MW / Home / Reviews / ALTER BRIDGE: Walk The Sky
BAND/AUTHOR:

ALTER BRIDGE

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
WALK THE SKY
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
NAPALM RECORDS
GENRE:
ALTERNATIVE METAL
"The bet of melodic excellence while offering compositions that are capable to reach the greatest number of people is once again totally successful."
NUNO777 - 17.10.2019 -
Between them Mark Tremonti and Myles Kennedy could occupy the modern melodic metal news every year as their fertility is so impressive. As soon as the previous Alter Bridge was finished, he began writing his fourth solo album "A Dying Machine" with a quality that was acclaimed, and Kennedy focused on his first solo album "Year Of The Tiger" and the "Living The Dream" with his friend Slash both released last year.

For this sixth album, taking advantage of the dynamics of the excellent "The Last Hero", Alter Bridge begins its demonstration on classical and solid music with the welcoming "Wouldn't You Rather" and "In The Deep" which unroll all the American know-how in terms of power, refrains chiselled and heavy riffs. Quickly the power-ballad comes out in a format that was also conventional but whose sounds bring a novelty with its freezing synthesizer ambiences of the 80s. Alter Bridge repeats the experience with the threatening "Walking On The Sky" and a harmonically demanding "Pay No Mind", both in melodies and choirs, which adds a different colour to the band's already extensive palette. Alter Bridge tags his album with unifying tracks like "Native Son", "Forever Falling" (sung by Tremonti, who is becoming more and more comfortable in this position) or "Take The Crown" which act as stallions in the Alter Bridge style inherited from the Creed era with their intro arpeggios and their modern metal refined to the extreme. 

The epic and Hollywood side of the Americans is not forgotten and points to the very arranged 'The Bitter End', whose supercharged production gives it a Devin Townsend side, and the Dantesque 'Dying Light' which closes 'Walk The Sky' in the most beautiful way. With no truce or faux pas (if you want to be fussy, "Tear Us Apart" shines a little less bright in the middle of this hour of sparkling metal) Alter Bridge goes on and on without falling into the easy way. Moreover, the unprecedented composition process that saw Myles and Mark bring their finalized compositions to build this record was not without risk. But far from creating an incoherent and disparate album, this method provides it with its diversity and freshness. The symbol of this symbiosis is the central "Indoctrination", undoubtedly one of the best tracks ever composed by the band, which begins on Tremonti's cryptic vocals accompanied by a heavy riff tuned very low before a festival of breaks and vocal modulation by Kennedy finishes bringing it its incredible density.

The new creative process has produced results that are as good as the band's previous albums, with a variety and audacity that are also mastered. At the top of the genre, Alter Bridge is unstoppable. The bet of melodic excellence while offering compositions that are capable to reach the greatest number of people is once again totally successful. 

More informations on http://www.alterbridge.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

HEAVEN'S BASEMENT, STONEDRIVE, HOTEL DIABLO

TRACK LISTING

01. One Life
02. Wouldn't You Rather
03. In The Deep
04. Godspeed
05. Native Son
06. Take The Crown
07. Indoctrination
08. The Bitter End
09. Pay No Mind
10. Forever Falling
11. Clear Horizon
12. Walking On The Sky
13. Tear Us Apart
14. Dying Light


LINEUP

Brian Marshall : Basse
Mark Tremonti : Chant / Guitares
Myles Kennedy: Chant / Guitares
Scott Phillips: Batterie


TAGS:
Easy Listening / FM
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS ALTER BRIDGE
LAST NEWS
ALTER BRIDGE: Walk The Sky
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about ALTER BRIDGE
 
RATING
 
4/5 (4 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS ALTER BRIDGE
 
ALTER-BRIDGE_Walk-The-Sky Walk The Sky (2019)
NAPALM RECORDS / ALTERNATIVE METAL
ALTER-BRIDGE_The-Last-Hero The Last Hero (2016)
NAPALM RECORDS / ALTERNATIVE METAL
ALTER-BRIDGE_Fortress Fortress (2013)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / ALTERNATIVE_ROCK
ALTER-BRIDGE_AB-III AB III (2010)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / GRUNGE
ALTER-BRIDGE_BlackBird BlackBird (2007)
UNIVERSAL / GRUNGE
ALTER-BRIDGE_One-Day-Remains One Day Remains (2004)
WIND-UP RECORDS / GRUNGE
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / ALTER BRIDGE: Walk The Sky
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

ALTER BRIDGE

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
WALK THE SKY
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
NAPALM RECORDS
GENRE:
METAL ALTERNATIF
"En apportant séparément leur pierre à l’édifice, Tremonti et Kennedy amènent une touche de diversité et de fraicheur à leur sixième album "Walk The Sky". Alter Bridge trône au sommet d’un genre dont il raffine la définition album après album."
NUNO777 - 17.10.2019 -
A eux deux Mark Tremonti et Myles Kennedy pourraient occuper l’actualité metal moderne mélodique chaque année tant leur fertilité est impressionnante. Le précédent Alter Bridge sitôt achevé Tremonti s’est attelé à l’écriture de son quatrième album solo "A Dying Machine" avec une qualité que l’on a salué, et Kennedy s’est concentré sur son premier album solo "Year Of The Tiger" et le "Living The Dream" avec son ami Slash tous les deux sortis l’année dernière.

Pour ce sixième album, profitant de la dynamique de l’excellent "The Last Hero", Alter Bridge débute sa démonstration sur du classique et du solide avec les accueillants ‘Wouldn't You Rather’ et ‘In The Deep’ qui déroulent tout le savoir-faire des Américains en termes de puissance, de refrains burinés pour forer les esprits très profondément et de riffs adamantins. Rapidement la power-ballad déboule sous un format lui aussi conventionnel mais dont les sonorités apportent une nouveauté avec ses ambiances glaçantes de synthétiseurs des années 80. Alter Bridge réitére l’expérience à l’occasion du menaçant ‘Walking On The Sky’ et d’un ‘Pay No Mind’ exigeant harmoniquement, tant dans les mélodies que les chœurs, ce qui ajoute une couleur différente à la palette déjà étendue des Floridiens. Alter Bridge balise son album de morceaux fédérateurs comme ‘Native Son’, ‘Forever Falling’ (chanté par Tremonti, de plus en plus à l’aise à ce poste) ou ‘Take The Crown’ qui font office d’étalons du style d’Alter Bridge hérité de l’époque Creed avec leurs arpèges en intro et leur metal moderne peaufiné à l’extrême.

Le côté épique et hollywoodien des Américains n’est pas oublié et pointe dans le très arrangé ‘The Bitter End’, dont la production survitaminée lui donne un côté Devin Townsend, et le dantesque ‘Dying Light’ qui clôt “Walk The Sky” sur un temps très fort. Sans trêve ni faux pas (si on veut être tatillon ‘Tear Us Apart’ brille un peu moins au milieu de cette heure de metal étincelant) Alter Bridge enchaîne les titres sans tomber dans la facilité. D’ailleurs le processus de composition inédit qui a vu Myles et Mark apporter leurs compositions finalisées pour bâtir ce disque a tout de la prise de risque. Mais bien loin de créer un album incohérent et disparate, cette méthode lui fournit sa diversité et sa fraîcheur. Le symbole de cette symbiose est le central ‘Indoctrination’, sans doute un des meilleurs morceaux jamais composés par le groupe, qui débute sur le chant cryptique de Tremonti accompagné d’un riff lourd accordé très bas avant qu’un festival de cassure et de modulation vocales de Kennedy finisse de lui apporter son incroyable densité.

La nouvelle démarche de création a donné des résultats à la hauteur des précédents albums du groupe avec une variété et une audace maîtrisée en plus. Au sommet d’un genre dont il raffine la définition album après album, Alter Bridge est indétrônable. Le pari de l’excellence mélodique tout en affichant une prétention assumée à toucher le plus grand nombre est une fois de plus totalement réussi.

Plus d'information sur http://www.alterbridge.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
HEAVEN'S BASEMENT, STONEDRIVE, HOTEL DIABLO

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. One Life
02. Wouldn't You Rather
03. In The Deep
04. Godspeed
05. Native Son
06. Take The Crown
07. Indoctrination
08. The Bitter End
09. Pay No Mind
10. Forever Falling
11. Clear Horizon
12. Walking On The Sky
13. Tear Us Apart
14. Dying Light


FORMATION:
Brian Marshall : Basse
Mark Tremonti : Chant / Guitares
Myles Kennedy: Chant / Guitares
Scott Phillips: Batterie


TAGS:
Accessible / FM
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC ALTER BRIDGE
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
ALTER BRIDGE: Les détails sur "Walk The Sky"
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant ALTER BRIDGE
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
C'est dans un Elysée Montmartre toujours aussi beau, qu'Alter Bridge nous a donné rendez vous ce soir !

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant ALTER BRIDGE
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (4 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT ALTER BRIDGE
 
ALTER-BRIDGE_Walk-The-Sky Walk The Sky (2019)
NAPALM RECORDS / METAL ALTERNATIF
ALTER-BRIDGE_The-Last-Hero The Last Hero (2016)
NAPALM RECORDS / METAL ALTERNATIF
ALTER-BRIDGE_Fortress Fortress (2013)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / ROCK ALTERNATIF
ALTER-BRIDGE_Live-From-Amsterdam Live From Amsterdam (2011)
UNIVERSAL / GRUNGE
ALTER-BRIDGE_AB-III AB III (2010)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / GRUNGE
ALTER-BRIDGE_BlackBird BlackBird (2007)
UNIVERSAL / GRUNGE
ALTER-BRIDGE_One-Day-Remains One Day Remains (2004)
WIND-UP RECORDS / GRUNGE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019