MW / Home / Reviews / SKILLET: Victorious
BAND/AUTHOR:

SKILLET

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
VICTORIOUS
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
ATLANTIC RECORDS
GENRE:
ALTERNATIVE_ROCK
"Although it lacks originality and seductive developments, "Victorious" has everything to please Skillet fans by returning to a more metal, less pop sound"
CALGEPO - 30.09.2019 -
Christian rock meets a great audience across the Atlantic, a little less in Europe (except perhaps Neal Morse). The United States has a musical army ready to bring its evangelical speech to the ears of the world: DC Talk, The Fray, Jars Of Clay, Relient K, Whitecross... Among them, Skillet carved a beautiful place for himself at the front of this crusade. With a rich discography of nine albums in thirteen years, the American quartet is releasing its tenth album entitled "Victorious" this year.

It must be acknowledged that one of Skillet's main qualities is to offer catchy titles, rarely exceeding four minutes, which do not require several listenings to be printed in our brains. However, this accessibility has a downside: the risk of tiring the most demanding listeners. 

The record starts with a powerful and distinguished 'Legendary' with a modern metal, namely a metronomic drum set, a bridge containing a little electro touches and voices tampered with with many contemporary effects. All the tracks are built on a basis of riffs all in rhythmic which leave little space for developments and solos, great absent from this album. This modern dimension detected in the introductory title is even more developed throughout this "Victorious". The title that gives the album its name reflects this evolution towards a more contemporary sound with a mainstream arrangement in fashion, a violin to bring a more organic relief and a male and female voice duo (with superfluous effects), classical but well interpreted. 

The band offers several quiet moments with ballads and notably "Terrify The Dark" with a heavy atmosphere and "Anchor" more calm and synthetic which, if it has nothing original, has a sufficient charm to be noticed. Apart from these two tracks, the album sounds heavier and leaves a little bit on the side the pop side developed in "Rise", the previous album. 

Although it lacks originality and seductive developments, "Victorious" has everything to please Skillet fans by returning to a more metal, less pop sound. The band has no equal in composing songs of great effectiveness as long as the listener is sensitive to this simple and direct universe, but as the philosopher says: "music whose simplicity is within everyone's reach and whose meaning is profound is the best".

More informations on http://www.skillet.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

-

TRACK LISTING

01. Legendary - 4:04
02. You Ain't Ready - 3:18
03. Victorious - 4:05
04. This Is the Kingdom - 3:27
05. Save Me - 3:43
06. Rise Up - 3:58
07. Terrify the Dark - 3:45
08. Never Going Back - 3:33
09. Reach - 3:22
10. Anchor - 3:36
11. Finish Line - 3:26
12. Back to Life - 4:36


LINEUP

Jen Ledger: Chant / Batterie
John Cooper: Chant / Basse
Korey Cooper: Guitares / Claviers
Seth Morrison: Guitares


TAGS:
90's, Easy Listening / FM, Epic
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS SKILLET
LAST NEWS
SKILLET: New album in August
RELEASE

Read the news
View all news about SKILLET
 
RATING
 
3/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS SKILLET
 
SKILLET_Victorious Victorious (2019)
ATLANTIC RECORDS / ALTERNATIVE_ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Chroniques / SKILLET: Victorious
GROUPE/AUTEUR:

SKILLET

(ETATS UNIS)

TITRE:
VICTORIOUS
ANNEE PARUTION:
2019
LABEL:
ATLANTIC
GENRE:
ROCK ALTERNATIF
"Bien qu'il manque d'originalité et de développements séduisants, "Victorious" a tout pour plaire aux fans de Skillet en revenant à un son plus metal, moins pop."
CALGEPO - 30.09.2019 -
Le rock chrétien rencontre une belle audience outre-Atlantique, un peu moins en Europe (hormis peut-être Neal Morse). Les États-Unis disposent d'une armée musicale prête à déverser son discours évangélique aux oreilles du monde : DC Talk, The Fray, Jars Of Clay, Relient K, Whitecross... Parmi eux, Skillet se taille une belle place sur le devant de cette croisade. Fort d'une discographie riche de neuf albums en treize ans, le quatuor américain sort en cette année son dixième album intitulé "Victorious".

Il faut bien reconnaître que l'une des qualités premières de Skillet est de proposer des titres rentre-dedans, ne dépassant que rarement les quatre minutes, qui ne demandent pas plusieurs écoutes pour s'imprimer dans nos cerveaux et rester en mémoire. Cette accessibilité a cependant un revers : le risque de lasser les plus exigeants des auditeurs. Passé cet aspect peut-être oubliable de la musique et des paroles orientées, l'album s'écoute agréablement avec des titres diablement (pour du rock à tendance chrétien, le terme est un comble) accrocheurs.

Et cela démarre très fort avec un 'Legendary' puissant et racé qui ouvre le bal avec un metal moderne, à savoir une batterie métronomique, un pont contenant des touches un peu electro et des voix trafiquées avec moult effets contemporains. Tous les titres sont construits sur une base de riffs tout en rythmique qui laissent peu de place aux développements et aux solos, grands absents de cet album. Cette dimension moderne décelée dans le titre introductif est encore plus développée tout au long de ce "Victorious". Le titre qui donne le nom à l'album témoigne de cette évolution vers un son plus actuel avec un arrangement mainstream dans la mode, du violon pour apporter un relief plus organique et un duo voix masculine et féminine (avec des effets superflus), classique mais bien interprété.

Le groupe propose plusieurs moments calmes avec des ballades qui vont de soi dans un album metal digne de ce nom avec notamment 'Terrify The Dark' à l'atmosphère lourde tout en puissance maîtrisée et latente et 'Anchor' plus calme et synthétique qui si elle n'a rien d'originale possède un charme suffisant pour jouer son rôle. Hormis ces deux titres, l'album sonne plus heavy et laisse un peu sur le côté le versant pop développé dans "Rise", le précédent album.

Bien qu'il manque d'originalité et de développements séduisants, "Victorious" a tout pour plaire aux fans de Skillet en revenant à un son plus metal, moins pop. Le groupe n'a pas son pareil pour composer des chansons d'une belle efficacité pourvu que l'auditeur soit sensible à cet univers simple et direct, mais comme le dit le philosophe (de manière détournée) : "la musique dont la simplicité est à la portée de tout le monde et dont le sens est profond est la meilleure".

Plus d'information sur http://www.skillet.com/

VIDEO

GROUPES PROCHES:
-

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Legendary - 4:04
02. You Ain't Ready - 3:18
03. Victorious - 4:05
04. This Is the Kingdom - 3:27
05. Save Me - 3:43
06. Rise Up - 3:58
07. Terrify the Dark - 3:45
08. Never Going Back - 3:33
09. Reach - 3:22
10. Anchor - 3:36
11. Finish Line - 3:26
12. Back to Life - 4:36


FORMATION:
Jen Ledger: Chant / Batterie
John Cooper: Chant / Basse
Korey Cooper: Guitares / Claviers
Seth Morrison: Guitares


TAGS:
90's, Accessible / FM, Epique
En cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous vous pourrez écrire votre propre chronique a propos de cet album et lui attribuer une note. Ceci n'est pas un commentaire et demande au moins une dizaine de ligne pour expliquer pourquoi vous avez aimé ou non la production.
Vous pouvez ici réagir au sujet de l'album ou de la chronique, expliquez pourquoi vous êtes d'accord ou non ou tout simplement raconter votre vie...
 
EN RELATION AVEC SKILLET
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
SKILLET : Nouvel album en août
SORTIE

Lire l'actualité
Voir toutes les actualités concernant SKILLET
 
NOTES
 
3/5 (1 avis)
- /5 (0 avis)
MA NOTE :
AUTRES CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT SKILLET
 
SKILLET_Victorious Victorious (2019)
ATLANTIC / ROCK ALTERNATIF
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
Quelques uns de nos partenaires :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019