MW / Home / Reviews / BLACK STAR RIDERS: Another State Of Grace
BAND/AUTHOR:

BLACK STAR RIDERS

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
ANOTHER STATE OF GRACE
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
HARD ROCK
"The best Black Star Riders's opus !"
LYNOTT - 05.08.2019 -
The giant Thin Lizzy released his latest album - the exceptional'Thunder And Lightning' - in 1983, Phil Lynott, his creator, died three years later. His acolytes, helped by a few hand-picked partners, perpetuated the legend by playing to the stage, for years and under the original name, the band's only titles. In 2013, by the grace of Scott Gorham, the most loyal guitarist to the Lynott's army, Black Star Riders was born. Thus born, more than a clone of the giant, its descendant. 

Six years later, the offspring have grown well and can be proud of the three albums they have released since their debut. The latest one - a "Heavy Fire" who had his little succes - came to tickle our earpieces at the beginning of 2017. In other words, we were beginning to get impatient to put an ear on the little brother of the above-mentioned one. Also, what a joy it was to learn that this "Another State Of Grace" would charm our eardrums in this year 2019. 

We are going to go straith to the goal. This BSR opus is the most beautiful musical object that the friends in Gorham have released since their appearance. Speaking of comrades, the line-up has seen some staff movements here. Exit Jimmy DeGrassio who is replaced on drums by a Chad Szeliga from the Black Label Society, just like Damon Johnson who is succeeded on guitar by a Christian Martucci straight out of Stone Sour. For the rest, and this is ultimately the most important thing, the pillars still support the building : Scott Gorham - the one who allows Thin Lizzy's sound to survive - and Ricky Warwick - the one whose voice reminds us so much Phil Lynott are still here. 

This'Another Stae Of Grace' doesn't take more than a second to bring us back to the dinosaur. From the first bars of "Tonight The Moonlight Let Me Down" we go back in time to the beginning of the 80's and the opus "Black Rose". A maelstrom of guitars, melodies and a finale carried by a magnificent saxophone leave us stunned and shivering in compulsive anticipation of the next track that we hope will be of the same kind. And against all odds, the next track is...even more remarkable! The eponymous title of the new offspring is simply hymnic, as could be an "Over The Hills And Far Away" by the late Gary Moore, who was also Lynott's travelling companion. "Ain't The End Of The World" sounds like a hit and Gorham's solo, fluid as a return to the source, completes the work in the most beautiful way. 

Seven other scores complete this "Another State Of Grace", it would be tedious to place them all, glorifying them, at the foot of the statue of Father Phil. And yet they would deserve it because "Soldier In The Ghetto" - this one you're going to chant at the top of your lungs! - would have made the father of "Military Man" shudder with nostalgia and the ballad "Why Do You Love Your Guns ?" would probably have caused his tears not to be there to push the ritornello alongside his former playmate. 

If you have enjoyed Thin Lizzy, you will put two knees on the ground listening to this fourth album of his heirs. And if you've missed this enchanting combo, head straight for this excellent hard rock album with an Irish flair. The desire to discover Thin Lizzy's work will only be able to attract you and you will have filled a void in your musical culture that you never suspected. 

More informations on http://blackstarriders.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

THIN LIZZY, GARY MOORE

TRACK LISTING

01. Tonight The Moonlight Let Me Down
02. Another State Of Grace
03. Ain’t The End Of The World
04. Underneath The Afterglow
05. Soldier In The Ghetto
06. Why Do You Love Your Guns?
07. Standing In The Line Of Fire
08. What Will It Take?
09. In The Shadow Of The War Machine
10. Poisoned Heart


LINEUP

Chad Szeliga: Batterie
Christian Martucci: Guitares
Ricky Warwick: Chant
Robbie Crane: Basse
Scott Gorham: Guitares


TAGS:
80's, Easy Listening / FM
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS BLACK STAR RIDERS
LAST NEWS
BLACK STAR RIDERS: Details on "Another State Of Grace"
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about BLACK STAR RIDERS
 
RATING
 
5/5 (3 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS BLACK STAR RIDERS
 
BLACK-STAR-RIDERS_Another-State-Of-Grace Another State Of Grace (2019)
NUCLEAR BLAST / HARD ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / BLACK STAR RIDERS: Another State Of Grace
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

BLACK STAR RIDERS

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
ANOTHER STATE OF GRACE
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
HARD ROCK
"Le meilleur album de Black Star Riders depuis leurs débuts. Un must pour les amateurs de Thin Lizzy !"
LYNOTT - 05.08.2019 -
Six ans après sa création, Black Star Riders, digne descendant de Thin Lizzy dont il émane, a bien grandi et peut être fier des trois albums qu'il nous a proposés depuis ses débuts. Le dernier en date - un "Heavy Fire" qui connut son petit succès - est venu nous titiller les pavillons auditifs au début de l'année 2017. Autant dire que nous commencions à nous impatienter de poser une oreille sur son petit frère. Aussi quelle ne fût pas notre joie d'apprendre que cet "Another State Of Grace" viendrait charmer nos tympans en cette année 2019.

N’y allons pas par quatre chemins. Cet opus des BSR est le plus bel objet musical que les potes à Gorham aient sorti depuis leur apparition. A propos de camarades, le line-up a connu ici quelques mouvements de personnel. Exit Jimmy DeGrassio que remplace, à la batterie, un Chad Szeliga issu de Black Label Society, tout comme Damon Johnson à qui succède à la guitare un Christian Martucci tout droit sorti de Stone Sour. Pour le reste, et c'est finalement l'essentiel, les piliers soutiennent toujours l'édifice puisque restent fidèles au poste Scott Gorham - celui qui permet au son de Thin Lizzy de survivre - et Ricky Warwick - celui dont la voix rappelle tant le regretté Phil Lynott.

Cet "Another State Of Grace" ne tarde pas plus d'une seconde à nous ramener vers le dinosaure. Dès les premières mesures de 'Tonight The Moonlight Let Me Down', on croirait remonter le temps vers le début des 80's et l'opus "Black Rose". Un maelström de guitares, de mélodies et un final porté par un saxo bondissant laissent pantois et frissonnant l’auditeur dans l'attente compulsive du titre suivant que l'on espère du même acabit. Et contre toute attente, le morceau suivant est... encore plus remarquable ! Le titre éponyme du nouveau rejeton est tout bonnement hymnique comme pourrait l'être un 'Over The Hills And Far Away' du regretté Gary Moore, qui a été lui aussi compagnon de route de Lynott. 'Ain't The End Of The World' tonitrue à sa suite et le solo de Gorham, fluide comme un retour à la source, achève l’œuvre de la plus belle des façons.

Sept autres partitions complètent cet "Another State Of Grace", il serait fastidieux de toutes les déposer, en les glorifiant, au pied de la statue du père Phil. Et pourtant elles le mériteraient, car 'Soldier In The Ghetto' - qui n'a pas fini d'être scandé à tue-tête ! - aurait fait frémir de nostalgie le père de 'Military Man' et la ballade 'Why Do You Love Your Guns ?' aurait probablement entraîné ses larmes de ne pas être là pour pousser la ritournelle aux côtés de son ancien camarade de jeu.

Ceux qui ont apprécié Thin Lizzy mettront deux genoux à terre à l'écoute de ce quatrième album de ses héritiers. Quant à ceux qui sont passés à côté de cet enchanteur combo, ils fonceront les yeux fermés sur cet excellent opus de hard rock à tendance irlandaise. L'envie de découvrir l’œuvre de Thin Lizzy ne pourra  que les étreindre et ils auront alors comblé un vide insoupçonné dans leur culture musicale.

Plus d'information sur http://blackstarriders.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
THIN LIZZY, GARY MOORE

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Tonight The Moonlight Let Me Down
02. Another State Of Grace
03. Ain’t The End Of The World
04. Underneath The Afterglow
05. Soldier In The Ghetto
06. Why Do You Love Your Guns?
07. Standing In The Line Of Fire
08. What Will It Take?
09. In The Shadow Of The War Machine
10. Poisoned Heart


FORMATION:
Chad Szeliga: Batterie
Christian Martucci: Guitares
Ricky Warwick: Chant
Robbie Crane: Basse
Scott Gorham: Guitares


TAGS:
80's, Accessible / FM
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC BLACK STAR RIDERS
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
BLACK STAR RIDERS: Nouvelle vidéo
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant BLACK STAR RIDERS
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Black Star Riders sort son nouvel album "Heavy Fire", occasion rêvée pour Music Waves de rencontrer une légende du hard rock, Scott Gorham...

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant BLACK STAR RIDERS
 
NOTES
 
5/5 (2 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT BLACK STAR RIDERS
 
BLACK-STAR-RIDERS_Another-State-Of-Grace Another State Of Grace (2019)
NUCLEAR BLAST / HARD ROCK
BLACK-STAR-RIDERS_Heavy-Fire Heavy Fire (2017)
NUCLEAR BLAST / HARD ROCK
BLACK-STAR-RIDERS_The-Killer-Instinct The Killer Instinct (2015)
NUCLEAR BLAST / ROCK
BLACK-STAR-RIDERS_All-Hell-Breaks-Loose All Hell Breaks Loose (2013)
NUCLEAR BLAST / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019