BAND/AUTHOR:

JOYOUS WOLF

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
PLACE IN TIME (2019)
LABEL:
ROADRUNNER RECORDS
GENRE:
HARD ROCK

"With this impeccable test run, setting for a rock'n' roll that is both robust and soft, Joyous Wolf should soon be making a name for itself."
CHILDERIC THOR - 18.06.2019 - (0) minds from our readers - (1) comment(s)
4/5
Joyous Wolf is the new sensation in electric big sound, bursting with robust energy and bluesy juice. Here we have four young Californians, including singer Nick Reese and drumer Robert Sodaro, met at school. Four guys whose friendship is cemented by their love of Rock with a big R, the one that smells (a little) under their arms, that makes boys want to drink beers and girls want to sway in front of a singer stirring and sexy. 

The fairy godmother Atlantic via Roadrunner leaned over their playground, smelling like a hen with golden eggs. Rightly so: everything is (already) there in these kids: the communicative strength, the compounds forged in the purest steel, the studied look but not too much, the spontaneity. And talent. Especially the talent, to write instant hymns and shine each in his own role, as in the great era of the 70s, to which Joyous Wolf naturally refers. Reese is a Robert Plant or David Coverdale ('Undesired') and the rhythmic puts on the thick clothes of a "Mountain" ('Mother Rebel'). But, with their vintage sound without being dusty, the Americans are careful to pour their antediluvian rock into a powerful mold. 

EP, however, almost half an hour long, "Place In Time" is their business card. Seven titles fill it. Prisoner of a heavy base, "Had Enough" starts the listening, managing to get the amateur hooked in a little over three minutes where the high-pitched vocals compete with a guitar dipped in the blues. Slower are 'Said Too Much' and the eponymous track, both formidable and sabred by Blake Allard's fiery six-stringed, generous in wah-wah effects. 'Quiet Heart', in turn overwhelming and sweet, and the ballad 'Feel The Low' offer the singer the opportunity to display his prowess and flexibility, as comfortable as he is in tenderness and in brute and bulletproof strength. As for the already mentioned "Mother Rebel" and "Undesired", the former has southern roots, the latter shines with a bluesy and racy glow, combining fire timbre, guitaristic projections and furry rhythmic. 

With this impeccable test run, setting for a rock'n' roll that is both robust and soft, Joyous Wolf should soon be making a name for itself. 

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/joyouswolf/



SIMILAR BANDS:
LED ZEPPELIN, WHITESNAKE

TRACK LISTING:
01. Had Enough - 3:40
02. Quiet Heart - 3:27
03. Said Too Much - 3:22
04. Place In Time - 3:46
05. Feel The Low - 5:06
06. Mother Rebel - 4:03
07. Undesired - 4:12


LINEUP:
Blake Allard: Guitares
Greg Braccio: Basse
Nick Reese: Chant
Robert Sodaro: Batterie


TAGS:
70's, Bluesy, Old School
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(1) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
TORPEDO - 18/06/2019 09:59:31
0
Certes c'est bien fait mais je trouve que le groupe n'apporte pas grand chose au genre... J'ai l'impression d'avoir déjà entendu ça des dizaines de fois...
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH JOYOUS WOLF
LAST NEWS
JOYOUS WOLF: Place In Time
All news about JOYOUS WOLF
RATING
- /5 (0 view(s)) 4/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
ED WYNNE: Shimmer Into Nature (2019)
PROGRESSIVE ROCK Finally, Ed Wynne offers us an album in line with his group's discography, tending to confirm the probable dormancy of his group for the benefit of solo productions.
 
NEXT REVIEW
TALIESYN II: Contes Apocryphes (2019)
PROGRESSIVE ROCK Equipped with a style that could be described as out of age, these "Apocryphal Tales" take us on paths that are certainly well marked but so well travelled that magic sets in immediately
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT JOYOUS WOLF
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / JOYOUS WOLF: Place In Time
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

JOYOUS WOLF

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
PLACE IN TIME
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
ROADRUNNER RECORDS
GENRE:
HARD ROCK
"Joyous Wolf réalise un galop d'essai impeccable, écrin d'un rock 'n' roll robuste et moelleux."
CHILDERIC THOR - 18.06.2019 -
Joyous Wolf est la nouvelle sensation en matière de gros son électrique, gorgé d'une énergie robuste et d'un jus bluesy. Ce sont quatre jeunes Californiens dont le gueulard Nick Reese et le cogneur Robert Sodaro qui se sont rencontrés sur les bancs de l'école. Quatre gaillards dont l'amitié est cimentée par leur amour du rock avec un grand R, celui qui sent (un peu) sous les bras, qui donne l'envie aux garçons de sucer des bières et aux filles d'onduler en avalant le flot vocal d'un chanteur aussi remuant que sexy.

La bonne fée Atlantic via Roadrunner s'est penchée sur leur cour de récréation, flairant la poule aux œufs d'or. A raison : tout y est (déjà) chez ces gamins : la force communicative, les compos forgées dans l'acier le plus pur, le look étudié mais pas trop, la spontanéité. Et le talent. Surtout le talent, pour écrire des hymnes instantanés et briller chacun à leur rôle, comme à la grande époque des années 70, à laquelle se réfère bien entendu Joyous Wolf. Reese s'époumone à la façon d'un Robert Plant ou d'un David Coverdale ('Undesired') et la rythmique enfile les habits épais d'un Mountain ('Mother Rebel'). Mais, avec leur son vintage sans être poussiéreux, les Américains ont soin de couler leur rock antédiluvien dans un moule puissant.

EP long cependant de près d'une demi-heure, "Place In Time" est leur carte de visite. Sept titres la remplissent. Prisonnier d'un socle lourd, 'Had Enough' lance l'écoute, réussissant à ferrer l'amateur en un peu plus de trois minutes où les vocalises haut perchées rivalisent avec une guitare trempée dans le blues. Plus lents se veulent 'Said Too Much' et le morceau éponyme, tous les deux redoutables et que sabre la six-cordes fougueuse de Blake Allard, généreuse en wah-wah humide. 'Quiet Heart', tour à tour écrasant et doux, et la ballade 'Feel The Low' offrent au chanteur l'occasion d'étaler ses prouesses et sa souplesse, aussi à l'aise qu'il est dans la tendresse que dans la force brute et couillue. Quant aux déjà cités 'Mother Rebel' et 'Undesired', le premier arbore des racines sudistes, le second brille d'un éclat bluesy et racé, combinant timbre de feu, saillies guitaristiques et rythmique bourrue.

Fort de ce galop d'essai impeccable, écrin d'un rock 'n' roll à la fois robuste et moelleux, Joyous Wolf devrait très vite faire parler de lui. 

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/joyouswolf/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
LED ZEPPELIN, WHITESNAKE

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Had Enough - 3:40
02. Quiet Heart - 3:27
03. Said Too Much - 3:22
04. Place In Time - 3:46
05. Feel The Low - 5:06
06. Mother Rebel - 4:03
07. Undesired - 4:12


FORMATION:
Blake Allard: Guitares
Greg Braccio: Basse
Nick Reese: Chant
Robert Sodaro: Batterie


TAGS:
70's, Bluesy, Old School
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
TORPEDO - 18/06/2019 09:59:31
Certes c'est bien fait mais je trouve que le groupe n'apporte pas grand chose au genre... J'ai l'impression d'avoir déjà entendu ça des dizaines de fois...
2480
 
EN RELATION AVEC JOYOUS WOLF
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
JOYOUS WOLF: Les détails sur "Place In Time"
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant JOYOUS WOLF
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT JOYOUS WOLF
 
JOYOUS-WOLF_Place-In-Time Place In Time (2019)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / HARD ROCK
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019