MW / Home / Reviews / FOREVER STILL: Breathe In Colours
BAND/AUTHOR:

FOREVER STILL

(DENMARK)

TITLE:
BREATHE IN COLOURS
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
ROCK
""Breathe In Colours" does a better job than copying Evanescence because it wraps its gothic metal stuffed with female vocals in a snarling and overpowering fuselage."
CHILDERIC THOR - 15.05.2019 -
If the time when Evanescence charmed our ears seems to be over - even if his recent "Synthesis" has proved rather exciting -, his influence remains strong. And there are countless bands that claim, with varying degrees of happiness, to follow their steps. Amy Lee's shadow covering its career launched in 2010, Forever Still is not just one of them because he clearly dominates the competition thanks to their album, the first, called "Tied Down". 

But what do these young Danes have more than the others? Their singer, Maja Shining to begin with, whose voice certainly evokes her American big sister but who never hesitates to get her claws out. The combo's music is very heavy, next to which Evanescence's songs seem to be addressed to kindergartens. In this (relative) aggressiveness lies the difference between Forever Still and the simple followers. Not to mention a biting songwriting whose effectiveness explains why it can appeal to a wider audience than just teenagers convinced that the metal alternative is a sound paragon. 

Three years after its trial run, the quartet affirms with "Breathe In Colours" its status as the leader of a generation. By promoting the singer on its cover, as "Fallen" had done in its time, this second album underlines Marja's preponderant place within the group of which she is the obvious figurehead. Our eyes and ears are focused on her, rightly so, because her performance cannot be the subject of any reservations. Powerful and magnetic, the young woman captivates the listener, capable of biting ('Fight'!) or curling up with tenderness, witness the moving breath "Is It Gone?" that one would think written by Evanescence. It doesn't matter.

While this influence should be embarrassing, Forever Still is so skillful and heavy ('Rewind') that it is forgiven. Because, like his predecessor, "Breathe In Colours" equips his racy melodies with a formidable pugnacity, which is embodied as much in Maja's sometimes supported voice ('Survive', Both in the game of his partners ('Rising Over You') who are far from playing for utility, such as this voluble drummer who gives devastating energy to shell-like compositions, both sweet and sharp, tempting and deadly. 

The result is an unstoppable album that ultimately does a better job than copying Evanescence because it wraps its gothic metal stuffed with female vocals in a snarling and overpowering fuselage. 

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/foreverstill/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

EVANESCENCE

TRACK LISTING

01. Rewind
02. Fight!
03. Breathe In Colours
04. Is It Gone?
05. Survive
06. Do Your Worst
07. Pieces
08. Rising Over You
09. Say Your Goodbyes
10. Embrace The Tide
11. Is It Gone? (Acoustic Version)
12. Perfect Day


LINEUP

Inuuteq Kleemann: Guitares
Maja Shining: Chant
Mikkel Haastrup: Guitares / Basse / Claviers
Rune Frisch: Batterie


TAGS:
Female voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS FOREVER STILL
LAST NEWS
FOREVER STILL: Breathe In Colours
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about FOREVER STILL
 
RATING
 
4/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS FOREVER STILL
 
-FOREVER-STILL_Breathe-In-Colours Breathe In Colours (2019)
NUCLEAR BLAST / ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / FOREVER STILL: Breathe In Colours
Le 15.05.2019 par CHILDERIC THOR
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

FOREVER STILL

(DANEMARK)

TITRE:
BREATHE IN COLOURS
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
ROCK
""Breathe In Colours" fait mieux que calquer Evanescence car il enrobe son gothic metal fardé de chant féminin d'un fuselage hargneux et surpuissant."
Si le temps où Evanescence charmait les ondes paraît désormais révolu - même si son récent "Synthesis" s'est révélé plutôt enthousiasmant -, son influence demeure prégnante. Et on ne compte plus les groupes qui se réclament, avec plus ou moins de bonheur, de "Fallen" et "The Open Door". L'ombre d’Amy Lee couvrant sa carrière lancée en 2010, Forever Still n'est pas qu'un de ceux-ci car il domine franchement la concurrence et ce, grâce à un seul album, le premier, baptisé "Tied Down" que Nuclear Blast a eu le nez creux de diffuser.

Mais qu'est-ce que ces jeunes Danois ont de plus que les autres ? Sa chanteuse, Maja Shining pour commencer, dont la voix évoque certes sa grande sœur américaine mais qui n'hésite jamais à sortir les griffes. La musique du combo est à l'avenant, bourrée jusqu'à la gueule de testostérone, à côté de laquelle les chansons d'Evanescence paraissent s'adresser à des maternelles. Dans cette (relative) agressivité réside la différence entre Forever Still et les simples suiveurs. Sans oublier un songwriting mordant dont l'efficacité explique pourquoi il peut séduire un public plus large que celui constitué des seuls teenagers convaincus que l'alternative metal est un parangon sonore.

Trois ans après son galop d'essai, le quatuor affirme avec "Breathe In Colours" son statut de chef de file d'une génération. En valorisant la chanteuse sur sa pochette, comme "Fallen" l'avait d'ailleurs fait en son temps, ce deuxième album souligne la place prépondérante qu'occupe Marja au sein de la formation dont elle est l'évidente figure de proue. Le regard et les oreilles sont braqués sur elle, à juste titre car sa performance ne saurait susciter la moindre réserve. Puissante et magnétique, la jeune femme ferre l'auditeur, capable de mordre ('Fight !') ou de se lover en ondulant avec tendresse, témoin l'émouvante respiration 'Is It Gone ?' qu'on croirait écrite par Evanescence. Ce n'est pas grave.

Alors que ce patronage devrait être embarrassant, Forever Still fait preuve d'une telle habileté doublée d'une force pesante ('Rewind') qu'on lui pardonne bien volontiers cette influence grosse comme un câble à haute tension. Car, à l'image de son prédécesseur, "Breathe In Colours" arme ses mélodies racées d'une pugnacité redoutable, qui s'incarne autant dans la voix parfois appuyée de Maja ('Survive', 'Pieces') que dans le jeu de ses partenaires ('Rising Over You') qui sont très loin de jouer les utilités, tel ce batteur volubile qui imprime une énergie ravageuse à des compos aux allures d'obus, à la fois sucrées et aiguisées, tentatrices et mortelles.

En découle un album imparable qui au final fait mieux que calquer Evanescence car il enrobe son gothic metal fardé de chant féminin d'un fuselage hargneux et surpuissant. 

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/foreverstill/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
EVANESCENCE

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Rewind
02. Fight!
03. Breathe In Colours
04. Is It Gone?
05. Survive
06. Do Your Worst
07. Pieces
08. Rising Over You
09. Say Your Goodbyes
10. Embrace The Tide
11. Is It Gone? (Acoustic Version)
12. Perfect Day


FORMATION:
Inuuteq Kleemann: Guitares
Maja Shining: Chant
Mikkel Haastrup: Guitares / Basse / Claviers
Rune Frisch: Batterie


TAGS:
Chant féminin
 
EN RELATION AVEC FOREVER STILL
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
FOREVER STILL: Sortie de "Breathe In Colours" fin mars
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant FOREVER STILL
 
DERNIERE CHRONIQUE
Breathe In Colours (2019)
"Breathe In Colours" fait mieux que calquer Evanescence car il enrobe son gothic metal fardé de chant féminin d'un fuselage hargneux et surpuissant.

Lire la chronique
Voir toutes les chroniques concernant FOREVER STILL
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT FOREVER STILL
 
-FOREVER-STILL_Breathe-In-Colours Breathe In Colours (2019)
NUCLEAR BLAST - ROCK

F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019