MW / Home / Reviews / DIAMOND HEAD: The Coffin Train
BAND/AUTHOR:

DIAMOND HEAD

(UNITED KINGDOM)

TITLE:
THE COFFIN TRAIN
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
HEAVY METAL
""The Coffin Train" is an amazing and fresh album for a band that one could think was dying."
NOISE - 24.05.2019 -
Diamond Head's quarry is not a long, quiet river. If the English band influenced many musicians, it never got the recognition it deserved. With a split and mediocre albums in the 2000s, it has all the characteristics of a cursed band and is often seen as a fossil of the past from which nothing more can be expected. However, the light came back on in 2016 with the album "Diamond Head", a real resurrection carried by Brian Tatler, a historical member, and thanks to Rasmus Andersen who gave a boost to the NWOBHM's institution. Thanks to this success, the band signed on an international label for its ninth album, "The Coffin Train".

Composed of ten tracks, the album is a subtle balance between metallic power and more melodic moments. When he makes the powder talk, Diamond Head does it forcefully and makes us understand why he has influenced so many thrash formations. "Belly Of The Beast" and "Death By Design" are amazing with strong riffs and a fast and powerful tone. On vocals, Rasmus shines with a raspy voice of the best effect and we also appreciate excellent choruses.

Next to it, Diamond Head offers more laid-back tracks and deliciously old school. 'The Coffin Train',' The Phoenix' and' Until We Burn' have a feeling that evokes UFO and Uriah Heep with a nostalgic 70's touch. On guitars, you can enjoy remarkable musical finesse with a duo worthy of the golden age. Rasmus is still excellent with his vicious little side full of groove in the spirit of Led Zeppelin. Epic level tinged with progressive, 'The Sleeper' and 'Serrated Love' are total successes. These tracks alternate various atmospheres, releasing a strong warmth with a high voice mastered, passing through an instrumental part that relaxes and quieter acoustic breaks.

"The Coffin Train" is an amazing and fresh album for a band that one could think was dying. It confirms the rebirth of Diamond Head who came out from nowhere and who signed one of his best works, worthy of his great years.

More informations on http://www.diamond-head.net/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

DEEP PURPLE, URIAH HEEP, UFO, MEGADETH, ANVIL, METALLICA

TRACK LISTING

01. Belly of the Beast
02. The Messenger
03. The Coffin Train
04. Shades of Black
05. The Sleeper (Prelude)
06. The Sleeper
07. Death by Design
08. Serrated Love
09. The Phoenix
10. Until We Burn


LINEUP

Andy Abberley: Guitares
Brian Tatler: Guitares
Dean Ashton: Basse
Karl Wilcox: Batterie
Rasmus Bom Andersen: Chant


TAGS:
70's, Epic, Old School, Rasping voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
TORPEDO - 25/05/2019 09:49:34
Les plans ne sont pas vraiment originaux (j'y entends assez souvent du metallica), le chant est légèrement fatiguant à la longue mais globalement l'ensemble passe en effet plutôt bien.
2475
 
LINKS DIAMOND HEAD
LAST NEWS
DIAMOND HEAD: New video
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about DIAMOND HEAD
 
LAST ARTICLE
When Diamond Head legends first lend themselves to a question-and-answer test, it gives a lot of humility, candor and generosity...

Read the article
View all articles about DIAMOND HEAD
 
RATING
 
3.7/5 (3 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS DIAMOND HEAD
 
DIAMOND-HEAD_The-Coffin-Train The Coffin Train (2019)
AUTRE LABEL / HEAVY METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / DIAMOND HEAD: The Coffin Train
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

DIAMOND HEAD

(ROYAUME UNI)

TITRE:
THE COFFIN TRAIN
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
HEAVY METAL
"Diamond Head confirme son regain de forme et signe un album très frais à la fois heavy et teinté de ce charme à l'ancienne des années 70 et 80."
NOISE - 24.05.2019 -
La carrière de Diamond Head n’a rien d’un long fleuve tranquille. Si le groupe anglais a influencé nombre de musiciens, il n’a jamais eu la reconnaissance qu’il méritait. Avec un split et des albums médiocres dans les années 2000, il a tout du groupe maudit et est souvent vu comme un fossile du passé dont il ne faut plus rien espérer. Pourtant la lumière est revenue en 2016 avec l’album "Diamond Head", véritable résurrection portée par Brian Tatler, membre historique, et grâce à Rasmus Andersen qui a donné un coup de fouet à l’institution de la NWOBHM. Grâce à ce succès, le groupe a signé sur un label international pour son neuvième album, "The Coffin Train".

Composé de dix titres, le disque est un subtil équilibre entre puissance métallique et moments plus mélodiques. Quand il fait parler la poudre, Diamond Head le fait avec une sacrée pêche et nous fait comprendre pourquoi il a influencé tant de formations thrash. 'Belly Of The Beast' et 'Death By Design' décoiffent avec des riffs costauds et un ton rapide et puissant. Au chant, Rasmus brille avec une voix éraillée du meilleur effet et on apprécie en outre d’excellents refrains parfaitement amenés.

A côté Diamond Head propose des titres plus posés et délicieusement old school. 'The Coffin Train’, ‘The Phoenix’ ainsi que ‘Until We Burn’ possèdent un feeling qui évoque UFO et Uriah Heep avec un côté nostalgique 70’s  à fleur de peau. Aux guitares on savoure une finesse musicale remarquable avec un duo digne de l’âge d’or. Rasmus est encore excellent avec son petit côté vicieux plein de groove dans l’esprit de Led Zeppelin. Niveau épique teinté de progressif, ‘The Sleeper’ et ‘Serrated Love’ sont des réussites totales. Ces titres à tiroirs alternent les ambiances avec classe, dégageant une forte chaleur avec un chant haut perché maîtrisé, en passant par une partie instrumentale qui défrise et des breaks acoustiques plus calmes.

"The Coffin Train" est un disque épatant, d’une fraîcheur rare pour un groupe avec autant de bouteille. Il confirme le regain de forme d’un Diamond Head revenu de nulle part et qui signe une de ses meilleures œuvres, digne de ses grandes années.

Plus d'information sur http://www.diamond-head.net/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
DEEP PURPLE, URIAH HEEP, UFO, MEGADETH, ANVIL, METALLICA

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Belly of the Beast
02. The Messenger
03. The Coffin Train
04. Shades of Black
05. The Sleeper (Prelude)
06. The Sleeper
07. Death by Design
08. Serrated Love
09. The Phoenix
10. Until We Burn


FORMATION:
Andy Abberley: Guitares
Brian Tatler: Guitares
Dean Ashton: Basse
Karl Wilcox: Batterie
Rasmus Bom Andersen: Chant


TAGS:
70's, Epique, Old School, Chant éraillé
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
productionuser_idproduction_comment_idproduction_review_id

LYNOTT - 27/05/2019 21:36:07
Pour les nostalgiques de la NWOBHM assurément. Diamond Head n'a pas bougé d'un pouce depuis Borrowed Time et ça fait du bien !

A l"écoute de cet opus plein de copains de cette grande époque viennent nous faire des clins d'oeil, Metallica, Motörhead, Riot, Tygers...

Rajeunissant !!!!
1607 23610
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
TORPEDO - 25/05/2019 09:49:34
Les plans ne sont pas vraiment originaux (j'y entends assez souvent du metallica), le chant est légèrement fatiguant à la longue mais globalement l'ensemble passe en effet plutôt bien.
2475
 
EN RELATION AVEC DIAMOND HEAD
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
DIAMOND HEAD : Nouvelle lyric video
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant DIAMOND HEAD
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Quand les légendes de Diamond Head se prêtent pour la première fois à l'épreuve de questions-réponses, ça donne beaucoup d'humilité, franchise et générosité...

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant DIAMOND HEAD
 
NOTES
 
3.8/5 (4 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT DIAMOND HEAD
 
DIAMOND-HEAD_The-Coffin-Train The Coffin Train (2019)
AUTRE LABEL / HEAVY METAL
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019