MW / Home / Reviews / NEW YEARS DAY: Unbreakable
BAND/AUTHOR:

NEW YEARS DAY

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
UNBREAKABLE
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
GOTHIC METAL
"Flowing dark and seductive melodies in its heavy bustier, New Years Day signs with "Unbreakable" an irresistible album stuffed with powerful hymns."
CHILDERIC THOR - 21.05.2019 -
Published in January 2018, "Diary Of A Creep" saw New Years Day try the exercise of the cover, revisiting Panthera as well as Garbage or Linkin Park. If the result, although sympathetic and refreshing, has only half convinced, it will at least have given the band the desire to take care of a writing that he now wants even more biting . 

The fact that it took the Americans four years to offer a successor to "Malevolence" is certainly due to this new ambition. Born while she was going through the darkest and most chaotic period of her life, this third effort was nourished by the rage that inhabited the singer Ash Costello at the time. Since then, the sky has cleared for the frontwoman and the combo appears stronger than ever. Hence the title of this "Unbreakable", a long-awaited opus defined by this double context, both ambitious in its appeal and positive in its general atmosphere. 

First contact with this new vintage, the cover highlights the singer's enticing plastic, whose hair covers her generous chest like a modern-day Venus. A way of emphasizing that the beautiful remains more than ever the keystone of New Years Day, which without it, let us acknowledge, would probably not meet the same enthusiasm. It is clearly the beauty and the alternating aggressive and lascivious voice of the young woman that makes all the difference in a music (too) calibrated for the US waves but to which "Unbreakable" will perhaps open the doors of the European market. He has the potential to do so. 

However, listening does not come under the best auspices with a "Come For Me", an aggregate of all that American teen metal has to offer: a screaming song full of effects, guitars stuffed with a heavy and vulgar mascara. Our ears are bleeding. Fortunately, the rest is reassuring, revealing a formation that is certainly still influenced by "In This Moment" but that has learned to write good and beautiful songs. The ones that haunt you long after the disc has released its last whine like "I Survived". 

The Americans know how to flow seductive melodies. 'Done With You' or ' Skeletons' are thus hymns whose power could ignite the scenes of the old continent. Mièvrerie and romanticism do not find their place in an ensemble where even the quieter moments ('Poltergeist','My Monsters') do not give up an incisive touch. While it has neither given up its electro impulses ('Nocturnal') nor muzzled the dark force ('Shut Up'), New Years Day combines its different facets here for a simply irresistible result. 

We had long guessed that Ash Costello and his gang deserved better than the gothico nu metal front displayed, "Unbreakable" confirms it. 

More informations on http://www.twitter.com/nydrock

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

WITHIN TEMPTATION, IN THIS MOMENT

TRACK LISTING

01. Come For Me
02. MissUnderstood
03. Skeletons
04. Unbreakable
05. Shut Up
06. Done With You
07. Poltergeist
08. Break My Body
09. Sorry Not Sorry
10. My Monsters
11. Nocturnal
12. I Survived


LINEUP

Ash Costello: Chant
Jeremy Valentyne: Guitares
Nick Rossi: Batterie
Nikki Misery: Guitares


TAGS:
Electro, Heavy, Neo, Dark, Female voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS NEW YEARS DAY
 
RATING
 
4/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS NEW YEARS DAY
 
NEW-YEARS-DAY_Unbreakable Unbreakable (2019)
AUTRE LABEL / GOTHIC METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / NEW YEARS DAY: Unbreakable
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

NEW YEARS DAY

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
UNBREAKABLE
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
METAL GOTHIQUE
"Coulant de sombres et séduisantes mélodies dans son lourd bustier, New Years Day signe avec "Unbreakable" un album irrésistible gavé d'hymnes en puissance."
CHILDERIC THOR - 21.05.2019 -
Publié en janvier 2018, "Diary Of A Creep" voyait New Years Day se frotter à l'exercice de la reprise, revisitant aussi bien Panthera que Garbage ou Linkin Park. Si le résultat, quoique sympathique et rafraîchissant, n'a qu'à moitié convaincu, il aura au moins donné au groupe l'envie de soigner une écriture qu'il souhaite désormais plus mordante encore et taillée pour laisser une épaisse couche de sédiments dans la mémoire.

Le fait qu'il aura fallu quatre ans aux Américains pour offrir un successeur à "Malevolence" procède certainement de cette ambition nouvelle, manière pour eux de s'inscrire dans le temps long comme le groupe de premier plan qu'ils entendent incarner. Enfanté alors qu'elle traversait la période la plus noire et chaotique de sa vie, ce troisième effort s'était nourri de la rage qui habitait alors la chanteuse Ash Costello. Depuis, le ciel s'est éclairci pour la frontwoman et le combo apparaît plus fort que jamais. D'où le titre de ce "Unbreakable", opus très attendu que définit ce double contexte, à la fois ambitieux dans son accroche et positif dans son atmosphère générale.

Premier contact avec cette nouvelle cuvée, la pochette met en avant la plastique aguichante de la chanteuse dont la chevelure recouvre la poitrine généreuse comme une Vénus des temps modernes. Manière de souligner que la belle demeure plus que jamais la clé de voûte de New Years Day qui sans elle, reconnaissons-le, ne rencontrerait sans doute pas le même engouement. C'est clairement la beauté et la voix tour à tour agressive et lascive de la jeune femme qui font tout le sel d'une musique (trop) calibrée pour les ondes US mais à laquelle "Unbreakable" ouvrira peut-être les portes du marché européen. Il en a le potentiel.

L'écoute ne se présente pourtant pas sous les meilleures auspices avec un 'Come For Me', agrégat de tout ce que le metal américain pour teenagers a de plus horripilant : chant hurlé bourré d'effets, guitares fardées d'un mascara pesant et vulgaire. Nos oreilles saignent. Heureusement, la suite nous rassure, dévoilant une formation certes toujours influencée par la grande sœur In This Moment mais qui a appris à écrire de bonnes et belles chansons. Celles qui vous hantent longtemps après que le disque a lâché son dernier râle à l'image de 'I Survived'.

Dans leur lourd bustier, les Américains savent couler des mélodies séduisantes. 'Missunderstood' 'Done With You' ou 'Skeletons' sont ainsi des hymnes en puissance dont on voit mal comment ils ne pourraient pas enflammer les scènes du vieux continent. Mièvrerie et romantisme ne trouvent pas leur place au sein d'un ensemble où même les moments plus calmes ('Poltergeist', 'My Monsters') ne se départissent pas d'une touche incisive. S'il n'a ni renoncé à ses impulsions electro ('Nocturnal') ni muselé la force sombre qui brûle dans son bas-ventre ('Shut Up'), New Years Day combine ici ses différentes facettes pour un résultat tout simplement irrésistible.

Nous avions depuis longtemps deviné que Ash Costello et sa bande méritaient mieux que la devanture gothico nu metal affichée, "Unbreakable" le confirme. 

Plus d'information sur http://www.twitter.com/nydrock

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
WITHIN TEMPTATION, IN THIS MOMENT

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Come For Me
02. MissUnderstood
03. Skeletons
04. Unbreakable
05. Shut Up
06. Done With You
07. Poltergeist
08. Break My Body
09. Sorry Not Sorry
10. My Monsters
11. Nocturnal
12. I Survived


FORMATION:
Ash Costello: Chant
Jeremy Valentyne: Guitares
Nick Rossi: Batterie
Nikki Misery: Guitares


TAGS:
Electro, Lourde, Neo, Sombre, Chant féminin
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC NEW YEARS DAY
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
NEW YEARS DAY : Nouvelle vidéo
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant NEW YEARS DAY
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT NEW YEARS DAY
 
NEW-YEARS-DAY_Unbreakable Unbreakable (2019)
AUTRE LABEL / METAL GOTHIQUE
NEW-YEARS-DAY_Diary-Of-A-Creep Diary Of A Creep (2018)
CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS / METAL GOTHIQUE
NEW-YEARS-DAY_Malevolence Malevolence (2015)
CENTURY MEDIA RECORDS / METAL GOTHIQUE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019