MW / Home / Reviews / CARLOS SANTANA: Africa Speaks
BAND/AUTHOR:

CARLOS SANTANA

(MEXICO)

TITLE:
AFRICA SPEAKS
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
POP / -
"For his return to the foreground, Carlos Santana draws his inspiration from the roots of African culture."
NUNO777 - 08.07.2019 -
Carlos Santana is a legend known to almost everyone, but paradoxically it is quite difficult to mention titles beyond the classics 'Europa', 'Oye Como Va', 'Black Magic Woman' or 'Maria Maria'. Yet the Mexican has a rich career of 25 albums that began 50 years ago with "Santana". For musicians, Santana is a recognizable touch and musicality and the one that has made PRS guitars famous. For all of us, Santana is an endearing and friendly character. Although the guitarist has been more discreet in recent years, he has nevertheless produced music at a very steady pace. Between his latest album, "Santana IV" in 2016, and today, it is the meeting with the versatile producer Rick Rubin, capable of advising both Eminem and AC/DC, that will be decisive. 

To acknowledge that his career needs a new lease of life would be exaggerated, but that's a bit of that when you turn to Rick Rubin. This collaboration will effectively unleash the Mexican's creative mind who recorded about fifty songs in ten days of studio time. Rubin will not upset the Santana style but rather encourage him to support the rhythmic components of his compositions by recording an original album with Afro-Latin sounds. Percussion is a major dimension of "Africa Speaks" that can be heard from the very beginning, inviting the listener to penetrate deep, mystical and mysterious Africa, with its arabic tonalities and exalted songs. Santana gives a new amplitude to his world music whose anchor could be embodied by a 'Batonga' in his purest Latin-rock-fusion style and his aphelion would be 'Luna Hechicera' with strong blufunk connotations by Keziah Jones.

"Africa Speaks" is also the discovery of a bewitching voice. Buika, The Spanish singer of Equatorial Guinean parents, radiates her vocal colours, inherited from multiple cultures that allow her to express both the expressive romanticism of flamenco ('Paraísos Quemados') and the unalterable African hope ('Oye Este Mi Canto'). Inspiration springs forth and each new composition is an opportunity to explore different modalities of world music. There is the jazzy "Blue Skies" with majestic choirs and wide ranges of guitaristic speeches, the funky "Paraísos Quemados" with retro keyboards or the dark pop-rock "Yo Me Lo Merezco". A brief round trip across the ocean for the haunting samba "Breaking Down The Door" on which Manu Chao comes to sing a few songs before visiting the Maghreb embodied by "Los Invisibles" with the late Rachid Taha.

Santana has not lost any of his musical qualities or his great virtue as a unifier of cultures that gives "Africa Speaks" its great harmonic richness. In "Africa Speaks", perhaps more masterfully than ever, Santana invites cultures to a great ecumenical celebration in which the best of each is sublimated by union.

More informations on http://www.santana.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

KEZIAH JONES

TRACK LISTING

01. Africa Speaks - 4:47
02. Batonga - 5:43
03. Oye Este Mi Canto - 5:58
04. Yo Me Lo Merezco - 6:12
05. Blue Skies - 9:08
06. Paraísos Quemados - 5:59
07. Breaking Down the Door - 4:30
08. Los Invisibles - 5:54
09. Luna Hechicera - 4:47
10. Bambele - 5:51
11. Candombe Cumbele - 5:36
12. Mientras Tanto - 5:57
13. Dios Bendiga Tu Interior


LINEUP

Buika: Chant
Carlos Santana: Chant / Guitares
Cindy Blackman Santana: Batterie
Laura Mvula: Chant


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, ?, Fusion, Groovy, Female voice, Chorus
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS CARLOS SANTANA
LAST NEWS
CARLOS SANTANA: Details on "Africa Speaks"
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about CARLOS SANTANA
 
RATING
 
3.5/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS CARLOS SANTANA
 
CARLOS-SANTANA_Africa-Speaks Africa Speaks (2019)
AUTRE LABEL / POP
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / CARLOS SANTANA: Africa Speaks
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

CARLOS SANTANA

(MEXIQUE)

TITRE:
AFRICA SPEAKS
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
POP / -
"Pour son retour au premier plan, Carlos Santana puise son inspiration dans les racines de la culture africaine."
NUNO777 - 08.07.2019 -
Carlos Santana est une légende connue de tous ou presque, mais paradoxalement il est assez difficile de citer des titres au-delà des classiques ‘Europa’, ‘Oye Como Va’, ‘Black Magic Woman’ ou ‘Maria Maria’. Pourtant le Mexicain a une carrière riche de 25 albums inaugurée il y a 50 ans par "Santana". Pour les musiciens, Santana c’est un toucher et une musicalité reconnaissables et celui qui a rendu célèbre les guitares PRS. Pour tous, Santana est un personnage attachant et sympathique. Si le guitariste s’est fait plus discret ces dernières années, il n’en a pas moins produit de la musique à un rythme très régulier. Entre son dernier album en date, "Santana IV" en 2016, et aujourd’hui, c’est la rencontre avec le producteur polyvalent Rick Rubin, capable de conseiller aussi bien Eminem que AC/DC, qui sera déterminante.

Reconnaître que sa carrière a besoin d’un nouveau souffle serait exagéré mais il y a un peu de cela quand on se tourne vers Rick Rubin. Cette collaboration va effectivement libérer la sève créative du Mexicain qui va enregistrer une cinquantaine de morceaux en dix jours de studio. Rubin ne va pas bouleverser le style Santana mais plutôt l’encourager à appuyer les composantes rythmiques de ses compositions en enregistrant un album original aux sonorités afro-latines. La percussion est une dimension majeure de "Africa Speaks" qui se fait entendre dès l’entame éponyme en invitant l’auditeur à pénétrer l’Afrique profonde, mystique et mystérieuse, avec ses tonalités arabisantes et ses chants exaltés. Santana donne une nouvelle amplitude à sa world music dont le point d’ancrage pourrait être incarné par un ‘Batonga’ dans son plus pur style latin-rock-fusion et son aphélie serait ‘Luna Hechicera’ aux fortes connotations blufunk de Keziah Jones.

"Africa Speaks" c’est aussi la découverte d’une voix envoûtante. Celle de la chanteuse espagnole de parents Equato-guinéens Buika qui irradie le disque de ses couleurs vocales, héritées de multiples cultures qui lui permettent d’exprimer aussi bien le romantisme expressif du flamenco (‘Paraísos Quemados ‘) que l’espoir inaltérable africain (‘Oye Este Mi Canto’). L’inspiration jaillit et chaque nouvelle composition est l’occasion d’aborder différentes modalités de la world music. Il y a le jazzy ‘Blue Skies’ aux chœurs majestueux et larges plages de discours guitaristiques, le funky ‘Paraísos Quemados’ aux claviers rétro ou le pop-rock sombre ‘Yo Me Lo Merezco’. Un bref aller-retour de l’autre côté de l’océan pour la lancinante samba ‘Breaking Down The Door’ sur laquelle Manu Chao vient poser quelques chants avant de visiter le Maghreb incarné par ‘Los Invisibles’ en compagnie du regretté Rachid Taha.

Santana n’a rien perdu de ses qualités musicales ni de sa grande vertu de rassembleur des cultures qui imprime à "Africa Speaks" sa grande richesse harmonique. Dans "Africa Speaks", peut-être plus magistralement que jamais, Santana invite les cultures à une grande fête œcuménique dans laquelle le meilleur de chacune se sublime par l’union.

Plus d'information sur http://www.santana.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
KEZIAH JONES

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Africa Speaks - 4:47
02. Batonga - 5:43
03. Oye Este Mi Canto - 5:58
04. Yo Me Lo Merezco - 6:12
05. Blue Skies - 9:08
06. Paraísos Quemados - 5:59
07. Breaking Down the Door - 4:30
08. Los Invisibles - 5:54
09. Luna Hechicera - 4:47
10. Bambele - 5:51
11. Candombe Cumbele - 5:36
12. Mientras Tanto - 5:57
13. Dios Bendiga Tu Interior


FORMATION:
Buika: Chant
Carlos Santana: Chant / Guitares
Cindy Blackman Santana: Batterie
Laura Mvula: Chant


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Dépaysant, Fusion, Groovy, Chant féminin, Choeurs
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC CARLOS SANTANA
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
CARLOS SANTANA: Nouvel album en juin
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant CARLOS SANTANA
 
NOTES
 
3.5/5 (2 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT CARLOS SANTANA
 
CARLOS-SANTANA_Africa-Speaks Africa Speaks (2019)
AUTRE LABEL / POP
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019