MW / Home / Reviews / HOLLIS BROWN: Ozone Park
BAND/AUTHOR:

HOLLIS BROWN

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
OZONE PARK
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
MASCOT LABEL GROUP
GENRE:
POP
"Hollis Brown signs an unpretentious but pleasant American pop album."
NUNO777 - 09.07.2019 -
Hollis Brown is a band formed around singer-guitarist Mike Montali and guitarist Jonathan Bonilla who built a local reputation in New York before releasing their first EP in 2009. Five years later the band consolidated into its current quintet form and released several albums and EPs. It was in 2018 that Hollis Brown signed to Mascot Records and the first record of their collaboration is called "Ozone Park".

From its name taken from a Bob Dylan track 'The Ballad Of Hollis Brown' released in 1964 to the sounds that scatter "Ozone Park", Hollis Brown cultivates a retro sound. The production accurately mixes analog and digital recording for a timeless and balanced rendering. The Americans unroll a colourful and benevolent, quiet and standardized pop like the New York middle class neighborhood to which the album's name refers, which neither upsets nor overturns, with its short and immediate songs in formats that are often harmless mid-tempi. "Ozone Park" ticks all the boxes of the album whose tracks could end up on the soundtrack of the latest Netflix series or the American dramatic comedy in the fall. Moreover, several tracks of the band have been used for this purpose in the past, and we will not be surprised.

A generous blues-soul-pop mix with reverberation over here ('Stubborn Man'), a choir from'Oo, Oo, Oo' over there ('Blood From A Stone'), a folk cover that blurs all the relief of the original ('She Don't Love Me Now' by Jesse Malin) and a few excesses of fuzz guitar for slumming (the two minutes of 'Bad Mistakes'), "Ozone Park" plays the diversity card while focusing on safety. Few audacity and hardly more originality but nevertheless nine tracks (we will pass on the uninteresting interlude "After The Fire") which stand in terms of melodies and interpretation and which are therefore easily listened to not without a certain pleasure devoid of guilt.

Sometimes it is the records that were least suspected that make the most impression. "Ozone Park" will not go down in history of music but could have a small existence and reach an audience in an unexpectedly successful film. It could also integrate the heterogeneous but nevertheless precious list of records that are chosen when you have nothing to listen to.

More informations on https://www.hollisbrown.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

-

TRACK LISTING

01. Blood From A Stone
02. Stubborn Man
03. She Don't Love Me Now
04. Do Me Right
05. After The Fire
06. Forever In Me
07. Someday Soon
08. The Way She Does It
09. Bad Mistakes
10. Go For It


LINEUP

Adam Bock: Chant / Claviers
Andrew Zehnal: Batterie
Jonathan Bonilla: Guitares
Mike Montali: Chant / Guitares
Scott Thompson:


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Movie music
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS HOLLIS BROWN
LAST NEWS
HOLLIS BROWN: Details on "Ozone Park"
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about HOLLIS BROWN
 
RATING
 
3/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS HOLLIS BROWN
 
HOLLIS-BROWN_Ozone-Park Ozone Park (2019)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / POP
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / HOLLIS BROWN: Ozone Park
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

HOLLIS BROWN

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
OZONE PARK
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
MASCOT LABEL GROUP
GENRE:
POP
"Hollis Brown signe un album de pop américaine sans prétention mais qui s’écoute agréablement."
NUNO777 - 09.07.2019 -
Hollis Brown est un groupe formé autour du chanteur guitariste Mike Montali et du guitariste Jonathan Bonilla qui se bâtit une réputation locale dans le milieu musical new-yorkais avant de sortir un premier EP en 2009. Cinq ans plus tard, le groupe se consolide sous sa forme actuelle de quintet et sort plusieurs albums et EP. C’est en 2018 que Hollis Brown signe chez Mascot Records et le premier disque de leur collaboration s’appelle "Ozone Park".

De son nom tiré d’un titre de Bob Dylan, ‘The Ballad Of Hollis Brown’ sorti en 1964, jusqu’aux sonorités qui parsèment "Ozone Park", Hollis Brown cultive un côté rétro parfaitement assumé. La production mélange avec précision enregistrements analogique et numérique pour un rendu intemporel et équilibré. Les Américains déroulent une pop colorée et bienveillante, tranquille et standardisée à l’image du quartier de la classe moyenne new-yorkaise auquel le nom de l’album se rapporte, qui ne bouscule ni ne renverse, avec son lot de chansons courtes et immédiates sous des formats souvent mid-tempi inoffensifs. "Ozone Park" coche toutes les cases de l’album dont les titres pourraient finir sur la bande son de la dernière série Netflix ou de la comédie dramatique américaine de la rentrée. D’ailleurs plusieurs morceaux du groupe ont été utilisés à cette fin par le passé, et on ne s’en étonnera pas.

Une blues-soul-pop métissée et généreuse en réverbération par-ci (‘Stubborn Man’), une chorale de ‘Oo, Oo, Oo’ par-là (‘Blood From A Stone’), une reprise de folk qui émousse tous les reliefs de l’originale (‘She Don't Love Me Now’ de Jesse Malin) et quelques excès de guitare fuzz pour s’encanailler (les deux minutes de ‘Bad Mistakes’), "Ozone Park" joue la carte de la diversité tout en misant sur la sécurité. Peu d’audace et à peine plus d’originalité mais pourtant neuf titres (on passera sur l’interlude sans intérêt ‘After The Fire’) qui se tiennent en termes de mélodies et d’interprétation et qui donc s’écoutent facilement, non sans un certain plaisir dénué de culpabilité.

Ce sont parfois les disques que l’on soupçonnait le moins qui marquent les esprits. "Ozone Park" ne rentrera pas dans les annales de la musique mais pourrait avoir une petite existence et toucher un public dans un film au succès inattendu. Il pourrait aussi intégrer la liste hétéroclite mais néanmoins précieuse des disques que l’on choisit quand on n’a rien envie d’écouter.

Plus d'information sur https://www.hollisbrown.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
-

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Blood From A Stone
02. Stubborn Man
03. She Don't Love Me Now
04. Do Me Right
05. After The Fire
06. Forever In Me
07. Someday Soon
08. The Way She Does It
09. Bad Mistakes
10. Go For It


FORMATION:
Adam Bock: Chant / Claviers
Andrew Zehnal: Batterie
Jonathan Bonilla: Guitares
Mike Montali: Chant / Guitares
Scott Thompson:


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Musique de film
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC HOLLIS BROWN
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
HOLLIS BROWN : Nouvelle vidéo
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant HOLLIS BROWN
 
NOTES
 
3/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT HOLLIS BROWN
 
HOLLIS-BROWN_Ozone-Park Ozone Park (2019)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / POP
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019