MW / Home / Reviews / MAJESTICA: Above The Sky
BAND/AUTHOR:

MAJESTICA

(SWEDEN)

TITLE:
ABOVE THE SKY
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
MELODIC METAL
"Majestica is launching its second life in the best of ways with a fresh and catchy melodic speed record that has rarely been heard in recent times."
NOISE - 16.07.2019 -
If the band is a new signature for Nuclear Blast, Majestica is not a new formation. The Swedish band had its first life until the end of 2018 under the name ReinXeed. Six albums were released until Tommy Johansson took a break from the music scene. Back in the game, he took some time before relaunching his band after his arrival at Sabaton. This gives "Above The Sky" which sees ex Helloween Uli Kusch's participation in the drums.

This new name does not mean that the band changes its musical style. It always offers a melodic speed metal in the tradition of Stratovarius, Sonata Arctica or Gamma Ray... In ten tracks, Majestica takes us back fifteen years when the genre was at the top of metal fashion. But there is no passivity, the freshness of the whole is remarkable and brings back excellent memories, offering everything we love in the genre. Johansson evolves in the high notes with a disconcerting ease like a Michael Kiske. Musically the plunge into melodic speed is delicious with many high-flying riffs and solos, with a symphonic and progressive side, neat choruses and a remarkable melodic strength.

This gives a coherent record that can be listened to in one go with a variety that contributes greatly to it. There is direct and effective speed with 'The Rat Pack','Above The Sky','The Way To Redemption' and 'Future Land'. There is a potential hit with 'Night Call Girl' on the FM side and lively choirs and a chorus reminiscent of The Night Flight Orchestra. With 'Mötley True' and 'Alliance Forever', the epic and progressive side is highlighted. These two long tracks mix the moods for a result worthy of a Stratovarius. Finally "Father Time (Where Are You Now)" is a perfect moment that alternates quiet passages on the piano and pure speed with a crazy side not far from Queen's mind.

With "Above The Sky", Majestica is launching his new career in the best possible way. He signs a fresh speed record with a strength like the genre hasn't offered us in a long time. We hope now that Johansson will be able to give him time in parallel with his activity with Sabaton.

More informations on

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

HELLOWEEN, STRATOVARIUS, GAMMA RAY, EDGUY, SONATA ARCTICA, THUNDERSTONE

TRACK LISTING

01. Above The Sky
02. Rising Tide
03. The Rat Pack
04. Mötley True
05. The Way To Redemption
06. Night Call Girl
07. Future Land
08. The Legend
09. Father Time (Where Are You Now)
10. Alliance Forever
11. Future Land (2002)
12. Spaceballs


LINEUP

Alexander Oriz: Guitares / Choeurs
Chris David: Basse
Tommy Johansson: Chant / Guitares / Claviers
Uli Kusch: Batterie / Invité


TAGS:
Epic, Old School, Symphonic, Technical, Acute voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS MAJESTICA
 
RATING
 
4.5/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS MAJESTICA
 
MAJESTICA_above-the-sky Above The Sky (2019)
NUCLEAR BLAST / MELODIC METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / MAJESTICA: Above The Sky
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

MAJESTICA

(SUÈDE)

TITRE:
ABOVE THE SKY
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
METAL MELODIQUE
"Majestica lance sa deuxième vie de la meilleure des manières avec un disque de speed mélodique frais et entraînant comme on en entend rarement ces derniers temps."
NOISE - 16.07.2019 -
Nouvelle signature de Nuclear Blast, Majestica n’est pas pour autant une nouvelle formation. Le groupe suédois a eu une première vie jusque fin 2018 sous le nom de ReinXeed. Six albums ont vu le jour jusqu’à ce que Tommy Johansson prenne une pause du milieu musical. Revenu dans le jeu, il a pris du temps avant de relancer son groupe suite à son arrivée chez Sabaton. Cela donne "Above The Sky" qui voit la participation à la batterie d’Uli Kusch, ex Helloween.

Ce changement de nom ne voit pas pour autant le groupe changer de style musical. Il propose toujours un speed metal mélodique dans la lignée de Stratovarius, de Sonata Arctica ou de Gamma Ray. En dix titres, Majestica nous fait revenir une quinzaine d’années en arrière quand le genre était au top de la mode métallique. Mais il n'y a aucun passéisme, la fraîcheur de l’ensemble est remarquable et ravive d’excellents souvenirs, proposant tout ce que l’on aime dans le genre. Johansson évolue dans les aigus avec une facilité déconcertante à la manière d’un Michael Kiske. Musicalement le plongeon dans le speed mélodique est délicieux avec nombre de riffs et soli de haute volée, avec un côté symphonique et progressif, des refrains soignés et une force mélodique remarquable.

Cela donne un disque cohérent qui s’écoute d’une traite avec une variété qui y contribue largement. Il y a du speed direct et efficace avec ‘The Rat Pack’, ‘Above The Sky’, ‘The Way To Redemption’ et ‘Future Land’. Il y a un tube en puissance avec ‘Night Call Girl’ au côté FM entraînant et des chœurs et un refrain évoquant The Night Flight Orchestra. Avec ‘Mötley True’ et ‘Alliance Forever’, la facette épique et  progressive est mise en avant. Ces deux longs titres mélangent les ambiances pour un résultat digne d’un Stratovarius. Enfin ‘Father Time (Where Are You Now)’ est un parfait moment qui alterne passages calmes au piano et speed pur avec un côté fou et déjanté pas loin de l’esprit de Queen.

Avec "Above The Sky", Majestica lance sa nouvelle carrière de la meilleure des manières. Il signe un disque de speed frais et d’une force comme le genre ne nous en avait pas offert depuis un bail. Il faut espérer que Johansson pourra lui accorder du temps en parallèle de son activité avec Sabaton.

Plus d'information sur

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
HELLOWEEN, STRATOVARIUS, GAMMA RAY, EDGUY, SONATA ARCTICA, THUNDERSTONE

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Above The Sky
02. Rising Tide
03. The Rat Pack
04. Mötley True
05. The Way To Redemption
06. Night Call Girl
07. Future Land
08. The Legend
09. Father Time (Where Are You Now)
10. Alliance Forever
11. Future Land (2002)
12. Spaceballs


FORMATION:
Alexander Oriz: Guitares / Choeurs
Chris David: Basse
Tommy Johansson: Chant / Guitares / Claviers
Uli Kusch: Batterie / Invité


TAGS:
Epique, Old School, Symphonique, Technique, Chant aigu
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC MAJESTICA
 
NOTES
 
4.5/5 (2 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT MAJESTICA
 
MAJESTICA_above-the-sky Above The Sky (2019)
NUCLEAR BLAST / METAL MELODIQUE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019