BAND/AUTHOR:

PAUL GILBERT

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
BEHOLD ELECTRIC GUITAR (2019)
LABEL:
MASCOT LABEL GROUP
GENRE:
GUITAR HERO

"For his fifteenth album, Paul Gilbert opted for a radical orientation: the primacy of melody over velocity, purity of sound and group spirit. "Behold Electric Guitar" is a condensed fusion of blues, jazz and rock that is really worth listening to."
NUNO777 - 24.05.2019 - (0) minds from our readers - (0) comment(s)
4/5
In his solo career Paul Gilbert has tried his hand at multiple styles, written songs and instrumentals and collaborated with different artists with an overall quality. After an excellent "Vibrato" and a less striking "Stone Uphill Pushing Man", which turned out to be a cover album, Gilbert came out of our radar a little bit. Thus, his fourteenth album "I Can Destroy", released in Japan, escaped us, as did his successor "Behold Electric Guitar", released by the Pledge Music platform in September 2018. Fortunately, his faithful label of nearly twenty years Mascot Records had the flair to sign this fifteenth album. And we can understand why listening to this great vintage by Paul Gilbert.

This time, Paul Gilbert's thirst for exploration led him to the authenticity of the sound and the jubilation that comes with writing that is at once rock, jazz and blues. The true side of this album is largely guaranteeing by the raw and natural recording mode without overdubs with sound recordings made live with the whole band playing in the same space. John Cuniberti's expertise, who accompanied Joe Satriani on his first albums, contributes to the organic rendering of sounds and restores the musicians' instinct in the most licentious passages.

"Behold Electric Guitar" is a record that is both written and improvised with a lot of riffs and refined melodic themes and large instrumental beaches during which the American and his musicians express their freedom. With intelligence Paul Gilbert intertwines these two modalities with a perfect fluidity so that each piece is structured on a well identified harmonic theme that gradually leaves room for more entropy to finally return to the initial order. Paul Gilbert has not locked himself into any straitjacket and lets his fertile creativity flow as he pleases. This one really only spills over into the unclassifiable on one occasion, in the very funky 'A Herd Of Turtles' interspersed with narrative that creates an unpleasant break. Apart from this originality, it is the very great Paul Gilbert who gives himself for an important part to the blues, in his supersonic shuffle form like Satch for "Love Is The Saddest Thing", in a soothing and fragile ballad with "I Own A Building", radiant with light and groove in "A Snake Just Bit My Toe" and "Things Can Walk To You" or under a more classical angle with "Blues For Rabbit".

It is especially when Paul Gilbert opens his field of action and speaks the language of fusion that he is most brilliant. Some tracks take the album even higher in the hierarchy of high-class instrumental albums. The funky jazz-rock 'Everywhere That Mary Went' with its groove, speed of execution and touching emotions in its final heights or the innovative 'Sir, You Need To Calm Down' based on brilliant superpositions of ultra-fast arpeggios and joyful melodic themes are clearly the highlights of the album. Gilbert lets his touch express itself in a poignant purity in the Beckian ballad "I Own A Building" and "Let That Battery Die" in the form of a moving song in which the guitar would embody the vocals. In "Behold Electric Guitar" Paul Gilbert has paid particular attention to his approach to the guitar by diversifying his playing by using the bottleneck (the two pieces mentioned above) and fingers ('Every Snare Drum').  

Without the slight decrease in intensity of a few songs in the second part of the album "Behold Electric Guitar" could have claimed the status of an essential instrumental album. However, it remains one of the American's best albums in which he finds the right balance between melody and virtuosity. "Behold Electric Guitar" is probably one of his most intimate and personal records.

More informations on http://www.paulgilbert.com/



SIMILAR BANDS:
FREAK KITCHEN, MICHAEL ELSNER, ADRIAN WEISS, MR. FASTFINGER

TRACK LISTING:
01. Havin' It - 6:58
02. I Own a Building - 4:52
03. Everywhere That Mary Went - 4:54
04. Love Is the Saddest Thing - 4:08
05. Sir You Need to Calm Down - 6:38
06. Let That Battery Die - 6:17
07. Blues for Rabbit - 5:16
08. Every Snare Drum - 3:55
09. A Snake Bit My Toe - 3:48
10. I Love My Lawnmower - 3:45
11. A Herd of Turtles - 3:33
12. Things Can Walk to You - 4:26


LINEUP:
Asher Fulero: Claviers
Bill Ray: Batterie / (1, 2, 4, 9, 10, 11)
Brian Foxworth: Batterie / (6, 7, 12)
Paul Gilbert: Chant / Guitares
Reinhardt Melz: Batterie / (3, 5, 8)
Roland Guerin: Basse


TAGS:
Bluesy, Funky, Fusion, Groovy, Instrumental, Intimist, Technical, Guitar-Hero
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this review or on this production
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH PAUL GILBERT
LAST NEWS
PAUL GILBERT: New video
All news about PAUL GILBERT
RATING
- /5 (0 view(s)) 4/5 (2 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
BIOPLAN: Ocular (2019)
PROGRESSIVE METAL A talented and heterogeneous jack-of-all-trades singer Andi Kravljaca is also a fine guitarist. His first instrumental guitar EP "Ocular" is another success to put to his credit.
 
NEXT REVIEW
WHITESNAKE: Flesh & Blood (2019)
HARD ROCK Without one or two slightly weaker titles, this new opus had everything but the best of the essential works.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT PAUL GILBERT
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / PAUL GILBERT: Behold Electric Guitar
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

PAUL GILBERT

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
BEHOLD ELECTRIC GUITAR
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
MASCOT LABEL GROUP
GENRE:
GUITAR HERO
"Pour son quinzième album, Paul Gilbert opte pour une orientation radicale : primauté de la mélodie sur la vélocité, pureté du son et esprit de groupe. "Behold Electric Guitar" est un condensé fusion de blues, de jazz et de rock qui vaut vraiment l’écoute."
NUNO777 - 24.05.2019 -
Dans sa carrière solo, Paul Gilbert s’est essayé à de multiples styles, a écrit des chansons et des instrumentaux et a collaboré avec différents artistes avec une qualité globalement au rendez-vous. Après un excellent "Vibrato" et un moins marquant "Stone Uphill Pushing Man", qui s’avérait être un album de reprises, Gilbert est quelque peu sorti de nos radars. Ainsi, son quatorzième album "I Can Destroy", sorti au Japon, nous a échappé tout comme son successeur "Behold Electric Guitar", édité par la plateforme Pledge Music en septembre 2018. Heureusement son fidèle label de près de vingt ans Mascot Records a eu le flair de signer ce quinzième album. Et on comprend pourquoi à l’écoute de ce grand millésime signé Paul Gilbert.

La soif d’explorer conduit cette fois-ci Paul Gilbert vers l’authenticité du son et la jubilation que procure une écriture à la fois rock, jazz et blues. Le côté vrai de cet album est largement renforcé par un mode d’enregistrement brut et naturel sans aucun doublement d’instrument avec des prises de son faites en direct avec l’ensemble du groupe jouant dans le même espace. L’expertise de John Cuniberti, qui a accompagné Joe Satriani sur ses premiers albums, participe au rendu organique des sonorités et restitue l’instinct des musiciens dans les passages les plus licencieux.

"Behold Electric Guitar" est un disque à la fois écrit et improvisé avec un gisement de riffs et de thèmes mélodiques peaufinés et de larges plages de friche instrumentale durant lesquelles l’Américain et ses musiciens expriment leur liberté. Avec intelligence Paul Gilbert entrelace ces deux modalités avec une parfaite fluidité de telle sorte que chaque morceau se structure sur une thématique harmonique bien identifiée qui laisse place petit à petit à plus d’entropie pour au final revenir sur l’ordre initial. Paul Gilbert ne s’est enfermé dans aucun carcan et laisse jaillir à sa guise sa fertile créativité. Celle-ci ne déborde véritablement sur l’inclassable qu’à une seule occasion, dans le très funky ‘A Herd Of Turtles’ entrecoupé d'une narration qui crée une cassure désagréable. Hormis cette originalité c’est du très grand Paul Gilbert qui se donne pour une importante part au blues, sous sa forme shuffle supersonique à la Satch pour ‘Love Is The Saddest Thing’, en ballade apaisante et fragile avec ‘I Own A Building’, rayonnants de lumière et de groove dans ‘A Snake Just Bit My Toe’ et ‘Things Can Walk To You’ ou sous un angle plus classique avec ‘Blues For Rabbit’.

C’est surtout quand Paul Gilbert ouvre son champ d’action et qu’il parle le langage de la fusion qu’il est le plus brillant. Quelques titres tirent l’album encore plus haut dans la hiérarchie des albums instrumentaux de grande classe. Le jazz-rock aux accents funky ‘Everywhere That Mary Went’ garni de groove, de vitesse d’exécution et touchant d’émotions dans ses hauteurs finales, ou l’innovant ‘Sir, You Need To Calm Down’ basé sur de géniales superpositions de descentes d’arpèges ultra rapides et de thèmes mélodiques joyeux sont clairement des sommets de l’album. Gilbert laisse exprimer son toucher dans une pureté poignante dans la ballade beckienne ‘I Own A Building’ et ‘Let That Battery Die’ sous la forme d’une émouvante chanson dans laquelle la guitare incarnerait le chant. Dans "Behold Electric Guitar" Paul Gilbert a particulièrement soigné son approche de la guitare en diversifiant son jeu par l’utilisation importante du bottleneck (les deux morceaux précités) et des doigts (‘Every Snare Drum’).  

Sans la légère baisse d’intensité de quelques morceaux dans la seconde partie de disque, "Behold Electric Guitar" aurait pu prétendre au statut d’album instrumental incontournable. Il reste toutefois un des meilleurs albums de l’Américain, dans lequel il trouve le plus juste équilibre entre mélodie et virtuosité. "Behold Electric Guitar" est probablement un de ses plus disques les plus intimistes et personnels.

Plus d'information sur http://www.paulgilbert.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
FREAK KITCHEN, MICHAEL ELSNER, MR. FASTFINGER, ADRIAN WEISS

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Havin' It - 6:58
02. I Own a Building - 4:52
03. Everywhere That Mary Went - 4:54
04. Love Is the Saddest Thing - 4:08
05. Sir You Need to Calm Down - 6:38
06. Let That Battery Die - 6:17
07. Blues for Rabbit - 5:16
08. Every Snare Drum - 3:55
09. A Snake Bit My Toe - 3:48
10. I Love My Lawnmower - 3:45
11. A Herd of Turtles - 3:33
12. Things Can Walk to You - 4:26


FORMATION:
Asher Fulero: Claviers
Bill Ray: Batterie / (1, 2, 4, 9, 10, 11)
Brian Foxworth: Batterie / (6, 7, 12)
Paul Gilbert: Chant / Guitares
Reinhardt Melz: Batterie / (3, 5, 8)
Roland Guerin: Basse


TAGS:
Bluesy, Funky, Fusion, Groovy, Instrumental, Intimiste, Technique, Guitar-Hero
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC PAUL GILBERT
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
PAUL GILBERT : Nouvelle vidéo
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant PAUL GILBERT
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Le lendemain de la fin de la tournée européenne dédiée à son album solo "Fuzz Universe", Paul Gilbert nous a accordé une longue interview où il est revenu longuement sur le retour de Mr. Big.

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant PAUL GILBERT
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (2 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT PAUL GILBERT
 
PAUL-GILBERT_Behold-Electric-Guitar Behold Electric Guitar (2019)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / GUITAR HERO
PAUL-GILBERT_STONE-UPHILL-PUSHING-MAN Stone Uphill Pushing Man (2014)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / GUITAR HERO
PAUL-GILBERT_Vibrato Vibrato (2012)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / GUITAR HERO
PAUL-GILBERT_Silence-Followed-By-A-Deafening- Silence Followed By A Deafening Roar (2008)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / GUITAR HERO
PAUL-GILBERT_Burning-Organ Burning Organ (2002)
XIII BIS / ROCK
PAUL-GILBERT_Alligator-Farm Alligator Farm (2000)
AUTRE LABEL / ROCK
PAUL-GILBERT_Flying-Dog Flying Dog (1998)
AUTRE LABEL / ROCK
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019