MW / Home / Reviews / FLYING COLORS: Third Degree
BAND/AUTHOR:

FLYING COLORS

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
THIRD DEGREE
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
MASCOT LABEL GROUP
GENRE:
ROCK
"An effective, varied and insolently easy album that avoids the mainstream !"
ABADDON - 07.10.2019 -
You don't change a winning team. The super-group Flying Colors is faithful to its principle: to bring together (very) famous names to offer titles with progressive colours carried by a song with pop accents, a way of transmitting to as many people as possible a more sophisticated music than the mainstream. And it works: the project initiated in 2008 by producer Bill Evans ended four years later with the release of a critically acclaimed debut album. On instruments, a dream quartet, Neal Morse (Spock's Beard, Transatlantic), Mike Portnoy (Dream Theater, Transatlantic), Dave Larue (Dixie Dregs, Joe Satriani, Steve Vai) and Steve Morse (Dixie Dregs, Kansas, Deep Purple). On the microphone, a name proposed by Portnoy and from Disney Hollywood Records (!), Casey McPherson, who in addition to his background as a singer, had a solid experience as a composer and instrumentalist. After two studio albums and two live albums, here is "3rd Degree" which covers exactly the same recipes.

The same ingredients, the same result: from the outset, the band's mastery is an evidence, with accessible melodies, a clear and dynamic production and a sovereign instrumental mastery. Each instrument is highlighted, Neal Morse's keyboards ('The Loss Inside','Crawl','More'), Steve Morse's guitar ('Geronimo','Crawl'), Dave Larue's bass ('Guardian'), and throughout the Portnoy's drums which have been discreet (and efficient, of course) here. With its pop placement, Casey McPherson brings a beautiful freshness that doesn't forget the precision ('You Are Not Alone').

On the composition side, it was to be feared that Neal Morse would phagocyte the style, but, as in previous editions, each contribute for a very well-melted whole. It is only on 'Cadence' and 'Last Train Home' that Neal's style is evident, but different reminiscences emerge, from the Dream Theater soft ('More') to Kansas ('Last Train Home' - funny when you know that Kerry Livgren had been approached to be part of the project !). On the longest tracks, which are not surprisingly the most complex, the parts intertwine with evidence, interspersing scat ('Last Train Home'), 70's choirs ('Love Letter' with a great shuffle), and many progressive touches (theme covers, solos, breaks...) naturally resulting from the protagonists' journey. The only relatively weak track is the ballad (required passage) "You Are Not Alone", well caught up by the final guitar takeoff.

Efficiency, variety, virtuosity, insolent ease... "Third Degree" is certainly to be put in all hands even if it lacks a little of the soul that makes great albums. But what a lesson in mastery at all levels!

More informations on http://flyingcolorsmusic.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

NEAL MORSE, TRANSATLANTIC, KARMAKANIC, JEFF BUCKLEY, MUSE, KINO

TRACK LISTING

01. The Loss Inside
02. More
03. Cadence
04. Guardian
05. Last Train Home
06. Geronimo
07. You Are Not Alone
08. Love Letter
09. Crawl


LINEUP

Neal Morse: Chant / Claviers
Casey McPherson : Chant / Guitares
Dave Larue: Basse
Mike Portnoy: Chant / Batterie
Steve Morse: Guitares


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM, Chorus
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS FLYING COLORS
LAST NEWS
FLYING COLORS: New video
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about FLYING COLORS
 
RATING
 
4.2/5 (5 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS FLYING COLORS
 
FLYING-COLORS_Third-Degree Third Degree (2019)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK
FLYING-COLORS_Second-Nature Second Nature (2014)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / PROGRESSIVE ROCK
FLYING-COLORS_Flying-Colors Flying Colors (2012)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / FLYING COLORS: Third Degree
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

FLYING COLORS

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
THIRD DEGREE
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
MASCOT LABEL GROUP
GENRE:
ROCK
"Un des rares cas de super-groupe où la somme est égale à l’addition des talents. Un album efficace, varié, et d'une insolente facilité tout en évitant le mainstream."
ABADDON - 07.10.2019 -
On ne change pas une équipe qui gagne. Le super-groupe Flying Colors est fidèle à son principe : réunir des noms (très) connus pour proposer des titres aux colorations progressives portés par un chant aux accents pop, une manière de transmettre au plus grand nombre une musique plus sophistiquée que le mainstream. Et ça fonctionne : le projet initié en 2008 par le producteur Bill Evans aboutit quatre années plus tard avec la sortie d’un premier album acclamé par la critique. Aux instruments, un quartet de rêve, Neal Morse (Spock’s Beard, Transatlantic), Mike Portnoy (Dream Theater, Transatlantic), Dave Larue (Dixie Dregs, Joe Satriani, Steve Vai) et Steve Morse (Dixie Dregs, Kansas, Deep Purple). Au micro, un nom proposé par Portnoy et issu de Disney Hollywood Records (!), Casey McPherson, qui en plus de son background de chanteur, possédait une solide expérience de compositeur et instrumentiste. Après deux albums studio et deux live, voici donc "3rd Degree" qui reprend exactement les mêmes recettes.

Mêmes ingrédients, même résultat : d’emblée la maîtrise du groupe s’installe comme une évidence, avec des mélodies accessibles, une production claire et dynamique et une maestria instrumentale souveraine. Chaque instrument est mis en valeur, les claviers de Neal Morse ('The Loss Inside', 'Crawl', 'More'), la guitare de Steve Morse ('Geronimo’,  'Crawl’), la basse de Dave Larue ('Guardian'), et tout au long la batterie de Portnoy qui a su ici se faire discrète (et efficace, naturellement). Avec son placement pop, Casey McPherson apporte une belle fraîcheur qui n’oublie pas la précision ('You Are Not Alone'). Un sans-faute attendu du côté interprétation, donc.

Côté composition, il était à craindre que Neal Morse phagocyte le style, mais, comme dans les parutions précédentes, il n’en est (presque) rien, chacun apportant sa pierre pour un ensemble très bien fondu. Il n’y a guère que sur 'Cadence' et sur 'Last Train Home' que  le style de Neal transparaît de façon évidente, mais différentes réminiscences se font jour, du Dream Theater soft ('More') à Kansas ('Last Train Home' -  amusant quand on sait que Kerry Livgren avait été pressenti pour faire partie du projet !). Sur les morceaux les plus longs, qui sont sans surprise les plus complexes, les parties s’imbriquent avec évidence, intercalant du scat ('Last Train Home'), des chœurs 70’s ('Love Letter' au shuffle sympathique), et beaucoup de touches progressives (reprises de thèmes, soli, breaks…)  naturellement issues du parcours des protagonistes. Le seul titre relativement faible est la ballade (passage obligé) 'You Are Not Alone', bien rattrapée par l’envolée finale de guitare.

Efficacité, variété, virtuosité, insolente facilité, il manque tout de même à cet opus, qui est assurément à mettre entre toutes les mains, le plus qui fait la différence : "3rd Degree" manque un peu de cette âme qui fait les grands albums. Mais quelle leçon de maîtrise à tous les niveaux !

Plus d'information sur http://flyingcolorsmusic.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
NEAL MORSE, TRANSATLANTIC, KARMAKANIC, JEFF BUCKLEY, MUSE, KINO

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. The Loss Inside
02. More
03. Cadence
04. Guardian
05. Last Train Home
06. Geronimo
07. You Are Not Alone
08. Love Letter
09. Crawl


FORMATION:
Neal Morse: Chant / Claviers
Casey McPherson : Chant / Guitares
Dave Larue: Basse
Mike Portnoy: Chant / Batterie
Steve Morse: Guitares


TAGS:
Accessible / FM, Choeurs
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
productionuser_idproduction_comment_idproduction_review_id

CORTO1809 - 07/10/2019 13:47:11
Complètement en accord avec la chronique d'Abaddon. D'un côté la présence et la cohésion du groupe est phénoménale et les compositions sont toutes intéressantes, même si je trouve que Flying Colors a un peu durci le ton, notamment en début d'album, ce qui ne m'enchante guère. D'un autre et quel que soit l'intérêt des titres, l'ensemble manque un peu de sensibilité et de sentiment. C'est toujours agréable à écouter mais ça donne très rarement le frisson.
1847 23920
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC FLYING COLORS
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
FLYING COLORS : Nouvelle vidéo
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant FLYING COLORS
 
NOTES
 
4.3/5 (6 avis)
3.5/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT FLYING COLORS
 
FLYING-COLORS_Third-Degree Third Degree (2019)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK
FLYING-COLORS_Second-Nature Second Nature (2014)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK PROGRESSIF
FLYING-COLORS_Live-Europe Live Europe (2013)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / HARD ROCK MELODIQUE
FLYING-COLORS_Flying-Colors Flying Colors (2012)
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / ROCK
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019