MW / Home / Reviews / PATTERN-SEEKING ANIMALS: Pattern-seeking Animals
BAND/AUTHOR:

PATTERN-SEEKING ANIMALS

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
PATTERN-SEEKING ANIMALS
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
INSIDEOUT MUSIC
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE ROCK
""Pattern-Seeking Animals" offers a very beautiful album, succeeding in delivering content that is both catchy and conceptual, with an impeccable interpretation."
DARIALYS - 04.07.2019 -
After Tool's return, Pattern-Seeking Animals' first eponymous album was certainly one of the most anticipated progressive rock albums of the year. And for good reason, the neo-supergroup's line-up is attractive. With Ted Leonard, Jimmy Keegan and Dave Meros, the Spock's Beard band is more than represented. To this trio is added John Boegehold, composer and producer, and his presence is decisive since he is the man behind the project. After writing several songs in early 2018, Boegehold was looking for musicians to record an album and then decided to focus on the three friends of the leading group on the American progressive scene, who would co-write some of the songs on the opus.

Musically, the strong man of the project himself says having tried to create a progressive and complex content, while keeping an immediate and melodic side. The first track of the album,'No Burden Left To Carry', will require several listenings to understand it as a whole and to appreciate it and its richness at their true value. Spock's Beard's influence is clear, as expected. The constructions are rich, the atmosphere changes are legion, giving the title a very dynamic aspect. In the same vein, on 'Orphans Of The Universe', Pattern-Seeking Animals does what it does best, namely convoluted developments and a sharpened sense of melody, while keeping an immediate side with a chorus, as often, well conducted.

The middle of the album tends to have a more pop/rock orientation, like "Noise Floor", the latest production of Spock's Beard. This doesn't prevent the band from making some very good songs. From the rock single 'No One Ever Died And Made Me King' to the magnificent romantic and very melodic ballad 'Fall Away' on which we could even dance a slow, as well as the very good 'These Are My Things' whose spirit could remind us of Blackfield's 'The Hole In Me', there is something for everyone, not to mention the nostalgic fans of the 100% progressive era of 'The Light', with Neal Morse in the lead.

Only the end of the album seems somewhat below the average quality level. 'No Land's Man' never really takes off and won't leave a lasting impression, while the last track 'Stars Along The Way' doesn't bring any real added value to the record, despite its ten minutes and its pleasant character.

This is therefore a first winning move for the new US band, which with "Pattern-Seeking Animals" offers a very beautiful album, succeeding in delivering content that is both catchy and conceptual, with an irreproachable interpretation. Good news for record lovers: John Boegehold has already announced that a first tour is planned, with one or two additional musicians to transcribe the energy and complexity of the record. Even better, still according to him, a second album is already being written... So if you are a fan of progressive music, hurry up and have a look at this first nugget, while waiting for the next one!

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/psanimals1

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

SPOCK'S BEARD, KAYAK

TRACK LISTING

01. No Burden Left to Carry
02. The Same Mistakes Again
03. Orphans of the Universe
04. No One Ever Died and Made Me King
05. Fall Away
06. These Are My Things
07. We Write the Ghost Stories
08. No Land's Man
09. Stars Along the Way


LINEUP

Jimmy Keegan: Chant / Batterie
Dave Meros: Basse
John Boegehold: Claviers
Ted Leonard: Chant / Guitares


TAGS:
70's, Easy Listening / FM, Fusion
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS PATTERN-SEEKING ANIMALS
LAST NEWS
PATTERN-SEEKING ANIMALS: Pattern-seeking Animals
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about PATTERN-SEEKING ANIMALS
 
RATING
 
4/5 (1 view(s))
3/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS PATTERN-SEEKING ANIMALS
 
PATTERN-SEEKING-ANIMALS_PATTERN-SEEKING-ANIMALS Pattern-seeking Animals (2019)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / PROGRESSIVE ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / PATTERN-SEEKING ANIMALS: Pattern-seeking Animals
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

PATTERN-SEEKING ANIMALS

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
PATTERN-SEEKING ANIMALS
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
INSIDEOUT MUSIC
GENRE:
ROCK PROGRESSIF
"Un premier coup gagnant pour la nouvelle formation US qui propose avec "Pattern-Seeking Animals" un très bel album, parvenant à délivrer un contenu à la fois accrocheur et conceptuel, avec une interprétation irréprochable."
DARIALYS - 04.07.2019 -
Après le retour de Tool, le premier album éponyme de Pattern-Seeking Animals était certainement l’un des albums de rock progressif les plus attendus de l’année. Et pour cause, le line-up du néo-supergroupe est alléchant. Avec Ted Leonard, Jimmy Keegan et Dave Meros, la formation de Spock’s Beard est plus que représentée. A ce trio s’ajoute John Boegehold, compositeur et producteur, et sa présence s’avère déterminante puisqu’il s’agit de l’homme à l’initiative du projet.

Après avoir écrit plusieurs chansons début 2018, Boegehold recherche des musiciens pour enregistrer un album et jette alors son dévolu sur les trois compères du groupe phare de la scène progressive américaine, qui co-écriront certains des titres de l’opus.

Musicalement, l’homme fort du projet raconte lui-même avoir cherché à créer un contenu progressif et complexe, tout en gardant un côté immédiat et mélodique. Dès le premier morceau de l’album, ‘No Burden Left To Carry’, on s’aperçoit que le combo a tapé en plein dans le mille. De par sa durée (dix minutes), le morceau nécessitera plusieurs écoutes pour appréhender la chanson dans sa globalité et apprécier le titre et sa richesse à leur juste valeur. L’influence Spock’s Beard est nette, comme on pouvait s’y attendre. Les constructions sont riches, les changements d’ambiance y sont légion, conférant au titre un aspect très dynamique. Dans la même veine, sur ‘Orphans Of The Universe’, Pattern-Seeking Animals fait ce qu’il sait faire le mieux, à savoir des développements alambiqués et un sens de la mélodie aiguisé, tout en gardant un côté immédiat avec un refrain, comme souvent, bien mené.

Le milieu de l’album tend à avoir une orientation plus pop/rock, à l’image de "Noise Floor", dernière réalisation de Spock’s Beard. Cela n’empêche pas le groupe de réaliser quelques très bons morceaux. Du single rock ‘No One Ever Died And Made Me King’ à la magnifique ballade romantique et très mélodique ‘Fall Away’ sur laquelle on pourrait même danser un slow, en passant par le très bon ‘These Are My Things’ dont l'esprit pourrait rappeler ‘The Hole In Me’ de Blackfield, il y en a pour tous les goûts, n’en déplaise aux nostalgiques de l’époque 100% progressive de "The Light", avec Neal Morse aux commandes.

Seule la fin de l’album semble quelque peu en-deçà du niveau de qualité moyen. ‘No Land’s Man’ ne décolle jamais vraiment et ne marquera pas les esprits, tandis que le dernier morceau ‘Stars Along The Way’ n’apporte pas de réelle plus-value au disque, malgré ses dix minutes et son caractère agréable.

C’est donc un premier coup gagnant pour la nouvelle formation US qui propose avec "Pattern-Seeking Animals" un très bel album, parvenant à délivrer un contenu à la fois accrocheur et conceptuel, avec une interprétation irréprochable. Bonne nouvelle pour les amateurs du disque : John Boegehold a d’ores et déjà annoncé qu’une première tournée était prévue, avec un ou deux musiciens supplémentaires pour retranscrire l’énergie et la complexité du disque. Mieux encore, toujours selon ses dires, un deuxième album serait déjà en cours d’écriture... Alors si vous êtes amateur de musique progressive, empressez-vous de jeter une oreille à cette première galette, en attendant la suite !

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/psanimals1

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
SPOCK'S BEARD, KAYAK

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. No Burden Left to Carry
02. The Same Mistakes Again
03. Orphans of the Universe
04. No One Ever Died and Made Me King
05. Fall Away
06. These Are My Things
07. We Write the Ghost Stories
08. No Land's Man
09. Stars Along the Way


FORMATION:
Jimmy Keegan: Chant / Batterie
Dave Meros: Basse
John Boegehold: Claviers
Ted Leonard: Chant / Guitares


TAGS:
70's, Accessible / FM, Fusion
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC PATTERN-SEEKING ANIMALS
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
PATTERN-SEEKING ANIMALS: Les détails sur leur album
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant PATTERN-SEEKING ANIMALS
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (1 avis)
3/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT PATTERN-SEEKING ANIMALS
 
PATTERN-SEEKING-ANIMALS_PATTERN-SEEKING-ANIMALS Pattern-seeking Animals (2019)
INSIDEOUT MUSIC / ROCK PROGRESSIF
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019