BAND/AUTHOR:

BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
WESTERN STARS (2019)
LABEL:
COLUMBIA
GENRE:
ROCK

"Of a delicate and sweet beauty, this new opus will enchant you."
LOLOCELTIC - 04.07.2019 - (0) minds from our readers - (1) comment(s)
4/5
Although he hasn't released an official album since 2014 ("High Hopes"), the Boss hasn't remained inactive for all that, quite the contrary! Between an EP ("American Beauty" - 2014), a compilation ("Chapter And Verse" - 2016), an autobiography (Born To Run - 2017), a live album ("Springsteen On Broadway" - 2018) and three sets, we can say that he even spoilt his fans. However, in the absence of his E-Street Band, this period is very similar to an introspection phase whose end was announced for the end of 2019 - beginning of 2020 with an opus with his historical formation. In the meantime, Bruce Springsteen still offers a new album entitled "Western Stars" recorded with studio musicians and again produced by Ron Aniello.

The living legend is not known for being trapped in caricature and is accustomed to regularly questioning and endangering himself. "Nebraska" (1982), "The Ghost Of Tom Joad" (1995) or in another genre, "High Hopes" (2014) are the best known examples. With this new opus, the Boss has decided to pay tribute to his idols such as Roy Orbison or Burt Bucharach, while offering an introspective work. The production offers many instrumental flights with sections of strings and brass, giving a very cinematic aspect to the ensemble. The tribute to pop-rock in the late 1960s and early 1970s is obvious but, and how could it be otherwise with this monument, it never falls into plagiarism.

With this "Western Stars", Bruce Springsteen manages to combine the vision of open spaces with stories of bikers ('Hitch Hikin''), trains taking the narrator to his fate ('Tucson Train') or stuntmen from B series ('Drive Fast (The Stuntman)), and more refined and intimate pieces ('Western Stars', 'Somewhere North Of Nashville' or 'Moonlight Motel'). The risk taking is obvious and the Boss is once again out of its comfort zone. To do this, he usually uses a calm and soft song, pushing his legendary organ only with rare exceptions ('There Goes My Miracle'). Allowing to keep a variety in the atmosphere, 'Sleepy Joe's Café' is made playful with its accordion and banjo, while 'Hello Sunshine' is committed to the highways dear to country music.

Once again, the Boss will divide, but at almost 70 years of age, there is little chance that this will upset him more than throughout his career. "Western Stars" is a rich and melancholic new work. The storytelling skills of its author once again took the listener along American roads to cross the fates and the shattered dreams of the less fortunate classes. Of a delicate and sweet beauty, this new opus will take its time to enchant you.

More informations on http://brucespringsteen.net/



SIMILAR BANDS:
MIKE TRAMP, JIMMY BARNES, MANFRED MANN'S EARTH BAND, BRYAN ADAMS, BON JOVI, THE ROLLING STONES, DIRE STRAITS, TODD GRIFFIN

TRACK LISTING:
01. Hitch Hikin' - 3:37
02. The Wayfarer - 4:18
03. Tucson Train - 3:31
04. Western Stars - 4:41
05. Sleepy Joe's Café - 3:14
06. Drive Fast (The Stuntman) - 4:16
07. Chasin' Wild Horses - 5:03
08. Sundown - 3:17
09. Somewhere North of Nashville - 1:52
10. Stones - 4:44
11. There Goes My Miracle - 4:05
12. Hello Sunshine - 3:56
13. Moonlight Motel - 4:16


LINEUP:
Bruce Springsteen: Chant / Guitares
Charlie Giordano: Accordéon
David Sancious: Claviers
Ron Aniello: Basse / Claviers
Soozie Tyrell: Violon
Jon Brion: Claviers / Invité / Celesta, Moog
Patti Scalfia: Chant / Invité


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Folk, Intimist, Melancholic, Rasping voice
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(1) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
TORPEDO - 04/07/2019 11:36:56
0
C'est vrai que certaines chansons sont poignantes mais dans l'ensemble, l'album reste un peu trop simpliste et malheureusement ennuyeux.
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN
LAST NEWS
BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN: Western Stars
All news about BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN
RATING
3/5 (1 view(s)) 3.5/5 (2 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
JIRFIYA: Waiting For Dawn (2019)
ROCK Jirfiya is a successful and already mature project that suffers from only one defect, that of being too short, and whose music is a setting in which the singer's magnificent voice is nestled.
 
NEXT REVIEW
PATTERN-SEEKING ANIMALS: Pattern-seeking Animals (2019)
PROGRESSIVE ROCK "Pattern-Seeking Animals" offers a very beautiful album, succeeding in delivering content that is both catchy and conceptual, with an impeccable interpretation.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN: Western Stars
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
WESTERN STARS
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
COLUMBIA
GENRE:
ROCK
"Le Boss offre une nouvelle œuvre qui prend son temps pour envoûter l’auditeur avec une richesse aussi foisonnante que mélancolique."
LOLOCELTIC - 04.07.2019 -
S’il n’a pas sorti d’album officiel depuis 2014 ("High Hopes"), le Boss n’est pas resté inactif pour autant, bien au contraire ! Entre un EP ("American Beauty" – 2014), une compilation ("Chapter And Verse" – 2016), une autobiographie (Born To Run – 2017), un live ("Springsteen On Broadway" – 2018) et trois coffrets, on peut dire qu’il a même gâté ses fans. Pourtant, en l’absence de son E-Street Band, cette période ressemble beaucoup à une phase d’introspection dont le terme a été annoncé pour fin 2019 – début 2020 avec un opus en compagnie de sa formation historique. En attendant, Bruce Springsteen offre tout de même un nouvel album intitulé "Western Stars" enregistré avec des musiciens de studio et à nouveau produit par Ron Aniello.

La légende vivante n’est pas réputée pour se laisser enfermer dans l’auto-caricature et a pour habitude de se remettre régulièrement en question et en danger. "Nebraska" (1982), "The Ghost Of Tom Joad" (1995) ou dans un autre genre, "High Hopes" (2014) en sont les exemples les plus connus. Avec ce nouvel opus, le Boss a décidé de rendre hommage à ses idoles telles que Roy Orbison ou Burt Bucharach, tout en proposant une œuvre introspective. La production offre de nombreuses envolées instrumentales avec des sections de cordes et de cuivres fournies, donnant un côté très cinématique à l’ensemble. L’hommage à la pop-rock de la fin des années 60 et du début des années 70 est évident mais, et comment pourrait-il en être autrement avec ce monument, il ne tombe jamais dans le plagiat.

Avec ce "Western Stars", Bruce Springsteen réussit à marier la vision des grands espaces avec des histoires de motards (‘Hitch Hikin’ ’), de trains emmenant le narrateur vers son destin (‘Tucson Train’) ou de cascadeurs de séries B (‘Drive Fast (The Stuntman)), et des pièces plus épurées et intimistes (‘Western Stars’, ‘Somewhere North Of Nashville’ ou ‘Moonlight Motel’). La prise de risque est évidente et le Boss sort encore une fois de sa zone de confort. Pour ce faire, il utilise le plus souvent un chant calme et doux, ne poussant son légendaire organe qu’à de rares exceptions (‘There Goes My Miracle’). Permettant de garder une variété dans les ambiances, ‘Sleepy Joe’s Café’ se fait enjoué avec son accordéon et son banjo, alors que ‘Hello Sunshine’ s’engage sur les highways chères à la country.

Une fois de plus, le Boss va diviser mais à bientôt 70 ans, il y a peu de chance pour que cela le chagrine plus que tout au long de sa carrière. "Western Stars" est une nouvelle œuvre à la richesse aussi foisonnante que mélancolique. Les talents de conteur de son auteur emportent à nouveau l’auditeur le long des routes américaines pour y croiser les destins et les rêves brisés des classes les moins favorisées. D’une beauté délicate et douce, ce nouvel opus prendra son temps pour vous envoûter si vous lui en laissez le temps, et vous auriez tort de vous en priver.

Plus d'information sur http://brucespringsteen.net/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
BON JOVI, DIRE STRAITS, THE ROLLING STONES, MANFRED MANN'S EARTH BAND, MIKE TRAMP, BRYAN ADAMS, TODD GRIFFIN, JIMMY BARNES

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Hitch Hikin' - 3:37
02. The Wayfarer - 4:18
03. Tucson Train - 3:31
04. Western Stars - 4:41
05. Sleepy Joe's Café - 3:14
06. Drive Fast (The Stuntman) - 4:16
07. Chasin' Wild Horses - 5:03
08. Sundown - 3:17
09. Somewhere North of Nashville - 1:52
10. Stones - 4:44
11. There Goes My Miracle - 4:05
12. Hello Sunshine - 3:56
13. Moonlight Motel - 4:16


FORMATION:
Bruce Springsteen: Chant / Guitares
Charlie Giordano: Accordéon
David Sancious: Claviers
Ron Aniello: Basse / Claviers
Soozie Tyrell: Violon
Jon Brion: Claviers / Invité / Celesta, Moog
Patti Scalfia: Chant / Invité


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Folk, Intimiste, Mélancolique, Chant éraillé
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
TORPEDO - 04/07/2019 11:36:56
C'est vrai que certaines chansons sont poignantes mais dans l'ensemble, l'album reste un peu trop simpliste et malheureusement ennuyeux.
2489
 
EN RELATION AVEC BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN: Les détails sur le nouvel album
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN
 
NOTES
 
3.5/5 (2 avis)
3/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN
 
BRUCE-SPRINGSTEEN_Western-Stars Western Stars (2019)
COLUMBIA / ROCK
BRUCE-SPRINGSTEEN_High-Hopes High Hopes (2014)
COLUMBIA / ROCK
BRUCE-SPRINGSTEEN_Tunnel-Of-Love Tunnel Of Love (1987)
COLUMBIA / ROCK
BRUCE-SPRINGSTEEN_Born-In-The-U-S-A- Born In The U.s.a. (1984)
COLUMBIA / ROCK
BRUCE-SPRINGSTEEN_Nebraska Nebraska (1982)
COLUMBIA / ROCK
BRUCE-SPRINGSTEEN_The-River The River (1980)
COLUMBIA / ROCK
BRUCE-SPRINGSTEEN_Darkness-On-The-Edge-Of-Town Darkness On The Edge Of Town (1978)
COLUMBIA / ROCK
BRUCE-SPRINGSTEEN_Born-To-Run Born To Run (1975)
COLUMBIA / ROCK
BRUCE-SPRINGSTEEN_The-Wild-The-Innocent--The-E-Street-Shuffle The Wild, The Innocent & The E-street Shuffle (1973)
COLUMBIA / ROCK
BRUCE-SPRINGSTEEN_Greetings-From-Asbury-Park-N-j- Greetings From Asbury Park N.j. (1972)
COLUMBIA / ROCK
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019