MW / Home / Reviews / WHITESNAKE: Flesh & Blood
BAND/AUTHOR:

WHITESNAKE

(UNITED KINGDOM)

TITLE:
FLESH & BLOOD
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
FRONTIERS RECORDS
GENRE:
HARD ROCK
"Without one or two slightly weaker titles, this new opus had everything but the best of the essential works."
LOLOCELTIC - 24.05.2019 -
Since its return to business in 2008 with "Good To Be Bad", Whitesnake has been offering new opuses with a regular senator train. Every three or four years, David Coverdale's band is back, which is far from being an intensive rhythm but which is always a guarantee of quality, an adjective that has never left the British legend since 1978. Doug Aldrich's departure had raised fears of the worst, and the release of "The Purple Album" in 2015 had left some perplexed but, while some ominous birds left some doubt as to the announced end of the White Reptile, here is a "Flesh & Blood" that will silence the bad tongues.

Perfectly supported by his pair of... guitarists (what did you think?), the great David offers here 13 new compositions in which the vocals seems to have lost a little power because of a tiring profession. The new recording is varied, dreadfully effective and presents a tightly knit and talented band behind the unremitting skipper of the ship. The irresistibly energetic catchy firecrackers have unstoppable choruses ('Good To See You Again', 'Shut Up & Kiss Me', 'Trouble Is Your Middle Name') and alternate with heavier and more unifying pieces perfect for the stadiums. 'Hey You (You Make Me Rock)' or 'Well I Never' are just waiting for the upcoming concerts to be revived by an audience with exacerbated virility.

Sweets are also on board, and if 'When I Think Of You (Color Me Blue)' remains too popular despite its outdated charm, 'Heart Of Stone' exudes an enchanting emotional power and is full of feeling throughout its almost seven minutes. As for 'After All', it plays the delicacy card in an acoustic format revealing an strong emotion. While the 'Hoekstra / Beach' pair splashes all of its talent and complicity, the White Serpent does not hesitate to pay a few barely veiled tributes to former glories of the same generation. First of all, it is Thin Lizzy's shadow hanging over a melodic and positively energetic "Always & Forever". AC/DC is not far away on the eponymous track with its basic but very effective riff doubled by a rise in intensity all in control. The epileptic "Get Up" gets wild and unbridled and has no shortage of references to Van Halen. Finally, 'Sands Of Time' closes the whole in a monumental and majestic way with its light oriental touches that inevitably remind us of Led Zeppelin's 'Kashmir'.

Without one or two slightly weaker titles, this new opus had everything perfect that characterizes the essential works. "Flesh & Blood" is nevertheless one of Whitesnake's best albums, which prove its great form and remind us that it is a monument that we must always keep in mind. Amateurs will appreciate and they will not deprive themselves of such a tasty gift. As for the others, this is a great opportunity for them to discover the legend in the best possible way.

More informations on http://whitesnake.com/redsite/index.asp

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

DEEP PURPLE, DEF LEPPARD, HOUSE OF LORDS, VOODOO CIRCLE, IRON MASK, COLDSPELL, HARD, FIRE, POWERWORLD, SORA

TRACK LISTING

01. Good To See You Again - 3:42
02. Gonna Be Alright - 3:51
03. Shut Up & Kiss Me - 3:37
04. Hey You (you Make Me Rock) - 5:29
05. Always & Forever - 3:53
06. When I Think Of You (color Me Blue) - 3:52
07. Trouble Is Your Middle Name - 4:17
08. Flesh & Blood - 5:18
09. Well I Never - 4:01
10. Heart Of Stone - 6:42
11. Get Up - 4:45
12. After All - 3:47
13. Sands Of Time - 6:09


LINEUP

David Coverdale: Chant
Joel Hoekstra: Guitares
Michael Devin: Basse
Michele Luppi: Claviers
Reb Beach: Guitares
Tommy Aldridge: Batterie


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Bluesy, Rasping voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
TORPEDO - 25/05/2019 09:05:06
Entièrement d'accord ! A part une ou deux chansons un peu mièvres, voilà un excellent album de Hard Rock pêchu. Je pensais pas Coverdale encore capable de nous sortir des titres aussi accrocheurs...
2474
 
LINKS WHITESNAKE
LAST NEWS
WHITESNAKE : New video
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about WHITESNAKE
 
RATING
 
4/5 (3 view(s))
4/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS WHITESNAKE
 
WHITESNAKE_Flesh--Blood Flesh & Blood (2019)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / HARD ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / WHITESNAKE: Flesh & Blood
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

WHITESNAKE

(ROYAUME UNI)

TITRE:
FLESH & BLOOD
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
FRONTIERS RECORDS
GENRE:
HARD ROCK
"Sans un ou deux titres légèrement plus faibles, ce nouvel opus avait tout du sans-faute caractérisant les œuvres incontournables."
LOLOCELTIC - 24.05.2019 -
Depuis son retour aux affaires en 2008 avec "Good To Be Bad", Whitesnake offre de nouveaux opus avec un train régulier de sénateur. Tous les trois ou quatre ans, la formation de David Coverdale est de retour dans les bacs, ce qui est loin d’être un rythme intensif mais qui se révèle à chaque fois un gage de qualité, adjectif qui n’a jamais quitté la légende britannique depuis 1978. Le départ de Doug Aldrich avait laissé craindre le pire, et la sortie de "The Purple Album" en 2015 en avait laissé certains perplexes mais, alors que quelques oiseaux de mauvais augure laissaient planer le doute quant à une fin annoncée du Reptile Blanc, voici un "Flesh & Blood" qui va remettre les points sur les ‘i’.

Parfaitement secondé par sa paire de… guitaristes (à quoi pensiez-vous ?), le grand David offre ici 13 nouvelles compositions sur lesquelles, du haut de ses 68 printemps, il compense une voix qui commence à perdre un peu en puissance par un métier à toute épreuve. La nouvelle offrande discographique se révèle variée et d’une redoutable efficacité et présente une formation soudée et talentueuse derrière l’inamovible patron du navire. Les brûlots catchy à l’énergie irrésistible sont dotés de refrains imparables (‘Good To See You Again’, ‘Shut Up & Kiss Me’, ‘Trouble Is Your Middle Name’) et alternent avec des pièces plus heavy et fédératrices taillées pour les stades. ‘Hey You (You Make Me Rock)’ ou ‘Well I Never’ n’attendent plus que les concerts à venir pour être repris en chœur par un public à la virilité exacerbée.

Les douceurs sont également de la partie, et si ‘When I Think Of You (Color Me Blue)’ reste trop convenue malgré un charme suranné, ‘Heart Of Stone’ dégage une puissance émotionnelle envoûtante et regorge de feeling tout au long de ses presque sept minutes. Quant à ‘After All’, elle joue la carte de la délicatesse sous un format acoustique révélant une émotion à fleur de peau. Alors que la paire Hoekstra / Beach éclabousse l’ensemble de son talent et de sa complicité, le Serpent Blanc n’hésite pas à rendre quelques hommages à peine voilés à d’anciennes gloires de la même génération mais à l’état de santé moins reluisant. C’est tout d’abord l’ombre prégnante de Thin Lizzy qui plane sur un ‘Always & Forever’ mélodique et à l’énergie positive. AC/DC n’est pas loin sur le titre éponyme avec son riff basique mais hyper efficace doublé d’une montée en intensité toute en maîtrise. L’épileptique ‘Get Up’ se fait endiablé et débridé et ne manque pas de références à Van Halen. Enfin, ‘Sands Of Time’ vient clôturer l’ensemble de manière monumentale et majestueuse avec ses légères touches orientales qui rappellent forcement le ‘Kashmir’ de Led Zeppelin.

Sans un ou deux titres légèrement plus faibles, ce nouvel opus avait donc tout du sans-faute caractérisant les œuvres incontournables. "Flesh & Blood" s’inscrit néanmoins parmi les meilleurs albums de Whitesnake, qui profite de l’occasion pour prouver sa grande forme et rappeler qu’il est un monument avec lequel il faut toujours compter. Les amateurs apprécieront et ils ne se priveront pas d’un cadeau aussi savoureux. Quant aux autres, voici pour eux une belle occasion de découvrir la légende de la meilleure des manières.

Plus d'information sur http://whitesnake.com/redsite/index.asp

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
DEEP PURPLE, DEF LEPPARD, HOUSE OF LORDS, VOODOO CIRCLE, IRON MASK, COLDSPELL, HARD, FIRE, POWERWORLD, SORA

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Good To See You Again - 3:42
02. Gonna Be Alright - 3:51
03. Shut Up & Kiss Me - 3:37
04. Hey You (you Make Me Rock) - 5:29
05. Always & Forever - 3:53
06. When I Think Of You (color Me Blue) - 3:52
07. Trouble Is Your Middle Name - 4:17
08. Flesh & Blood - 5:18
09. Well I Never - 4:01
10. Heart Of Stone - 6:42
11. Get Up - 4:45
12. After All - 3:47
13. Sands Of Time - 6:09


FORMATION:
David Coverdale: Chant
Joel Hoekstra: Guitares
Michael Devin: Basse
Michele Luppi: Claviers
Reb Beach: Guitares
Tommy Aldridge: Batterie


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Bluesy, Chant éraillé
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
TORPEDO - 25/05/2019 09:05:06
Entièrement d'accord ! A part une ou deux chansons un peu mièvres, voilà un excellent album de Hard Rock pêchu. Je pensais pas Coverdale encore capable de nous sortir des titres aussi accrocheurs...
2474
 
EN RELATION AVEC WHITESNAKE
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
WHITESNAKE: Tous les détails sur "Flesh & Blood"
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant WHITESNAKE
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (3 avis)
4/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT WHITESNAKE
 
WHITESNAKE_Flesh--Blood Flesh & Blood (2019)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / HARD ROCK
WHITESNAKE_The-Purple-Album The Purple Album (2015)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / HARD ROCK
WHITESNAKE_Forevermore Forevermore (2011)
FRONTIERS RECORDS / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
WHITESNAKE_Good-To-Be-Bad Good To Be Bad (2008)
SPV STEAMHAMMER / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
WHITESNAKE_Live--In-The-Still-Of-The-Night Live... In The Still Of The Night (2006)
AFM RECORDS / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
WHITESNAKE_Restless-Heart Restless Heart (1997)
EMI / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
WHITESNAKE_Slip-Of-The-Tongue Slip Of The Tongue (1989)
EMI / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
WHITESNAKE_Whitesnake-1987 Whitesnake (1987) (1987)
EMI / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
WHITESNAKE_Slide-It-In Slide It In (1984)
EMI / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
WHITESNAKE_Saints--Sinners Saints & Sinners (1982)
EMI / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
WHITESNAKE_Come-An-Get-It Come An' Get It (1981)
GEFFEN / HARD ROCK
WHITESNAKE_Ready-An-Willing Ready An' Willing (1980)
EMI / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
WHITESNAKE_Live--In-The-Heart-Of-The-City Live... In The Heart Of The City (1980)
EMI / HARD ROCK
WHITESNAKE_Lovehunter Lovehunter (1979)
EMI / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
WHITESNAKE_Trouble Trouble (1978)
EMI / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
WHITESNAKE_Snakebite Snakebite (1978)
GEFFEN / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019