MW / Home / Reviews / COCOON: Wood Fire
BAND/AUTHOR:

COCOON

(FRANCE)

TITLE:
WOOD FIRE
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
POP
"Cocoon does not run after the hit of the moment but composes a music full of authenticity that feels good."
CALGEPO - 31.07.2019 -
Cocoon met, once is not usual, a huge success with its first album "My Friends All Died In A Plane Crash", carried by the hits that became planetary (rare for a French band except electro!), "Chupee", cute but with a two-way text... (read the interview to learn more) and 'On My Way'. The duo of Mark Daumail and Morgane Imbeaud, sailing in a silky pop tinged with folk (close to a Tom McRae - "Just Like Blood" period), has forged public and critical recognition thanks to its combined qualities of songwriting and interpretation, sometimes mutinous and sensitive. 

However, life has made the two artistic souls separate after the second album released in 2010 ("Where The Oceans End") and a tour that led to the project being put on hold. Morgane took the opportunity to release her own projects and Mark to have a little boy with his wife. A birth is a joyful event that forever marks the parents' lives but in this case the joy was tinged with a strong anxiety since the child was born with a heart defect (today everything seems fortunately to have returned to normal). As for any parent living this kind of drama, the couple went through different phases between depression, hope... but he held on no matter what happens for this little being who was fighting for his (over)life. So what could be better for a singer than to exorcise his anguish, his moods, his fears... by expressing them in an album. This is what Mark did with "Welcome Home" (2016) dedicated to his child. Having contacted Morgane shortly before, she humbly declined the invitation, considering the project much too personal for her to interpret. Anyway, Mark took on the task of expressing it, taking over Cocoon on his own with Morgana's approval. 

Three years later, the project returns with "Wood Fire" which is the counterpart of the previous one, this time being entirely dedicated to Mark's wife and more broadly to the couple(s). After these trials, from which one does not emerge entirely unscathed even if the couple appears to be united, the composer-performer wanted this album as a new beginning for this strengthened love story. However, he only dealt here with music, entrusting the texts to various authors he met during his travels, to whom he told his story. If we can see a certain impudence on his part, the result is surprisingly sober. The album is still bathed in a characteristic folk pop that is at once naive, nostalgic and soothing. 

'Spark' opens the celebrations to enter into this story by blowing on the embers of a couple's life near extinction in order to rekindle the flame that will bring back the fire of love. However, the tone is relatively serious, not knowing whether this dream of rebirth will be possible. But very quickly, optimism returns with an explicit "Back To One" with female choirs (Clou and Philippine Poure) that bring a singular relief. The atmosphere is more joyful and makes you want to smile. The listener is thus rocked between a sweet melancholy ('Colors') and melodies filled with candor with the jumping 'Sun' with its very Californian melody. The authors (who write for Diplo, Rihanna, Beyoncé...) have adapted to the music composed by Mark and his experience. One of the most beautiful tracks on the album remains the silky folk ballad "I Got You" with keyboards and mellotron that bring more relief to Cocoon, a relatively new thing to be highlighted. The sometimes electronic rhythms and synthetic keys are more present than on previous albums without hurting, thus bringing a touch of modernity to the subject ('Shadow'). 

With this album, a kind of journey of a (re)conquest of the loved one, Mark Daumail could not have dreamt a better declaration of love for his wife. The lack of modesty fades in the face of the author's sincere approach and through his story, which will certainly affect many of our readers. Mark does not run after the hit of the moment but composes a music full of authenticity that feels good, tinged with a positive melancholy paradox, a measured joy because a loving relationship can be fragile. All this makes "Wood Fire" the album of this end of summer, or even more. 

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/listentococoon/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

BOB DYLAN, PAUL SIMON

TRACK LISTING

01. Spark
02. Back To One
03. Colors
04. Roller Coaster
05. Sun
06. I Got You
07. Ember
08. Shadow
09. We Do The Same
10. Baby
11. Ashes
12. Every Knows
13. Back To One Feat. Clou


LINEUP

Clou: Chant
Dimmi: Batterie
Jean Grillet: Guitares / Claviers / Batterie / Melotron
Mark Daumeil: Chant / Guitares / Batterie
Philippine Poure: Chant
Sarah Lange: Piano


TAGS:
90's, Easy Listening / FM, Acoustic, Intimist
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS COCOON
 
RATING
 
4/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS COCOON
 
COCOON_Wood-Fire Wood Fire (2019)
AUTRE LABEL / POP
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / COCOON: Wood Fire
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

COCOON

(FRANCE)

TITRE:
WOOD FIRE
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
POP
"Avec cet album, sorte de parcours en musique d'une (re)conquête de l'être aimé, Mark Daumail ne pouvait rêver mieux comme déclaration d'amour à son épouse."
CALGEPO - 31.07.2019 -
Cocoon a rencontré, une fois n'est pas coutume, un énorme succès dès le premier album "My Friends All Died In A Plane Crash", porté par les tubes devenus planétaires (rare pour un groupe français hors electro !), 'Chupee', mignon mais au texte à double sens... (lire l'interview pour en savoir davantage) et 'On My Way'. Le duo formé par Mark Daumail et Morgane Imbeaud naviguant dans une pop soyeuse teintée de folk (proche d'un Tom McRae - période "Just Like Blood") a su se forger une reconnaissance publique et critique grâce à ses qualités combinées de songwriting et d'interprétation parfois mutine et sensible.

Cependant la vie a fait que les deux âmes artistiques se sont séparées après le deuxième album sorti en 2010 ("Where The Oceans End") et une tournée ayant conduit à une mise entre parenthèses du projet. Morgane en a profité pour sortir ses propres projets et Mark pour avoir un petit garçon avec son épouse. Une naissance est un événement joyeux qui marque à jamais la vie des parents mais dans ce cas la joie était teintée d'une forte inquiétude puisque l'enfant est venu au monde avec une malformation cardiaque (aujourd'hui tout semble heureusement être rentré dans l'ordre). Comme pour tout parent vivant ce genre de drame, le couple est passé par différentes phases entre dépression, espoir... mais il a tenu bon quoi qu'il arrive pour ce petit être qui se battait pour sa (sur)vie. Alors quoi de mieux pour un chanteur que d'exorciser ses angoisses, ses états d'âmes, apaiser ses peurs... en l'exprimant dans un album. C'est ce qu'a fait Mark avec "Welcome Home" (2016) dédié à son enfant. Ayant contacté Morgane peu avant, celle-ci a humblement décliné l'invitation, estimant le projet beaucoup trop personnel pour qu'elle puisse l'interpréter. Qu'importe, Mark s'est chargé de l'exprimer, reprenant à son propre compte Cocoon avec l'aval de Morgane.

Trois ans après, le projet revient avec "Wood Fire" qui est le pendant du précédent en étant cette fois-ci entièrement dédié à l'épouse de Mark et plus largement au(x) couple(s). Après ces épreuves dont on ne ressort pas entièrement indemne même si le couple apparaît soudé, le compositeur-interprète a voulu cet album comme un nouveau départ pour cette histoire d'amour renforcée. Toutefois, il s'est chargé ici uniquement de la musique, confiant les textes à différents auteurs rencontrés au fil de ses voyages, auxquels il a raconté son histoire. Si on peut y voir une certaine impudeur de sa part, le résultat en est étonnant de sobriété. L'album baigne toujours dans une pop folk caractéristique d'apparence à la fois naïve, nostalgique, apaisée.

'Spark' ouvre les réjouissances pour rentrer dans cette histoire en soufflant sur les braises d'une vie de couple proche de l'extinction afin de raviver la flamme qui fera renaître le feu de l'amour. Le ton est toutefois relativement grave, ne sachant pas si ce rêve de renaissance pourra être possible. Les accords sont sur la réserve, traduisant ce doute. Mais très vite, comme un adolescent enflammé par une petite ouverture entrevue, une brèche ouverte inespérée dans la carapace de l'être chéri, l'optimisme revient de plus belle avec 'Back To One' explicite avec des chœurs féminins (Clou et Philippine Poure) qui apportent un relief singulier. L'atmosphère est plus joyeuse et donne une envie de taper du pied en rythme et de sourire. L'auditeur est ainsi bercé entre une douce mélancolie ('Colors') et des mélodies remplies de candeur avec le sautillant 'Sun' à la mélodie très californienne. Les auteurs (qui écrivent pour Diplo, Rihanna, Beyoncé...) ont su s'adapter aux musiques composées par Mark et à son vécu. L'un des plus beaux titres de l'album demeure la soyeuse ballade folk 'I Got You' avec des claviers et son mellotron qui apportent plus de relief à Cocoon, chose relativement nouvelle pour être soulignée. Les rythmes parfois électroniques et les touches synthétiques sont plus présents que sur les précédents albums sans pour autant heurter, apportant ainsi une touche de modernité au propos ('Shadow').

Avec cet album, sorte de parcours d'une (re)conquête de l'être aimé, Mark Daumail ne pouvait rêver mieux comme déclaration d'amour à son épouse. Le manque de pudeur s'estompe face à la sincère démarche de son auteur et par son histoire qui pourra toucher certainement plusieurs de nos lecteurs. Mark ne court pas après le tube du moment mais compose une musique empreinte d'authenticité qui fait du bien, teintée d'une paradoxale positive mélancolie, d'une joie mesurée car une relation amoureuse peut être fragile, se cultivant comme un feu de bois. Tout ceci fait de "Wood Fire" l'album de cette fin d'été, voire plus.

Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/listentococoon/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
BOB DYLAN, PAUL SIMON

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Spark
02. Back To One
03. Colors
04. Roller Coaster
05. Sun
06. I Got You
07. Ember
08. Shadow
09. We Do The Same
10. Baby
11. Ashes
12. Every Knows
13. Back To One Feat. Clou


FORMATION:
Clou: Chant
Dimmi: Batterie
Jean Grillet: Guitares / Claviers / Batterie / Melotron
Mark Daumeil: Chant / Guitares / Batterie
Philippine Poure: Chant
Sarah Lange: Piano


TAGS:
90's, Accessible / FM, Acoustique, Intimiste
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC COCOON
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
COCOON ATTISE LES BRAISES !
INTERVIEW

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant COCOON
 
DERNIER ARTICLE
Comme Music Waves, Cocoon attise les braises avec son nouvel album "Wood Fire"... Retour sur une rencontre marquante !

Lire l'article
Voir tous les articles concernant COCOON
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT COCOON
 
COCOON_Wood-Fire Wood Fire (2019)
AUTRE LABEL / POP
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019