MW / Home / Reviews / IAMTHEMORNING: The Bell
BAND/AUTHOR:

IAMTHEMORNING

(RUSSIA)

TITLE:
THE BELL
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
KSCOPE
GENRE:
ATMOSPHERIC ROCK / ROCK
"A blend of subtle pop and classic with heavenly and progressive tones, "The Bell" reveals an ocean of gentleness."
CORTO1809 - 22.07.2019 -
Here again are those who are on the way to becoming the prefered  Russian duo of the Music Waves editorial staff (just read the reviews on their previous albums to be convinced): Marjana Semkina and Gleb Kolyadin return with iamthemorning's fourth album, "The Bell", a record musically inspired by 19th century music and Victorian England and for the lyrics by the different forms that human cruelty can take and the grief that it results.

In other words, for those who already know the band, don't expect any major upheavals in the music that characterizes iamthemorning. Here's again compositions that exude undeniable charm with this mix of pop (melodies fairly easy to remember) and classically inspired music (piano arpeggios), scattered with little touches of heavenly (aerial singing), and progressive (vocal and instrumental digressions that suddenly slip right into the middle or at the end of a simple song), the latter two elements however being less present than on the previous album.

The beauty of "The Bell" is based on the alchemy created between a soothing and pure female voice and lovely grand piano arpeggios : several titles can be summed up as an enchanting piano/voice duet ('Blue Sea','Black and Blue','Song of a Psyche', Lilies','The Bell') without any mawkishness. The duo puts itself at the service of slow and melancholic melodies that easily catch the listener, sometimes with some effects created by exogenous instruments (the sax on "Freak Show", the trumpet and accordion of "Salute", the electric guitar that plays two short solos on these same two tracks).

Each track is a small melodic bubble, melancholic, soothing and very pleasant to listen to. If the album can sometimes seem a little too homogeneous, this impression is more due to the relative quietness that this succession of small pearls installs than to a too great linearity of the compositions. On the opposite, the duo manages to introduce a lot of diversity into their songs, varying the rhythms, sometimes jazzy, sometimes cabaret ('Salute'), sometimes outright classical ('Lilies').

It is necessary to underline once again the performance of Marjana Semkina whose graceful vocal lines are a real balm for the listener's ears and Gleb Kolyadin whose piano is a source of enchantment. For those who appreciate the subtlety, softness and beauty of a piano line or vocals that seeks more to convince by emotion and fragility than by force, for those who are not addicted to the hammering of percussions or the unbridled solos of electric guitars, these ones will certainly find great pleasure in listening to this haven of peace.

More informations on http://iamthemorning.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

FREQUENCY DRIFT, L'ÂME IMMORTELLE, PERSEPHONE, KATE BUSH, TORI AMOS

TRACK LISTING

01. Freak Show (07:09)
02. Sleeping Beauty (03:42)
03. Blue Sea (03:08)
04. Black And Blue (03:58)
05. Six Feet (03:56)
06. Ghost Of A Story (03:58)
07. Song Of Psyche (03:20)
08. Lilies (04:28)
09. Salute (07:27)
10. The Bell (05:04)


LINEUP

Gleb Kolyadin : Claviers / Piano À Queue
Marjana Semkina: Chant / Guitares / Choeurs
Anastasia Litvinova: Invité / Violon
Andres Izmaylov: Invité / Harpe (1,6,9)
Anita Azhashkouskaya: Invité / Violon
Anna Melnikova: Invité / Violon
Darya Popova: Invité / Violoncelle
Dmitry Gonchar: Invité / Alto
Dmitry Kolyasnikov: Invité / Violon
Dmitry Tsepilov: Invité / Saxophone (1,2)
Ekaterina Chernyaeva: Invité / Violon
Ekaterina German: Invité / Violon
Evan Carson: Invité / Batterie Et Percussions (2,5,9)
Grigory Osipov: Invité / Marimba (2,9)
Iiia Dyakov: Invité / Violon
Ilya Izmaylov: Invité / Violoncelle
Ilya Leontyev: Invité / Trompette (9)
Mr Konin: Invité / Accordéon & Cloches (9)
Nadezhda Savina: Invité / Alto
Semyon Samsonov: Invité / Alto
Svetlana Shumkova: Invité / Batterie (1,5,9)
Vlad Avy: Guitares / Invité
Yulia Kashshapova: Invité / Violon
Zoltan Renaldi: Invité / Basse & Contrebasse (1,2,6,9)


TAGS:
Melancholic, Classical Music
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS IAMTHEMORNING
LAST NEWS
IAMTHEMORNING: The Bell
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about IAMTHEMORNING
 
RATING
 
4/5 (2 view(s))
5/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS IAMTHEMORNING
 
IAMTHEMORNING_The-Bell The Bell (2019)
KSCOPE / ATMOSPHERIC ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / IAMTHEMORNING: The Bell
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

IAMTHEMORNING

(RUSSIE)

TITRE:
THE BELL
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
KSCOPE
GENRE:
ROCK ATMOSPHERIQUE / ROCK
"Mélange de pop subtile et de classique teinté d'heavenly et de progressif, "The Bell" révèle un océan de délicatesse."
CORTO1809 - 22.07.2019 -
Revoilà ceux qui sont en passe de devenir le duo russe préféré de la rédaction de Music Waves (il suffit de lire les chroniques sur leurs précédents albums pour s'en convaincre) : Marjana Semkina et Gleb Kolyadin reviennent avec le quatrième album d'Iamthemorning, "The Bell", un disque inspiré sur le plan musical par la musique du XIXème siècle et l'Angleterre victorienne et pour les textes par les différentes formes que peut prendre la cruauté humaine et le chagrin qu'il en résulte.

Autant dire que pour ceux qui connaissent le groupe, il ne faut pas s'attendre à des bouleversements majeurs dans la musique qui caractérise Iamthemorning. On retrouve avec plaisir des compositions dégageant un charme indéniable par ce mélange de pop (mélodies assez faciles à mémoriser) et de musique d'inspiration classique (les arpèges de piano), parsemées de petites touches d'heavenly (le chant aérien) et de progressif (les digressions vocales et instrumentales qui viennent se glisser soudainement au beau milieu ou à la fin d'une chanson toute simple), ces deux derniers éléments s'avérant cependant moins présents que sur l'album précédent.

La beauté de "The Bell" repose sur l'alchimie qui se crée entre un chant féminin apaisant et pur et des arpèges de piano à queue fédérateurs : plusieurs titres se résument à ce piano/voix envoûtant ('Blue Sea', 'Black and Blue', 'Song of a Psyche', Lilies', 'The Bell') et dénué de toute mièvrerie. Le duo se met au service de mélodies lentes et mélancoliques qui happent facilement l'auditeur, nappées de quelques effets créés par des instruments exogènes (le sax sur 'Freak Show', la trompette et l'accordéon de 'Salute', la guitare électrique qui s'offre deux courts solos sur ces deux mêmes titres).

Chaque titre en soi est une petite bulle mélodique, mélancolique, apaisante et fort agréable à écouter. Si l'album peut paraître parfois un petit peu trop homogène, cette impression est plus due à la relative quiétude qu'installe cette succession de petites perles qu'à une trop grande linéarité des compositions. Au contraire, le duo s'ingénie à introduire beaucoup de diversité dans ses chansons, variant les rythmes, se faisant tantôt jazzy, tantôt cabaret ('Salute'), tantôt carrément classique ('Lilies').

Il faut souligner une nouvelle fois la performance de Marjana Semkina dont les lignes vocales gracieuses sont un véritable baume pour les oreilles de l'auditeur et Gleb Kolyadin dont le piano est une source d'enchantement. Pour qui apprécie la subtilité, la douceur, la beauté d'une ligne de piano ou d'un chant qui cherche plus à convaincre par l'émotion et la fragilité que par la force, pour qui n'est pas addict au martèlement des percussions ou aux solos débridés des guitares électriques, celui-là trouvera certainement beaucoup de plaisir à l'écoute de ce havre de paix.

Plus d'information sur http://iamthemorning.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
FREQUENCY DRIFT, L'ÂME IMMORTELLE, PERSEPHONE, KATE BUSH, TORI AMOS

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Freak Show (07:09)
02. Sleeping Beauty (03:42)
03. Blue Sea (03:08)
04. Black And Blue (03:58)
05. Six Feet (03:56)
06. Ghost Of A Story (03:58)
07. Song Of Psyche (03:20)
08. Lilies (04:28)
09. Salute (07:27)
10. The Bell (05:04)


FORMATION:
Gleb Kolyadin : Claviers / Piano À Queue
Marjana Semkina: Chant / Guitares / Choeurs
Anastasia Litvinova: Invité / Violon
Andres Izmaylov: Invité / Harpe (1,6,9)
Anita Azhashkouskaya: Invité / Violon
Anna Melnikova: Invité / Violon
Darya Popova: Invité / Violoncelle
Dmitry Gonchar: Invité / Alto
Dmitry Kolyasnikov: Invité / Violon
Dmitry Tsepilov: Invité / Saxophone (1,2)
Ekaterina Chernyaeva: Invité / Violon
Ekaterina German: Invité / Violon
Evan Carson: Invité / Batterie Et Percussions (2,5,9)
Grigory Osipov: Invité / Marimba (2,9)
Iiia Dyakov: Invité / Violon
Ilya Izmaylov: Invité / Violoncelle
Ilya Leontyev: Invité / Trompette (9)
Mr Konin: Invité / Accordéon & Cloches (9)
Nadezhda Savina: Invité / Alto
Semyon Samsonov: Invité / Alto
Svetlana Shumkova: Invité / Batterie (1,5,9)
Vlad Avy: Guitares / Invité
Yulia Kashshapova: Invité / Violon
Zoltan Renaldi: Invité / Basse & Contrebasse (1,2,6,9)


TAGS:
Mélancolique, Musique Classique
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC IAMTHEMORNING
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
IAMTHEMORNING: Les détails sur "The Bell"
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant IAMTHEMORNING
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (2 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT IAMTHEMORNING
 
IAMTHEMORNING_The-Bell The Bell (2019)
KSCOPE / ROCK ATMOSPHERIQUE
IAMTHEMORNING_Lighthouse Lighthouse (2016)
KSCOPE / ROCK PROGRESSIF
IAMTHEMORNING_Miscellany Miscellany (2014)
AUTOPRODUCTION / ROCK PROGRESSIF
IAMTHEMORNING_~ ~ (2012)
AUTOPRODUCTION / ROCK PROGRESSIF
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019