MW / Home / Reviews / PRESS GANG METROPOL: Pointblank
BAND/AUTHOR:

PRESS GANG METROPOL

(FRANCE)

TITLE:
POINTBLANK
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
SEND THE WOOD MUSIC
GENRE:
ROCK
"Between light and darkness, the music of Press Gang Metropol slips in, inviting us on a luminous but unfortunately sometimes monotonous journey."
ADRIANSTORK - 19.06.2019 -
Press Gang Metropol seeds have grown on the generous soil of Corpus Delicti, a French cult Gothic band of the 1990s. After "Checkpoint", a first album noticed in 2012 that focused on cold wave and a few EPs, they come back 7 years later with "Point Blank". In addition to the use of expressions containing the word "point" in album titles, it has a somewhat more dramatic meaning.

While there were four survivors of Corpus Delicti, this new album leaves Christophe Baudrion, bassist and keyboardist, the only guardian of the temple. The singer Sebastien Pietrapiana and his colleagues Chabaud and Amendola packed their bags. Now behind the microphone, Mr. Bernard, also known as Sébastien, is in the front line to receive the arrows of the critics, as his illustrious martyr. 

This new line-up does not upset the situation and we are immediately on familiar ground. With its first playful and New Order-inspired inaugural track, the album takes off in a hurry. The vocals are strong, a little affected but in accordance with the 80's cannons and especially without French accent. The alchemical synthesis between light and darkness then takes place on "Outshined" on which the keyboard sounds are as oppressive as they are luminous, the diabolical guitar riff, the Peter Hook bass and the drums well in place. On 'Stalemate' and its intro which is a little reminiscent of György Ligeti's 'Musica Ricercata', the nervous cruise is underway, with guitar riffs, catchy chorus and dramatic crescendo with drums and keyboards. 'MMT' is an excellent synthesis between the slightly euphoric song and the urgency of the piece. If we were to describe Press Gang Metropol's music, strongly tinged with cold and new wave, we could speak of "vertigo of light". 

The atmosphere is never conducive to satisfying depressed and suicidal people. The ballads are either bright ('Eternally') or anxious ('Orphans'). But despite this search for light, the band gives the impression of being bound by its influences. If the tracks faithfully reproduce a very 80's theme, this time machine almost stalls several times due to a lack of originality and madness. The end allows us to contradict this statement by ending on a slightly more surprising note. With its deep piano in introduction, its poignant vocals and its nervous crescendo, "Vertigo" prepare us for the ultimate track "With Our Love" which seems to pass through the mirror, with its diabolical mechanical melody, a new crescendo and raging and deep vocals.

With its rumbling bass, its ever alert drums, its sharp guitars, its bright keyboards, its serene and sometimes worried vocals, "Point Blank" brings together cold wave, new wave and gothic inspirations in a dreadfully effective pop crucible. Unfortunately, if the band's music can never be accused of pastiche, the lack of variety and the tendency to fly on autopilot make listening more difficult. Press Gang Metropol would have benefited from exposing himself to danger.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/pressgangmetropol/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

RED BAZAR, THE CURE

TRACK LISTING

01. Empty Playground
02. Eternally
03. Stalemate
04. The Place You Own
05. Outshined
06. Vertigo
07. Sovereign
08. Orphans
09. MMT
10. Unraveling
11. Diva
12. With Our Love


LINEUP

Christophe Baudrion: Basse
Eric Bouillette: Claviers
Fabrice Gouré: Batterie
Michel Seassau: Guitares
Sébastien Bernard: Chant / Guitares


TAGS:
80's, Easy Listening / FM, Chaotic, ?, Intimist, Romantic, Dark, Ballads, Deep voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS PRESS GANG METROPOL
LAST NEWS
PRESS GANG METROPOL: Details on "Pointblank"
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about PRESS GANG METROPOL
 
RATING
 
3/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS PRESS GANG METROPOL
 
PRESS-GANG-METROPOL_Pointblank Pointblank (2019)
SEND THE WOOD MUSIC / ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / PRESS GANG METROPOL: Pointblank
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

PRESS GANG METROPOL

(FRANCE)

TITRE:
POINTBLANK
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
SEND THE WOOD MUSIC
GENRE:
ROCK
"Entre lumière et ténèbres, se faufile la musique de Press Gang Metropol qui nous invite à un voyage lumineux mais malheureusement parfois monotone."
ADRIANSTORK - 19.06.2019 -
Les graines de Press Gang Metropol ont fructifié sur le terreau généreux de Corpus Delicti, groupe gothique culte français des années 90. Après "Checkpoint", un premier album remarqué en 2012 qui faisait la part belle à la cold wave et quelques EP, les Niçois reviennent 7 ans plus tard avec "Point Blank". Outre la déclinaison des expressions contenant le mot "point" dans les titres d'album, celui-ci revêt un sens un peu plus dramatique.

Alors que les rescapés de Corpus Delicti étaient au nombre de quatre, ce nouvel album laisse Christophe Baudrion, bassiste et claviériste de son état, seul gardien du temple. Le chanteur Sebastien Pietrapiana et ses collègues Chabaud et Amendola se sont fait la valise. Désormais derrière le micro, monsieur Bernard, également prénommé Sébastien, est en première ligne pour recevoir les flèches des critiques, comme son illustre martyr. 

Ce nouveau line-up ne bouleverse pas la donne et nous sommes tout de suite en terrain connu. Avec sa première piste inaugurale enjouée et inspirée de New Order, l'album prend un départ précipité. Le chant est alerte, un peu affecté mais en accord avec les canons 80's et surtout sans accent français. La synthèse alchimique entre lumière et ténèbres s'installe ensuite sur 'Outshined' sur lequel les bruitages de clavier se montrent aussi oppressants que lumineux, le riff de guitare diabolique, la basse à la Peter Hook et la batterie bien en place. Sur 'Stalemate' et son intro qui rappelle un peu 'Musica Ricercata' de György Ligeti, la croisière nerveuse est en marche, avec riffs de guitare, refrain accrocheur et crescendo dramatique à coups de batterie et claviers. On sent dans 'MMT' une excellente synthèse entre le chant un peu euphorique et le caractère urgent du morceau. Si l'on devait qualifier la musique de Press Gang Metropol, fortement teinté de cold et new wave, on pourrait parler de "vertige de lumière". 

L'ambiance n'est jamais propre à satisfaire les dépressifs et suicidaires. Les ballades sont au choix lumineuses ('Eternally') ou anxiogènes ('Orphans'). Mais malgré cette recherche de lueurs, le groupe donne l'impression d'être pieds et poings liés par ses influences. Si les morceaux reproduisent fidèlement un thème très 80's, cette machine à remonter le temps manque de caler plusieurs fois par manque d'originalité et de folie. La fin nous permet de contredire ce propos en terminant sur une note un peu plus surprenante. Avec son piano profond en introduction, son chant poignant et son crescendo nerveux, 'Vertigo' chauffe le trône de l'ultime piste 'With Our Love' qui semble passer de l'autre côté du miroir, avec sa mélodie mécanique diabolique, un nouveau crescendo et un chant rageur et profond. Comme si le groupe avait décidé de garder quelques cartouches pour la fin de l'album et de tout brûler, en somme une fin en feu d'artifice.

Avec sa basse grondante, sa batterie toujours alerte, ses guitares tranchantes, ses claviers lumineux, son chant serein et parfois inquiet, "Point Blank" rassemble les inspirations cold wave, new wave et gothique dans un creuset pop redoutablement efficace. Malheureusement, si la musique du groupe ne peut jamais être accusée de pastiche, le manque de variété et la tendance à voler en pilotage automatique alourdissent l'écoute. Press Gang Metropol aurait gagné à s'exposer au danger, à bout portant, comme le suggère son titre.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/pressgangmetropol/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
RED BAZAR, THE CURE

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Empty Playground
02. Eternally
03. Stalemate
04. The Place You Own
05. Outshined
06. Vertigo
07. Sovereign
08. Orphans
09. MMT
10. Unraveling
11. Diva
12. With Our Love


FORMATION:
Christophe Baudrion: Basse
Eric Bouillette: Claviers
Fabrice Gouré: Batterie
Michel Seassau: Guitares
Sébastien Bernard: Chant / Guitares


TAGS:
80's, Accessible / FM, Chaotique, Dépaysant, Intimiste, Romantique, Sombre, Ballades, Chant grave
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC PRESS GANG METROPOL
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
PRESS GANG METROPOL FAIT LE POINT AVEC MUSIC WAVES!
INTERVIEW

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant PRESS GANG METROPOL
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Remarqué avec "Checkpoint", Press Gang Metropol nous revient avec un deuxième album "PointBlank", immersion dans la cold wave des années 1980...

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant PRESS GANG METROPOL
 
NOTES
 
3/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT PRESS GANG METROPOL
 
PRESS-GANG-METROPOL_Pointblank Pointblank (2019)
SEND THE WOOD MUSIC / ROCK
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019