). Quant à Jason Bonham, il est le digne fils de son illustre père et son travail à la batterie est remarquable (‘No Worries’). Mis à part ce point positif, "Space Between" n’a que peu d’intérêt. D’autant moins que Sammy Hagar n’est réellement bon que lorsqu’il est porté par un grand guitariste. Ce fut le cas par le passé avec Ronnie Montrose et Eddie Van Halen et plus récemment avec Joe Satriani. Mais The Circle n’a pas la magie de Chickenfoot et Vic Johnson ne fait sur cet album que le minimum syndical, ne se fendant de petits solos timides qu’à de très rares exceptions (‘Bottom Line’, ‘Trust Fund Baby’).

Si "Space Between" avait été une simple déception, nous aurions pu nous en accommoder. En revanche, le sentiment de se faire rouler dans la farine par un Sammy Hagar nonchalant, à court d’inspiration et négligent envers l’auditeur, est bien plus désagréable. Espérons que The Red Rocker ne finira pas sa carrière sur ce fiasco. Joe Satriani a récemment ouvert la porte à une reformation de Chickenfoot. Souhaitons que Sammy Hagar l’entende car il a besoin d’urgence d’un vrai compositeur pour l’épauler.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/sammyhagar/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
VAN HALEN, CHICKENFOOT, SAMMY HAGAR, RONNIE MONTROSE

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Devil Came to Philly - 2:35
02. Full Circle Jam (Chump Change) - 3:38
03. Can't Hang - 3:57
04. Wide Open Space - 3:46
05. Free Man - 4:20
06. Bottom Line - 2:43
07. No Worries - 3:27
08. Trust Fund Baby - 4:15
09. Affirmation - 3:20
10. Hey Hey (Without Greed) - 2:51


FORMATION:
Jason Bonham: Batterie
Michael Anthony: Basse
Sammy Hagar: Chant
Vic Johnson: Guitares


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Groovy, Jam, Old School
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
TORPEDO - 11/07/2019 09:41:43
Complètement en accord avec la chronique de Newf. Par contre, c'est écoutable donc ma note sera moins sévère.
2491
 
EN RELATION AVEC SAMMY HAGAR & THE CIRCLE
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
SAMMY HAGAR & THE CIRCLE: Les détails sur leur album
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant SAMMY HAGAR & THE CIRCLE
 
NOTES
 
1.5/5 (2 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT SAMMY HAGAR & THE CIRCLE
 
SAMMY-HAGAR--THE-CIRCLE_Space-Between Space Between (2019)
BMG / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019