MW / Home / Reviews / THE 69 EYES: West End
BAND/AUTHOR:

THE 69 EYES

(FINLAND)

TITLE:
WEST END
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
GOTHIC METAL
"A reference in Gothic rock/metal, "The 69 Eyes" are celebrating their 30th anniversary with brio in this "West End""
LOLOCELTIC - 07.11.2019 -
If "West End" is finally only the 12th studio album of The 69 Eyes, it nevertheless marks the 30 years of existence of the Helsinki vampires. This is the kind of anniversary that you have to mark when you are a reference in Gothic rock/metal. Three years after a "Universal Monsters" that had hit hard, the quintet had to maintain the high standards that made the 2016 production a success. It is therefore not surprising to find Johnny Lee Michaels again at the controls, the man who imposed the sound of the band.

Launching the hostilities with its massive bass, catchy chorus and hard/heavy riff, the single "Two Horns Up" announces the color with a distinguished guest. Dani Filth (Cradle Of Filth) shares the vocals with Jyrki 69 and the contrast between the British's torn voice and the deep voice of the Finnish reinforces the effectiveness of this track. In the register of distinguished guests, we will also note the presence of Wednesday 13 (Murderdolls, Bourbon Crow, Gunfire 76...) and Calico Cooper (daughter of Alice Cooper) on an unstoppable 'The Last House On The Left' and paying tribute to the film of the same name by Wes Craven. Hard heavy and aggressive rock, this track devastates everything in its path with its chainsaw riff and its hyper effective chorus. Without a doubt one of the highlights of this opus which are not lacking.

Scathing pieces like the very good 'Burn Witch Burn' denouncing the media and their way of always giving scapegoats to crowds thirsty for fresh blood, alternate with more softer pieces. These can take the form of ballads (the bewitching and melancholic "Death & Desire") or throbbing and hypnotic mid-tempo ("Change"). But we must not forget the new-wave component of the gothic set of The 69 Eyes with, for example, a '27 & Done' handling the second degree to talk about the club of 27, sadly famous because composed of many artists who died at the age of 27 (Brian Jones, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Jim Morrison, Kurt Cobain or Amy Winehouse to name only the most famous). And if Billy Idol's discreet shadow hangs over this track or over 'Outsiders', it is that of Type O Negative and Pete Steele who haunts the corridors of a 'Black Orchid' as dark as the flower from which it takes its title. As for the AC/DC of the "For Those About To Rock" period, it points to the riff of "Hell Has No Mercy" which closes the whole in a haunting way.

A successful bet for the Finns who are celebrating their 30th anniversary with brio. The guests participating in the festivities bring an undeniable added value instead of masking non-existent weaknesses. And if some tracks may seem to be slightly lower than the vast majority of the album, they remain even more than presentable. 

More informations on http://www.69eyes.com/angelsite/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

MOONSPELL, THE DOORS, NINE INCH NAILS, BILLY IDOL, MARILYN MANSON, THE OTHER

TRACK LISTING

01. Two Horns Up - 3:57
02. 27 & Done - 4:17
03. Black Orchid - 4:15
04. Change - 5:38
05. Burn Witch Burn - 3:17
06. Cheyenna - 4:09
07. The Last House On The Left - 3:47
08. Death & Desire - 4:40
09. Outsiders - 3:36
10. Be Here Now - 4:20
11. Hell Has No Mercy - 6:43


LINEUP

Archzie: Basse
Bazie: Guitares
Jussi 69: Batterie
Jyrki 69: Chant
Timo-Timo: Guitares
Calico Cooper: Chant / Invité
Dani Filth: Chant / Invité
Wednesday 13: Chant / Invité


TAGS:
Dark, Theatrical, Deep voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS THE 69 EYES
LAST NEWS
THE 69 EYES: West End
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about THE 69 EYES
 
RATING
 
4/5 (2 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS THE 69 EYES
 
THE-69-EYES_West-End West End (2019)
NUCLEAR BLAST / GOTHIC METAL
THE-69-EYES_Universal-Monsters Universal Monsters (2016)
NUCLEAR BLAST / GOTHIC METAL
THE-69-EYES_Back-In-Blood Back In Blood (2009)
NUCLEAR BLAST / GOTHIC METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / THE 69 EYES: West End
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

THE 69 EYES

(FINLANDE)

TITRE:
WEST END
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
NUCLEAR BLAST
GENRE:
METAL GOTHIQUE
"Les Finlandais fêtent avec brio leur trentenaire avec quelques invités de marque qui apportent leur pierre à un édifice déjà brillant."
LOLOCELTIC - 07.11.2019 -
Si "West End" n’est finalement que le 12ème opus studio de The 69 Eyes, il n’en marque pas moins les 30 ans d’existence des vampires d’Helsinki. Voilà le genre d’anniversaire qu’il faut marquer lorsque l’on est une référence en matière de rock/metal gothique et pour cela, la formation finlandaise ne se contentera pas des quelques ballons noirs ornant la pochette de son nouvel album. Trois ans après un "Universal Monsters" qui avait frappé fort, le quintet se devait de maintenir le niveau d’exigence qui avait fait le succès de la production de 2016. Il n’est donc pas surprenant de retrouver une nouvelle fois Johnny Lee Michaels aux manettes, l’homme qui a imposé le son du quintet.

Lançant les hostilités avec sa basse massive, son refrain accrocheur et son riff hard/heavy, le single ‘Two Horns Up’ annonce la couleur avec un invité de marque. Dani Filth (Cradle Of Filth) partage le chant avec Jyrki 69 et le contraste entre la voix écorchée du Britannique et celle grave et profonde du Finlandais renforce l’efficacité de ce titre. Au registre des invités de marque, nous noterons également la présence de Wednesday 13 (Murderdolls, Bourbon Crow, Gunfire 76…) et de Calico Cooper (fille d’Alice Cooper) sur un ‘The Last House On The Left’ imparable et rendant hommage au film du même nom de Wes Craven. Hard rock heavy et agressif, ce titre dévaste tout sur son passage avec son riff de tronçonneuse et son refrain hyper efficace. Sans aucun doute un des sommets de cet opus qui n’en manque pas. Sans entrer dans le rébarbatif titre à titre et en évitant de citer toutes les pièces de ce "West End", il semble cependant important d’insister sur la variété que ne laisse pas tout de suite apparaître le chant si particulier de Jyrki 69 et qui peut faire craindre une certaine linéarité dans un premier temps.

Il n’en est rien et les pièces cinglantes, auxquelles il convient de rajouter le très bon ‘Burn Witch Burn’ dénonçant les médias et leur manière de toujours donner des boucs émissaires en pâture aux foules assoiffées de sang frais, alternent avec des pièces plus en rondeurs. Celles-ci peuvent se présenter sous la forme de ballades (l’envoûtante et mélancolique ‘Death & Desire’) ou de mid-tempo lancinants et hypnotiques (‘Change’). Mais il ne faut pas oublier la composante new-wave de la parure gothique de The 69 Eyes avec, par exemple, un ‘27 & Done’ maniant le second degré pour traiter du club des 27, tristement célèbre car composé de nombreux artistes décédés à l’âge de 27 ans (Brian Jones, Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Jim Morrison, Kurt Cobain ou Amy Winehouse pour ne citer que les plus célèbres). Et si l’ombre discrète de Billy Idol plane sur ce titre ou sur ‘Outsiders’, c’est celle du Type O Negative et Pete Steele qui hante les couloirs d’un ‘Black Orchid’ aussi sombre que la fleur dont il tire son titre. Quant à celle du AC/DC de la période "For Those About To Rock", elle pointe sur le riff de ‘Hell Has No Mercy’ qui vient clôturer l’ensemble de manière obsédante.

Pari réussi pour les Finlandais qui fêtent leur trentenaire avec brio. Les invités participant aux festivités apportent une valeur ajoutée incontestable au lieu de masquer des faiblesses inexistantes. Et si des titres peuvent sembler être d’un niveau légèrement inférieur à la grande majorité de l’album, ils restent encore plus que présentables. Vivement la suite et les prochains anniversaires !

Plus d'information sur http://www.69eyes.com/angelsite/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
MOONSPELL, THE DOORS, NINE INCH NAILS, BILLY IDOL, MARILYN MANSON, THE OTHER

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Two Horns Up - 3:57
02. 27 & Done - 4:17
03. Black Orchid - 4:15
04. Change - 5:38
05. Burn Witch Burn - 3:17
06. Cheyenna - 4:09
07. The Last House On The Left - 3:47
08. Death & Desire - 4:40
09. Outsiders - 3:36
10. Be Here Now - 4:20
11. Hell Has No Mercy - 6:43


FORMATION:
Archzie: Basse
Bazie: Guitares
Jussi 69: Batterie
Jyrki 69: Chant
Timo-Timo: Guitares
Calico Cooper: Chant / Invité
Dani Filth: Chant / Invité
Wednesday 13: Chant / Invité


TAGS:
Sombre, Théatral, Chant grave
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC THE 69 EYES
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
THE 69 EYES : Nouvelle vidéo
VIDEO

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant THE 69 EYES
 
NOTES
 
4/5 (2 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT THE 69 EYES
 
THE-69-EYES_West-End West End (2019)
NUCLEAR BLAST / METAL GOTHIQUE
THE-69-EYES_Universal-Monsters Universal Monsters (2016)
NUCLEAR BLAST / METAL GOTHIQUE
THE-69-EYES_Back-In-Blood Back In Blood (2009)
NUCLEAR BLAST / METAL GOTHIQUE
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019