MW / Home / Reviews / OPETH: In Cauda Venenum
BAND/AUTHOR:

OPETH

(SWEDEN)

TITLE:
IN CAUDA VENENUM
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE METAL
"Not surprisingly, "In Cauda Venenum" offers a progressive 70's rock tinted with rich and interesting metal despite some sins of pride. An expected and convincing release, again."
PROGRACER - 06.09.2019 -
It has now been almost ten years since Opeth made a radical artistic shift from death to a seventies-inspired progressive rock. However, there are still some who are against this new direction instead of rejoicing, going to see elsewhere or plunging back into the Swedish combo's rich past discography. 

But since "Sorceress" appeared in 2016, the mockery does not come only from nostalgic people, and the coherence of the group's outings raises questions. In other words, Opeth's 2019 vintage is awaited with interest to see if Mikael Akerfeld's band is able to renew itself and delight fans once again.

The first contact with the object is through a familiar artwork, once again by Travis Smith, which is very similar to previous albums, even if it has a darker and more intriguing aspect with this demon who dangerously threatens members of the band. As for the album itself, it contains two versions. A Swedish one, created first and an English one for those who would not appreciate singing in Swedish. Purists will prefer the first one but we must confess is quite convincing even if Mikael Akerfeld's singing is a little less inhabited there. It will however be more affordable but the original one gives a beautiful authenticity to the whole.

The first bars of 'Svekets Prins' ('Dignity') reveal a sound now familiar and characteristic of the combo that skillfully blends acoustic and electric guitars into an energetic riff. The singing (clear, of course) occurs during a sudden rhythmic rupture reminiscent of the group's glorious hours of glory in its death period. This constant in the variations of tempos will come back regularly in the album, as will the sequence of various melodies within the songs themselves, as in 'Ingen Sanning Är Allas' ('Universal Truth') or 'Svekets Prins' ('Dignity'). From this opening track (except for the introductory song'Livets Trädgård' ('Garden Of Earthly Delights'), the riffs are heavy and convoluted, sometimes multi-layered, with De Närmast Sörjande ('Next Of Kin') being the winner in this aspect, which could compete in the longest riff category in history. Sprawling!

Still very inspired by the progressive rock of the 70s, "In Cauda Venenum" is perhaps Opeth's most progressive album in many years. The alternation of moods, the evolving rhythms within each track, the exemplary interpretation of the musicians and the use of acoustic guitars to support Akesson's are striking examples. The guitarist's performance is to be highlighted because it contributes to the overall quality of the album. His solos are luminous and some phases are even memorable, such as the clear flying one that begins the first track. The variations in sound, playing and style make the whole thing particularly interesting.

Unfortunately, not everything is shiny on this album. A kind of repetitiveness is felt on some tracks, notably the verses of 'Hjärtat Vet Vad Handen Gör' ('Heart In Hand') while the acoustic finish is magnificent. Another weakness regards the melodies which are not the most immediate they ever wrote. There are even some that tend to sound alike and the first listening does not allow to clearly distinguish the songs that all have similar sounds. Only "Kontinuerlig Drift" ("Continuum") will immediately cling to your neurons with a light and catchy composition, a clarinet solo and then a controlled power afterwards. In another vein, Banemannen ('The Garroter') with a very jazzy Hispanic feel, and Minnets Yta ('Lovelorn Crime'), which a bright solo closes like a Burden on "Watershed" (2009), also stand out during the first attempts. Finally, Akerfeld has trouble erasing this unfortunate compositional tic of finishing his songs with long acoustic litanies, such as on 'Charlatan' and 'Ingen Sanning Är Allas' ('Universal Truth'), but he still shortened the exercise compared to the albums of the 2000s on which this gimmick were systematic until it became boring.

These few defects are largely compensated by a writing and composition quality well above average. Even if it will not be easy to swallow in one shot with its 68 minutes and because of a certain difficulty in clearly identifying the different pieces that compose it, "In Cauda Venenum" is another master piece in the group's rich career. Mikael Akerfeld has an impressive propensity to renew himself in writing and to offer rich and elaborate music. It will take a lot of listening to understand all the subtleties, but the band's fans, at least those of the latest albums, will be pleasantly paid back. Those who swear by the death of the pre-Heritage era,  will be paying their own way, but this is no longer a surprise. A major release in 2019 that is eagerly awaited and convincing. Again. 

More informations on http://www.opeth.com

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

PORCUPINE TREE, ENSLAVED, HAKEN, ANGLAGARD, KATATONIA, MASTODON, STEVEN WILSON, LEPROUS, TEXTURES, BARREN EARTH

TRACK LISTING

01. Livet’s Trädgård (Garden Of Earthly Delights) (Intro)
02. Svekets Prins (Dignity)
03. Hjärtat Vet Vad Handen Gör (Heart In Hand)
04. De Närmast Sörjande (Next Of Kin)
05. Minnets Yta (Lovelorn Crime)
06. Charlatan)
07. Ingen Sanning Är Allas (Universal Truth)
08. Banemannen (The Garroter)
09. Kontinuerlig Drift (Continuum)
10. Allting Tar Slut (All Things Will Pass)


LINEUP

Fredrik Åkesson: Guitares
Joakim Svalberg: Claviers
Martin Axenrot: Batterie
Martin Mendez: Basse
Mikael Akerfeld: Chant / Guitares


TAGS:
70's
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
NEWF - 06/09/2019 10:19:49
Un album qui prend son temps pour convaincre et dévoiler toutes ses subtilités de composition. Sans doute l’opus le plus éclectique et le plus progressif d’Opeth, mais aussi l’un des plus personnels de Mikael Akerfeldt, notamment dans sa version en suédois. Un album passionnant à écouter qui fait la part belle aux guitares acoustiques chères au groupe depuis toujours, même s’il est plus hermétique et plus conceptuel qu’à l’accoutumée.
2312499
 
LINKS OPETH
LAST NEWS
OPETH: New video
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about OPETH
 
LAST ARTICLE
Opeth, a leading figure in Swedish progressive metal, released his thirteenth album, "In Cauda Venenum". On this occasion, we went to meet the charismatic leader Mikael Akerfeldt!

Read the article
View all articles about OPETH
 
RATING
 
3.8/5 (6 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS OPETH
 
OPETH_In-Cauda-Venenum In Cauda Venenum (2019)
NUCLEAR BLAST / PROGRESSIVE METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / OPETH: In Cauda Venenum
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

OPETH

(SUÈDE)

TITRE:
IN CAUDA VENENUM
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
METAL PROGRESSIF
"Sans surprise, "In Cauda Venenum" propose un rock progressif 70 teinté de metal riche et intéressant malgré quelques pêchés d'orgueil. Une sortie attendue et convaincante, encore."
PROGRACER - 06.09.2019 -
Voilà maintenant près de dix ans que Opeth a opéré un virage artistique radical en délaissant le death au profit d'un progressif inspiré des seventies. Il en est pourtant encore certains qui pestent contre cette nouvelle orientation au lieu de s'en réjouir, d'aller voir ailleurs ou de se replonger dans la riche discographie passée du combo suédois. 

Mais depuis "Sorceress" paru en 2016, les railleries ne viennent pas que des nostalgiques, et la cohérence des sorties du groupe interroge. Autant dire que le cru 2019 d'Opeth est attendu avec intérêt pour voir si la bande de Mikael Akerfeld est capable de se renouveler et enchanter à nouveau les fans.

Le premier contact avec l'objet se fait via un artwork familier, une nouvelle fois signé Travis Smith, qui ressemble beaucoup aux précédents albums, même si celui-ci a un aspect plus sombre et intrigant avec ce démon qui menace dangereusement des membres du groupe. Quant à l'album en lui-même, il contient deux versions. Une suédoise créée en premier et une anglaise destinée à ceux qui n'apprécieraient pas le chant en suédois. Les puristes préféreront la première mais il faut reconnaître que la seconde n'a pas à démériter même si le chant de Mikael Akerfeld y est un peu moins habité. Elle sera toutefois plus abordable, mais l'originale pare l'ensemble d'une belle authenticité.

Les premières mesures de 'Svekets Prins' ('Dignity') font apparaître un son maintenant familier et caractéristique du combo qui mêle habilement guitares acoustiques et électriques au sein d'un riff énergique. Le chant (clair, bien sûr) survient lors d'une brutale rupture rythmique rappelant les glorieuses heures de gloire du groupe dans sa période death. Cette constante dans les variations de tempos va revenir régulièrement dans l'album, tout comme l'enchaînement de mélodies diverses au sein même des morceaux  ('Ingen Sanning Är Allas' ('Universal Truth') ou 'Svekets Prins' ('Dignity'). Dès le morceau inaugural (si l'on excepte l'introductif 'Livets Trädgård' ('Garden Of Earthly Delights')), les riffs sont lourds et alambiqués, parfois à multiples couches, la palme revenant en la matière à 'De Närmast Sörjande' ('Next Of Kin') qui pourrait concourir dans la catégorie du plus long riff de l'histoire. Tentaculaire !

Toujours très inspiré par le rock progressif des années 70, "In Cauda Venenum" est peut-être l'album le plus progressif d'Opeth depuis bien des années. L'alternance des ambiances, les rythmes évolutifs au sein de chaque titre, l'interprétation exemplaire des musiciens et l'utilisation de guitares acoustiques en soutien de celle d'Akesson en sont l'illustration criante. La prestation du guitariste est d'ailleurs à souligner car elle contribue à la qualité globale de l'album. Ses solos sont lumineux et certaines phases sont même mémorables telle l'envolée limpide qui démarre le premier titre de l'album. Les variations de sons, de jeu et de styles rendent l'ensemble particulièrement intéressant.

Tout n'est malheureusement pas rose sur la planète Opeth cette année. Une certaine répétitivité se fait sentir sur certains titres, notamment les couplets de 'Hjärtat Vet Vad Handen Gör' ('Heart In Hand') alors que le final acoustique est magnifique. Autre point faible, les mélodies ne sont pas des plus immédiates. Il en est même qui ont tendance à se ressembler et les premières écoutes ne permettent pas de distinguer clairement les morceaux qui ont tous des sonorités semblables. Seul 'Kontinuerlig Drift' ('Continuum') s'accrochera immédiatement à vos neurones grâce à une composition légère et accrocheuse, à un solo de clarinette puis à une puissance maîtrisée par la suite. Dans une autre veine 'Banemannen' ('The Garroter') aux allures hispano très jazzy et  'Minnets Yta' ('Lovelorn Crime') qu'un lumineux solo vient clôturer à la façon d'un 'Burden' sur "Watershed" (2009) sortent également du lot lors des premières tentatives. Enfin, Akerfeld a du mal à gommer ce fâcheux tic de composition consistant à finir ses morceaux par de longues litanies acoustiques, comme sur 'Charlatan' et 'Ingen Sanning Är Allas' ('Universal Truth'), mais il a tout de même raccourci l'exercice par rapports aux albums des années 2000 sur lesquels ce gimmick devenait systématique jusqu'à l'ennui.

Ces quelques défauts sont largement compensés par une qualité d'écriture et de composition bien au-dessus de la moyenne. Même s'il ne sera pas facile à ingurgiter d'une traite du haut de ses 68 minutes et en raison d'une certaine difficulté à identifier clairement les différentes pièces qui le composent, "In Cauda Venenum" est une pierre de plus à l'immense carrière du groupe. Mikael Akerfeld à une propension impressionnante à se renouveler dans l'écriture et à proposer une musique riche et élaborée. Il faudra de nombreuses écoutes pour appréhender toutes les subtilités mais les fans du groupe, du moins ceux des derniers albums, y trouveront leur compte. Quant à ceux qui ne jurent que par le death de l'époque pré-"Heritage", ils en seront pour leurs frais, mais ce n'est plus une surprise. Une sortie majeure de 2019 très attendue et convaincante.

Plus d'information sur http://www.opeth.com

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
PORCUPINE TREE, ENSLAVED, HAKEN, ANGLAGARD, KATATONIA, MASTODON, STEVEN WILSON, LEPROUS, TEXTURES, BARREN EARTH

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Livet’s Trädgård (Garden Of Earthly Delights) (Intro)
02. Svekets Prins (Dignity)
03. Hjärtat Vet Vad Handen Gör (Heart In Hand)
04. De Närmast Sörjande (Next Of Kin)
05. Minnets Yta (Lovelorn Crime)
06. Charlatan)
07. Ingen Sanning Är Allas (Universal Truth)
08. Banemannen (The Garroter)
09. Kontinuerlig Drift (Continuum)
10. Allting Tar Slut (All Things Will Pass)


FORMATION:
Fredrik Åkesson: Guitares
Joakim Svalberg: Claviers
Martin Axenrot: Batterie
Martin Mendez: Basse
Mikael Akerfeld: Chant / Guitares


TAGS:
70's
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
NEWF - 06/09/2019 10:19:49
Un album qui prend son temps pour convaincre et dévoiler toutes ses subtilités de composition. Sans doute l’opus le plus éclectique et le plus progressif d’Opeth, mais aussi l’un des plus personnels de Mikael Akerfeldt, notamment dans sa version en suédois. Un album passionnant à écouter qui fait la part belle aux guitares acoustiques chères au groupe depuis toujours, même s’il est plus hermétique et plus conceptuel qu’à l’accoutumée.
2312499
 
EN RELATION AVEC OPETH
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
OPETH: nouvel extrait de "In Cauda Venenum"
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant OPETH
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Opeth, figure incontournable du metal progressif suédois, sort son treizième album, "In Cauda Venenum". A cette occasion, nous sommes partis à la rencontre du leader charismatique Mikael Akerfeldt !

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant OPETH
 
NOTES
 
3.8/5 (6 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT OPETH
 
OPETH_In-Cauda-Venenum In Cauda Venenum (2019)
NUCLEAR BLAST / METAL PROGRESSIF
OPETH_Sorceress Sorceress (2016)
NUCLEAR BLAST / ROCK PROGRESSIF
OPETH_Pale-Communion Pale Communion (2014)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / METAL PROGRESSIF
OPETH_Heritage Heritage (2011)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / ROCK PROGRESSIF
OPETH_Watershed Watershed (2008)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / DEATH METAL
OPETH_The-Roundhouse-Tapes The Roundhouse Tapes (2007)
PEACEVILLE / DEATH METAL
OPETH_Ghost-Reveries Ghost Reveries (2005)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / DEATH METAL
OPETH_Damnation Damnation (2003)
MUSIC FOR NATIONS / ROCK ATMOSPHERIQUE
OPETH_Lamentations Lamentations (2003)
MUSIC FOR NATIONS / DEATH METAL
OPETH_Deliverance Deliverance (2002)
MUSIC FOR NATIONS / DEATH METAL
OPETH_Blackwater-Park Blackwater Park (2001)
MUSIC FOR NATIONS / DEATH METAL
OPETH_Still-Life Still Life (1999)
PEACEVILLE / DEATH METAL
OPETH_My-Arms-Your-Hearse My Arms, Your Hearse (1998)
CANDLELIGHT / DEATH METAL
OPETH_Morningrise Morningrise (1996)
CANDLELIGHT / DEATH METAL
OPETH_Orchid Orchid (1995)
CANDLELIGHT / DEATH METAL
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019