BAND/AUTHOR:

TERAMAZE

(AUSTRALIA)

TITLE:
ARE WE SOLDIERS (2019)
LABEL:
MASCOT LABEL GROUP
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE METAL

""Are We Soldiers" is a very dense and charged album, lacking a little originality and renewal to really captivate the listener"
DARIALYS - 09.07.2019 - (0) minds from our readers - (0) comment(s)
2/5
Founded in 1993, Teramaze is one of the pioneers of Australian progressive metal with bands like Karnivool. The sextet returns this year with its sixth album, an achievement marked by the return to the microphone of the original singer Brett Rerekura in place of Nathan Peachey.

If the Australians' latest work, "Her Halo", had seduced the Music Waves team, this "Are We Soldiers" will not be unanimously accepted. It must be said that for a band claiming to belong to the progressive metal scene, the compositions lack nuances and changes of atmosphere. Teramaze offers many interesting, but exhausting titles in the long run, due to heavy and very (too?) similar atmospheres. Listening to titles like "Fact Resistant Human" and "M.O.N.S.T.E.R.S.", we get stuck in a kind of spiral from which we can't get out, where all the songs are alike, and where differentiating songs from each other is not an easy task.

The effect of fatigue tends to be amplified by the length of the album, approaching 70 minutes, due to the fact that the tracks are often too long. Even the single 'Weight Of Humanity' shows 7 minutes and its length should have been halved. A certain number of titles would therefore have benefited from being more concise to make the whole more digestible and more dynamic. In the same vein, 'Orwellian Times' will recall Periphery's'Garden In The Bones', with an excellent and very sharp production, but again, a shorter duration would have made the piece more interesting and coherent.

The opus finally sounds more like a sweetened metalcore album without throat singing, tinged with alternative FM metal, even pop metal, as on the very radiophonic chorus of 'Weight Of Humanity' strongly and strangely resembling Rihanna's 'Unfaithful'. Dean Wells, guitarist and producer of Teramaze, says himself that he likes to write progressive metal songs and pop songs, which can explain the hybrid side of the band's music.

"Are We Soldiers" still has some significant qualities. For example, there are a few moments of calm, where the purified atmospheres take precedence over the purely metal ones, to finally bring a well-deserved and refreshing break, like the middle of the magnificent "Are We Soldiers" and the one of "Weight Of Humanity". The symphonic aspect of the pieces is also welcome. At the heart of 'Control Conquer Collide', the strings give an intense side to the piece, even a rather epic aspect on 'Depopulate'.

"Are We Soldiers" is therefore a very dense, charged album, lacking a little originality and renewal to really captivate the listener. However, this does not in any way affect the control of the sextet and the perfect and clear production of the disc.

More informations on http://www.teramaze.com.au



SIMILAR BANDS:
ARCANE, KARNIVOOL, CALIGULA'S HORSE

TRACK LISTING:
01. Fight Or Flight
02. Are We Soldiers
03. Control Conquer Collide
04. From Saviour to Assassin
05. Orwellian Times
06. M.O.N.S.T.E.R.S.
07. Weight Of Humanity
08. Fact Resistant Human
09. The One Percent Disarm
10. Depopulate


LINEUP:
Andrew Cameron: Basse
Brett Rerekura: Chant
Dean Wells: Chant / Guitares
Jonah Weingarten: Claviers
Nick Ross: Batterie


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Acute voice
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this review or on this production
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH TERAMAZE
RATING
4/5 (1 view(s)) 2/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
CARLOS SANTANA: Africa Speaks (2019)
POP For his return to the foreground, Carlos Santana draws his inspiration from the roots of African culture.
 
NEXT REVIEW
HOLLIS BROWN: Ozone Park (2019)
POP Hollis Brown signs an unpretentious but pleasant American pop album.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT TERAMAZE
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / TERAMAZE: Are We Soldiers
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

TERAMAZE

(AUSTRALIE)

TITRE:
ARE WE SOLDIERS
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
MASCOT LABEL GROUP
GENRE:
METAL PROGRESSIF
""Are We Soldiers" est un album très dense, chargé, manquant un peu d’originalité et de renouveau pour réellement captiver l'auditeur jusqu’au bout."
DARIALYS - 09.07.2019 -
Fondé en 1993, Teramaze fait partie des pionniers du metal progressif australien avec des groupes comme Karnivool. Le sextet revient cette année avec son sixième album, une réalisation marquée par le retour au micro du chanteur original Brett Rerekura à la place de Nathan Peachey.

Si la dernière œuvre des Australiens, "Her Halo", avait séduit l’équipe de Music Waves, le petit dernier, "Are We Soldiers" ne fera pas l’unanimité. Il faut dire que pour une formation se revendiquant comme appartenant à la scène metal progressif, les compositions manquent de nuances et de changements d’ambiances. Teramaze propose bon nombre de titres intéressants, mais exténuants à la longue, la faute à des atmosphères heavy et très (trop ?) similaires. A l’écoute de titres comme ‘Fact Resistant Human’ et ‘M.O.N.S.T.E.R.S.’, on s’enlise dans une sorte de spirale dont on ne parvient à s’extirper, où tous les morceaux se ressemblent, et où différencier les chansons les unes des autres n’est pas chose aisée.

L’effet de fatigue ressenti a tendance à être amplifié par la longueur de l’album, frôlant les 70 minutes, la faute à des titres souvent trop longs, rendant l’écoute éprouvante. Même le single ‘Weight Of Humanity’ affiche 7 minutes au compteur et sa longueur aurait mérité d’être divisée par deux. Un certain nombre de titres auraient donc gagné à être plus concis pour rendre l’ensemble plus digeste et plus dynamique. Dans la même optique, ‘Orwellian Times’ rappellera ‘Garden In The Bones’ de Periphery, avec une production excellente et très tranchante, mais là encore, une durée moindre aurait rendu le morceau plus intéressant et plus cohérent.

L’opus sonne finalement plus comme un album de metalcore édulcoré sans chant guttural, teinté de metal alternatif FM, voire de pop metal, comme sur le refrain très radiophonique de ‘Weight Of Humanity’ ressemblant fortement et étrangement à celui d’’Unfaithful’ de Rihanna. Dean Wells, guitariste et producteur de Teramaze, raconte lui-même qu’il aime écrire des chansons de metal progressif et des chansons pop, ce qui peut expliquer le côté hybride de la musique du groupe.

"Are We Soldiers" présente tout de même quelques qualités non négligeables. On retrouve par exemple quelques moments d’accalmie, où les ambiances épurées prennent le pas sur les atmosphères purement metal, pour finalement apporter une trêve bien méritée et rafraîchissante, comme le milieu de ‘Are We Soldiers’, magnifique, et celui de ‘Weight Of Humanity’. L’aspect symphonique des morceaux est lui aussi le bienvenu. Au cœur de ‘Control Conquer Collide’, les cordes confèrent un côté intense au morceau, voire un aspect plutôt épique sur ‘Depopulate’.

"Are We Soldiers" est donc un album très dense, chargé, manquant un peu d’originalité et de renouveau pour réellement captiver l'auditeur jusqu’au bout. Cela n’entache toutefois en aucun cas la maîtrise du sextet et la production parfaite et limpide du disque.

Plus d'information sur http://www.teramaze.com.au

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
KARNIVOOL, ARCANE, CALIGULA'S HORSE

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Fight Or Flight
02. Are We Soldiers
03. Control Conquer Collide
04. From Saviour to Assassin
05. Orwellian Times
06. M.O.N.S.T.E.R.S.
07. Weight Of Humanity
08. Fact Resistant Human
09. The One Percent Disarm
10. Depopulate


FORMATION:
Andrew Cameron: Basse
Brett Rerekura: Chant
Dean Wells: Chant / Guitares
Jonah Weingarten: Claviers
Nick Ross: Batterie


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Chant aigu
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC TERAMAZE
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
TERAMAZE : Nouvelle vidéo
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant TERAMAZE
 
NOTES
 
2/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT TERAMAZE
 
TERAMAZE_Are-We-Soldiers Are We Soldiers (2019)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / METAL PROGRESSIF
TERAMAZE_Her-Halo Her Halo (2015)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / METAL PROGRESSIF
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019