MW / Home / Reviews / TARJA: In The Raw
BAND/AUTHOR:

TARJA

(FINLAND)

TITLE:
IN THE RAW
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
EAR MUSIC
GENRE:
MELODIC METAL
""In the Raw" is Taja's most personal album. He exposes the artist and her raw talent through his personal writing, a beautiful authenticity and an extraordinary melodic strength."
PROGRACER - 09.08.2019 -
"In The Raw" is already Tarja's sixth album since 2007 and her eviction from Nightwish. It is now as an explorer of many and varied musical horizons that the beautiful Finnish woman defines herself best and no longer as an ex. This new production will therefore no longer surprise anyone as Tarja has been able to navigate between styles and embark her audience each time.

The very construction of the album may seem strange at first sight with its three distinct parts. The first tracks are the most catchy ones, starting with 'Dead Promises', the first single with a sharp intro riff and where Björn Strid (Soilwork) brings the roughness of his vocals for a muscular introduction. Cristina Scabbia (Lacuna Coil) then mixes her voice with Tarja's on 'Goodbye Stranger' with its lively groove and subtle melodies. After a captivating 'Tears In Rain' that picks you up with its immediate refrain and a voice perfectly placed which is reminiscent of its most beautiful hoarseness alongside its illustrious former Finnish playmates, "Railroads" with its Japanese style is a beautiful transition as its lyrical refrain highlights Tarja's unique organ, reminding us of the exceptional soparno voice she has.

All this takes place in a melodic metal background that is effective all along mid-tempi but without much originality. At the end of the album, 'Serene' and 'Shadow Play' are built on the same mould, even if the second one is more inspired by a Viking culture materialized by powerful choirs setting up a medieval atmosphere and the most beautiful epic effect for a closer. 

Tarja has worked on a more intimate writing and has decided to put more of herself into her music, a posture that will take on its full dimension at the heart of the album with several tracks with more personal inspirations. The tone becomes softer from 'You and I' the wonderful ballad that we are eager to hear on stage with only Tarja behind her piano. The icon of symponic metal that she is today now explores more intimate atmospheric horizons with 'The Golden Chamber' in a cinematographic way on which she is bewitched by Suomi lyrics that literally leads the listener on a gentle musical journey punctuated by a feeling of fullness and serenity. A beautiful three-act piece.

Tarja also knows how to keep her audience on the edge of their seats with titles with slow and progressive developments such as 'Spirits Of The Sea', a slow litany that continues the journey into a dreamlike musical universe that encourages escape and reverie. Another masterpiece of the album, 'Silent Masquerade' in an epic Nightwish vein with intro and outro narrated on a melancholic piano background is a throbbing power ballad with great melodic force. Tommy Karevik (Kamelot) accompanies Tarja magnificently, creating a very relevant duo. 

At a crossroads in her life as a woman, mother and artist, the beautiful Scandinavian woman has chosen to exhibit herself as never before in a concept where raw gold represents life, family and passion, the jewel she has chosen to cherish and protect. "In the Raw" is probably the most personal album of Taja Turunen's career. It is also the darkest. It exposes the artist's soul, doubts, hopes and determination. If it certainly lacks a little madness to reach the heights, it will be welcomed with happiness by Tarja's fans and certainly plebiscited by all the others thanks to a very personal writing, a visible authenticity and an extraordinary melodic strength.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

More informations on http://www.tarjaturunen.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

WITHIN TEMPTATION, EPICA, NIGHTWISH, APOCALYPTICA, SIRENIA, THE FORSAKEN CREATION

TRACK LISTING

01. Dead Promises
02. Goodbye Stranger
03. Tears In Rain
04. Railroads
05. You And I
06. The Golden Chamber: Awaken / Loputon Yö / Alchemy
07. Spirits Of The Sea
08. Silent Masquerade
09. Serene
10. Shadow Play


LINEUP

Alex Scholpp: Guitares
Christian Kretschmar: Claviers
Kevin Chown: Basse
Max Lilja: Violoncelle
Tarja Turunen: Chant
Timm Schreiner: Batterie


TAGS:
Acute voice, Female voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS TARJA
LAST NEWS
TARJA: New video
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about TARJA
 
LAST ARTICLE
At a crossroads in her life as an artist and mother, the now serene Tarja returns to the genesis of her new album, very personal, in an interview of great sincerity.

Read the article
View all articles about TARJA
 
RATING
 
3.8/5 (5 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS TARJA
 
TARJA_In-the-Raw In The Raw (2019)
EAR MUSIC / MELODIC METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / TARJA: In The Raw
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

TARJA

(FINLANDE)

TITRE:
IN THE RAW
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
EAR MUSIC
GENRE:
METAL MELODIQUE
""In the Raw" est l'album le plus personnel de Tarja. Il expose l'artiste et son talent brut grâce à une écriture personnelle, une belle authenticité et une force mélodique hors du commun."
PROGRACER - 09.08.2019 -
"In The Raw" est déjà le sixième album de Tarja depuis 2007 et son éviction de Nightwish. C'est désormais comme une exploratrice de nombreux et variés horizons musicaux que la belle Finlandaise se définit le mieux et non plus comme une ex. Cette nouvelle production ne surprendra donc plus personne tant Tarja a su naviguer entre les styles et y embarquer son public à chaque fois.

La construction même de l'album peut sembler étrange de prime abord avec ses trois parties bien distinctes. Les premiers titres sont les plus rentre-dedans, à commencer par 'Dead Promises', le premier single au riff d'intro acéré et où Björn Strid (Soilwork) apporte la rugosité de son chant pour une entrée en matière musclée. Cristina Scabbia (Lacuna Coil) vient ensuite mélanger sa voix à celle de Tarja sur 'Goodbye Stranger' au groove entraînant et aux mélodies subtiles. Après un envoûtant 'Tears In Rain' qui vous cueille par son refrain immédiat et une voix placée à la perfection qui n'est pas sans rappeler les plus belles heures aux côtés de ses illustres anciens compagnons de jeu finlandais, 'Railroads' aux atours japonisants est une belle transition au refrain lyrique qui met en exergue l'organe unique de Tarja, rappelant de quelle voix de soprano exceptionnelle elle dispose.

Tout ceci se déroule sur un fond de metal mélodique efficace tout au long de mid-tempi entraînants mais sans grande originalité. En fin d'album, 'Serene' et 'Shadow Play' sont construits sur le même moule, même si le second est plus inspiré d'une culture viking matérialisée par des  chœurs puissants installant une ambiance médiévale du plus bel effet épique pour un closer.

Tarja a travaillé sur une écriture plus intime et a décidé de mettre plus d'elle-même dans sa musique, une posture qui va prendre toute sa dimension au cœur de l'album avec plusieurs titres aux inspirations plus personnelles. Le ton se fait plus doux dès 'You and I', envoûtante ballade que l'on a hâte d'entendre sur scène avec la seule Tarja derrière son piano. L'icône du metal symphonique qu'elle est aujourd'hui explore maintenant des horizons atmosphériques plus intimistes avec 'The Golden Chamber' aux atours cinématographiques sur lequel elle se fait ensorceleuse avec un chant en finlandais qui entraîne littéralement l'auditeur dans un doux voyage musical ponctué d'un sentiment de plénitude et de sérénité. Une pièce en trois actes de toute beauté.

Tarja sait également tenir son public en haleine au fil de titres aux développements lents et progressifs comme sur 'Spirits Of The Sea', lente litanie qui poursuit le voyage dans un univers musical onirique incitant à l'évasion et à la rêverie. Autre pièce maîtresse de l'album, 'Silent Masquerade' dans une veine épique à la Nightwish avec intro et outro narrées sur fond de piano mélancolique, est une power ballade lancinante à la grande force mélodique. Tommy Karevik (Kamelot) y accompagne magnifiquement Tarja, créant un duo très pertinent. 

À un carrefour de sa vie de femme, de mère et d'artiste, la belle Scandinave a choisi de s'exposer comme jamais dans un concept où l'or brut représente la vie, la famille et la passion, ce joyau qu'elle a choisi de chérir et de protéger. "In the Raw" est sans doute l'album le plus personnel de la carrière de Tarja Turunen. Il est aussi le plus sombre. Il met au grand jour l'âme de l'artiste, ses doutes, ses espoirs et sa détermination. S'il manque sûrement d'un peu de folie pour atteindre les sommets, il sera reçu avec bonheur par les inconditionnels de Tarja et certainement plébiscité par tous les autres grâce à une écriture très personnelle, une authenticité palpable et une force mélodique hors du commun.

Plus d'information sur http://www.tarjaturunen.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
WITHIN TEMPTATION, EPICA, NIGHTWISH, APOCALYPTICA, SIRENIA, THE FORSAKEN CREATION

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Dead Promises
02. Goodbye Stranger
03. Tears In Rain
04. Railroads
05. You And I
06. The Golden Chamber: Awaken / Loputon Yö / Alchemy
07. Spirits Of The Sea
08. Silent Masquerade
09. Serene
10. Shadow Play


FORMATION:
Alex Scholpp: Guitares
Christian Kretschmar: Claviers
Kevin Chown: Basse
Max Lilja: Violoncelle
Tarja Turunen: Chant
Timm Schreiner: Batterie


TAGS:
Chant aigu, Chant féminin
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
productionuser_idproduction_comment_idproduction_review_id

CORTO1809 - 09/08/2019 13:56:30
Personnellement, je n'ai pas vu de grandes différences entre cet album et les précédents. On retrouve ce mélange de metal mélodique et de ballades mélancoliques sur lesquels Tarja pose sa très belle voix. "In the Raw" s'écoute sans déplaisir, sans plus.
1847 23774
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC TARJA
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
TARJA : Nouvelle vidéo
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant TARJA
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
À un carrefour de sa vie d'artiste et de mère, la désormais sereine Tarja revient sur la genèse de son nouvel album, très personnel, dans une interview d'une grande sincérité.

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant TARJA
 
NOTES
 
3.8/5 (6 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT TARJA
 
TARJA_In-the-Raw In The Raw (2019)
EAR MUSIC / METAL MELODIQUE
TARJA_The-Shadow-Self The Shadow Self (2016)
EAR MUSIC / METAL MELODIQUE
TARJA_The-Brightest-Void The Brightest Void (2016)
EAR MUSIC / METAL MELODIQUE
TARJA_Colors-In-The-Dark Colors In The Dark (2013)
AUTRE LABEL / METAL MELODIQUE
TARJA_Act-1 Act 1 (2012)
EAR MUSIC / METAL MELODIQUE
TARJA_Tarja-Turunen--Harus--Live-At-The-Sibel Tarja Turunen & Harus - Live At The Sibelius Hall (2011)
EAR MUSIC / AUTRES
TARJA_What-Lies-Beaneath What Lies Beaneath (2010)
UNIVERSAL / METAL MELODIQUE
TARJA_My-Winter-Storm My Winter Storm (2007)
SPINEFARM RECORDS / METAL GOTHIQUE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019