MW / Home / Reviews / WHEEL: Moving Backwards
BAND/AUTHOR:

WHEEL

(FINLAND)

TITLE:
MOVING BACKWARDS
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE METAL
"While waiting for the release of the future Tool, take a look at this "Wheel" which has everything you need to wait and stay attached to your turntables long after."
PROGRACER - 23.05.2019 -
Cool, the latest Tool album is finally out! Well, no, it's not them, but it looks furious. If the Arlesian is announced for the end of the summer (I ask to hear it before I believe it), Music Waves offers Californian fans the opportunity to listen to Wheel's first album while waiting for it to be released. 

Wheel is an Anglo-Finnish alternative metal band... à la Tool. James Lascelles emigrated to Finland to pursue his musical career in latitudes more favourable to his aspirations, and founded the group in 2017, surrounded by Roni Seppänen on guitar, Mikko Määttä on bass and Santeri Saksala on drums. After two promising EPs, "Moving Backwards", released in spring 2019, is a blend of progressive, grunge, and post rock. Metal or rock? Both: It depends on the passage you listen to so much that the two mix to form a homogeneous whole, and, after all, it doesn't matter as long as you enjoy it. 

Three choice tracks in this album starting with the dazzling 'Wheel' whose tribal percussion intro devastates everything in its path. Santeri Saksal's performance is breathtaking, especially on the two-minute intro, the rest oscillating between disturbing and heavy raging atmospheres. The very varied singing flirts sometimes with Maynard J. Keenan, sometimes with Dave Grolh on the most agressive passages. The Quebec Myxomatosis fan will also discover similarities. Tyrant' draws more towards Riverside with its very present heavy bass and ethereal ambiences, even if the rougher finish refers to the grunge era of the early 1990s. As for'Lacking', which closes the album, it marks a return to ethnic percussion and the coldness of alternative metal of Tool, with large reinforcements of very low tuned bass, sharp guitars and James Lascelles' very expressive vocals. The finale ends the opus in a deluge of decibels that takes its toll by recalling the mythical 46 & 2 of Maynard's gang. 

The instrumental "Skeletons" pulls in the same direction, by the cinematographic beauty of its dark and disturbing ambiences. Listening to the other tracks, the attentive listener will be attracted by the prog metal sounds of an incisive "Vultures", and by the contained and controlled rage of "Where The Pieces Lie" and "Up The Chain" that a certain Alice, also in chains, would not have denied.  

It is likely that without a certain sound linearity, the album could easily have been able to reach the maximum note as the energy deployed by the Helsinki quartet is so intense and mastered from beginning to end. Much better than a simple hobby while waiting for the still hypothetical Tool album, this Wheel is worth as much for its proximity to the Americans as for the astonishing personality it shows. Their raging album, between shadow and light, where technical mastery, impeccable production, intelligent writing and cleverly worked atmospheres, has everything to become your bedside album until the release of the next Tool, and even much later.

More informations on

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

THE MARS VOLTA, TOOL, ALICE IN CHAINS, MYXOMATOSIS, FOO FIGHTERS

TRACK LISTING

01. Vultures
02. Wheel
03. Tyrant
04. Up The Chain
05. Skeletons
06. Where The Pieces Lie
07. Lacking


LINEUP

James Lascelles: Chant / Guitares
Mikko Määttä: Basse
Roni Seppänen: Guitares
Santeri Saksala: Batterie


TAGS:
90's, Groovy, Heavy, Dark, Technical
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
STRUCK - 27/06/2019 13:05:53
Mettez beaucoup d'influences Tool, un zeste grunge de Foo Fighters et vous obtenez ce super ensemble addictif qui comme l'écrit fort bien ProgRacer est une mise en bouche idéale avant la sortie de l'outil préféré de Maynard...
11486
 
LINKS WHEEL
 
RATING
 
4/5 (3 view(s))
2/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS WHEEL
 
WHEEL_moving-backwards Moving Backwards (2019)
AUTRE LABEL / PROGRESSIVE METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / WHEEL: Moving Backwards
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

WHEEL

(FINLANDE)

TITRE:
MOVING BACKWARDS
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
METAL PROGRESSIF
"En attendant la sortie du futur Tool, jetez une oreille sur ce Wheel qui a tout pour vous faire patienter et pour rester accroché à vos platines encore bien après."
PROGRACER - 23.05.2019 -
Cool, le dernier album de Tool est enfin sorti ! Ah bah non, c'est pas eux, mais ça y ressemble furieusement. Si l'Arlésienne est annoncée pour la fin de l'été (nous demandons à l'entendre avant d'y croire), Music Waves propose aux fans des Californiens de jeter une oreille au premier album de Wheel pour patienter.

Wheel est un groupe anglo-finlandais de metal alternatif... à la Tool. Émigré en Finlande pour poursuivre sa carrière musicale sous des latitudes plus propices à ses aspirations, James Lascelles fonde le groupe en 2017, entouré de Roni Seppänen à la guitare, de Mikko Määttä à la basse et de Santeri Saksala à la batterie. Après deux EPs prometteurs, "Moving Backwards", sorti au printemps 2019, est un assemblage de progressif, de grunge, de post rock. Metal ou rock ? Les deux : tout dépend du passage que vous écoutez tant les deux se mêlent pour former un tout homogène, et, après tout, peu importe tant qu'on a l'ivresse.

Trois morceaux de choix dans cet album à commencer par l'éblouissant 'Wheel' dont l'intro aux percussions tribales dévaste tout sur son passage. La performance de Santeri Saksal est époustouflante surtout sur l'intro de plus de deux minutes, le reste oscillant entre ambiances inquiétantes et heavy rageur. Le chant très varié flirte tantôt avec Maynard J. Keenan, tantôt avec Dave Grolh sur les passages les plus énervés. L'amateur des Québécois de Myxomatosis y décèlera également des similitudes. 'Tyrant' tire plus vers Riverside avec sa basse lourde très présente et ses ambiances éthérées, même si le final plus rugueux renvoie à l'époque grunge du début des années 90. Quant à 'Lacking' qui clôt l'album, il marque un retour aux percussions ethniques et à la froideur du metal alternatif à la Tool, à grands renforts de basse accordée très bas, de guitares acérées et du chant très expressif de James Lascelles. Le final achève l'opus dans un déluge de décibels qui prend aux tripes en rappelant le mythique 46 & 2 de la bande à Maynard.

L'instrumental 'Skeletons' tire  dans la même direction, par la beauté cinématographique de ses ambiances sombres et inquiétantes. En écoutant les autres titres, l'auditeur attentif sera attiré par les sonorités metal prog d'un 'Vultures' incisif et par la rage contenue et maîtrisée de 'Where The Pieces Lie' et de 'Up The Chain' qu'une certaine Alice, elle aussi enchaînée, n'aurait pas reniés. 

Il y a fort à parier que sans une certaine linéarité sonore, l'album aurait facilement pu briguer la note maximale tant l'énergie déployée par le quatuor d'Helsinki est prenante et maîtrisée du début à la fin. Bien mieux qu'un simple passe-temps en attendant le toujours hypothétique  album de Tool, ce Wheel vaut autant par la proximité avec les Américains que par l'étonnante personnalité dont il sait faire preuve. Leur album rageur, entre ombre et lumière, où se mélangent maîtrise technique, production impeccable, écriture intelligente et ambiances savamment travaillées, a tout pour devenir votre album de chevet jusqu'à la sortie du prochain Tool, et même bien après.

Plus d'information sur

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
THE MARS VOLTA, TOOL, ALICE IN CHAINS, MYXOMATOSIS, FOO FIGHTERS

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Vultures
02. Wheel
03. Tyrant
04. Up The Chain
05. Skeletons
06. Where The Pieces Lie
07. Lacking


FORMATION:
James Lascelles: Chant / Guitares
Mikko Määttä: Basse
Roni Seppänen: Guitares
Santeri Saksala: Batterie


TAGS:
90's, Groovy, Lourde, Sombre, Technique
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
STRUCK - 27/06/2019 13:05:53
Mettez beaucoup d'influences Tool, un zeste grunge de Foo Fighters et vous obtenez ce super ensemble addictif qui comme l'écrit fort bien ProgRacer est une mise en bouche idéale avant la sortie de l'outil préféré de Maynard...
11486
 
EN RELATION AVEC WHEEL
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (3 avis)
2/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT WHEEL
 
WHEEL_moving-backwards Moving Backwards (2019)
AUTRE LABEL / METAL PROGRESSIF
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019