MW / Home / Reviews / BLACKRAIN: Dying Breed
BAND/AUTHOR:

BLACKRAIN

(FRANCE)

TITLE:
DYING BREED
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
SPV STEAMHAMMER
GENRE:
HARD ROCK
"BlackRain offers a brilliant and flawless opus that has all the elements to meet success with lovers of a melodic hard-rock fed with hair-metal from the 80s."
LOLOCELTIC - 13.09.2019 -
This is a team that has the merit of not giving up anything and we must recognize that it would be a real shame if it did. Continuing its rhythm of a record released every two or three years, the French band BlackRain are back with a "Dying Breed" marked by the return to the controls of Chris Laney (Pretty Maids, Crazy Lixx, etc...). The producer had officiated on "License To Thrill" in 2008, this opus remaining the ultimate reference for many of the band's fans. If "It Begins" (2013) wanted to launch the quartet's international career - it had come up against Sony- "Released" (2016) had seen BlackRain rubbing shoulders with more modern sounds, still under the direction of Jack Douglas (Aerosmith, Cheap Trick, John Lennon...). With this new opus, the Haut-Savoyards seem eager to return to the fundamentals of their identity and seem a little disillusioned by the difficulty of breaking into the international scene when you are a band of French origin.

Launched by an eponymous title with festive choirs and contagious energy, the new collection of former finalists of "La France has a unbelievable talent" gathers all the elements that should allow him to squat on the Scandinavian and Anglo-Saxon FM waves. It must be said that the recording took place in Sweden, Swan's host country, and that the northern style is obvious in terms of clear and powerful production. The other brand that is still unavoidable is the one left by the glam-US bands of the 80s within the band's influences. The shadows of Mötley Crüe ('Hellfire'), Twisted Sister ('Blast Me Up', title of "It Begins" re-recorded for the occasion) or the early Bon Jovi ('We Are The Mayhem' and its chorus with the scent of 'You Give Love A Bad Name', or'Rock Radio') hover over this opus.

But if the French are disillusioned, they are not destroyed and they turn their disappointment into a raging energy. Powered by a roaring bass, the snarling "Nobody Can Change" is one of the best examples. "Dying Breed" quickly reveals itself as a summary of what BlackRain can do best. Catchy choruses for each track, unifying choirs that will certainly be joined by the live audience ('Dying Breed','Rock Radio'), varied atmospheres, sometimes festive, sometimes raging ('Public Enemy'), without forgetting the inevitable mid-tempo ballad with palpable emotion and beautiful arrangements ('All Angels Have Gone') and the imparable single cut for FM waves ('A Call From The Inside'). All this is superbly interpreted by a Swan perfectly mastering his vocals, a pair of sharp and complementary guitars, and a rhythm section that it would be a shame to underestimate as it offers a beautiful richness of varied and technical lines.

Once again, BlackRain offers a brilliant and flawless opus that has all the elements to meet success with lovers of a melodic hard-rock fed with hair-metal from the 80s. A devilishly catchy and superbly produced work, it would be a pity, even unfair, if this opus were not recognized for its true value and if it did not allow its performers to take a new step towards the heights of this genre in order to obtain the recognition they deserve.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/blackrainrock/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

W.A.S.P., BON JOVI, GUNS'N'ROSES, MOTLEY CRUE, TWISTED SISTER, CRAZY LIXX, WHITE FLAME, RAKEL TRAXX, STROKER ACE

TRACK LISTING

01. Dying Breed - 3:50
02. Hellfire - 4:05
03. Blast Me Up - 3:40
04. Nobody Can Change - 4:19
05. Like Me - 3:44
06. All Angels Have Gone - 4:11
07. We Are The Mayhem - 3:31
08. Rock Radio - 3:34
09. Public Enemy - 3:58
10. A Call From The Inside - 4:24


LINEUP

Frank F: Batterie
MatH: Basse
Max 2: Guitares
Swan: Chant / Guitares


TAGS:
80's, Easy Listening / FM, Acute voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS BLACKRAIN
LAST NEWS
BLACKRAIN: New video
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about BLACKRAIN
 
RATING
 
4/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS BLACKRAIN
 
BLACKRAIN_Dying-Breed Dying Breed (2019)
SPV STEAMHAMMER / HARD ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / BLACKRAIN: Dying Breed
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

BLACKRAIN

(FRANCE)

TITRE:
DYING BREED
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
SPV STEAMHAMMER
GENRE:
HARD ROCK
"Une fois de plus, BlackRain offre un opus rutilant et sans faille qui possède tous les éléments pour rencontrer le succès auprès des amateurs d’un hard-rock mélodique biberonné au hair-metal des années 80."
LOLOCELTIC - 13.09.2019 -
Voilà une formation qui a le mérite de ne rien lâcher et il faut bien reconnaitre que ce serait vraiment dommage qu’elle le fasse. Continuant son rythme d’une sortie discographique tous les deux ou trois ans, les Français de BlackRain sont de retour avec un "Dying Breed" marqué par le retour aux manettes de Chris Laney (Pretty Maids, Crazy Lixx, etc..). Le producteur avait officié sur "License To Thrill" en 2008, cet opus restant la référence ultime pour de nombreux fans du groupe. Si "It Begins" (2013) voulait lancer la carrière internationale du quatuor -il s’était heurté à la mauvaise volonté de Sony- "Released" (2016) avait vu BlackRain se frotter à des sonorités plus modernes, toujours sous la houlette de Jack Douglas (Aerosmith, Cheap Trick, John Lennon…). Avec ce nouvel opus, les Haut-Savoyards semblent désireux de revenir aux fondamentaux de leur identité et paraissent un peu désabusés par la difficulté de percer dans le paysage international lorsque l’on est une formation d’origine française.

Lancé par un titre éponyme aux chœurs festifs et à l’énergie contagieuse, le nouveau recueil des anciens finalistes de La France a un incroyable talent regroupe tous les éléments qui devraient lui permettre de squatter les ondes FM scandinaves et anglo-saxonnes. Il faut dire que l’enregistrement s’est déroulé en Suède, pays d’accueil de Swan, et que la patte septentrionale est évidente au niveau d’une production claire et puissante à la fois. L’autre marque toujours incontournable est celle laissée par les formations glam-US des années 80 au sein des influences du groupe. Les ombres de Mötley Crüe (‘Hellfire’), Twisted Sister (‘Blast Me Up’, titre de "It Begins" réenregistré pour l’occasion) ou du Bon Jovi des débuts (‘We Are The Mayhem’ et son refrain aux effluves de ‘You Give Love A Bad Name’, ou ‘Rock Radio’) planent sur cet opus.

Mais si les Français sont désabusés, ils ne sont pas abattus pour autant et ils transforment leur déception en une énergie rageuse. Propulsé par une basse vrombissante, le hargneux ‘Nobody Can Change’ en est un des meilleurs exemples. Ce "Dying Breed" se révèle rapidement comme un condensé de ce que BlackRain sait faire de mieux. Des refrains accrocheurs pour chaque titre, des chœurs fédérateurs qui seront à coup sûr rejoints par le public en live (‘Dying Breed’, ‘Rock Radio’), des ambiances variées parfois festives, parfois teigneuses (‘Public Enemy’), sans oublier l’incontournable ballade mid-tempo à l’émotion palpable et aux beaux arrangements (‘All Angels Have Gone’) et le single imparable taillé pour les ondes FM (‘A Call From The Inside’). Tout ça est superbement interprété par un Swan maîtrisant parfaitement son chant, une paire de guitares acérées et complémentaires, et une section rythmique qu’il serait dommage de sous-estimer tant elle offre une belle richesse de lignes variées et techniques.

Une fois de plus, BlackRain offre un opus rutilant et sans faille qui possède tous les éléments pour rencontrer le succès auprès des amateurs d’un hard-rock mélodique biberonné au hair-metal des années 80. Accrocheur en diable et superbement produit, il serait dommage, voire injuste, que cet opus ne soit pas reconnu à sa juste valeur et qu’il ne permette pas à ses interprètes de monter une nouvelle marche vers les sommets du genre afin d’obtenir la reconnaissance qu’ils méritent.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/blackrainrock/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
W.A.S.P., BON JOVI, GUNS'N'ROSES, MOTLEY CRUE, TWISTED SISTER, CRAZY LIXX, WHITE FLAME, RAKEL TRAXX, STROKER ACE

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Dying Breed - 3:50
02. Hellfire - 4:05
03. Blast Me Up - 3:40
04. Nobody Can Change - 4:19
05. Like Me - 3:44
06. All Angels Have Gone - 4:11
07. We Are The Mayhem - 3:31
08. Rock Radio - 3:34
09. Public Enemy - 3:58
10. A Call From The Inside - 4:24


FORMATION:
Frank F: Batterie
MatH: Basse
Max 2: Guitares
Swan: Chant / Guitares


TAGS:
80's, Accessible / FM, Chant aigu
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC BLACKRAIN
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
BLACKRAIN : Nouvelle vidéo live
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant BLACKRAIN
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Le hard rock à la française n'est pas mort ! Nouvelle rencontre avec les survivants de BlackRain qui évoquent la sortie de ce "Dying Breed"...

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant BLACKRAIN
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (2 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT BLACKRAIN
 
BLACKRAIN_Dying-Breed Dying Breed (2019)
SPV STEAMHAMMER / HARD ROCK
BLACKRAIN_Released Released (2016)
AUTRE LABEL / HARD ROCK
BLACKRAIN_It-Begins It Begins (2013)
COLUMBIA / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
BLACKRAIN_A-Lethal-Dose-Of-- A Lethal Dose Of... (2011)
REPLICA / HEAVY METAL
BLACKRAIN_License-To-Thrill License To Thrill (2008)
MANITOU / HARD ROCK
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019