MW / Home / Reviews / INVENTIONS: Logica
BAND/AUTHOR:

INVENTIONS

(NETHERLANDS)

TITLE:
LOGICA
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
FREIA
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE ROCK / ATMOSPHERIC ROCK
"Darker and more ambitious than prior albums, "Logica" has for major assets the quality of its melodies and Théo Travis' wonderful interventions."
CORTO1809 - 02.09.2019 -
Periodically, a group or singer embarks on an ambitious "project" that it plans on several albums, a guiding thread, a fresco, a trilogy, tetralogy or more if affinities. Often these projects disappear into the wild, their creators having understood that the idea was not so good or having simply moved on to something else. In other cases, the artist persists in his concept to produce more and more laborious albums, with the risk of losing part of his audience on the way.

I must admit that I highly feared that Inventions, Christiaan Bruin's side-project (Sky Architect, Chris), would go astray in one of these two directions, as the idea followed by the artist (see previous reviews) seemed risky to me and the pace difficult to maintain. However, as the albums go by, it has to be said that the project is working well, with Christiaan Bruin managing to introduce a small dose of innovation with each new release, boosting the listener's interest.

Thus, even if the style remains easily identifiable, "Logica" differs from its predecessors by a greater complexity, drawing more on a prog side where "Meta" emphasized its post-rock atmosphere and "Curiosity" a pop tinged with new wave more accessible.

The first three tracks are an excellent start : behind the solar and cyclical 'Platonics' whose brevity avoids boredom comes the huge eponymous track, the main piece of the record. After a juxtaposition of small pieces united by the same contemplative and melancholic atmosphere, the title switches to progressive from the fifth minute where the themes flow in a fluid and natural way, the interventions on the sax by Theo Travis reminding those of a certain David Jackson in Van der Graaf Generator. 'Mind of God' magnificently closes the trilogy, a repetition of intriguing guitar solos and sung passages, reminiscent in some ways of Steve Hackett's work or the melodic King Crimson.

Unfortunately, the album marks a pause with the dispensable and repetitive "Beholder's Eye" and doesn't recapture the magic on the last three tracks even if they still deliver a few beautiful passages. In addition, the willingness to use a narrative voice distorted by microphone effects almost systematically (the last four titles use this process, the narrative also appearing during the second title and several times on the last one - a trick already used in "Meta") and to regularly use cyclical themes modulated on all tones eventually give a somewhat irritating impression of déjà vu.

Nevertheless the undeniable quality of writing and some unexpected ideas allow us to have a very good time. And above all, the album is magnified by Théo Travis' tasty and masterful interventions on sax and flute, enriching a "Logica" darker and more ambitious than his predecessors.

More informations on http://chrismusic.nl/wp/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

TANGERINE DREAM, ULTRAVOX, SKY ARCHITECT, CHRIS, SOUP

TRACK LISTING

01. Platonics (02:30)
02. Logica (15:25)
03. Mind of God (05:04)
04. Beholder's Eye (07:01)
05. Three Worlds, Three Mysteries (05:43)
06. Citadels (05:12)
07. The Sum Of All Things (13:19)


LINEUP

Christiaan Bruin: Chant / Guitares / Basse / Claviers / Batterie
Andy Rowe: Invité / Narration
Dot Quartet: Invité / Quatuor À Cordes
Theo Travis: Invité / Saxophone, Flûte


TAGS:
Melancholic, Dark
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS INVENTIONS
 
RATING
 
4/5 (1 view(s))
2/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS INVENTIONS
 
INVENTIONS_Logica Logica (2019)
FREIA / PROGRESSIVE ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / INVENTIONS: Logica
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

INVENTIONS

(HOLLANDE)

TITRE:
LOGICA
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
FREIA
GENRE:
ROCK PROGRESSIF / ROCK ATMOSPHERIQUE
"Plus sombre et plus ambitieux que les albums qui l'ont précédé, "Logica" a pour atouts majeurs la qualité de ses mélodies et les interventions inspirées d'un Théo Travis magistral."
CORTO1809 - 02.09.2019 -
Régulièrement, un groupe ou chanteur se lance dans un "projet" ambitieux qu'il envisage sur plusieurs albums, un fil directeur, une fresque, une trilogie, tétralogie ou plus si affinités. Souvent ces projets s'évanouissent dans la nature, leurs créateurs ayant compris que l'idée n'était pas si bonne que ça ou étant tout simplement passé à autre chose. Dans d'autres cas, l'artiste s'obstine dans son concept à produire des albums de plus en laborieux, au risque de perdre en chemin une partie de son public.

Avouons-le, nous craignions fort qu'Inventions, side-project de Christiaan Bruin (Sky Architect, Chris), ne s'égare dans l'une de ces deux voies tant l'idée suivie par l'artiste (voir les chroniques précédentes) nous semblait risquée et la cadence difficile à tenir. Pourtant, au fil des albums, force est de reconnaître que le projet tient la route, Christiaan Bruin réussissant à introduire à chaque nouvelle livraison une petite dose d'innovations qui relancent l'intérêt de l'auditeur.

Ainsi, même si le style reste facilement identifiable, "Logica" se distingue de ses prédécesseurs par une plus grande complexité, tirant plus sur un versant prog là où "Meta" faisait valoir son atmosphérique post rock et "Curiosity" une pop teintée de new wave plus accessible.

Les trois premiers titres constituent une excellente entame : derrière le solaire et cyclique 'Platonics' dont la brièveté évite la lassitude arrive l'immense titre éponyme, pièce maîtresse du disque. Après une juxtaposition de petites pièces unies entre elles par la même atmosphère contemplative et mélancolique, le titre bascule dans le progressif à partir de la cinquième minute où les thèmes s’enchaînent de façon fluide et naturelle, les interventions au sax de Théo Travis rappelant celles d'un certain David Jackson au sein de Van der Graaf Generator. 'Mind of God' clôt magnifiquement la trilogie, répétition de solos de guitare intrigants et de passages chantés, faisant penser par certains côtés au travail de Steve Hackett ou au King Crimson mélodique.

Malheureusement, l'album marque un temps d'arrêt avec le dispensable et répétitif 'Beholder's Eye' et ne retrouve pas la magie sur les trois derniers titres même si ceux-ci délivrent encore quelques passages de toute beauté. Par ailleurs, la volonté d'utiliser presque systématiquement une narration à la voix déformée par les effets de micro (les quatre derniers titres utilisent ce procédé, la narration faisant également son apparition au cours du deuxième titre et plusieurs fois sur le dernier – un truc déjà utilisé dans "Meta") et de recourir régulièrement à des thèmes cycliques modulés sur tous les tons finissent par donner une impression de déjà-vu un peu agaçante.

Néanmoins la qualité indéniable d'écriture et quelques trouvailles parfois surprenantes permettent de faire passer un très bon moment. Et surtout l'album est magnifié par les interventions savoureuses et magistrales de Théo Travis au sax et à la flûte, venant enrichir un "Logica" plus sombre et plus ambitieux que ses prédécesseurs.

Plus d'information sur http://chrismusic.nl/wp/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
TANGERINE DREAM, ULTRAVOX, SKY ARCHITECT, CHRIS, SOUP

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Platonics (02:30)
02. Logica (15:25)
03. Mind of God (05:04)
04. Beholder's Eye (07:01)
05. Three Worlds, Three Mysteries (05:43)
06. Citadels (05:12)
07. The Sum Of All Things (13:19)


FORMATION:
Christiaan Bruin: Chant / Guitares / Basse / Claviers / Batterie
Andy Rowe: Invité / Narration
Dot Quartet: Invité / Quatuor À Cordes
Theo Travis: Invité / Saxophone, Flûte


TAGS:
Mélancolique, Sombre
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC INVENTIONS
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT INVENTIONS
 
INVENTIONS_Logica Logica (2019)
FREIA / ROCK PROGRESSIF
INVENTIONS_Curiosity Curiosity (2018)
FREIA / ROCK ALTERNATIF
INVENTIONS_Meta Meta (2017)
FREIA / ROCK ATMOSPHERIQUE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019