MW / Home / Reviews / JIRFIYA: Waiting For Dawn
BAND/AUTHOR:

JIRFIYA

(FRANCE)

TITLE:
WAITING FOR DAWN
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
ROCK
"Jirfiya is a successful and already mature project that suffers from only one defect, that of being too short, and whose music is a setting in which the singer's magnificent voice is nestled."
CALGEPO - 03.07.2019 -
While we were expecting the release of the second chapter of Born From Lie's "New World Order", Jérôme and Pascal, both founding members, are back with a new project called Jirfiya and its EP "Waiting For Dawn", accompanied by singer Ingrid Denis-Payet (Oscil, Mercibo).

If this realization may surprise by its suddenness, it is nonetheless the testimony of the creative spirit of Jérôme and Pascal in its deepest sense. It must also be said that Jirfiya is above all the result of an artistic encounter with Ingrid that allows the two musicians to go beyond what they propose within Born From Lie. Thus presented, the EP is very feminine in the sense that it shows an exacerbated melodic search while remaining in the spirit of the original, heavy and powerful band. The approach is thus similar to that of an Ayreon because of his many duels between female and male voices, accentuating the very cinematographic aspect of Jérôme's writing.

This desire to sound very melodic is immediately present with pretty almost Hispanic acoustic guitar chords that welcome the listener and then disappear into sound smoke after a catchy electric furia ('The Report Card'). Ingrid's singing is expressed in a rather raging way, enhanced by Jérôme who is growing better and better. May the refractories of this technique be reassured, throughout the album, these lines, which remain relatively discreet, blend very well with the concept of struggle, doubts and introspection that makes up the foundation of the album.

In this EP, everything is done to highlight Ingrid's voice both in terms of very well written compositions and a very balanced production. The performer thus embraces all the themes of the album, which denounces an increasingly dark society in which everyone will have their own perception, alternating fragility, sensuality and strength. She succeeds in the often dangerous bet of never overplaying the emotion that permeates the album, as in the magnificent ballad "A Part Of Light", which is devilishly effective, with its heady chorus. In 'Waiting For Your Fall', Ingrid demonstrates a beautiful vocal technique with a screamed song that exalts rage at certain heinous acts often justified in the name of religion on the orders of preachers. In this song, the band dares to use a few anathematical notes as an introduction. The combination of highly expressive, sharp guitar solos and a varied rhythmic style gives the album its epic and energetic aspects, as can a good old Maiden, thus creating a setting in which Ingrid's vocal lines are nestled. The listener will also be able to think about other themes such as violence against women, harassment, life that passes quickly ('Under Control' that alternates mid tempo and more brutal passages).

More than a spin of Born From Lie, Jirfiya is a successful and already mature project that suffers from only one defect, that of being too short. The musicians have made progress in their approach to their writing, which is more direct, less convoluted and in their interpretation. If the 3 Graces on the cover hide their eyes from seeing the world as it is now, don't plug your ears to fully enjoy a record that will delight fans of epic heavy metal and pretty female voices like Sharon Den Adel or Anneke Van Giesbergen.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/jirfiya-2276887239252675/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

IRON MAIDEN, AYREON, WITHIN TEMPTATION, ANNEKE VAN GIERSBERGEN

TRACK LISTING

01. The report card
02. Under Control
03. To be saved
04. A Part Of Light
05. Waiting for your fall


LINEUP

Ingrid Denis-payet: Chant
Jérôme Thellier: Guitares
Pascal Davoury: Basse
Thomas H.: Batterie / Invité


TAGS:
80's, 90's, Epic, Concept-album, Female voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS JIRFIYA
LAST NEWS
JIRFIYA: Wait For Dawn
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about JIRFIYA
 
RATING
 
4/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS JIRFIYA
 
JIRFIYA_Waiting-For-Dawn Waiting For Dawn (2019)
AUTRE LABEL / ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / JIRFIYA: Waiting For Dawn
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

JIRFIYA

(FRANCE)

TITRE:
WAITING FOR DAWN
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
ROCK
"Plus qu’un spin of de Born From Lie, Jirfiya est un projet abouti et déjà mature qui ne souffre que d’un seul défaut, celui d’être trop court, et dont la musique est un écrin dans lequel se love la voix magnifique de la chanteuse."
CALGEPO - 03.07.2019 -
Alors que nous nous attendions  à la sortie du second chapitre de "New World Order" de Born From Lie, Jérôme et Pascal, tous deux membres fondateurs, reviennent avec un nouveau projet nommé Jirfiya et son EP "Waiting For Dawn", accompagnés par la chanteuse Ingrid Denis-Payet (Oscil, Mercibo).

Si cette réalisation peut surprendre par sa soudaineté, elle n’en demeure pas moins le témoignage de l’esprit créatif de Jérôme et Pascal dans ce qu’il y a de plus profond. Il faut dire aussi que Jirfiya est avant tout le fruit d’une rencontre artistique avec Ingrid  qui permet aux deux musiciens d’aller au-delà de ce qu’ils proposent au sein de Born From Lie et de ne pas tomber dans une routine qui pourrait être dévastatrice pour un artiste, quel qu’il soit. Ainsi présenté, l’EP se veut ainsi très féminin dans le sens où il fait preuve d’une recherche mélodique exacerbée tout en restant dans l’esprit du groupe originel, heavy et puissant. La démarche se rapproche ainsi d’un Ayreon en raison de ses nombreux duels voix féminine et masculine accentuant l’aspect très cinématographique de l’écriture de Jérôme.

Cette volonté de sonner très mélodique est présente d’emblée avec de jolis accords de guitare acoustique quasi hispaniques qui accueillent l’auditeur pour ensuite disparaître en fumée sonore après une furia électrique accrocheuse (‘The Report Card’). Le chant d’Ingrid s’exprime de façon plutôt rageuse, rehaussé par Jérôme qui growle de mieux en mieux. Que les réfractaires de cette technique soient rassurés, tout au long de l’album, ces lignes, qui restent relativement discrètes, se marient très bien au concept de lutte, de doutes et d’introspection qui fait le lit de l’album.

Dans cet EP, tout est fait  pour mettre en valeur la voix d’Ingrid tant sur le plan des compositions très bien écrites qu'au niveau d'une production très équilibrée. L’interprète épouse ainsi tous les thèmes de l’album qui dénonce une société de plus en plus sombre face à laquelle chacun aura sa perception alternant la fragilité, la sensualité et la force. Elle réussit le pari souvent périlleux de ne jamais surjouer l’émotion qui transpire de l’album comme dans la magnifique ballade ‘A Part Of Light’ diablement efficace, au refrain entêtant alors qu’il aurait été facile de tomber dans le sucré qui dégouline souvent de ce genre. Tel n’est pas le cas ici. Dans 'Waiting For Your Fall', Ingrid fait preuve d’une belle technique vocale avec un chant hurlé qui exalte la rage vis-à-vis de certains actes odieux souvent justifiés au nom de la religion sur les ordres de prêcheurs qui n’en ont que faire et qui finiront par en périr. Dans ce morceau, le groupe ose quelques notes anathémiennes en introduction. L’alliance des solos de guitares très expressifs, tranchants et d’une rythmique variée insuffle à l'album ses aspects épique et énergique, comme peut l’être un bon vieux Maiden, matérialisant ainsi  un écrin dans lequel se lovent les lignes vocales d’Ingrid. L’auditeur pourra aussi penser à d'autres thèmes comme celui de la violence faite aux femmes, le harcèlement,  la vie qui passe vite et nous met dans une situation d’emprise aux ressorts psychologiques puissants (‘Under Control’ qui alterne mid tempo et passages plus brutaux).

Plus qu’un spin of de Born From Lie, Jirfiya est un projet abouti et déjà mature qui ne souffre que d’un seul défaut, celui d’être trop court. Les musiciens ont progressé dans leur manière d’aborder leur écriture, plus directe, moins alambiquée et dans leur interprétation. Si les 3 Grâces présentes sur la pochette se cachent les yeux pour ne pas voir le monde tel qu’il se présente actuellement, ne vous bouchez pas les oreilles pour profiter pleinement d’un disque qui ravira les fans de heavy metal épique et de jolies voix féminines à la Sharon Den Adel ou Anneke Van Giesbergen.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/jirfiya-2276887239252675/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
IRON MAIDEN, AYREON, WITHIN TEMPTATION, ANNEKE VAN GIERSBERGEN

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. The report card
02. Under Control
03. To be saved
04. A Part Of Light
05. Waiting for your fall


FORMATION:
Ingrid Denis-payet: Chant
Jérôme Thellier: Guitares
Pascal Davoury: Basse
Thomas H.: Batterie / Invité


TAGS:
80's, 90's, Epique, Concept-album, Chant féminin
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC JIRFIYA
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
JIRFIYA TIRE DES PLANS SUR LA COMETE...
INTERVIEW

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant JIRFIYA
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Music Waves est parti à la rencontre de la comète Jirfiya notamment Ingrid et Pascal afin de nous parler du premier EP du groupe, première pierre à un édifice plus grand.

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant JIRFIYA
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT JIRFIYA
 
JIRFIYA_Waiting-For-Dawn Waiting For Dawn (2019)
AUTRE LABEL / ROCK
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019