BAND/AUTHOR:

ALAN PARSONS

(UNITED KINGDOM)

TITLE:
THE SECRET (2019)
LABEL:
FRONTIERS RECORDS
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE ROCK

"Gone are the days of sterile electro experiments, Alan Parsons returns to more organic melodies, to a classy pop tinged with symphony, thus renewing his glorious past."
CALGEPO - 24.04.2019 - (0) minds from our readers - (0) comment(s)
3/5
2019 will be marked by the seal of returns, particularly those of Tool or Galaad. And one of the highlights this year is that of Alan Parsons, who hadn't released an album in almost fifteen years that was far too long for the fans of the mixing console wizard. The last record to date was "A Valid Path" which contained many electronic experiments and had not been able to fully meet its audience due to lack of good feedback from the music press.

However, Alan has not been totally inactive, focusing on what he knows how to do, namely the production and work of a sound engineer, notably by participating in Steven Wilson's "The Raven That Refused To Sing (And Other Stories)", among others. During 2018, the Frontiers Music label had the good idea to contact Alan to discuss the idea of a new album, thus relaunching his somewhat dormant inspiration. And what better theme than magic to design this new project? It must be said that Alan is a fan of the art of illusion - he is a member of Castle Magic in Los Angeles and practices magic himself.   

"The Secret", helped by a host of prestigious guests, undeniably marks a return to compositions free of all the hazardous electronic errors that scattered "A Valid Path" by adopting a more pronounced symphonic aspect, as evidenced by the well named "The Sorcerer's Apprentice" arranged in a Parsons style with the help of the CMG Music Recording Orchestra of Hollywood. The bass of Nathan East (Eric Clapton) brings a new, almost heavy rhythmic dimension to this classical piece, underlining the main melodic line played by Steve Hackett. But the interest of the title is the intervention of Jake Shimabukuro with his ukulele which brings a surprising touch to the orchestral piece. 

After this grandiloquent overture, which perfectly fits the theme, the listener returns to the classy pop that is the charm of Alan Parsons' compositions, with in particular "Miracle" sung by Jason Mraz, which echoes the classic "Eye In The Sky" without having the same intensity as his eldest. Thus the album undeniably returns to the symphonico-pop works that the composer could propose in his Alan Parsons Project, notably in the very beautiful "As Lights Fall" with its refreshing 80's rhythmic. This fusion is much more present in 'One Note Symphony' with its strings that constitute the melodic framework, a robotic song and samples from discussions that took place internally at NASA. 

Alan Parsons is not a monster of technique and prefers above all accessible melody, at the risk of sometimes being a little too cliché as in 'Sometimes' which could constitute the soundtrack of the most typical romantic film of the 80s. However, he shows all his talent as a melodist in tracks reminiscent of the Beatles ('Fly To Me'), or more consistent with less overplayed saxophone lines that bring a little more relief to the tracks ('Requiem', 'Years Of Glory) 

"The Secret" is an album that, despite its little flaws, will please Alan Parsons' (Project) fans from the first hour who abandons electronic experimentations to return to more organic melodies, to a classy pop tinged with symphony, reconnecting with its glorious past without reaching the same grandeur. 

More informations on http://www.alanparsons.com/



SIMILAR BANDS:
JEFF LARSON, UNITOPIA, PARZIVALS EYE, KAYAK, SUPERTRAMP, AGUENAOU, BARCLAY JAMES HARVEST

TRACK LISTING:
01. The Sorcerer's Apprentice
02. Miracle
03. As Lights Fall
04. One Note Symphony
05. Sometimes
06. Soirée Fantastique
07. Fly To Me
08. Requiem
09. Years Of Glory
10. The Limelight Fades Away
11. I Can't Get There From Here


LINEUP:
Alan Parsons: Chant / Guitares / Claviers
Ian Bairnson: Guitares / Invité
Andy Ellis: Claviers / Invité
Angelo Pizzaro: Invité / Piano
Carl Sorensen: Batterie / Invité
Dan Tracey: Guitares / Claviers / Invité
Danny Thompson: Batterie / Invité
Guy Erez: Invité
Jake Shimabukuro: Invité / Ukulélé
Jared Mahone: Chant / Invité
Jason Mraz: Chant / Invité
Jeff Kollmann: Guitares / Invité
Jeff Peterson: Basse / Invité
Jordan Huffman: Chant / Invité
Lou Gramm: Chant / Invité
Mark Mikel: Chant / Invité
Michael Fitzpatrick: Invité / Violoncelle
Nathan East: Basse / Invité
Oscar Utterström: Invité / Trombonne
Pat Caddick: Invité / Piano
Pj Olsson: Chant / Invité
Steve Hackett: Guitares / Invité
Todd Cooper: Chant / Invité / Saxophone
Tom Brooks: Claviers / Invité / Piano
Tony Rosacci: Guitares / Invité
Vinnie Ciesielski: Invité / Trompette
Vinnie Colaiuta: Batterie / Invité


TAGS:
70's, 80's, Easy Listening / FM, Classical Music, Old School, Romantic, Symphonic
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this review or on this production
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH ALAN PARSONS
LAST NEWS
ALAN PARSONS: Details on "The Secret"
All news about ALAN PARSONS
RATING
2.2/5 (5 view(s)) 2.8/5 (4 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
RED CAIN: Kindred: Act I (2019)
MELODIC METAL We are indeed dealing with an album that could put a band with undeniable talent on the right track.
 
NEXT REVIEW
LAST IN LINE: Ii (2019)
HEAVY METAL The ex-Dio's get emancicating
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT ALAN PARSONS
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / ALAN PARSONS: The Secret
Le 24.04.2019 par CALGEPO
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

ALAN PARSONS

(ROYAUME UNI)

TITRE:
THE SECRET
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
FRONTIERS RECORDS
GENRE:
ROCK PROGRESSIF
"Fini le temps des expérimentations electro stériles, Alan Parsons revient à des mélodies plus organiques, à une pop classieuse teintée de symphonique, renouant ainsi avec son glorieux passé."
2019 sera décidément marqué du sceau des retours avec notamment ceux de Tool ou de Galaad qui se profilent à l'horizon. Et l'un des retours au premier plan cette année est celui d'Alan Parsons qui n'avait plus sorti d'album depuis près de quinze années bien trop longues pour les fans du sorcier des consoles de mixage. Le dernier disque en date était "A Valid Path" qui contenait beaucoup d'expérimentations électroniques et n'avait pas su rencontrer totalement son public faute de bons retours de la presse musicale.

Pour autant, Alan n'a pas été totalement inactif, se concentrant sur ce qu'il sait faire, c'est-à-dire la production et le travail d'ingénieur du son, notamment en participant entre autres à "The Raven That Refused To Sing (And Other Stories)" de Steven Wilson. Courant 2018, le label Frontiers Music a eu la bonne idée de prendre contact avec Alan afin d'évoquer l'idée d'un nouvel album, relançant ainsi son inspiration quelque peu en sommeil. Et quel thème plus propice que la magie pour concevoir ce nouveau projet ? Il faut dire que Alan est un fan de l'art des illusions -  il fait partie notamment du Castle Magic de Los Angeles et pratique lui-même la prestidigitation.  

"The Secret", aidé par une pléiade d'invités prestigieux, marque indéniablement un retour à des compositions exemptes de tous les hasardeux errements électroniques qui parsemaient "A Valid Path" en adoptant un aspect symphonique plus prononcé, comme en témoigne le bien nommé 'The Sorcerer's Apprentice' arrangé à la sauce Parsons aidé par le CMG Music Recording Orchestra d'Hollywood. La basse de Nathan East (Eric Clapton) apporte à ce morceau d'obédience classique une nouvelle dimension rythmique presque heavy qui souligne la ligne mélodique principale interprétée par Steve Hackett. Mais l'intérêt du titre est l'intervention de Jake Shimabukuro avec son ukulele qui apporte une touche surprenante au morceau orchestral.

Après cette ouverture grandiloquente qui colle parfaitement au thème, l'auditeur retrouve la pop classieuse qui fait le charme des compositions d'Alan Parsons avec notamment 'Miracle' chanté par Jason Mraz qui se fait l'écho du classique 'Eye In The Sky' sans avoir la même intensité que son ainé. Ainsi l'album renoue indéniablement avec les travaux symphonico-pop que le compositeur pouvait proposer dans son Alan Parsons Project notamment dans le très beau 'As Lights Fall' avec sa rafraichissante rythmique très 80's . Cette fusion est bien plus présente dans 'One Note Symphony' avec ses cordes qui constituent l'ossature mélodique, un chant robotique et des samples issus de discussions ayant eu lieu en interne à la Nasa.

Alan Parsons n'est pas un monstre de technique et privilégie avant tout la mélodie accessible, au risque parfois d'être un peu trop cliché comme dans 'Sometimes' qui pourrait constituer la bande originale du plus typique film romantique des années 80. Il démontre cependant tout son talent de mélodiste dans des titres évoquant les Beatles ('Fly To Me'), ou bien plus consistants avec des lignes de saxophone moins surjouées qui apportent un peu plus de relief aux morceaux ('Requiem', 'Years Of Glory)

"The Secret" est un album qui, malgré ses petits défauts, fera plaisir aux fans de la première heure d'Alan Parsons (Project) qui délaisse les expérimentations électroniques pour revenir à des mélodies plus organiques, à une pop classieuse teintée de symphonique renouant avec son glorieux passé sans pour autant atteindre la même grandeur.

Plus d'information sur http://www.alanparsons.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
BARCLAY JAMES HARVEST, SUPERTRAMP, UNITOPIA, PARZIVALS EYE, KAYAK, JEFF LARSON, AGUENAOU

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. The Sorcerer's Apprentice
02. Miracle
03. As Lights Fall
04. One Note Symphony
05. Sometimes
06. Soirée Fantastique
07. Fly To Me
08. Requiem
09. Years Of Glory
10. The Limelight Fades Away
11. I Can't Get There From Here


FORMATION:
Alan Parsons: Chant / Guitares / Claviers
Ian Bairnson: Guitares / Invité
Andy Ellis: Claviers / Invité
Angelo Pizzaro: Invité / Piano
Carl Sorensen: Batterie / Invité
Dan Tracey: Guitares / Claviers / Invité
Danny Thompson: Batterie / Invité
Guy Erez: Invité
Jake Shimabukuro: Invité / Ukulélé
Jared Mahone: Chant / Invité
Jason Mraz: Chant / Invité
Jeff Kollmann: Guitares / Invité
Jeff Peterson: Basse / Invité
Jordan Huffman: Chant / Invité
Lou Gramm: Chant / Invité
Mark Mikel: Chant / Invité
Michael Fitzpatrick: Invité / Violoncelle
Nathan East: Basse / Invité
Oscar Utterström: Invité / Trombonne
Pat Caddick: Invité / Piano
Pj Olsson: Chant / Invité
Steve Hackett: Guitares / Invité
Todd Cooper: Chant / Invité / Saxophone
Tom Brooks: Claviers / Invité / Piano
Tony Rosacci: Guitares / Invité
Vinnie Ciesielski: Invité / Trompette
Vinnie Colaiuta: Batterie / Invité


TAGS:
70's, 80's, Accessible / FM, Musique Classique, Old School, Romantique, Symphonique
 productionuser_idproduction_comment_idproduction_review_id
 

LOLO_THE_BEST59 le 17/05/2019 11:58:06
Voilà un album qui réconcilie avec l'âge d'or d'Alan Parsons Project. Après un Valid Path décevant, retour aux mélodies bien troussées, immédiates sans être quelconques, qui nous font passer un moment délicieusement régressif (the limelight fades away). L'album est traversé de moments de grâce (Soirée Fantastique), de ballades sympathiques (Sometimes, I can't get there from here), sans oublier quelques morceaux un poil plus ambitieux (One Note Symphony).
9075 23579
 
EN RELATION AVEC ALAN PARSONS
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
ALAN PARSONS: Nouvelle vidéo
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant ALAN PARSONS
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
A l'occasion de la sortie de "The Secret", nous avons pu avoir en ligne, pour quelques minutes, le sorcier les consoles et tables de mixage Alan Parsons afin d'évoquer sa manière de travailler et le retour aux sources avec cet album.

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant ALAN PARSONS
 
DERNIERE CHRONIQUE
The Secret (2019)
Fini le temps des expérimentations electro stériles, Alan Parsons revient à des mélodies plus organiques, à une pop classieuse teintée de symphonique, renouant ainsi avec son glorieux passé.

Lire la chronique
Voir toutes les chroniques concernant ALAN PARSONS
 
NOTES
 
3/5 (2 avis)
4/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT ALAN PARSONS
 
ALAN-PARSONS_The-Secret The Secret (2019)
FRONTIERS RECORDS - ROCK PROGRESSIF

ALAN-PARSONS_A-Valid-Path A Valid Path (2004)
ARTEMIS - ROCK PROGRESSIF

ALAN-PARSONS_The-Time-Machine The Time Machine (1999)
AUTRE LABEL - ROCK PROGRESSIF

ALAN-PARSONS_On-Air On Air (1996)
AUTRE LABEL - ROCK ATMOSPHERIQUE

ALAN-PARSONS_Alan-Parsons-Live Alan Parsons Live (1994)
AUTRE LABEL - ROCK PROGRESSIF

ALAN-PARSONS_Try-Anything-Once Try Anything Once (1993)
ARISTA - ROCK

ALAN-PARSONS_Gaudi Gaudi (1987)
ARISTA - POP

ALAN-PARSONS_Stereotomy Stereotomy (1985)
ARISTA - A.O.R.

ALAN-PARSONS_Ammonia-Avenue Ammonia Avenue (1984)
ARISTA - POP

ALAN-PARSONS_Vulture-Culture Vulture Culture (1984)
ARISTA - POP

ALAN-PARSONS_Eye-In-The-Sky Eye In The Sky (1982)
ARISTA - POP

ALAN-PARSONS_The-Turn-Of-A-Friendly-Card The Turn Of A Friendly Card (1980)
ARISTA - POP

ALAN-PARSONS_Eve Eve (1979)
ARISTA - POP

ALAN-PARSONS_Pyramid Pyramid (1978)
ARISTA - POP

ALAN-PARSONS_I-Robot I Robot (1977)
ARISTA - POP

ALAN-PARSONS_Tales-Of-Mystery-And-Imagination Tales Of Mystery And Imagination (1976)
ARISTA - POP

F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019