MW / Home / Reviews / BLACK MAGIC: Wizard's Spell
BAND/AUTHOR:

BLACK MAGIC

(NORWAY)

TITLE:
WIZARD'S SPELL
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
KARISMA RECORDS
GENRE:
HEAVY METAL / THRASH
"By adding the EP "Wizard's Spell" and the demo "Reap Of Evil", this reissue highlights the Norwegians' shift from a primitive black thrash to a catchy, bubbling heavy metal."
CHILDERIC THOR - 19.06.2019 -
The fact that we have a lot of respect - and rightly so - for the Dark Essence label does not prevent us from considering that presenting "Wizard's Spell" as a "classic" seems a little exaggerated! Not that this EP, which the Scandinavian team is now offering for re-release, does not deserve to be (re)discovered, but we are far from the essential object or the treasure finally unearthed! 

Similarly, the fact that it is hosted by a few mercenaries from the Norwegian dark scene, including Kristian Valbo and Christoffer Brathen, Obliteration drummer and bass player (live) respectively, or, in the past, guitarist Andreas Hagen, from the excellent crew of stoner doom High Priest Of Saturn, does not necessarily make Black Magic a kind of cult band. This stated reservation, let us recognize that, in the kind of proto black thrash a little speed, this short log burns with a deviously evil fire whose it would be a pity not to taste the bite. 

Originally released five years ago on vinyl by the venerable High Roller Records, "Wizard's Spell" has actually lived many lives both on CD and cassette, usually complemented by the four tracks of the 2010 "Reap of Evil" demo, as it is again the case this time. This reissue is therefore only the last of a long series. Does she announce the release of a late first album? The future will tell us. But from a band that, although it has been active since 2006, has never yet gone beyond the draft stage (demo and EP) and is already killed himself once, nothing is less certain.... 

This exhumation, which is not really an exhumation, has a double interest. On the one hand, the five tracks of the EP, which smell like leather and witchcraft from the B series, pulsate with an diabolical energy, old school projections in content and form but whose melodic force elevates them above a banal speed track of the 80s, as demonstrated by the stirring "Death Militia", sabred with a powerful chorus or "Voodoo Curse", instrumental all in progression. Behind this record are seasoned musicians, eager to indulge themselves by paying tribute to the studded metal that that flows in their veins. 'Thunder Of The Undead' could have been machined in an English steel mill in the first half of the eighties, probably anachronistic but very enjoyable. 

On the other hand, the addition of "Reap Of Evil" to "Wizard's Spell" underlines the Norwegians' shift from a primitive black thrash to a catchy heavy metal, although still bubbling with a bestial fever, which suits them much better. In fact, instead of the "Black Magic" sticking its handle into the dirty soil of the first Bathory and other Celtic Frost ('Embraced By The Occult'), we prefer the second version, less barbaric and more melodic. 

Following the demo "Demon Lord", this re-release reveals an unpretentious but effective band. Does it announce a possible real album?

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/blackmagicnorway

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

CELTIC FROST

TRACK LISTING

01. Black Magic
02. Rite of the Wizard
03. Voodoo Curse
04. Thunder of the Undead
05. Death Militia
06. The Ritual (Reap of Evil Demo)
07. Night of Mayhem (Reap of Evil Demo)
08. Possessed (Reap of Evil Demo)
09. Embraced by the Occult (Reap Of Evil Demo)


LINEUP

Jon.: Chant / Guitares / Basse
Sadomancer: Chant / Batterie


TAGS:
80's, Discordant, Old School, Dark
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS BLACK MAGIC
 
RATING
 
3/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS BLACK MAGIC
 
BLACK-MAGIC_Wizard-s-Spell Wizard's Spell (2019)
KARISMA RECORDS / HEAVY METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / BLACK MAGIC: Wizard's Spell
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

BLACK MAGIC

(NORVÈGE)

TITRE:
WIZARD'S SPELL
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
KARISMA RECORDS
GENRE:
HEAVY METAL / THRASH
"En additionnant l’EP "Wizard's Spell" et la démo "Reap Of Evil", cette réédition souligne le glissement des Norvégiens d'un black thrash primitif vers un heavy metal accrocheur quoique toujours bouillonnant d'une fièvre occulte."
CHILDERIC THOR - 19.06.2019 -
Le fait d'avoir beaucoup de respect - à juste titre - pour le label Dark Essence ne nous empêche pas d'estimer que présenter "Wizard's Spell" comme un "classique" paraît quand même un peu exagéré ! Non pas que cet EP dont l'écurie scandinave offre aujourd'hui la réédition ne mérite pas d'être (re)découvert, mais nous sommes cependant loin de l'objet indispensable ou du trésor enfin déterré !

De même, qu'il soit animé par quelques mercenaires de la scène obscure norvégienne, parmi lesquels Kristian Valbo et Christoffer Brathen, respectivement batteur et bassiste (live) d'Obliteration ou, autrefois, le guitariste Andreas Hagen, issu de l'excellent équipage de stoner doom High Priest Of Saturn, ne fait pas nécessairement de Black Magic une espèce de groupe culte. Cette réserve énoncée, reconnaissons que, dans le genre proto black thrash un peu speed sur les bords, cette courte bûche brûle d'un feu sournoisement evil dont il serait dommage de ne pas goûter la morsure.

A l'origine édité il y a cinq ans en vinyle par le vénérable High Roller Records, "Wizard's Spell" a en réalité connu de nombreuses vies aussi bien en CD qu'en cassette, généralement complété par les quatre pistes de la démo "Reap of Evil" de 2010, comme c'est encore le cas cette fois-ci. Cette réédition n'est donc que la dernière d'une longue série. Annonce-t-elle la réalisation d'un tardif premier album ? L'avenir nous le dira. Mais de la part d'un groupe qui, alors qu'il est actif depuis 2006, n'a encore jamais dépassé le stade du brouillon (démo et EP)  et s'est déjà sabordé une fois, pendant trois ans, rien n'est moins sûr...

Cette exhumation, qui n'en est donc pas vraiment une, possède un double intérêt. D'une part, les cinq titres de l’EP, qui sentent le cuir et la sorcellerie de série B, palpitent d'une énergie diabolique, saillies old school dans le fond comme dans la forme mais dont la force mélodique les élève au-dessus d'une banale resucée du speed des années 80, comme le démontrent le remuant 'Death Militia', sabré d'un refrain puissant ou 'Voodoo Curse', instrumental tout en progression. Derrière un apparat hurlant se devinent des musiciens aguerris, désireux de se faire plaisir en rendant hommage au metal clouté que leurs veines charrient. 'Thunder Of The Undead' aurait ainsi pu être usiné dans une aciérie anglaise de la première moitié des eighties, anachronique sans doute mais bigrement jouissif.

D'autre part, l'addition de "Reap Of Evil" à "Wizard's Spell" souligne le glissement des Norvégiens d'un black thrash primitif vers un heavy metal accrocheur quoique toujours bouillonnant d'une fièvre bestiale, qui leur sied d'ailleurs bien davantage. De fait, au Black Magic qui plante son manche dans le terreau sale des premiers Bathory et autre Celtic Frost ('Embraced By The Occult'), on préfère la seconde mouture, moins barbare et plus mélodique sans pour autant en assécher la sève occulte.

Succédant à la démo "Demon Lord", cette réédition dévoile un groupe sans prétention mais efficace. Annonce-t-elle un éventuel véritable album que la résurrection des Norvégiens nous laisse espérer depuis quatre ans ?

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/blackmagicnorway

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
CELTIC FROST

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Black Magic
02. Rite of the Wizard
03. Voodoo Curse
04. Thunder of the Undead
05. Death Militia
06. The Ritual (Reap of Evil Demo)
07. Night of Mayhem (Reap of Evil Demo)
08. Possessed (Reap of Evil Demo)
09. Embraced by the Occult (Reap Of Evil Demo)


FORMATION:
Jon.: Chant / Guitares / Basse
Sadomancer: Chant / Batterie


TAGS:
80's, Dissonant, Old School, Sombre
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC BLACK MAGIC
 
NOTES
 
3/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT BLACK MAGIC
 
BLACK-MAGIC_Wizard-s-Spell Wizard's Spell (2019)
KARISMA RECORDS / HEAVY METAL
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019